Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Road of Resistance” as Want to Read:
The Road of Resistance
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Road of Resistance

by
4.41  ·  Rating details ·  22 ratings  ·  8 reviews
The Stand meets The Fires of Vengeance as diverse heroes battle the police state in a post collapse New England inner-city!
Inspired by books like The Red Knight and A Game of Thrones, The Road of Resistance Part 1 is a surefire hit for fans of Octavia Butler, Mark Lawrence, Milton Davis, and Brandon Sanderson!

Read the book hailed as 'Stirring, gritty, connected and epic. A
...more
Kindle Edition, Second Edition
Published November 27th 2020 by W Clark Publishing (first published January 13th 2020)
More Details... Edit Details
Featured Notes & Highlights
Chase
Chase - author

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Road of Resistance, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Road of Resistance

Community Reviews

Showing 1-46
Average rating 4.41  · 
Rating details
 ·  22 ratings  ·  8 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Road of Resistance
Red Ink Book Reviews
Oct 26, 2020 rated it really liked it
The Road of Resistance (First Book of The Vanguard I) – Chase Bolling


I was given a copy of this book by the author in order to provide and honest review.

Chase Bolling is an African American author who has also written ‘The War We Make – First Book of the Vanguard II”.


Chessed is a simple man, a man who is just looking to provide for his family and find a way to survive in a place where he is judged, and everything is infinitely harder for him based purely on the colour of his skin.

Yet finally tha
...more
Audra
Jul 22, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I have seen movies like 300, and always wondered what it would be like to see a movie like that with Black people in the cast. I would even have liked to have read about it. But that wasn’t a possibility until I read The Road of Resistance.
This book is an epic tale that begins when a weapon is unleashed on the world that destroys all weapons made after a certain time period, so the only weapons left remaining are swords, hammers, and axes. The world goes awry, the Constitution and Bill of Righ
...more
Janee Thompson
Jun 30, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Road to Resistance: The First Book of the Vanguard is an action packed, nearly dystopian novel about the journey a group of young Black men, who were former gang members and/or family members, on their road to resisting hate groups, martial law, and white supremacy in the US. Titling themselves the Vanguard, led by main character Chessed, they use their street intelligence and their personal strengths to band together and overthrow the US government, who has underserved Black people and othe ...more
KayBee's  Bookshelf
The overall story was intriguing because the author created a society that does not exist in this world, and most likely never will in our lifetime. Chessed is the main character who becomes King of The Vanguard, a group formed to fight the hate groups of this world. This all begins when Pandora Epstein, creator of AINI (Artificial Intelligence Nanoswarm Initiative) kills herself right when she launches this program to destroy every modern weapon known to man. Chessed, training since he was youn ...more
Angele
Sometimes you have to show yourself, your family, your homies, and the world who you are, and what your ancestors have made... What you are made of."

I would like to thank the author for sending me an e-copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

The Road of Resistance is a very timely dystopian sci-fi book that aims to depict on what would most likely happen to America if their current issues were not solved. I may not personally be living in the US, but these issues somewhat releva
...more
KB_615
Aug 06, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Road of Resistance is a provocative urban dystopia infused with cultural relevance and tantalizing action. The novel opens with radical pacifists eradicating all weapons manufactured after the 6th century. The US devolves into chaos, but rapper-turned-revolutionary, Chessed, has lived for this moment. With his loyal band of inner-city warriors, Chessed declares war against fascism and creates his own constitutional monarchy: the Vanguard. What follows is an exhilarating concoction of badasse ...more
Daniel Kelly
Oct 12, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A modern bronze age

It's something that I think all lovers of history and historical warfare have thought about, what it world take to throw the world back to the bronze age era and what that world would be like, well Chase has done just that, throw in betrayal by the countries leaders and a grab for power by many small armies and you are starting to see how things could go
This story has huge potential for the series and has been picked up by a publishing house since I had read it and I will be w
...more
Karl Haycock
Oct 20, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Truly amazing!
Jenica
rated it liked it
Apr 24, 2020
Hujuda
rated it it was amazing
Dec 26, 2020
K Johnson
rated it it was amazing
Jul 22, 2020
Kayla
rated it it was amazing
Oct 15, 2020
Deron Generally
rated it really liked it
Apr 24, 2020
Carolyn
rated it liked it
Jan 16, 2020
SFFor The
rated it it was amazing
Dec 07, 2020
Kayla
rated it it was amazing
Jan 14, 2020
Mürşit
rated it it was amazing
Oct 13, 2020
Jorge Sanchez
rated it it was amazing
Jan 16, 2020
Alexander Spivery
rated it really liked it
Jul 02, 2020
Racajo
rated it it was amazing
Dec 26, 2020
Chase
Jan 13, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
OTIS
rated it it was amazing
Jan 20, 2021
Marcus Williams
marked it as to-read
Jan 16, 2020
Døųg Dærdən
marked it as to-read
Jan 17, 2020
Courtney Dubose
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2020
Alfredo Llera
is currently reading it
Jan 14, 2020
Sbusiso
marked it as to-read
Apr 02, 2020
Rebecca Bosevski
marked it as to-read
Apr 04, 2020
Chase
Apr 12, 2020 added it  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Preacherbq
marked it as to-read
Jun 01, 2020
Ashley Harris
marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2020
Jennifer Acres
marked it as to-read
Jun 10, 2020
Kirsten
marked it as to-read
Jul 01, 2020
Igrowastreesgrow
marked it as to-read
Aug 22, 2020
Jennifer Bradshaw
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2020
Tracy Smith
is currently reading it
Mar 08, 2020
Lori Holman
is currently reading it
Mar 21, 2020
Barbara Huxley-Guilfoy
is currently reading it
Mar 22, 2020
Jeffrey B
is currently reading it
Apr 23, 2020
Shayla
is currently reading it
Jun 12, 2020
Andy
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2020
Nikki
is currently reading it
Jul 11, 2020
Alicia
marked it as to-read
Aug 28, 2020
T Joyner
marked it as to-read
Sep 23, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Sun Down Motel
  • The Last of Us
  • The Boy from the Woods
  • Big Summer
  • The Henna Artist
  • Cross of Fire (Master of War, #6)
  • The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires
  • Hemlock (The Manhunters #2)
  • The One (The Selection, #3)
  • The Lords of the Wind  (The Saga of Hasting the Avenger, #1)
  • The Elite (The Selection, #2)
  • Red at the Bone
  • Meji: (#2)
  • Viper's Blood (Master of War Book 4)
  • Watcher of the Dead (Sword of Shadows, #4)
  • Deadhouse Landing (Path to Ascendancy, #2)
  • Meji: Book One
  • Kings of the Wyld (The Band, #1)
See similar books…
You can say Chase is a father, revolutionary, and author in that order. Born and raised in Bridgeport, CT and he grew up in a proud Afro-indigenous family with strong roots to the military, activism, and public service. Surrounded by strong BIPOC women, his grandmother, mother and aunt were all heavily involved in local politics. While Chase spent his youth a delightful contradiction pretty much b ...more

Related Articles

Thanks to the COVID-19 pandemic, 2020 will be long remembered as a Dumpster fire of a year. But the nice thing about time is that it...
424 likes · 201 comments
“Necessity and valor formed the Vanguard. It was born from the courage of all who took up arms against tyranny and all those who decided to stand by our standard. When things began to fall apart, I just used the tools my Creator gave me to improve the lives of my family and the people that choose to follow me. Why allow people to live in fear, poverty, and bondage when I had the tools will and desire to change it? I didn’t want to be that servant who buried his talents. My goal is to build a nation that is free, and just, with prosperous and happy people.” 1 likes
“I am Chessed of Bridgeport. First of his name by the Grace of my Creator and His people, King of the Vanguard. I fear no man, no beast or demon! When I die seek me wherever our Creator places the brave! Don’t no bitch run in my blood! Come, kill me if you can, because there will be no… surrender…here!” 0 likes
More quotes…