Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Sistersong” as Want to Read:
Sistersong
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Sistersong

by
4.12  ·  Rating details ·  17 ratings  ·  19 reviews
535 AD. In the ancient kingdom of Dumnonia, King Cador's children inherit a fragmented land abandoned by the Romans.

Riva, scarred in a terrible fire, fears she will never heal.
Keyne battles to be seen as the king's son, when born a daughter.
And Sinne, the spoiled youngest girl, yearns for romance.

All three fear a life of confinement within the walls of the hold – a last ba
...more
Hardcover, 400 pages
Expected publication: April 15th 2021 by Macmillan
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Sistersong, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Lucy Hounsom Hello! I'm sorry I don't check GR very often. Yes Keyne is transmasculine - at least that's the term we would use today. …moreHello! I'm sorry I don't check GR very often. Yes Keyne is transmasculine - at least that's the term we would use today. (less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-49
Average rating 4.12  · 
Rating details
 ·  17 ratings  ·  19 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Sistersong
Ellie (faerieontheshelf)
a 'reimagining of a folk ballad [. . .] set in magical ancient Britain' that explores 'gender identity, the bonds between siblings, a changing world and the overwhelming power of stories' - AND IS FOR FANS OF NAOMI NOVIK AND MADELINE MILLER? [x]

I'm fine, absolutely fine

Thank you to PanMacmillan UK for sending me a proof copy in exchange for an honest review!

*

I helped reveal the cover for Sistersong on my Instagram, here!
...more
Emma
Nov 14, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: netgalley
Familiar and yet wonderfully surprising. Review to follow.
Fanna
Oct 14, 2020 marked it as to-read
Shelves: 2021-releases
October 14, 2020: Anything said to be perfect for fans of Madeline Miller is PERFECT FOR ME because oh my, yes, this book is even giving my Circe vibes—even though I know it's set in magical ancient Britain. ...more
K.S. Marsden
Dec 21, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: netgalley
After their father, the king, abandons the old gods; Riva, Keyne and Sinne can feel the magic of the land fading.

I received a free copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

This follows the story of three sisters.
Riva is the eldest. As such, she is sensible and responsible.
When she was younger, she nearly died in a fire; and despite having healing magic, she cannot fix her own scars. The burns have stopped any offers of marriage, giving Riva a strange freedom.

Keyne is the middle child
...more
Vikki Patis
Jan 12, 2021 rated it really liked it
Sistersong is a truly compelling novel, blending magic and folklore with suspense and characters that really draw you in. I found the three siblings intriguing in their own right - Riva for her flawed, eldest sister narrative; Sienne for her endless capability for love; and Keyne for his journey from sister to brother.

Keyne's story in particular struck a chord with me, as it will with many others. Born female, Keyne is in modern language transgender, and one of the best things about the author'
...more
tinabel
4.5 stars

Not being familiar with the folk ballad mentioned in the book description for Sistersong, I googled it:

The Twa Sisters, or Two Sisters, is a traditional murder ballad dating as far back as the mid-17th century. The song recounts the tale of a girl pushed into the river by her jealous older sister, both of whom are in love with the same man. When the murdered girl's body floats ashore, someone makes a musical instrument out of her body, usually a harp or a fiddle, with a frame of bone an
...more
Rhiannon
Jan 13, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Bloody brilliant! Full review to come.
Harmony Kent
Dec 13, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Many thanks to NetGalley and Pan Macmillan for a free Advanced Review Copy of this book.

Sistersong struck me as a mix between an epic medieval fiction and a fantasy fiction read. And, oh wow, how much I enjoyed it. The story and characters grabbed me from the first page and didn’t let me go until the very last page. The world building, the characterisation, and the story arc are all done wonderfully. Every single character spoke to me, and I felt as though I lived this epic tale rather than simp
...more
Jessica Gilmore
Nov 01, 2020 rated it liked it
An ancient kingdom crumbling as new beliefs take a tight hold. Values and security threatened on all sides. Three sisters, king's daughters, all part of the old ways in very different forms. Keyne, longs to be seen as the warrior and leader she is inside, as the son she wishes she was, she maybe is; Riva, scarred from a fire she barely survived, can heal anyone but herself, but the power she uses is waning; while the youngest, Sinne, uses glamour to beguile. When a young warrior rescues Riva and ...more
Fabienne Schwizer
Dec 19, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Lucy Holland’s Sistersong is an epic historical fantasy that needs to be on your radar. Released in April 2021, this story based on the ‘Twa Sisters’ folk ballad is set in a late Antique Britain after the Romans have left. Many thanks to Black Crow PR and Macmillan for sending me an advance review copy.

Keyne, Riva and Sinne are the children of King Cador, three siblings with complicated relationships. Keyne is struggling to be perceived as the man he feels he is, although he was born a daughter,
...more
Colette McCormick
Jan 08, 2021 rated it really liked it
Three sisters, Riva, Keyne and Sinne are the daughters of Cador an early English king whose land is under threat from the Saxons. Like any girls they have hopes and dreams that lie beyond the confines of the hold in which they live. There is treachery, deceit, magic and love in this book which I ultimately enjoyed.
For me, this was a book of two halves. I found the first half a bit dull if I'm honest and I was left wondering where the story might be going. However the second half was a real age
...more
Ruth
Nov 29, 2020 rated it did not like it
I really wanted to like this book, it sounded like a fascinating story and there were rave reviews. Unfortunately, it really didn't grab me. The first few chapters are very slow and I couldn't build up a picture of the characters or the place at all. The priest character felt like lazy stereotyping as well - surely a sinister, sour priest would have had limited success in converting the King and Queen?

I'm sure others will love this, I spent a long time trying to but in the end gave up and didn't
...more
Rebecca
Nov 12, 2020 rated it really liked it
This tells the myth like story of 3 sisters, the kings daughters. Keyne is the warrior, Riva is badly scarred and Sinne as the youngest is beguiling. Each section is told from a sister perspective and secrets emerge as loyalties are challenged,
I enjoyed this book, it was well written and atmospheric. There were just a couple of things for me that made it four rather than five stars, the first is that the multiple perspectives were sometimes confusing and the second was that the ending felt very
...more
Michele
Oct 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This book is utterly compelling and hard-to-put-down. I loved every single minute I spent in this world and it's the most tense, gripping, and thrilling read I've had for a while. Cannot recommend highly enough! ...more
Jenn
Jan 07, 2021 marked it as to-read
My kid wants this book, but despite it coming out in a few months, I can't find it listed anywhere. It's not on Ingram or Amazon, and it's not even listed in Edelweiss. Anyone? ...more
Kate (Feathered Turtle Press)
loving both the synopsis + that cover <3
HILARY ANDERSON - BELL
Oct 28, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I would like to thank Pan Macmillan for giving me the opportunity to read this book. It was a great tale centred around 3 sisters in early Britain. It weaves a beautiful tale of their lives and loves with just enough magic to make it special. If you like Manda Scott and Juliet marillier you will love this book.
Tanya Hunter-Robinson
Dec 29, 2020 rated it really liked it
This one took me a few chapters to get into it, but once I did I couldn’t put it down. It took a moment to get used to each chapter being about each of the daughters, but I quite enjoyed the flitting back and forth to understand the viewpoint and feelings of each of them. Whilst this story is set long ago, the emotions, personalities, worries and fears are all very relatable and made for a great story! This title is to be released in April 2021 so pop it on your list!
Dan Bassett
rated it it was amazing
Jan 11, 2021
Maïlis M.
rated it it was amazing
Dec 25, 2020
Betsy
added it
Sep 07, 2020
Izzie
marked it as to-read
Sep 14, 2020
s o u n d
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2020
Beth
added it
Sep 16, 2020
Niki_k
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2020
Amanda B.V.
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2020
Mitha
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2020
Sam
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2020
Megan
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2020
Kelly
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2020
Liam
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2020
Ally
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2020
Kahlia
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2020
Elias
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2020
afi
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2020
Sage Ancowitz
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2020
Ali Nichols
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2020
nico
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2020
Sarah
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2020
Sarah Brown
marked it as to-read
Sep 17, 2020
✨loufluffybooks✨
marked it as to-read
Sep 17, 2020
Diana Bautista
marked it as to-read
Sep 17, 2020
Arielle
marked it as to-read
Sep 17, 2020
Kimberly
marked it as to-read
Sep 17, 2020
Rachel
marked it as to-read
Sep 17, 2020
Channa
added it
Sep 17, 2020
Julie Rombout
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2020
Savanna
marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Threadneedle (The Language of Magic, #1)
  • Fragile
  • Hyde
  • Madam
  • The Four Winds
  • Pippo and Clara
  • The Enigma Game
  • Rhythm of War (The Stormlight Archive, #4)
  • Dawnshard (The Stormlight Archive, #3.5)
  • The Queen's Secret: A Novel of England's World War II Queen
  • The Shape of Darkness
  • The Survivors
  • In Camelot's Shadow (The Paths to Camelot, #1)
  • Unsolved Murders
  • Sin City Homicide
  • The war girls
  • Of Women and Salt
  • Edge of the Grave
See similar books…
147 followers
Lucy is the author of the Worldmaker Trilogy, beginning with STARBORN. Her fourth book, SISTERSONG, is published in 2021.

She has worked for Waterstones Booksellers for over 10 years and has a BA in English & Creative Writing from the University of London. She went on to complete the MA in Creative Writing in 2010.

She co-hosts the intersectional feminist podcast, Breaking the Glass Slipper, which
...more

Related Articles

Readers have a lot to look forward to this year! Just feast your eyes upon all of these debut books to check out and emerging authors to...
39 likes · 24 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »