Jump to ratings and reviews
Rate this book

The Nameless Republic #2

Warrior of the Wind

Rate this book
Follow the epic trials and triumphs of Danso, Lilong and Esheme in this page-turning sequel to SON OF THE STORM. Coming 2023.


Expected publication November 23, 2023

Loading interface...
Loading interface...

About the author

Suyi Davies Okungbowa

24 books508 followers
Also known as Suyi Davies (writing for young readers)

Suyi Davies Okungbowa is a Nigerian author of fantasy, science fiction and general speculative work. His latest novels include Son of the Storm and Warrior of the Wind , both of the epic fantasy trilogy, The Nameless Republic. His debut godpunk fantasy novel David Mogo, Godhunter won the 2020 Nommo Award for Best Novel. His shorter works have appeared in various periodicals and anthologies and have been nominated for various awards. He also writes for younger audiences as Suyi Davies. He earned his MFA in Creative Writing from the University of Arizona, and is an Assistant Professor at the University of Ottawa.

Ratings & Reviews

What do you think?
Rate this book

Friends & Following

Create a free account to discover what your friends think of this book!

Community Reviews

5 stars
5 (71%)
4 stars
1 (14%)
3 stars
0 (0%)
2 stars
0 (0%)
1 star
1 (14%)
Displaying 1 - 2 of 2 reviews
Profile Image for Suyi Davies Okungbowa.
Author 24 books508 followers
January 18, 2023
UPDATE: 18 JAN 2023

Dear Reader,

If you’re the kind of person who has “keep fighting” and “never give up” tattooed on their arm, this is the book for you. If you love heists, harsh deserts, or fashion week—and a heist in the desert during a fashion pageant—this is the book for you. Maybe you were recently blown away by Andor as I was, or enamored by the Agojie warriors in The Woman King, because the thrill of rebellion and empire-wide trouble excites you—this book is for you.

Lilong. Art by Diana Dworak.

Perhaps you love dragons, and perhaps you’ve read a ton of fantasy novels with dragons, and now you yearn to see some fearsome beasts of other lore. Or maybe you love quests, a mismatched gang traveling and surviving through the toughest odds. Perhaps you love yourself some Indiana-Jones-esque mythical buried city with the promise of jewels and power. Or maybe you enjoy found families, or long-lost loves reunited, or throuples, or throuples with a baby.

Welcome. This book is for you.

Esheme. Art by Diana Dworak.

I am excited to announce that Warrior of the Wind, Book #2 of The Nameless Republic trilogy, finally has a RELEASE DATE: NOVEMBER 21, 2023.

If you are an established reader of this series, I can quickly tell you this: it is everything you loved about Son of the Storm, and then so much more. If you’re a reader new to this series, I say: welcome to epic fantasy steeped in West African lore and precepts, in its diversity and queerness. This is epic fantasy that wears its heart on its sleeve, bubbling with all the elements you love about this subgenre: heroes, sacrifices, revolutions, and magic that will delight and surprise you.

And yet, this is a book that takes everything you know about epic fantasy and rips it apart, turns it on its head. Here, heroes come from all corners, wield swords and styluses and tongues and magic in equal measure. Here, heroes are as ruthless as they are nurturing, as slippery and sly as they are thoughtful and honest. Scholar, warrior, emperor, consul, chief, bandit, vigilante, all ready to break what they need to in order to get what they desire. This is a tale with tributaries, taking you on multiple journeys at once, cutting you in ways that leave you unsure if to cry or bleed. This is a tale told the way this genre deserves: all of the old, all of the new, all in the way only this author can tell. It is an open embrace to epic fantasy, and an open embrace to the African storytelling aesthetic, voice, fashion, swagger. This is not your dad’s average doorstopper tome. This is a rallying cry in 400-some pages.

Danso. Art by Diana Dworak.

I am also proud to announce that all the wonderful CHARACTER ART you see above and below (brought to life by the excellent Diana Dworak) will be available IN PRINT as a PREORDER REWARD, and IN SELECT BOOKSTORES after release. Preorder dates and chosen bookstores will be announced via my social media, blog and newsletter. Stay tuned!

I am immensely proud of Warrior of the Wind. As an author, you sometimes get to tell a specific story that manages to answer the little questions you’ve always wondered about in private. What if Burning Man or Coachella met Leverage, and both smashed into Paris Fashion Week? What if the world became irreparably changed each time Lara Croft raided a tomb? What if humans made bad choices for the world, and the land, the seas and the winds responded? I hope that my sometimes hopeful, sometimes brutal yet truthful answers to these questions may strike and excite you, as well as lead you to introspection.

Characters from The Nameless Republic. Art by Diana Dworak.

Lastly, I am proud to announce that you can get access to A SECRET, EXCLUSIVE ONE-CHAPTER EXCERPT right now! This is only available to subscribers to my author newsletter. SIGN UP NOW to receive exclusive access to this one-chapter excerpt (it’s free).


I wish I could experience this book for the first time again. But now, that opportunity belongs only to you, dear reader. I enjoin you not to pass it up, to not be repelled by this book’s size. Rather, I dare you to read and enjoy this book, and then, like every good jali, take these stories to the world. Tell it to a stranger at the bar. Tell it to a coworker. Tell it at school, at worship, at the gym, at the play date. Pass on the story of unlikely heroes fighting against forces too big to conquer, and against themselves at the same time, yet hoping to conquer anyway. Pass on their courage, their fortitude, their strength. Keep reading. Keep fighting. Never give up.

Your Friendly Neighbourhood Author,

Displaying 1 - 2 of 2 reviews

Can't find what you're looking for?

Get help and learn more about the design.