Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Pup Speaks Up” as Want to Read:
The Pup Speaks Up
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Pup Speaks Up

3.32  ·  Rating details ·  71 ratings  ·  15 reviews
Pal is a pup who’s a bit on the quiet side. But after some gentle prodding and encouragement from a few “talkative” friends, the pup finds the courage to speak up and take his final bow-wow!
Paperback, 32 pages
Published May 27th 2003 by Random House Books for Young Readers (first published May 1st 2003)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Pup Speaks Up, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Pup Speaks Up

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.32  · 
Rating details
 ·  71 ratings  ·  15 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Pup Speaks Up
Mahrya
Oct 24, 2008 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Pre-school through 1st Grade
Shelves: juvenilia
Hays, Anna Jane. The Pup Speaks Up, Random House, 32 pages. Step into Reading series, leveled early reader.

Description: Bo has a new dog named Pal. Pal doesn't make any sounds, but after visiting different animals and hearing the sounds they make, Pal finally barks much to Bo's delight.

Review: This level one reader is effective for children who are in the very earliest stages of reading. Each page contains four to 12 simple words appearing in large type with ample leading. Each word contains ei
...more
Morgan
Mar 26, 2009 rated it it was amazing
The Pup Speaks Up is about a boy who tries to get his dog to talk. The dog"s name is Pal and all he does is wag his tail. Bo, the boy, takes his dog for a walk so they can hear how other animals talk. They see a duck, bee, rooster and owl. After they hear how all the other animals speak, Bo says "Bow wow wow."
Bailey Scales
This book would be a fun read to beginning readers. I enjoyed how the book was set up with repetition of words, the sounds animals make, as well big text. I would have my transitional readers read this. There is more words to read, a small plot, and great use of phonemic awareness. I would read this with kindergartner or early first grade readers.
Rochelle Sondae
May 04, 2011 rated it liked it
Recommends it for: Ages 3 - 6
Level 1 Ready to Read Phonics

I have to admit the eyes kind of creep me out in this book. As you can see on the cover the eye color is determined by the "halo" around the eye. It's different.

The story is pretty basic. The pup is quiet as the boy goes around and introduces the pup to all the other barnyard animals. Finally the pup speaks up when introduced to the cat.
Rowan
Aug 12, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: self-read-age-3
A very fun book that not only has simple words for beginning readers but helps with teaching/reinforcing recognition of animals and the sounds they make. Rowan thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and has even taken it to bed with her several times.
Gray
May 14, 2013 rated it liked it
You told me you liked it, but the eyes were weird.
Brittany Quigley
also rhymes
shows a pup going on a walk and what he sees and hears
the pup finally makes his own sound
Beyond the Pages
Jan 07, 2014 rated it liked it
A cute find from the local library.

This was an easy reader with colorful pictures, a nice basic animal to sound review, and simple words.
Horace Mann Family Reading Challenge
A bouncy ball goes boink, boink, boink and a happy pig says oink, oink, oink. J
Noble
Jun 06, 2016 rated it it was ok
Yay more onomatapoeia books.
Jschofi4
Nov 01, 2015 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: easy-reader
Lots of repetition / familiar format for beginning readers.
Elizabeth
Sep 11, 2018 rated it it was ok
AR 0.7
Julia Jasztal
I thought this book was okay.
Jacob
Feb 21, 2013 rated it it was amazing
"I liked the train!"
Jake
Right now we're working on me reading this book to mommy! We do just a few pages a night because I'm so stubborn!
Karen Cushing
rated it it was amazing
Dec 30, 2013
Ariana
rated it liked it
Jun 01, 2016
Emily Myhren
rated it liked it
Feb 23, 2018
Ramon Blanco
rated it liked it
Jun 30, 2016
Sandy
rated it liked it
May 22, 2014
Christian
rated it really liked it
Feb 12, 2013
Dawn
rated it liked it
Nov 28, 2018
Louise
rated it really liked it
Jan 03, 2011
Alexander Rutan
rated it liked it
Aug 21, 2016
Moriah Faith
rated it did not like it
Jan 08, 2019
Christina Crumpley
rated it liked it
Sep 05, 2009
Katie Casey
rated it really liked it
Jun 06, 2016
Ashton
rated it did not like it
Feb 14, 2013
Seona☆
rated it did not like it
Nov 18, 2019
Annie Austin
rated it really liked it
Feb 21, 2017
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Beach Day
  • Country Fair
  • Show and Tell, Grades PK - K: Level 1
  • A Forest, or a Tree
  • The Black Cat
  • Uh-Oh! (Harry and His Bucket Full of Dinosaurs)
  • Can You Tell Me How to Get to Sesame Street?
  • Play Ball! (Pete the Cat: I Can Read)
  • The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)
  • Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle, #3)
  • The Serious Goose
  • I Know You Remember
  • Pig the Elf
  • This Book of Mine
  • The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle, #2)
  • Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, #1)
  • Twisted Twenty-Six (Stephanie Plum, #26)
  • Hattie Peck: The Journey Home
See similar books…

Related Articles

  Tami Charles is a former teacher and the author of picture books, middle grade and young adult novels, and nonfiction. As a teacher, she made...
30 likes · 48 comments