Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Cut Her Out In Little Stars” as Want to Read:
Cut Her Out In Little Stars
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Cut Her Out In Little Stars

by
4.26  ·  Rating details ·  39 ratings  ·  27 reviews
Cara DeLeon is a woman lost in time. She’s stuck at a job she hates in a city she wants to escape. When tragedy strikes on a subway train, Cara awakens to find herself in the future, but not the one she dreamed of. Her old life is a distant memory and nothing is as it seems. Thrust into a future on the brink of war, she must learn how to navigate this strange new universe. ...more
Paperback, 421 pages
Published January 11th 2021 by Solstice Publishing
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Cut Her Out In Little Stars, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Cut Her Out In Little Stars

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.26  · 
Rating details
 ·  39 ratings  ·  27 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Cut Her Out In Little Stars
Daniele Kasper
Jan 20, 2021 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Be careful what you wish for. Our heroine, Cara, learns that the hard way after years spent dreaming about escaping the big city and trading in the boring 9 to 5 grind for a life of travel and adventure. When her wish finally comes true, she realizes she may have ended up with more than she bargained for. She wanted travel and adventure, just not the kind that takes her nearly a thousand years into the future and onto a spaceship.

Cut Her Out In Little Stars is a story for anyone who has ever lo
...more
Patricia Lynn
Nov 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Fantastic book by a new and upcoming author! I was given the opportunity to read this book as a beta reader and it had me locked in from the start! I have read this book twice now and could easily sit down for a third time. Syfy, fantasy, romance, friendship, betrayal; it checked all the boxes I love for a good read. The character development is great and the descriptive writing has you closing your eyes and being right there along for the ride. Edge of my seat and crying I was so excited yet so ...more
TatiAnna
Apr 09, 2021 rated it really liked it
If you're looking for a cool-as-heck sci-fi romance with plenty of intrigue and excitement, you've come to the right place!

The book starts out with our protagonist, Cara DeLeon. She’s a normal woman living in New York and she’s bored with her life. She hates her job, she’s not in love with her boyfriend, and she’s desperate to leave the city. At the same time, she’s scared to make any changes for fear of never finding anything better. Then she climbs onto the subway and the train crashes, while
...more
The BGR
Apr 10, 2021 rated it really liked it
Whoa, I didn't expect this from the cover (and I usually don't read book blurbs). I read this in just a few days--I was hooked right in, so reading 400+ pages within a short time may also prove to skew reviewing.

For example, I thought this book could benefit from plot editing/tightening, mostly toward the end; I'm not sure if every little thing about character motives and actions needs to be explained through character dialogue; and one betrayal was also enough for me: the plot twists toward the
...more
Sahana Ramnath
Feb 13, 2021 rated it it was amazing
I just finished reading this book I'm simultaneously shocked at the cliffhanger and crying about how wonderful the book was 🙃😢

Cara and Caine must uncover dark secrets and betrayals, and fight a looming war, all the while struggling with growing feelings for each other - enemies to friends to lovers, I just 💛💛

Angst, friendship, love, betrayal.. and space+time-travel, this book had it all 🖖 the cliffhanger is still killing me, I am anticipating many daydreams ahead about the sequel and the fate of
...more
Louise
Feb 23, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2021-reads, arc-books
4.5/5 RTC!
Candice Ryan
Jan 26, 2021 rated it really liked it
“You changed me; you changed my life for the better. You have made me better in so many ways. You opened my heart back up; you are in my heart, and you always will be."

This book tells the life of a lot of people... Settling for a mediocre life for fear of being alone or failing at an endeavor.
Cara is in danger of this very thing. Stuck in a dead end job, with an excitement lacking relationship, she feels like there is no way out. that is, until destiny, or in this case, an EMP blast gone awry,
...more
Anathea Krrill
Mar 13, 2021 rated it really liked it
Three and a half stars for this promising debut novel.
The blurb of this romance-infused science fiction novel had my interest peaked immediately.
Following an accident, Cara, a modern day woman time-travels 900 years into the future, where she meets Star Fleet Commander, Nicholas Caine.
At first, Caine believes her to be part of the rebel tribe his troops are fighting, but by means of 'mindwalking' he determines that Cara came from the past.
The conundrum? He needs to get her back to the past witho
...more
Jacki Rawlinson
Mar 16, 2021 rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed this book, even though sci-fi romance is not usually my preferred genre.
Kasper's style is unique and she wrote the characters with depth and feeling, easily transporting you into their world.
There was a wide range of emotions that Cara went through during her journey, which Kasper brought to life through her words. I enjoyed seeing the relationship between Cara and Caine develop, even her frustration at Caine's stubborn closed off manner.
There was tension, humour, sadness and
...more
Lin Lustig
Mar 05, 2021 rated it really liked it

Cut Her Out in Little Stars is a fun and relaxing read. The omniscient point-of-view style was difficult for me to sink into, but the story was straightforward and the world intriguing. I would have liked to see more depth to the characters and a faster pace, but that could just be me.

Be aware that Cut Her Out in Little Stars was categorized as a sci-fi romance, but it doesn’t have a Happily Ever After or a Happy For Now ending. It is certainly a romantic sci-fi, but the primary story focus on t
...more
Paige Green
Jan 09, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Disclaimer: I received the e-arc from the author. Thanks! All opinions are my own.

Book: Cut Her Out In Little Stars

Author: Daniele Kasper

Book Series: Standalone

Rating: 5/5

Recommended For...: sci-fi lovers, ya readers

Publication Date: January 11, 2021

Genre: YA Sci-Fi

Recommended Age: 15+ (romance, gore, violence)

Publisher: Solstice Publishing

Pages: 419

Synopsis: Cara DeLeon is a woman lost in time. She’s stuck at a job she hates in a city she wants to escape. When tragedy strikes on a subway train,
...more
Reading_is_my_yoga
Feb 23, 2021 rated it really liked it
"Inky blackness with dotted with glimmering spots of light. The slender curve of a pastel blue planet, half shaded in darkness loomed in the distance. Space; she was in space. Which meant, despite how illogical it sounded, she was on a spaceship."
~
~
"Cut Her Out In Little Stars" totally surprised me. I didn't know what to expect and started reading it with an open mind. It sucked me in immediately and didn't let go so I tore through it in two days.
~
It was sent to me by the author in exchange for
...more
D.M. Taylor
Feb 11, 2021 rated it really liked it
I make no secret that I love a good time travel story. I might even have an unhealthy obsession with the idea of traveling to the past; the good, the bad, the fantastic. Sometimes, I even overlook the idea of traveling into the future. It’s much more daunting of a perspective; so much of the unknown.
In this novel, Cut Her Out In Little Stars, the main character is unexpectedly and unknowingly transported into the future. One of the ideas from the story that I loved in the setting’s uncharted pl
...more
Cranky - The Book Curmudgeon
Feb 14, 2021 rated it really liked it
4 Cranky Stars


I really liked this story but I can only give it 4 stars because it was confusing at times. It is about time travel in a way.


The main character is a young lady named Cara who lives in NYC. She works for a telemarketing firm and has a boyfriend. He wants to marry her but she won't move in with him because she is unsure how she really feels. In her mind, there must be more to life. She wants adventure and the feeling of "swept me off my feet" love. Well, maybe she will get that some
...more
Chelsea Girard
Jan 16, 2021 rated it really liked it
Cut Her Out In Little Stars By Daniele Kasper

Rating: 4/5

What if you woke up and nothing was the same as you remembered it? Cara DeLeon is just that girl. From being a normal girl, taking on the city, Cara finds herself thrown through space and time as she is now in the future. Life will never be the same.

Cara DeLeon’s character is probably one of my favourites that I have read in a book recently. She’s not only genuine and real as her emotions are raw and flawed but she responds to the situation
...more
Kasey Connors-Beron
Dec 30, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I received a free ARC thanks to the publisher through Reedsy.

Cara is a spitfire from modern times that ends up, through a freak accident, 900 years in the future. Cool technology and space travel. What’s not to love? Probably the interplanetary war, lack of hot showers, and the infuriating Commander, Caine. On top of all that, no one is telling her anything but half-truths and lies.

Caine discovers Cara has mysteriously arrived on his ship in the middle of a, potentially catastrophic, battle. Ev
...more
Nicole Reeves
Jan 19, 2021 rated it really liked it
I was given an arc copy in exchange for my honest review.

What I loved:

Excellent world building
Well thought out and fleshed out characters.
Fun twists with Espers and mind walking.
A fresh and exciting story line with space and time travel and just enough romance.

What I struggled with:

Slow paced, took a while before it felt like things were happening.
Abrupt ending. I wanted a little more tied up before the sequel.

Would recommend to those who love sci-fi, adventure, and time travel. Look forward to
...more
Margot Ostrander
Jan 23, 2021 rated it it was amazing
As a super busy hospital worker, mother, wife and horse owner i have little to no spare time. I started this book and carried it with me everywhere for a week! I read chapters where I could squeeze them in because I loved the characters and the story. I think about the book when I'm not reading it and that is how I rate the quality of a book! I hope the author has started on the sequel, I will be looking forward to it! ...more
Jeanne Richardson
Jan 17, 2021 rated it it was amazing
This is the 1st book I've read written by Daniele Kasper; she has done a great job at writing a good book; I can’t wait to read more of her books.

The story line caught my attention at the very beginning and kept me interested throughout the entire book.

I received a free copy of this book via booksprout and I’m voluntarily leaving a review.
...more
sarah gleason
Feb 13, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A wonderfully fun book. There is a lot of room for world building and character building in the future. I'm excited for the next book and look forward to the adventure. The author did a great job of helping you understand what the character feels and as crazy as the situation is, one can imagine being in the situation. It's a fun and fantastic love story. ...more
Alie
Dec 15, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This book was an absolute whirlwind from start to finish and I loved every moment of it.

Where do I start?

Daniele’s writing is like a magnet, pulling you through the story with a kind of force you only ever feel when you’re stuck into a really epic book. I was finding myself clock watching at work so that I could start reading again as soon as I finished for the day.

Cara and Caine’s relationship throughout the book is like a carefully choreographed dance - as main characters, they are both so str
...more
J.E. Rowney
Dec 06, 2020 rated it really liked it
Chick-lit sci-fi quantum entanglement

Where do I start?!
This book sets out like your standard chick lit novel. Two girls in New York, hitting the food trucks to save money on lunch, Cara wondering about the future of her relationship with BF David, best friend Olivia by her side.

Next thing you know, whoosh, some space-time glitch blams Cara into the Archon, a Confederate spaceship, a thousand years in the future. If you think that relationships on Earth in the twenty-first century are tough, t
...more
Rebecca (Bex the Bibliophile)
Jan 16, 2021 rated it really liked it
Thank you so much to the author for providing me with a copy to review as part of a book tour. This in no way affects my review.

Cut Her Out in Little Stars has surprised me by how much I enjoyed it because I am usually a logic-based and technical science fiction reader. While this book has some science behind it, it is very much a science fiction romance, not something I have considered before, but I thoroughly enjoyed.

My favourite part of Cut Her Out in Little Stars has to be the characters.
...more
Liv Evans
Feb 24, 2021 rated it really liked it
Cut Her Out in Little Stars is a fun, absorbing story about a woman sucked through time and into space. There are twists and turns all the way through, and it was easy to sit back and enjoy the journey.
The story starts off with a well-written introduction to Cara and her life. There is a deep sense of restlessness in her, and by the time the incident occurs, I was hoping something would change for her. I guess reading the blurb beforehand helped me stay hooked and get excited about the impending
...more
❤ Aly ❤
Jan 18, 2021 rated it really liked it
Shelves: january-2021
Daniele Kasper has an amazing writing style. Her writing made me engaged throughout the whole book. Leading to why I finished this book in one day.

Cara was an amazing main character and I could relate to her in multiple ways. Caine also was a great character. They both had their flaws but connected to each other in a different way that I had not seen done before. I really liked their development as individuals and a duo throughout the story. The relationship seemed natural and not too pushed.

T
...more
Tasha Leigh
Feb 19, 2021 rated it it was ok
IOk so this will be a short one because it was not my thing. If you follow me at all, you would know Im usually a reviewer of fantasy and scifi. When the author approached me and asked me to read this, I read the synopsis and thought 'sweet. Its a sci fi novel with some romance' ala last years Docile. Reader, it is not...

So the first 30% is all about the coming together and each MC starting to care about the other (pretty standard stuff). Its all awkward meetings and misunderstandings but it als
...more
Edith I. Davis
rated it liked it
Mar 15, 2021
Abby Young
rated it it was amazing
Apr 10, 2021
Lynne St. Clair
rated it really liked it
Jan 24, 2021
Jennifer Davis
rated it really liked it
Feb 21, 2021
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Flashbang
  • Writers & Lovers
  • The Only Good Indians
  • The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
  • This Is Where It Ends
  • Alex, Approximately
  • Anarchy at Prescott High (The Havoc Boys, #4)
  • Sapience: A Collection of Science Fiction Short Stories
  • Slaughterhouse-Five
  • Victories Greater Than Death (Universal Expansion #1)
  • Mother Loves Me
  • Fine
  • The Initial Insult (The Initial Insult, #1)
  • The Last Secret You’ll Ever Keep
  • The Quantum Weirdness of the Almost-Kiss
  • When Force Meets Fate: A Mission to Solve an Invisible Illness
  • Music of the Night (Tower Knights #1)
  • Faithless in Death (In Death, #52)
See similar books…
111 followers
Daniele Kasper’s travels have taken her around the world and back again, but her favorite adventures will always be found between the covers of a good book. From rescuing dolphins in the Florida Keys, to getting chased by grizzly bears in Alaska, Daniele has taken her adventures and used them as inspiration for her writing. Eventually, she married a horse trainer and settled down in central Michig ...more

Related Articles

  Bestselling author Jeff VanderMeer is perhaps best known for his creepy sci-fi thriller Annihilation, which was made into a movie and kicked...
152 likes · 34 comments
“Inky blackness was dotted with glimmering spots of light. The slender curve of a pastel blue planet, half-shaded in darkness, loomed in the distance. Space; she was in space.
Despite how illogical it sounded, she was on a spaceship.
Pressing a hand against the glass, she stared out into the unending expanse of space and found herself questioning not just reality but also her sanity. This couldn’t possibly be real. There had to be some sort of explanation.”
0 likes
“Cara stared up at the stars, thinking about the three sisters who sacrificed themselves before they would betray each other. “They loved each other so much they died for each other.”
“Sometimes, when you love someone that much, dying is the least you would do to protect them.” His voice was hushed as he gazed skyward.”
0 likes
More quotes…