,
Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Darkest Flower” as Want to Read:
The Darkest Flower
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Darkest Flower

(Allison Barton #1)

by
4.07  ·  Rating details ·  9,313 ratings  ·  540 reviews
You’ll never believe the terrible things being said about the perfect president of the PTA.

Attempted murder? Inexplicable accident? Either way, a PTA mom struggled for her life in an elementary school cafeteria, poisoned by wolfsbane. Now all eyes are on the accused, the victim, and a woman hired to look deeper.

Ambitious defense attorney and single mother Allison Barton i
...more
Paperback, 304 pages
Published June 1st 2021 by Thomas & Mercer
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Darkest Flower, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Darkest Flower

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.07  · 
Rating details
 ·  9,313 ratings  ·  540 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Darkest Flower
Michael David (on hiatus)
“Because I’d always been scrupulously honest with myself, I checked my privilege. Yes, it was still there...I had all the privilege and had no plans to give any of it up.”

Those are words of the charming Kira Grant. Kira is a witch with a capital ‘B’, and she knows it. That doesn’t make her a potential murderer...does it?

Some people seem to think so.

Kira is a rich and spoiled PTA mom who’s used to getting her way. At a school event, one of the other PTA moms is poisoned with wolfsbane, a deadly p
...more
Julie
The Darkest Flower by Kristin Wright is a 2021 Thomas & Mercer publication.

When Kira Grant, a PTA president, is accused of trying to poison one of the other mothers, she hires Allison Barton to defend her.

Kira has always lived a life of privilege and has no earthly idea what it is like to struggle. Be that as it may, she’s convinced her husband is having an affair, is in denial about her daughter’s dyslexia, and truly believes she is right about everything.

Then Kira is accused of murder- and
...more
Bren fall in love with the sea.
Society has rules. People expect certain performances from good girls, and I’d always made sure to get a standing ovation for mine.


The Darkest Flower (Allison Barton, #1)
by Kristin Wright

Review to follow.

My review:

This book is told from the viewpoint of two women. Kira is one. Allison is the other.

Allison is an attorney. She is representing Kira who is accused of attempted murder.

Kira, according to the police tried to kill a fellow PTA mom during a school event. Just your average every day socce
...more
Jen
May 23, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I picked this book as an Amazon First Reads for May, and I am glad I did. This is a quick and fun ride, featuring mean girl Kira, who is accused of poisoning a fellow PTA mom, and Allison, her small-town lawyer. It's a good mix of a mystery, legal drama, and beach read all at once. The chapters alternate between the POVs of Kira and Allison.

None of these characters was super likeable, though Allison has the makings to be if she would just stand up for herself against her horrible boss. There wer
...more
Kay Oliver
May 06, 2021 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
This novel is told from two perspectives: Kira Grant, who is an arrogant, wealthy suburban wife and mother with daddy issues and Allison Barton, who is a lawyer working for a misogynist and has very little back bone. Kira has been arrested for attempted murder by way of poisoning and Allison represents her.

I enjoyed this book until about the 30 or 40% mark and then all I could do was roll my eyes.

The characterization is superficial and ignorant. The description gets way too detailed which bogs
...more
Lucy
Sep 21, 2022 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Impressive and mysterious.

I can’t believe how long I’d had this book in my Kindle library. If only I’d known what I was missing out on every time I passed on it! I really enjoyed the clever and snarky characters, and realistic storyline. The ending leaves lots of opportunity for a terrific Book 2, so I'm looking forwarding to reading it soon.

Full review at LucyKnowsThings.com.
...more
Michelle
Sep 22, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: women-s-fiction
This is Big Little Lies if Cersei Lannister was heading the cast of malicious, impeccably groomed housewives. An addictive page turner with a twist you won't see coming!

This book is told from two perspectives: the defendant, Kira, who is a rich, terrifically amoral housewife (though innocent of the crime, as the reader knows from the start) and her much nicer lawyer, who's also a single mom with a crush on the handsome and disarming opposing council. I'm not usually into antiheroes or antiheroin
...more
Amy J
Jun 26, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: ku
Alison Barton, single mom and defense lawyer, is looking for the case that will make her career. Nearby, a mother is poisoned and nearly dies at a PTA event with children. Kira Grant, the accused, could be the case she is looking for but is it worth it?

I would consider this book more of a mystery, than a thriller. If you want on the edge of your seat action, this is not the book for you. If you want a good mystery that will keep you wondering with interesting, and one slightly despicable, chara
...more
Margarita Montimore
Dec 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Impressive and intoxicating. The women inhabiting this story are bold, clever, complex, and deliciously thorny—quick to show you what they're capable of if you dare underestimate them. This book is a dark delight and Kristin B. Wright is an author I'll be closely watching. ...more
Mary Ann Marlowe
Dec 07, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2021
The Darkest Flower is such a twisty delicious thriller featuring Kira, a horrifying but fascinating anti-hero who will make you laugh at the same time she makes you shudder, like only the most layered villains can. Woven through the toxic mix of monstrously hilarious commentary are subtle questions about society, victimhood, and what lines a mother might understandably cross for her children. The everywoman voice of Kira's lawyer, Allison, serves as a moral center to the novel. Juggling her own ...more
Mackey
The Darkest Flower was my selection for Prime First Reads for May. Obviously I made the wrong choice. Normally I like the books but I wanted to try out a new author. I won't be reading any more. The writing was choppy, almost amateurish. The plot was ... interesting but... to put it simply, I never believed the plot, the legal proceedings were ridiculous even though the author was/is an attorney, and none of the characters appealed to me at all, not even a little bit. If they all had been poison ...more
Melissa Borsey
Jun 25, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Kira is the President of the PTA and is totally committed to her children and their success so of course she would never try to poison her best friend at a school event with the particular poison coming from a plant growing in her very on backyard! Ridiculous right?!? This is a fun, addictive story and I really enjoyed the characters and writing style. I thank Netgalley for the opportunity to read and review this book.
Samantha Gonsalves
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Sandy
Nov 17, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
As a former PTA mom, I can say I did a lot, a lot for my kids as they were growing up. But this book shows us how there are lines that can get crossed by parents with the best (?) intentions. Great read. Yep, hard to put down!
Frank
Dec 17, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
An outstanding book! The author is a master at creating fully realized characters who leap off the page as real people. Kira is the most interesting of those characters, an extraordinarily manipulative, status-obsessed PTA mom whose love for her child leads to questionable decisions. Think Cersei from Games of Thrones if she were married to a dentist and sought elite college admission for her children rather than control of the Iron Throne.

The plot twists and turns to unexpected places. Without
...more
Soren
May 13, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition

Normally, when I despise a POV character with all the fiery passion of ten thousand blazing suns, that doesn't bode well for the book. But this book is so well-written, so deliciously good at characterization and getting into their heads and bringing you all the little twists and turns while still keeping things in reserve to end with a bang, it actually adds to the experience - this book wouldn't be anywhere near as good if Kira wasn't so delightfully awful she loops back around to being a fun

...more
Summer Spence
Dec 07, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Kristin Wright absolutely blossoms with her second book! The Darkest Flower has it all -- the darkest humor, the most delicious villain (or is she the villain!?), a heroine to root for as she roots out evil in the suburbs, and just the right hint of romance. I loved it and can't wait for Wright's next book, which is sure to thrill!

*I read an early copy of this book.
...more
Alan Teder
Mommy Law & Justice
Review of the Thomas & Mercer Kindle ARC eBook edition (to be released June 1, 2021)
The courtroom tainted everything and everyone who entered. We’d all go straight to hell together. There’d be a line for entry longer than the ones at Disney for Space Mountain. Despair at the awfulness of everyone overwhelmed me.


Photograph of Aconitum, also known as aconite, monkshood, wolf's-bane, leopard's bane, mousebane, women's bane, devil's helmet, queen of poisons, or blue rocket, so
...more
J.S.
Sep 11, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction-misc
Back in law school, they told us we’d be helping people. They didn’t mention that we would, more often than not, dislike the people we were helping.

Everything is going well at an end of school PTA event for the "graduating" students when suddenly a mother drops to the floor after drinking a smoothie laced with monkshood, also known as wolfsbane. Her friend who had just handed the smoothie to her, Kira Grant, soon becomes a suspect. But Kira has no motive to poison her friend, even if the poison
...more
Picky_Book_B1tch
Jul 12, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Impressive and intoxicating. The women in this story are bold, clever, complex, and deliciously thorny—quick to show you what they're capable of, if you dare underestimate them. This book is a dark delight and Kristin B. Wright is an author I'll be closely watching.

The character development is off the charts for Kira. She's an all time favorite, for sure.
...more
Laura
Jan 22, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Oh, wow. An absolutely fantastic read. Wright gives us deliciously layered main characters, plenty of twists and turns, and an inability to sleep until you get to the end. :-) I'm so glad I got an ARC of this book, and can't wait to see what Wright comes up with next. ...more
PinkAmy loves books, cats and naps
My review disappeared and I’m recovering from hand surgery. I could barely write one review, I can’t do a second one.
mrskcra
3.5 ⭐️ Fun, quirky read that’s even funnier if you know someone with kids, or who’s on the PTA 🤣
Danielle B
Review to come!
Patricia A. Powell
Terrific story!
Sarah -  All The Book Blog Names Are Taken
So many of my prime reads have been duds lately, yet this one was fantastic. I’m so glad I read it and it’s likely I am going to continue the series. I knew who the wannabe-killer was, But I didn’t know the how or why. Turns out I also didn’t know the who - as in who the victim was supposed to be. Great read.

See my review on my blog: https://allthebookblognamesaretaken.b...
...more
melvatoast
May 14, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
4.5*** (rounded up, because I enjoyed it!)

After reading some of the reviews on this book, I expected to go in to a predictable, somewhat fluffy story. I was pleasantly surprised on how well this book was written in regards to both the legal aspects and the depth of the characters. I definitely finished this book feeling like I knew who these people were - even if I didn't think particularly highly of them.

Another thing I really appreciated - I've read many books where the author clearly picks a
...more
Rachelle
The Darkest Flower is the type of suspense I most enjoy reading, full of dark humor and page-turning drama.

The story is told from two perspectives. Kira is a super-involved PTA president accused of poisoning another parent. She's the definition of an unlikeable character. She's ruthless and manipulative, but also smart, which makes her exactly the type of character I like reading about (think Amber in The Last Mrs. Parrish). Allison is a single mom and defense attorney who takes on Kira's case.
...more
Jamie
May 08, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I chose this book for my May first reads as I really liked the synopsis they gave. It was between this and one other and ultimately I chose this one. I wholeheartedly love books that are written from multiple points of views and characters. I find myself enjoying these books more than the normal way books are written.

From the beginning I was really hooked on this one. Kira seemed so fascinating to me and how hard she tried to keep up this image. I won’t say much more than that because I don’t wa
...more
Paula  Phillips
Jul 10, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Drawn to the purples of the cover and the fact it was a mystery thriller, I opened on my Kindle Kristin Wright's new book "The Darkest Flower". What a ride it turned out to be as we meet lawyer Allison Barton who sadly is working for a pompous jerk but people love to throw money at him, so she is getting the odd good case. Her new client is a mother of two and the president of not only the PTA but the Garden Club and she has her fingers in other pies too. She has been accused of poisoning anothe ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Supreme Betrayal (Zachary Blake Legal Thriller, #6)
  • The House in the Cerulean Sea
  • All I Want for Christmas is a Cowboy (The Wyoming Cowboy #1)
  • Legends Rise (Venators #3)
  • The Phlebotomist
  • The New Husband
  • It's Not Supposed to Be This Way: Finding Unexpected Strength When Disappointments Leave You Shattered
  • How to Bang a Billionaire (Arden St. Ives, #1)
  • The Roommate (The Shameless Series, #1)
  • Long Way Down
  • Spoiler Alert (Spoiler Alert, #1)
  • Presumed Innocent (Kindle County Legal Thriller, #1)
  • The Tourist Attraction (Moose Springs, Alaska #1)
  • Tao Te Ching
  • Perfectly Impossible
  • How to Blow It with a Billionaire (Arden St. Ives, #2)
  • Gifting Me To His Best Friend (A Touch of Taboo, #2)
  • The Reluctant Cowboy
See similar books…
See top shelves…
212 followers
Kristin lives in Virginia with her husband, two sons, and two beagles (one silly, one Machiavellian). She's a native of the Detroit area, a graduate of the University of Michigan Law School and has practiced law in many fields, including big firm litigation, criminal defense, personal injury, local government, and divorce and custody. She writes before work and behind the wheel of her car in the p ...more

Other books in the series

Allison Barton (2 books)
  • The Darkest Web (Allison Barton, #2)

Related Articles

We asked Alice Bolin, author of Dead Girls: Essays on Surviving an American Obsession, and journalist-turned-crime novelist Laura...
108 likes · 50 comments
“Sure.” We walked out to the car, hand in hand. I didn’t know how much longer she’d let me hold her hand in public, but I hoped it would be forever. Nothing felt better.” 1 likes
“CHAPTER SEVEN KIRA Just about the only perk a weekend in jail offers is not having to cook for small children. I’d been home approximately five hours, and I was already girding my loins for the nightly battle over food. Yes, yes, I know. Perfect mothers cook perfect meals, but I despise cooking for my children. Every night I had to marshal all the resources at my disposal not to give in to the temptation to throw frozen chicken nuggets at them and call it a day. Everything I put on their plates looked “funny,” or felt “slimy,” or was touching something and “ruining” everything. Back when Miles and I were first married, I used to make these incredible meals straight out of Martha Stewart. He’d ooh and aah and eat everything (never gaining a single ounce), and the applause made it worthwhile. Now, a bit more of my soul died every time I carried the children’s plates to the sink, still with more than half the food present and accounted for. Both kids would be digging in the pantry for Goldfish in a matter of minutes.” 1 likes
More quotes…