Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Since September” as Want to Read:
Since September
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Since September

by
4.07  ·  Rating details ·  15 ratings  ·  5 reviews
For Sheridan St. John, things just haven't been the same since September.

It's early autumn when wall-flower Sheridan and her best friend, Cyndi, move to the city to begin their lives as young adults. On their own for the first time - and away from the harsh criticisms of Sheridan's mom - the girls are enjoying their new independence. But after a wild night of partying, She
...more
Kindle Edition
Published December 2020 by Shannon Hovey (first published April 22nd 2013)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Since September, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Since September

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-41
Average rating 4.07  · 
Rating details
 ·  15 ratings  ·  5 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Since September
Shanannigans
Mar 17, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: dark-fiction, horror
Psychological horror is so much scarier than gore and monsters, and that is just what this novella is, a gripping, psychological nightmare. Short but holds no punches!

If you are looking for a quick but toe-curling read, then look no further than Noelle MacLeod’s, Since September. It’s well-written, suspenseful, and ultimately delivers a horrifying twist of an ending.

My only critism would be, is that it felt too short. Perhaps, the author will develop this story into a full-length novel one day.
...more
Kim Lo
Sep 17, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Since September is a thrilling little psychological ride. Whether it lands in the horror zone is still on a fairly light degree although the imagery of some parts are done pretty well to give a good idea of the gruesome bits and the more creepy psychological bits. Structured as a novella, the story paces itself really well to never actually have any mundane down moments and it wraps together the false sense of security for its character Sheridan while also giving it some gripping moments which g ...more
Jessica Belmont
Aug 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
It blows my mind when authors are able to write novellas. The ability to simplify a story without compromising important parts of it is inspiring to me. Add in that Since September is a horror story, that, I think, becomes more difficult. I haven’t seen or read a horror recently, but this is definitely quality writing.

The plot was great. It drew me in immediately and kept me until the end. The pacing was perfect and nothing felt rushed or slowed.

I highly recommend checking Since September out. I
...more
Brie
May 21, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I was given this book by the author who happens to be a friend of mine. She asked for a truthful review so here I go.

It was a well-written, short, novel that had aspects of creepiness to it. The lead character is questioning her sanity and when her over-bearing mother is murdered, the awful voice that taunts her increases it's visits. She ends up in a mental institution and you slowly realize that she is more involve din her mother's death and Sheridan isn't as sane as she appeared.

A nice, quick
...more
Rae Gee
Jul 06, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2013-reads
Dark and disturbing, Since September is a short, sharp shock to the brain. Brilliantly written from the first person perspective, it takes a look in to the mind of a woman following the death of her mother. Voices and images come and go, the reader never quite sure what's real and what isn't. The story keeps you guessing until the very end. If you like Stephen King, you'll love Since September! Read during daylight hours. You have been warned! ...more
sally piltz
rated it liked it
Apr 11, 2016
Shannon Hovey
Apr 24, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Amber
rated it it was ok
Apr 12, 2016
Tomeka
rated it it was amazing
Sep 29, 2013
Carla Taylor
rated it it was amazing
Apr 16, 2016
Donni Ochoa
rated it really liked it
Mar 12, 2018
Karren321
rated it really liked it
Sep 18, 2014
Alyssa
rated it it was ok
Jul 22, 2013
Shannon Carraway
rated it really liked it
Jun 29, 2013
Shay Kwiat
rated it it was amazing
Apr 27, 2013
Amelia
marked it as to-read
Jun 11, 2013
Lisa W
marked it as to-read
Aug 12, 2013
Christine Zimmerman
marked it as to-read
Aug 13, 2013
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2013
Zoeytron
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2013
Athena
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2013
Monica
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2013
Diana Senn
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2013
Jennifer beck
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2013
Lyn Midden
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2013
Teresa Lavender
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2013
Kim Coomey
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2013
Janice
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2013
Brandy
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2013
Amber
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2013
Bernadette
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2013
Lori
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2013
Hazel
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2013
Pam
marked it as to-read
Sep 02, 2013
Julie
marked it as to-read
Sep 02, 2013
Cindy Gates
marked it as to-read
Sep 02, 2013
Barbara Zitsch
marked it as to-read
Sep 02, 2013
Zofia G
marked it as to-read
Sep 02, 2013
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Space Between Time
  • Hope (Operation Galton, #1)
  • Kill or Cure: Bloodlust
  • Sketch
  • Wild, Dark Times
  • Murder in Montague Falls: Noir-Inspired Novellas by Russ Colchamiro, Sawney Hatton & Patrick Thomas
  • Reaper: A Horror Novella (Reaper #1)
  • Love Potions and Other Calamities
  • The Serpent-Bearer and the Prince of Stars
  • The Moonlight Pegasus (The Moonlight Pegasus, #1)
  • Proximity: If the police always know where I am... How do I kill you?
  • Djævelens Lærling (Den Store Djævlekrig 1)
  • Crossline
  • Council of Souls (Fated Eternals, #2)
  • Victoria to Vikings: The Circle of Blood
  • Seven Hours: Challenge Accepted
  • Space Dragons
  • Elysia
See similar books…
4 followers
Sign up for my newsletter, Macabre Musings, at ShannonHovey.com

Received her B.A. in English at Acadia University before moving to the United States. There, she spent 18 years working with various bands, publishers, record labels and recording studios. In 2013, she returned to her homeland of Nova Scotia and published a psychological horror novella (under the pseudonym Noelle MacLeod). She is now
...more

News & Interviews

Martin Luther King Jr. once said, “We are not makers of history. We are made by history.” So, this January, as we celebrate Martin Luther King...
53 likes · 21 comments