,
Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “A Cat on the Case (Witch Cats of Cambridge, #3)” as Want to Read:
A Cat on the Case (Witch Cats of Cambridge, #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

A Cat on the Case

(Witch Cats of Cambridge #3)

by
3.80  ·  Rating details ·  81 ratings  ·  41 reviews
When a panicked stranger shows up at Charm and Cherish, Becca Colwin feels compelled to help. But when that stranger then disappears, leaving behind her heirloom violin the aspiring witch detective is drawn further into a web of deceit and intrigue complicated by a history that only Becca’s three magical cats truly understand.
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published January 26th 2021 by Polis
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A Cat on the Case, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about A Cat on the Case

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.80  · 
Rating details
 ·  81 ratings  ·  41 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of A Cat on the Case (Witch Cats of Cambridge, #3)
Miss W Book Reviews
Apr 02, 2022 rated it it was amazing
A Cat on the Case is the third Book in the “A Witch Cats of Cambridge Mystery” series by Clea Simon. It can be read as a standalone mystery, but its SO good you will definitely want to read the first two books in the series!

I love the location of Cambridge as the setting in this book.

I enjoy how this cozy mystery has mystery, cats, and paranormal elements.

The story centers around Becca and her three lovely cats, Clara, Laurel and Harriet.

This book focuses on Clara's story, ahhh Clara the cal
...more
Dawnny
Mar 23, 2022 rated it it was amazing
This is book three in the Witch Cats of Cambridge Mystery series. Becca has a mystery on her hands when a stranger shows up and leaves a heirloom violin and then dissapears. Things get even stranger when her next door neighbor dies. There are many twists and turns in this mystery that kept me guessing. I have not read the first two books. This can be read as a stand alone. I just adored the cats and how they are such a big part of the story. This was a good cozy mystery and just what I needed. I ...more
Neil Plakcy
Jan 25, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Clea Simon is a wonderful writer with a real "ear" for animals and their thoughts. That ear is on display here once again in another cats of Cambridge mystery. Each of the three felines has a separate, and strong personality, as do the humans.

Overall, it's a charming and clever book for those who love cats and mystery.
...more
Katherine Decker
Jun 25, 2021 rated it really liked it
Another enjoyable read. Combines magic, cats, mystery and music. How much trouble can a violin cause? What will Clara learn about her family history and what must she do to protect her human? It’s a snowy adventure in Cambridge, MA for all, cat and human alike.
Karen Hollins-Stallman
Jan 09, 2021 rated it really liked it
A Cat on the Case is the 3rd book in the “A Witch Cats of Cambridge Mystery” by Clea Simon. It can be read as a stand-alone but I recommend reading in order.

I enjoyed the setting of Cambridge , along with Becca’s BFF Maddy who is still trying to keep her out of trouble. Another side character I really love is Elizabeth and I hope in future books we learn more about her. The story is told from the cats perspective and I enjoyed that. I found there to still be a secondary story that of how the cat
...more
Susan Oleksiw
Jan 27, 2021 rated it really liked it
Shelves: mysteries
A young woman walks into Charm and Cherish, the shop where Becca Colwin has begun a new job, and asks about hiring her as a detective. Suddenly panicked by something outside the shop, the woman rushes out leaving behind her violin case. Eager to help her and curious about her reason for needing a detective, Becca goes after her but to no avail. She inspects the case and finds a valuable antique violin and a slip of paper with her home address on it. Becca isn’t sure what to do, nor is her younge ...more
Susan Ballard
Apr 14, 2022 rated it really liked it
A Cat On the Case (Witch Cats of Cambridge #3)
By Clea Simon
Publisher: Polis Books
Pub Date: 1.26.2022

I’m finding that cozies are really a surprising and enjoyable genre. I loved this paranormal mystery and its feline sleuths!

Becca Colwin is an aspiring witch detective working at Charms and Cherish, a New Age magic shop. She hopes to hone her magical gifts (which she really doesn’t have).

A strange woman walks into Charms and Cherish, but she runs out before Becca can assist her, leaving behind a
...more
Vintagebooklvr
A fun mystery with cats and surprises plus a harrowing chase through the streets of Boston during a blizzard. Clea Simon knows how to portray cats with personalities and actions. Although this is the third in a series there is no need to have read the other books to understand this. The only thing I didn’t totally understand was the relationship between the three cats. They are suppose to be littermates but one cat acts much older and has knowledge the youngest cat does not have.

Thanks to Netga
...more
Penny
Jan 24, 2021 rated it really liked it
I had never read this author before, but I have been really getting into paranormal cozies and I thought I’d give this one a try. I know this is the third in a series, but you really don’t have to have read the first two to enjoy this. At first, I was a little confused at how this book was written, and it took me a little bit to get used to it as the cats are more the protagonists than Becca. Once I did, the book flew by. I thought it was a nice, easy way to while away an afternoon in a good boo ...more
Jeanne
Dec 31, 2020 rated it really liked it
This is the third in the Witch Cats of Cambridge series and is the best to date. Simon is comfortable in the world she has created and is now expanding and filling in the background. Becca Corwin, an aspiring witch, takes on a case of a violin that may be cursed. Meanwhile, there's a murder in her apartment building and her three cats (who are the ones with REAL powers) are on the case. Or rather, Clara is-- the little calico adores her person and is determined to keep her safe. There's a bit of ...more
Mollie Hunt
Jan 20, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: cat-mysteries
ANOTHER WINNER FOR CAT COZY FANS (and the rest of you, too)

Clea Simon’s “A Cat on the Case” has everything I could want from a cozy cat mystery: thrills, chills, a bit of romance, a bit of witchcraft, a bit of murder, and a whole lot of cats.

Told basically from the cats’ point of view, this 3rd in the Witch Cats of Cambridge series chronicles the life of Becca Colwin, a young witchy wanna-be. Becca imagines she has powers, but in reality, it all comes down to her cats. Like most dedicated cat co
...more
Valeri Sullivan
Feb 14, 2021 rated it really liked it
Book 3 In A Witches of Cambridge series is by leaps and bounds the best in installment in the series so far. Our three favorite magical cats have to watch out for their pet Becca as she tackles her latest case while worrying about losing her own home to condo developers and working as a shop girl at the local wiccan store. Clara has her paws full protecting her human while learning bits about her own magical past from her sisters. I can't wait to see where this series goes! ...more
David Morgan
Mar 09, 2022 rated it really liked it
Magical cats in a magical story.
In this, the third of the Witch Cats of Cambridge series, the youngest of the cats, Clara takes center stage. Her human, Becca, comes across a stranger seeking her help who soon disappears leaving behind an heirloom violin and a huge mystery. When Becca's next door neighbor ends up dead the mystery deepens as it soon becomes evident the two cases are connected. Who is after the violin and to what extent will they go to get their hands on it? With Clara and her sis
...more
Regan
Oct 20, 2021 rated it it was ok
I'm just not a an of this series. I've stuck with it to this point because they are a book club read and I feel an obligation to the club. I also loved her Pru Marlowe series and wish she'd pick it up again. That was a great series -- one you just sat up reading each book because you had to know the ending.

I know it's not really fair to compare one series to another. I just don't buy into the fantasy aspect of this one. It's like she's trying to combine Leann Sweeney's Magical Cat series with th
...more
Sherri
Jan 21, 2021 rated it really liked it
Becca Colwin is working at Charm and Cherish when a woman comes in to the store and asks for her help. Before Becca can find out what she wants, the woman rushes out and leaves behind an heirloom violin, that just happens to have Becca's home address on a note inside the violin case. The aspiring witch detective, with the assistance of her three magical cats, wade through all of the lies and deceit to get to the truth of what is really going on.
This was a cute mystery. There were really two stor
...more
Cozy Reviews
Mar 22, 2021 rated it it was amazing
The is the 3rd book in the poplar "Witch Cats Of Cambridge" mystery series. This series is pure catnip for cat lovers as the author writes so eloquently of cats and knows their behaviors. The three magical cats featured are wonderfully written and such fun to return to with each book. I highly recommend this series especially for all readers that love cats. Thank you to the publisher and to Net Galley for the opportunity to review this next in series. My review opinions are my own.

Becca has a i
...more
Marissa
Nov 26, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Kindle Copy for Review from NetGally and Polaris.

I received a free, advance copy of this book and this is my unbiased and voluntary review.

A stranger appears at Becca’s store but soon disappears leaving a heirloom violin. Her three magical cats and Becca will soon learn the history behind it and the deceit it holds.

A charming read in the series.
samantha vogel-Hespos
Apr 15, 2022 rated it it was amazing
Will review
Cheri Schaefer
Apr 23, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I'm totally enamored with this series!

I absolutely love this author! She has the
wonderful gift of spinning a phenomenal
mystery. I'm definitely a fan of including cats
in the tales of mystery and intrigue. Especially
when the cat's are given a voice and are a
major part of the story line. This mystery had
a great story line and wonderful characters. I
do love Clara the little calico the best since I
have a calico fur baby of my own. I'm really
looking forward to reading more in this series.
I just wish i
...more
Annarella
Apr 12, 2021 rated it it was amazing
I love cozy mysteries featuring cats and this is one of my favorite series.
The cats are as lovely as usual, it was great to catch up with the characters and the solid mystery kept me guessing.
I can't wait to read the next book in this series, this one is strongly recommended.
Many thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for this ARC, all opinions are mine
...more
Sandie Herron
Becca Colwin believes she is a witch since, after all, she did conjure a pillow out of thin air. However, as she and her tiny coven knows, she hasn’t been able to do anything magical since then. Becca’s three cats, all littermates, easily talk among themselves about the timing of their summoning spell coinciding with Becca’s. It is Clara, Laurel, and Harriet that know better. These three have wickedly smart and funny purr-sonalities.

It is Becca’s neighbor that pounds on the door, complaining of
...more
Jay Strafford
Jan 26, 2021 rated it really liked it
Becca Colwin aspires to be a witch detective, but it’s feline littermates Harriet, Laurel and Clara who wield the magical powers and supply Becca with companionship and care.

As the story opens, Ruby Grozny visits Charm and Cherish, the New Age shop where Becca works, abandons her family’s vintage violin and vanishes. Becca is perplexed; adding to her stress, she’s troubled that her Boston-area apartment building is going condo.

Worse trouble arrives when Larry Rakov -- a man Becca assumed had mov
...more
Susan
Feb 20, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Becca Colwin works at Charm and Cherish and believes that she has witchy powers. Unknown to her, the witchy magic resides in her three cats and they are happy to keep her thinking that she has the powers. I love these cats and, in this entry to the series, little Clara, the Calico, shines. She is tasked with keeping Becca safe, out of trouble but that's a challenge for the little cat. If she isn't up to it she hears it from her littermates.
While at work, a young woman asks her for help but bolts
...more
Yvonne
Oct 20, 2021 rated it really liked it
Becca Colwin is working in a shop called Charm and Cherish. She’s taken aback when a young woman shows up and leaves a valuable violin behind. The young woman vanishes and Becca tries to find her. When she does, there’s a dead body involved. Becca’s friend Maddy warns her not to trust the girl, but Becca is sure she’s trustworthy.

Joining Becca in her search is her young kitty, Clara. What Becca doesn’t know is that Clara and her two sisters have special powers and are watching over Becca. Clara
...more
Book
Jan 11, 2021 rated it liked it
Shelves: cozy-mystery
Clea Simon continues to flesh out the four primary characters in her Witch Cats of Cambridge Mystery series, Harriet, Laurel, and Clara, the three witch cats and their human, Becca Colwin.

Becca works at Charm & Cherish, a magic shop in Cambridge Central Square, and mistakenly believes she possesses magic powers that belong to her cats. The current mystery dominates, but Ms. Simon does reveal, in bits and pieces, a little more about the witch cats’ background. Since Clara becomes invisible to acc
...more
Debbie Rozier
Mar 17, 2022 rated it really liked it
I thought this cozy mystery was well done. I liked the combination of mystery with a touch of magic. I also loved the way the cats were given such human personalities and acted very much like human sisters.

The mystery itself was interesting and had just enough complexity to keep the read interesting.

I can completely sympathize with the main character (not feline), Becca, who has gone back to work and has to leave her fur babies home alone all day. Becca has a neighbor that complains about the
...more
Darla Taylor
A strange girl comes into Charm and Cherish looking for help and Becca Colwin feels drawn to do so. But, the girl takes off before giving her name and leaves an old violin behind. Becca is soon pulled into a case where nothing is as it seems and murder is definitely at play.

I've enjoyed this series so far but was not as entranced with this book. We did get to learn more of the history of the three cats which was great. However, the book was slow-moving and there were several errors and typos thr
...more
Ann
May 02, 2021 rated it liked it
This is a cute easy to read magical cozy with 3 sister cats and their human, Becca. This is the 3rd book in the Witch Cats of Cambridge series. Becca is working at the Charm and Cherish gift shop and her cats are not happy that they are home alone all day. Now their building is going condo, Becca's not sure she can afford to buy, a mysterious young woman leaves behind a valuable violin at the shop and her new neighbor is found dead in the hallway. The magical cats are trying to help but sometime ...more
Lisa Albright
Apr 09, 2022 rated it it was amazing
Any cat lover knows that there is something figuratively magical about cats. The three cats in this series are literally magical and can talk to each other while using their powers to help their sweet owner while she attempts to solve the crime.

This is a clever mystery and while I haven't read the first two books in the series I didn't find it necessary to understand what was going on in this story. Becca is a charming main character and I enjoyed the secondary characters as well. This was my fi
...more
Booksandcoffeemx
Apr 13, 2022 rated it really liked it
𝘔𝘢𝘨𝘪𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘥𝘦𝘭𝘪𝘨𝘩𝘵𝘧𝘶𝘭!

I had so much fun reading this story, it had three magical cute talking cats, a mystery to resolve, likeable characters and a fast paced story. Did I mention cute cats?
A great cozy mystery to read.
This is the third book in the Witch Cats of Cambridge series but can be read as a standalone.

Thank you Suzy Approved Book Tours for a spot on this tour and gifted copy.

A Cat on the Case by Clea Simon released January 11, 2022.

𝘙𝘦𝘢𝘥 𝘪𝘧 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘭𝘪𝘬𝘦: 𝘔𝘺𝘴𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘺, 𝘊𝘰𝘻𝘺 𝘔𝘺𝘴𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘴, 𝘍𝘢𝘯𝘵𝘢𝘴𝘺, 𝘔𝘢
...more
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Round Up the Usual Peacocks (Meg Langslow, #31)
  • In Hot Water (Misty Bay Tea Room, #1)
  • What the Cat Dragged In (Cat in the Stacks, #14)
  • Murder at the Christmas Cookie Bake-Off (Beacon Bakeshop, #2)
  • Murder at the Blueberry Festival (Beacon Bakeshop, #3)
  • Dashing Through the Snowbirds (Meg Langslow Mystery, #32)
  • In Too Steep (Misty Bay Tearoom #2)
  • A Midsummer Night's Fudge (Candy-Coated, #10)
  • The Time for Murder is Meow (A Purr N' Bark Pet Shop Mystery #1)
  • How to Book a Murder (Starlit Bookshop Mystery #1)
  • Murder Outside the Lines (Pen & Ink Mysteries, #3)
  • Cold Brew Corpse (A Coffee Lover's Mystery #2)
  • Aunt Dimity and the Enchanted Cottage (Aunt Dimity Mystery, #25)
  • A Killer Plot (A Books by the Bay Mystery, #1)
  • Long Island Iced Tina (Catering Hall Mystery #2)
  • Knot In My Backyard (A Quilting Mystery, #2)
  • Grounds for Murder (A Coffee Lover's Mystery, #1)
  • Gone but Not Furgotten: A Cat Cafe Mystery
See similar books…
See top shelves…
380 followers
Clea Simon is the author of the upcoming psychological suspense novel, "Hold Me Down," as well as the recent "A Cat on the Case," the third in her "Witch Cats of Cambridge" series. She is also the author of "World Enough," a rock 'n' roll noir, as well as the Blackie and Care series (most recently "Cross My Path") chronicling the adventures of the pink-haired Care and the black feral cat who loves ...more

Other books in the series

Witch Cats of Cambridge (3 books)
  • A Spell of Murder (Witch Cats of Cambridge #1)
  • An Incantation of Cats (Witch Cats of Cambridge #2)

Related Articles

Here at Goodreads World Headquarters, we're always on alert for any shifts in readerly attention that we can spot. Recently we've noticed a...
117 likes · 12 comments