Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Lady or the Lion” as Want to Read:
The Lady or the Lion
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Lady or the Lion

by
4.53  ·  Rating details ·  17 ratings  ·  14 reviews
Perfect for fans of These Violent Delights and The Wrath and the Dawn, this scintillating debut retells “The Lady or the Tiger?” against a Pakistan-inspired world of forbidden love and court intrigues.

Once there was a princess forced to choose a fate for her lover-to a future in the arms of a beautiful lady, or to death in the mouth of a lion? But what came first was the
...more
Hardcover, 384 pages
Expected publication: June 22nd 2021 by CamCat Books (first published June 2021)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Lady or the Lion, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Lady or the Lion

Community Reviews

Showing 1-48
Average rating 4.53  · 
Rating details
 ·  17 ratings  ·  14 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Lady or the Lion
Aamna Qureshi
Sep 13, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
I hope it isn't in poor taste to give my own novel 5 stars but if I'm not going to be my biggest cheerleader, who will??

Also, I wrote a blog post describing what inspired this novel and my journey writing it! You can read it here: https://www.aamnaqureshi.com/blog-3/w...
...more
Siraj
Jan 12, 2021 rated it it was amazing
I just finished reading The Lady or the Lion by Aamna Qureshi, a Pakistani-inspired Young Adult fantasy novel, and I am absolutely in love with this book for so many reasons. The first and most significant reason is that Pakistani-culture is instilled into this story like I have never experienced before. As a Pakistani teen myself, this book meant the world to me. Just the fact that one of the characters shared a name with my dad, or the fact that the characters were constantly drinking chai and ...more
Raeesah Da'Neer
Jan 24, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Thank you so so much to the most lovely Aamna for gifting me an ARC!

This was such a fantastic read, I enjoyed every page turn!! The writing was so beautiful and poetic Aamna really is extremely talented ‘Ma Sha’ Allah!!! It felt so refreshing reading about authentic south Asian rep, written so magnificently at that. The characters were amazing, I really admired Durkhanai. I’ll be honest this book made me hungry also and nostalgic of authentic south Asian food. The last 50 pages had me on edge o
...more
shan ✰
Jan 08, 2021 rated it it was amazing
i was lucky enough to receive an arc of this book from the author herself, and wow. it blew me away. i immediately fell in love with the writing, the description of this beautiful pakistan-inspired land, the complex characters and their relationships. as a pakistani girl i can't put into words how amazing it was to see urdu words and part of my culture so seamlessly weaved in with the story. reading this book, i felt as though i had been transported to the beautiful land of marghazar, and isn't ...more
sara
Feb 23, 2021 rated it it was amazing
Aamna Qureshi definitely has a talent for storytelling because The Lady or the Lion captivated me within reading the first few chapters. The book was full of beautiful descriptions of Pakistan, a country I'm proud to call home so it was really nice reading about it. Our main characters, Durkhanai and Asfandyar are strong and unique characters and I enjoyed reading through their perspectives. I would say that the romance in the book is my favourite part - it's so well done and has all the best tr ...more
Faiza  Susan
Dec 10, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I got a Beta version of this book so no spoilers but this book is AMAZING!!!!!! The way the author instantly transports you to the Northern areas of Pakistan, you can almost feel as though you are there! being Pakistani Muslim myself, I loved how the author used urdu phrases and had inserts of Islam put in there which just were just utterly delightful!
The 2 main characters I love alot, particularly the heroine as I see such of myself in her and you instantly root for her! I love especially how e
...more
Sanah
Feb 22, 2021 rated it it was amazing
My mind is still spinning from that ending. This was a beautiful and vibrant story, full of color and love, and then tinged with betrayal and heartache. Trust me when I say this is not a book you want to miss out on.

We start the story off with Durkhanai, the young princess who strives to prove her grandfather’s innocence as her palace is filled with foreign ambassadors demanding answers for a deadly summit attack.

While her goal may seem simple, the journey is anything but, and she finds hers
...more
Alex
Jan 30, 2021 rated it liked it
Shelves: 10-and-11
Thanks to the publisher for providing an eARC of The Lady or the Lion in exchange for an honest review.

This is a really ambitious story to try and adapt into a fully length novel, and I think Aamna handled that beautifully. I love the way Qureshi decides to answer a story that's never had one before but unfortunately, until then, this book didn't really captivate me. I don't think it had anything to do with Qureshi's narration (it's very well done. All the comfort and hallmarks of the historical
...more
Fizah(Books tales by me)
Need time to process things
RTC
Mizu
Dec 02, 2020 marked it as to-read
A Pakistan-inspired YA fantasy? Sign me up!! 💚
Amani
Jan 27, 2021 rated it it was amazing
I’m not going to give any spoilers away but this book was everything I could want. It is a Pakistani - inspired young adult fantasy and you will crave the food when you’re reading. The writing is beautiful! If you’re a fan of These Violent Delights and The Wrath and The Dawn, then you’ll love this one!!! Fair Warning: I wanted samosas and chai a lot this week and when you’re reading this, you might find yourself craving it too. I have a review that will be posted on the pub date on pop-culturali ...more
Mjspice
Jan 13, 2021 marked it as to-read
Shelves: most-anticipated
IS THAT A PAINTED COVER??
...more
Mishma Nixon
A YA fantasy set in Pakistan which combines royal and political intrigue with a captivating forbidden love story.

A mixed bag for me. Review to come
gauri
Mar 04, 2021 rated it really liked it
so i guessed the "betrayal" that was to come in the end. but it was good to read through it (especially the very end!!!), the author's writing is and descriptions are a delight. i love our flawed protagonist, Durkhanai. the dynamic between her and Asfandyar had some of my favourite tropes!! definitely not to miss if you want to read Pakistani/diverse rep


also the chai and snacks mentioned totally did not make me hungry :)
...more
Faida orrie
rated it it was ok
Feb 24, 2021
Nancy J
rated it it was amazing
Feb 05, 2021
Claire
rated it it was amazing
Nov 19, 2020
Elizabeth Chatsworth
rated it it was amazing
Sep 04, 2020
Liya
rated it it was amazing
Dec 17, 2020
Lira
rated it it was amazing
Jan 27, 2021
Rebecca
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Amna Shabbir
is currently reading it
Sep 04, 2020
Meha
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
grace
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Jenna Jereb
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Rita
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Meredith Ellington
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Fanna
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Mutahira Bhatti
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Becky Holt
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Serena
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Aayesha Musht
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Mahum:)
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Gali
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Rameela (Star)
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Megan Warren
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Ambear
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Imanewreader
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Karina
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Albina Islam
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Nafiza Tarannum
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Amelia
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
mahfuza
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Taha Hafeez
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Jac
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Brigid
marked it as to-read
Sep 04, 2020
Mackenzie
marked it as to-read
Sep 05, 2020
Liana
marked it as to-read
Sep 05, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Counting Down with You
  • A ​Sky Beyond the Storm (An Ember in the Ashes, #4)
  • Slow Wanes the Night (Fate's Fall #2)
  • Long Grows the Dark (Fate's Fall #1)
  • These Violent Delights (These Violent Delights, #1)
  • Vixen
  • A Song for the Road (Tales from Lyrassan)
  • The Crown & the Arrow (The Wrath and the Dawn, #0.5)
  • A RomaJuliette Christmas Special (These Violent Delights, #0.5)
  • The Candle and the Flame
  • True Beauty Volume 1
  • A Turn of the Wheel
  • The Queen's Gambit
  • Amelia Unabridged
  • Concrete Rose (The Hate U Give, #0)
  • In the Same Boat
  • Glitter Gets Everywhere
  • The Dream Team: Jaz Santos vs. the World
See similar books…
29 followers
Aamna Qureshi is a Pakistani, Muslim American who adores words. She grew up on Long Island, New York, in a very loud household, surrounded by English (for school), Urdu (for conversation), and Punjabi (for emotion). Much of her childhood was spent being grounded for reading past her bed-time, writing stories in the backs of her notebooks, and being scolded by teachers for passing chapters under th ...more

Related Articles

  Kerine Wint is a software engineering graduate with more love for books than for computers. As an avid reader, writer, and fan of all things...
17 likes · 10 comments