Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “My Dad My Dog” as Want to Read:
My Dad My Dog
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

My Dad My Dog

by
4.54  ·  Rating details ·  41 ratings  ·  34 reviews
When she moves her Alzheimer's-afflicted dad into the home she shares with her husband and elderly dog, Rachel Morgan expects some complications, but she never imagines the biggest one will occur on the first day, threatening her best-intentioned caregiving plans.

Her normally sweet-natured dad--a former mailman who experienced too many run-ins with biting dogs--is adamant
...more
Paperback, 296 pages
Published November 19th 2020 by Black Rose Writing
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about My Dad My Dog, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about My Dad My Dog

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.54  · 
Rating details
 ·  41 ratings  ·  34 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of My Dad My Dog
Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
Nov 05, 2020 rated it really liked it
Gosh, I loved this book. There’s so much here I could relate to with my own father having health difficulties in the last year. The only difference is my dad is a huge dog and animal lover, and I know he would love Rachel’s lab (I learned most of my animal loving ways from my dad, and I am so fortunate that he and my mom let us have so many animals growing up).

In this book, Rachel works to build a relationship between her dad and dog so that they can forge a bond in their aging process. The stor
...more
Nursebookie
Nov 09, 2020 rated it really liked it
Rebecca Warner delivers with her book My Dad My Dog, an emotional and uplifting read about a woman coming into terms with her role as a daughter and a caregiver her father afflicted with Alzheimer’s, and an animal lover to her most loyal, loving, and aging dog.

As a nurse, I have seen this too many times as families try to cope with aging parents, and where the children go through a role reversal being the caregivers.

Warner captured all the emotions, and family dynamics, in a well-researched bac
...more
Desiree
I really wanted to like this one. The novel is from a Southern author and takes place in a Southern setting, both things I appreciate. Plus, I was fortunate enough to win this book via Goodreads Giveaways. And the author was kind enough to sign the book, as well as to include a lovely bookmark, as well as a hand-written note.

All of that said, I only made it to page 122 of 278 before I had to call it quits. The story is the fruit of author Rebecca Warner’s time as a home caregiver for her parents
...more
David Morgan
Nov 04, 2020 rated it it was amazing
An emotional ride but worth the journey.
Rachel Morgan (no relation. 😉) and her husband have fallen on some uncertain times. Feeling the financial pinch they decide it's time to bring her Alzheimer's afflicted father from the care facility to live with them in their home. Once there her dad makes it clear he wants nothing to do with their dog. So begins this heartwarming story filled with love, respect and endearment.
Having lost my mother earlier this year after taking care of her at home, I com
...more
Sandy
Oct 20, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Maybe it’s the stage of life I am in with my own parents, but I could not stop reading this beautifully written book. I am also a “lab lover” and could see and feel all the scenes as described. What a beautiful memorial to the authors dad and her beloved lab. Anyone who is or has struggled to care for an aging parent, especially with dementia, will find themselves in this book. So much love she has for her father and her dog and how she watches them both age with health decline at the same time. ...more
Rochelle Weinstein
Oct 06, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Rebecca Warner's My Dad My Dog captures the all-too-real world of caregiving for our elderly parents and dogs. Warner writes smart, sensitive fiction, capturing commitment and sacrifice, and the rare, unconditional love that accompanies it.
Lovemybooks2020 Cindy Ward
Oct 27, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: booktour, own
Virtually everyone will be touched by Alzheimer’s disease in their lifetime, either through a parent, a friend, a relative, or perhaps even a spouse or themself. In fact, it has been reported that every 66 seconds, someone in the United States develops this heartbreaking disease.⁣

𝙈𝙮 𝘿𝙖𝙙, 𝙈𝙮 𝘿𝙤𝙜 is a heart-warming and touching story about a woman who becomes a caregiver for both her Alzheimer’s–afflicted dad and her sweet-natured, war-hero elderly black lab. It is a book that you will think abou
...more
Deborah C. Evans
Oct 11, 2020 rated it it was amazing
There is so much to love about this book! The characters really come to life, and I cared so much about all of them. The mountain setting in North Carolina is beautifully described, as are the challenging days in Rachel's life. I experienced so many emotions while reading this -- I would have tears in my eyes one minute and then be laughing the next. Rebecca Warner has a talent for touching one's heart and then tickling the funny bone. The deep love between the characters, whether human or canin ...more
Bethany Clark
Nov 01, 2020 rated it really liked it
Let me begin by saying, the bond between someone and a pet - be it a dog, a cat, whatever it may be is truly unbreakable and truly healing in so many ways.
I love the setting of this story, North Carolina mountains, the descriptions are mesmerizing.
Rebecca takes you through the challenges and celebrations of taking care of our elderly parents. The deep love between the characters is eminent, whether it be human or a pet. She depicts the sacrifices that are made but also the joy that is there as
...more
Zoe L.
Nov 07, 2020 added it
Going into this book I knew it would be an emotional and beautiful read. Everything just comes to life as you flip through the pages and dive into the story. And with the prevalence of Alzheimers in society this is a story that nearly everyone can connect with. It’s just such a poignant and timely book and I really enjoyed being able to sit down and take some time with it.

Be prepared when going into this book and have a stack of tissues at the ready if you cry even remotely easily. This is such
...more
Denice Langley
Nov 18, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Warning: Make sure you have a box of tissues by your chair when you start reading this book.

An excellent heart warming / tugging story of one woman's journey with her aging father at the same time her much loved lab is getting old. As her father's age related illnesses advance, she will share her home becoming his principal caregiver. This emotional decision is complicated by her father's reaction to her pet. Time seems to pass quickly when all you want it to do is slow down as she learns to sl
...more
Kelly Long
Oct 21, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: netgalley, arcs, fiction
Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for providing this book in exchange for an honest review.
What a touching book this is. As a dog lover and having family members who had Alzheimer's and Parkinson's disease, I really had a lot of emotions while reading this. It may be fiction (although Joe and Nick were real) but it easily could be about a lot of caregivers and the stresses they face. What a wonderful story.
Laurie
Oct 31, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This is a beautiful, well depicted story about family, love,. friendship, grief, and acceptance.
The patriarch of the family, now needs complete care due to Alzheimer's disease and Parkinson's disease and is Rachel's father.
Not only is this not easy for dad, Joe, but it is devastating and exhausting for Rachel who becomes his primary caregiver in her home with her husband, and their beloved lab, Nick..
"Caregiving isn't just about taking care of physical needs. It's also about uplifting a perso
...more
Louise Gray
Oct 17, 2020 rated it liked it
A powerful tribute to the contribution which animals make to human well-being. Yes, there is pathos here, but the biggest message is one of love and the Joy of friendship which transcends species. An interesting perspective of a very difficult time.
Danielle
Nov 01, 2020 rated it it was amazing

This book....I had so many emotions running thru me while reading it. One minute I’d be laughing hysterically, the next I would be crying.

This story hit home for so many reasons. My dad was a mailman for over 30 years, and I have had loved ones with dementia. Plus being a caregiver for an ailing pet who was my child. They way Rebecca wrote this book was so poignant and beautiful. It’s a story everyone can relate to in some fashion. Very highly recommend this book!!!
Jill Cox
Oct 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Rebecca Warner paints a beautiful, timely portrait of unconditional love in her novel about Rachel, who becomes responsible for the care of her elderly dad and dog. No one tops her ability to create hope and triumphs, or characters who feel real. My Dad My Dog will linger on as a magnificent achievement from a gifted writer.
Bonnye Reed
I received a free electronic ARC of this awesome memoir from Netgalley, Rebecca Warner, and Black Rose Publishers. Thank you all for sharing your hard work with me. I have read My Dad My Dog of my own volition, and this review reflects my honest opinion of this work. Rebecca Warner writes a story filled with heart and soul and shares with us some of the doubts and unanswered questions those of us blessed with the job of seeing our elder folk off to their next level of their soul's existence.

Th
...more
Linda Zagon
Nov 15, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Rebecca Warner, the author of “My Dad My Dog” has written a poignant, memorable, thought-provoking, story that pulls at one’s heartstrings. The genres for this book are life fiction, domestic fiction, family life fiction, and animal fiction. The feel to this is almost a memoir or an autobiographical novel, although it is dubbed fiction. The timeline for this story is in the present and goes to the past only when it pertains to the characters or events. The themes that surround the story are Alzh ...more
TJ
Nov 07, 2020 rated it really liked it
This is a hard one to review. I have to admire Rachal’s story since it is based upon Rebecca’s personal experience of caretaking for her mother and father. I have also personally experienced the decline of my mother’s health over a very short time but the exhaustion, responsibility, loss and pain you feel during this is so real. There are several things I liked, the developing relationship between Nick and Joe was great to watch, a dog or a cat pick up on the health of their human.
The problem I
...more
Jackie
Nov 15, 2020 rated it it was amazing
There is so much to love about this book I don’t know where to start! A truly heartwarming and deeply emotional read that I could not put down. Rachel’s experience is like many of our own or those of our friends. Alzheimer’s is a heartbreaking diagnosis for everyone. This touches on one family’s choice and the financial and emotional toll it takes on everyone. As a dog lover myself Rachel’s elderly dog ( like my own) is a beautiful addition to this book. Written with care and truth I’ve experien ...more
 Bookoholiccafe
Nov 17, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: read-2020, fiction
Rachel Morgan lives with her husband and her old dog. Joe, Rachel's father is diagnosed with Alzheimer and she is moving him to live with her.

Joe was a mailman and not really into her black Labrador dog and the first thing he asks is for the dog to go. Rachel tries to find a way to create a trusted companionship for these two loving souls in her life. The more she learns about her father the more she knows that Joe and her dog are on the same journey with their aging process.

All she wants at th
...more
Janie DeVos
Nov 20, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Once in a great while, a book comes along that leaves an indelible mark on the reader’s heart because the writing of it is so achingly beautiful. It’s a book that causes you to sigh when the last sentence is read, and as it catches your eye on the shelf when you walk by and remember the emotions it evoked. MY DAD, MY DOG, is one of those books, and for many, it will strike a bittersweet cord that resonates deeply. But, even if the story is not one that readers have personally experienced, after ...more
Deena B
MY DAD MY DOG by Rebecca Warner

This book is SOOOoooo full of love and kindness, loving- kindness, goodwill, goodness, I wish these people (& dog) we're in my life!!

A must- read for anyone .......... especially those who are caregivers to loved ones.
And also just if you want to read a book full of heart, humor, and honesty.
Written with clarity, and genuine, undeniable love and devotion for her Dad, her senior Labrador Nick, and her super-supportive husband David.
What a beautiful and precious s
...more
Patricia Bergman
Nov 25, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I just put my tissue down long enough to write this review. This touching story about love and responsibility is outstanding. Both an 86 year old man and an elderly black lab experience the aging process together. Rachael and her husband David have relocated her father from a nursing home to an apartment in their home. They hire some help to wash, toilet, and feed him since he is suffering from dementia, parkinson's, and diabetes. Since she only works half a day, Rachael and David are responsibl ...more
noorthebookworm
💙PRE- ORDER NOW!! Releases 19th Nov. 2020.
______
✨This book will always be close to my ❤heart, personally..
_____
📌 This is the story of
Rachel Morgan, the protagonist;
her dad, Joe;
her dog, Nick &
her husband David.

✨It is influenced by REAL LIFE EXPERIENCES & JOE- NICK are Real Life Characters, wherein even their actual names have been retained in the story.

✨The story is about losing our loved ones,
the physical-mental-emotional care in the later years of their life,
the emotional connect,
the fina
...more
Mickey
Nov 22, 2020 rated it it was amazing
For anyone who has lost a parent, author Rebecca Warner now provides a satisfying catharsis.

Chronicling the final year of an aging war hero under the watchful eye and gentle care of his adult daughter, My Dad, My Dog engages the reader from start to end with an almost impossible to set down story. The story is brought to life through an entire cast of caregivers and family members. Papa Joe, a retired mail carrier and a WWII veteran who never talks about it, becomes a member of your family. Nic
...more
Cassie (idahogirlreads)
Nov 23, 2020 rated it really liked it
Ok friends - grab your kleenex!! This book is a tearjerker. You'll cry happy and sad tears while reading this incredibly moving story.⁣

In My Dad My Dog, main character Rachel and her husband make the tough decision to move Rachel's father, Joe, from his assisted living residence into their own home. With dwindling finances, they decide to shoulder the load for his care. Although I've never been a caregiver, Warner perfectly captured what it's like - the joy, the strain, and all the emotional up
...more
Debbie Rozier
Nov 19, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This is such an honest account of Rebecca's experiences after she brings her dad, Joe, home because she and her husband are unable to financially sustain her dad's current living arrangement. Joe has Alzheimer's, Parkinson's and diabetes and is confined to a wheelchair As soon as Joe sees Rebecca's dog Nick, he has an adverse reaction to him. As time moves on Nick and Joe become companions as they both go down the path of their final seasons. Rachel does such a beautiful job not only telling us ...more
Rebecca D
Nov 22, 2020 rated it really liked it
Thank you to @suzyapprovedbooktours for my copy of My Dad My Dog in exchange for my honest review. This book was an absolute tear jerker after we lost our dog a couple of weeks ago. The story of the bond between dogs and the people in their lives is one that is so true. The way @rebeccaljwarner paints this relationship is absolutely touching. I would highly recommend this novel.

Rachel’s dad, a former mailman with little taste for dogs, moves in with her during the progression of Alzheimer’s. Rac
...more
Nan Reinhardt
Nov 19, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Rebecca Warner's unmatched gift for telling a heartwarming story shines through in this touching tale of a woman who becomes a caregiver to both her declining father and her elderly dog. My Dad My Dog takes you on Rachel Morgan's rollercoaster ride as she cares for her father who has Alzheimer's. When she moves him into her home, she must contend with her dad's unwillingness to accept her beloved black lab, who is also getting older. We watch, fascinated as the two come to an uneasy truce and th ...more
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Possession
  • Lie, Lie Again
  • All That Was
  • Judge's Girls
  • Under a Gilded Moon
  • Cover Your Tracks
  • When Robins Appear
  • The Last Correspondent
  • Agatha Arch Is Afraid of Everything
  • The Betrayal
  • Once Again
  • Never Turn Back
  • Games we played
  • Her Last Memory
  • Crossing Lines
  • Millicent Glenn's Last Wish
  • Katherine Mansfield
  • Rules for Moving
See similar books…
52 followers
Following a successful career in banking, Rebecca Warner pursued her dream of
writing with the publication of her first book, the two-time award-winning political thriller, Moral Infidelity. Her follow-up, Doubling Back To Love, was included in the popular romantic anthology, Peace, Love and Romance. Her third book, He’s Just A Man, offers self-help advice for women seeking healthy relationships. R
...more

Related Articles

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our...
25 likes · 21 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »