Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Ghost (The Justice Chronicles, Book 1)” as Want to Read:
Ghost (The Justice Chronicles, Book 1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Ghost (The Justice Chronicles, Book 1)

by
4.08  ·  Rating details ·  52 ratings  ·  48 reviews
Best-selling, award-winning author and master storyteller Michael Jack Webb weaves a Supernatural Serial Killer tale like none you’ve ever read.

Enter a world where nothing is what it appears to be, and every clue leads an extraordinary young woman deep into the heart of darkness and beyond.

Kate Justice, FBI’s youngest Profiler, is assigned to find a serial killer with supe
...more
Paperback, 380 pages
Published October 23rd 2020 by Michael Jack Webb
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Ghost, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Ghost

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.08  · 
Rating details
 ·  52 ratings  ·  48 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Ghost (The Justice Chronicles, Book 1)
Sherry Chancellor
This book had a good story, buried in way too much minutiae and exposition. The characters had interesting backgrounds and the premise of the story was great. Sadly, the action was interrupted constantly by overlong descriptions and encyclopedia “dialogue” being inserted way too often. The periods of natural dialogue were good, but there was not enough of that to satisfy this reviewer.

The heroine’s parents disappeared, and rather than being upset and focused on finding them (she’s an FBI profil
...more
Rowena Hoseason
Dec 06, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2020
There’s a great story in here, but it’s simply submerged under ten tonnes of trivia and the result is not a ‘thriller’, more of a ‘plodder’. The premise is excellent: a young female FBI agent survives a harrowing encounter with the serial killer she’s been hunting. A year later, the killings begin again and her parents go missing. Her independent investigation uncovers a century-spanning supernatural / spiritual mystery a la The Da Vinci Code.

Unfortunately, this author does not have Dan Brown’s
...more
Terry Conrad
Nov 29, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Finding Ghost was a nice surprise for me. An author I have never read before and my favorite genre, Speculative Christian Fiction.

Kate is an extraordinary FBI Profiler and was investigating a supernatural serial killer. This serial killer attacked and killed her. She was resurrected 4 hours later. It's been a year and the FBI wants her back. The serial killer has struck again. Chris, a detective, joins her to help in the investigation. He is also helping her investigate the disappearance of her
...more
Anne Marie
Nov 15, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
In this book we follow Kate who is an FBI agent, who has a reputation that precedes her as of the best there has been. Her most recent case is trying to apprehend the 'Ghost in the Darkness Killer' but all is not as it seems. Kate has a strange heritage unbeknownst to her and this has caused her to go from the hunter to the hunted. After a brush with death and a year sabbatical, she is forced to return to work after her parents go missing. After the police take her statement, a mysterious detect ...more
Joan
Nov 29, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
It's hard to describe this novel. Spiritual warfare on steroids might be appropriate. It is not for the weak of heart yet Christians could certainly benefit from reading it. Webb highlights the reality of spiritual warfare and how evil spiritual beings might have been active for centuries.

The story got off to a rough start for me with a prologue event and then a plunge into current time. It took me a while to figure out what was going on. When I did, I was hooked. Kate is a troubled heroine bein
...more
Nadishka Aloysius
Jan 21, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Kate Justice discovers hidden truths about her own past as well as the war between good and evil that has been raging for millennia.
This was a real page-turner. If you are into Christian fiction then this is a good read.
There's also an amazing amount of trivia (which you can skip through if it's not your thing) and a lot of background about the Bible, ancient civilizations and Native American culture.
As a Christian I found some of the logic suspect... which I won't go into here. But if you ke
...more
John Bankosky
Nov 24, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Just as some people eat to live and don’t care much what they eat or how it tastes, and others live to eat with satisfaction of the taste buds being everything, so some of us read books like that. Some want an “elevator pitch” version of the story with just the action parts in print. Others want all the Michener-like detail, history, and culture that can be crammed into a story. I’m somewhere in the middle of those two ends of the spectrum – and Webb has delivered a perfectly delightful, gourmet ...more
Rachel (atimetothrill)
DNF no rating. I am 11% in and just need to put this down. The premise of this sounds so fun, but unfortunately the writing and transitions from past to present and back again feel awkward, and seem to include the entire thesaurus. I just can’t get past it.

Many thanks (and apologies) to BooksGoSocial for a free digital galley via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
Diane
Nov 10, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
"Do you believe vampires are real?" I was captivated by the story!
Ghost (The Justice Chronicles Book 1) by author Michael Jack Webb is the first in a new series. FBI Profiler Kate Justice is recovering from a traumatic experience that is medically impossible. During her last case, she was mortally injured and pronounced dead. She woke up four hours later and it has taken her several months to recover physically and emotionally. Kate knows she has a gift that has served her well as she profiles c
...more
Lynda Stevens
Dec 05, 2020 rated it really liked it
A young detective visits the victim of a serial crime in a hospital and even as she dies, does not register that the body on the gurney is hers, before being dragged down into a hellish underworld.

Fast-forward to the celebration of a milestone birthday with her beloved parents, and our heroine Katharine Justice falls asleep in the bath, only to discover that her parents have vanished into thin air.

There are the opening scenes of the forthcoming quest of Justice to catch the serial killer who had
...more
MacKenzie Rohrbacher
This book elicited quite the cornucopia of emotions. The first two hundred or so pages were incredibly hard to get through for two reason: the character dynamics felt forced, and the flow of conversation and presentation of information felt both unnatural and dense. It also didn’t help that the connections the book was trying to make (Native American lore, Biblical references, Bram Stroker’s Dracula, supernatural references, etc...) were disconnected and far fetched in a few cases.

To start, the
...more
Lilly Condo
Dec 06, 2020 rated it liked it
Ghost by Michael Jack Webb, Book #1 Justice Chronicles, is a supernatural delight. FBI agent Katharine Justice has been away from the FBI for almost a year due to a life-threatening injury on duty. She enjoyed her job and as one of the agency’s best, as well as, youngest profiler, but it was not just her body that had sustained injury, her mental health had suffered as well and she had her doubts that she would return to the agency. That was until her parents disappeared leaving only two small p ...more
Book Reviewer
Dec 13, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Ghost (The Justice Chronicles) by Michael Jack Webb follows a young FBI profiler, Kate Justice, as she is assigned a case where she must track down an elusive serial killer. Kate is a woman who is constantly running from her past. As the case takes an unnatural turn, and Kate’s past catches up with her, things turn dangerous. With a smart killer on her trail, and everything she thought she knew thrown into questions, Kate may not survive this case.

Ghost (The Justice Chronicles Book 1) is a rivet
...more
Lyvita
Dec 09, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book will have you creeping out and confused. Basically, set in Colorado but you have the opportunity to travel to some unusual places. You have an out of body experience, vampires, demons, a secret society, ghosts, oversized animals and a baby left on the steps of a church in whose origin is sketchy. Now how does that sound…creepy? What about evil spirits living for centuries that move from host to host? Well, let me add, there are a couple hair-raising events that are horrifying.

The confu
...more
Kevin Maltsberger
Ghost, the first book in the Justice Chronicle series, by Michael Jack Webb starts full of intrigue and increases the pace the further you read. I could not put this book down.

The author takes us on a winding journey though history, and gives such a fine detail, you can smell the coffee they drink. The story is fast paced and constantly full of surprises.

I loved how descriptive the story was, it places you directly in the room with the characters. The intensity is palpable, and the dialogue fel
...more
Julia
Nov 24, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Ghost by Michael Jack Webb is an exciting contemporary Christian supernatural thriller. It is the first book in The Justice Chronicles series.
Once again Michael Webb has created a complex plotline that draws the reader in from the start. Life is so much more than we can see, feel and hear. There is the supernatural that exists alongside the ordinary. The reader witnesses the struggle between good and evil. Life is a spiritual battle. In order to defeat the darkness, we need to stand on the word
...more
Lacey Mubanga
I was excited to read an advanced copy of this book. The storyline seemed very interesting and Christian fantasy fiction is pretty few and far between. Though the story itself was really creative, this book just didn't do it for me. The dialogue between the two main characters was extremely unrealistic. It was used to dump information, sometimes pertinent to the story, sometimes not. It just didn't flow. Also, a large event happens early on with Kate's immediate family and her reaction was so mi ...more
Lee Murray
Somewhere in this book is wonderful story—I just couldn’t find it buried under the avalanche of words.

Normally an author picks a major course of action with a couple of supporting emphases for color. Nothing was left out of this story. The history every location—some back to prehistoric times; Aramaic, Akkadian, history back to ancient Sumer, demonology, demon possession, Native American mythology and witchcraft, vampires—and this is only the beginning. I have an MDiv and my head was swimming.

If
...more
Kelly Anne Liberto
The first book of an intriguing supernatural thriller - I highly recommend!

I received an ARC from the author with the agreement that I would review the book.

FBI profiler Kate Justice is forced back into her deadliest case after the mysterious disappearance of her parents. Two weeks before her 30th birthday she discovers the family cabin empty after taking a bath upstairs while both her parents are downstairs preparing dinner.

When she is done her bath she finds drops of blood in the kitchen an
...more
Michelle Kidwell
Ghost
The Justice Chronicles Book 1
by Michael Jack Webb
BooksGoSocial
Christian | Mystery & Thrillers
Pub Date 22 Oct 2020


I am reviewing a copy of Ghost through Books Go Social and Netgalley:


Kate Justice is the FBI’s youngest profiler and she has been assigned to find serial killers with supernatural abilities.




The killer is cunning, elusive and seems to be invincible.



Kate finds herself having to race against time to discover who or what is behind the gruesome murders and prevent another brutal ki
...more
Kelly
Nov 29, 2020 marked it as unfinished  ·  review of another edition
I have had to stop reading this o e unfortunately. I have tried several times to get into the narrative and to find a connection with Kate but I am struggling.

A couple of reasons for this.

Firstly, the book jumps from past to present, current life to memory without any discernible difference. One moment you are in a kitchen or a bathroom and a sentence later you are thrown into a killer's lair. It kept taking me aback and I had to keep going back and forth to reread and get my bearings.

Secondl
...more
Kerry Lord
Nov 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Life is hard and sometimes it simply sucks as main character, Kate Justice like any one of us make decisions each day to let life make us either bitter or better. Follow Kate has she comes to grips with the true enemy of our souls in this action-packed suspenseful book filled with nuggets of wisdom from Native Lands of the CUNA Region (Colorado, Utah, New Mexico, Arizona) A land of mystery and secrets that I'm anxious to see how Michael Jack Webb unfolds in his exciting new "The Justice Chronicl ...more
Carol Pennington
Kate is one of the FBI’s top profilers, possibly one of the best ever. She is known for her unconventional methods for finding killers. However, the Ghost in the Darkness killer is stretching her abilities to the max.

This is by far one of the best thrillers I have read to date. The paranormal aspect makes it all the more enthralling. I found it entertaining, eerie and educational. I was especially excited to find it is a clean book free of foul language and sex scenes. It doesn’t lack in violen
...more
Delphia  Von Heeder
Ghost is the first book in an exciting new series by Michael Jack Webb. Ghost is an inspirational suspense thriller and this book delivers fast paced excitement from page 1 to the end of the story. Kate Justice is a FBI profiler who has her parents kidnapped. Detective Chris Schindler is trying to help Kate find her parents as well as the mass murderer, Ghost in the Darkness. This story has twists and turns that takes the reader on a wild ride! It is scary and exciting. I couldn’t put it down. I ...more
Mary
Nov 20, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received an advance review copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily.

Maybe I expected more than an intense 'history-type' and more a 'Supernatural Serial Killer type' from the synopsis of the book.

Not to say that the author doesn't know his stuff, but I was somewhat bored by every part of the book being over-explained, that I ended up skimming these pages to get to the FBI investigating the serial killer part of the book.

This of course is my personal preference, I am sure many wo
...more
Marcie
Dec 31, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I really good story with a supernatural elements along with folklore. I loved the nod to Stephen King and the book was very well researched. Kate is an FBI profiler who deals with supernatural investigations, while she is investigating a serial killer she is attacked and someone survives the ordeal. A year later her parent so go missing and the killings start up again. She teams up with deputy Ft. Collins to try to solve what happened to her parents and to stop this serial killer. If you like su ...more
William
Dec 20, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to William by: Michael J Webb
Having read all the other books by Michael J Webb I was anxious to read the beginning of this new series. I was not disappointed! Michael takes us into a world of intrigue both natural and spiritual as he lays the foundation for the rest of the series. His use of historical data sets the context for our understanding of the spiritual world he is presenting that is set in solid time-honored traditions. The supernatural elements are most intriguing as very few writers who do supernatural 'thriller ...more
Lacie Jones
Nov 22, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This story draws you in and refuses to let go. Kate is a beautifully written character whose flaws are flawless to do she was meant to be. Her thought process is wild, wonderful, and easy enough to follow once you shake the reality of your own process. Chris is the type of partner that has her back completely. He is an all in kind of man that accepts the paranormal because of his own experiences with it prior to ever meeting Kate. I wasn't even slightly disappointed that the disappearance of her ...more
Caroline Price
Nov 29, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Michael Jack Webb has added a little something extra to the mix in his latest thriller, Ghost, by giving his serial killer supernatural abilities...nothing like making things harder for the poor FBI profiler! It's very good, I thoroughly enjoyed it and it is the first book in a new series - The Justice Chronicles. The young FBI profiler is called Kate Justice and she really has her work cut out in her attempts to remain the hunter rather than the hunted. I will look forward to book two! ...more
Bonita Soley
Oct 26, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Another good series begins! Packed with factoids and religious/supernatural lore from a variety of religions all woven together around the hunt for a serial killer, and mysterious occurrences for the main characters. Really covers a lot of ground and I like the focus on Native American beliefs that kind of centers everything throughout the story. Definite quirky and slightly out-of-the ordinary lead characters, but that is actually part of the plan.
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Killer Blonde
  • The Haunting of Brynn Wilder
  • Pritchard's Pest Control
  • Breath: The New Science of a Lost Art
  • Someone Else's Daughter (Miranda's Rights, #1)
  • I'm Not Dying with You Tonight
  • Hell's Kitchen's Kids
  • The History of Love
  • No Place to Hide
  • The Glass House: A PIP Inc. Mystery
  • The Funeral Murder (PIP Inc. #2)
  • Ring Shout
  • Rosie’s Travelling Tea Shop
  • Evolving Vegan: Deliciously Diverse Recipes from North America's Best Plant-Based Eateries—for Anyone Who Loves Food
  • Vegetable Kingdom: The Abundant World of Vegan Recipes
  • Saint Vandal's Day (Death by Cupcake, #7)
  • Soulkeepers
  • Lethal Intent
See similar books…
23 followers
Michael Jack Webb graduated summa cum laude from the University of Florida and obtained his J.D. from the same university. Over the past forty years he has travelled the world in search of adventure.

Michael is a history buff, both ancient and modern, and is fascinated by the intersection of the scientific, supernatural, and Biblical world views. He's studied and taught from the Bible for more than
...more

News & Interviews

  Die-hard mystery fans are always on the hunt for their next supremely satisfying whodunit. To help you stock that Want to Read shelf, we asked...
61 likes · 23 comments