Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Christmas Visitor: An Amish Dreams on Prince Edward Island Novella” as Want to Read:
The Christmas Visitor: An Amish Dreams on Prince Edward Island Novella
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Christmas Visitor: An Amish Dreams on Prince Edward Island Novella

(Amish of Prince Edward Island #0.5)

by
4.57  ·  Rating details ·  21 ratings  ·  12 reviews
Every so often, first love lasts a lifetime—
and what seems impossible is made possible with God.

Mattie Beller is confident God’s plan for her life does not include marriage. Her poor health has kept her an outsider, even in her close-knit Amish community. But when a visitor comes to the New Hope church district for the Christmas season, Mattie’s ideas about her future are
...more
Paperback
Published July 20th 2020
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Christmas Visitor, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Christmas Visitor

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-40
Average rating 4.57  · 
Rating details
 ·  21 ratings  ·  12 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Christmas Visitor: An Amish Dreams on Prince Edward Island Novella
Kelly-Ann ~ Sassy Bookish Mama
I cannot rant and rave more about Amy Grochowski!! She did it once again!! Transported me back to Amish country in Prince Edward island and not only did I get to "see" past characters but she introduced me to some new ones!! This story focuses on Mattie Beller who battles with asthma and doesn't know yet what God's calling is for her life and for the community. She is friends with Lydia whose cousin Winston comes from Pennsylvania to visit and immediately notices Mattie.

The love story between M
...more
Laurel Blount
Aug 01, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I LOVED this novella! After reading Forever Home by Amy Grochowski, I was eager to read more Amish stories set on beautiful Prince Edward Island. What an unexpected delight to have this Christmas story release early! I loved the sweet romance blooming between Mattie and Winston, and since Amy Grochowski has such a knack for weaving vivid details into her writing, she pulled me into every scene. And--bonus--her secondary characters were every bit as well written as the hero and heroine. I'm reall ...more
Linda Klager
I loved the story, but there were typos in this book - one that really stood out was an incorrect quote from the Holy Bible. One should never do that!

I would have given more stars, but could not ignore these things.

Linda Lou Cross
Sep 07, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Loved this book. The plot line is great and moves along well. The characters seem like my good friends that live down the road a piece. Amy intertwines uplifting themes that are sure to inspire you. I hated to see the book end.
Heather
Jul 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What a great book!! Now I am looking for a sequel.. This author has a way of capturing reality and romance

What a sweet book.. There must be a sequel coming (I hope).. Loved the book and am hoping for more to come.. Well done!
Anna Caranci
Aug 11, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Another lovely story from Amy Grochowski! These books have brought such a sense of peace to me as I read. They are uplifting, challenging to my walk with the Lord, and pure enjoyment. The characters are relatable and I get drawn in from the beginning, excited to see how their story unfolds. I was sad when I finished reading because I just wanted more! Eagerly awaiting more stories, Amy!
June Jacobs
Dec 20, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I enjoyed this Amish Christmas novella set on Prince Edward Island in Canada. The author has done a fine job of bringing the story of a small group of characters to life through her descriptive writing. The story is filled with the ups and downs of real life in a small Amish community. As always, I especially loved to read about the heartfelt Christmas traditions and customs of the Amish.

The story was sprinkled with scriptures and examples of faith at work in the lives of the main characters. Ki
...more
Sheila
Dec 27, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was a lovely feel-good Christmas story set on Prince Edward Island in Canada. It follows the story of quiet, shy, Mattie Beller and Winston, the cousin of local school teacher, Ellen Miller. Amish man, Winston, has decided to relocate to the island and buy land and settle there. He is considering this before even meeting Mattie but once he meets her and sees the way she reacts with her family, her respectful, hard work and relationship with animals and children, he is lost to her charms. Th ...more
Dawn
Apr 30, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Amy is a new author for me. I like to give new Amish Fiction authors a shot and I am so glad that I did. The characters, storyline and setting is beyond what I could have imagined. Teaching us God is in control and to have faith.
Brenda Day
Aug 06, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
So glade I read this one

The characters are great and the story line was beautiful. To see the story line and revisit this place and get hear about them
Marg
Sep 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: amish, x2020
excellent book
Stacey Ulferts
Dec 12, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved this story every bit as much as the first one! Amy Grochowski writes characters that easily find a home in your heart.
sharon percher
rated it it was amazing
Dec 17, 2020
Barbara
rated it really liked it
Jul 31, 2020
Judy
rated it liked it
Dec 02, 2020
Richard - Ann Lee
rated it it was amazing
Dec 15, 2020
Diana Jones
rated it it was amazing
Aug 04, 2020
Nonny53051
rated it it was amazing
May 04, 2021
Sheila Brady
rated it it was amazing
Jul 23, 2020
Dawn Pannell
rated it it was amazing
Feb 02, 2021
Janet
rated it liked it
Sep 22, 2020
Melanie Mole
marked it as to-read
Jun 26, 2020
Diane
marked it as to-read
Jun 27, 2020
Ruth
marked it as to-read
Jun 27, 2020
DianeLikesToRead
marked it as to-read
Jul 02, 2020
Natalie
marked it as to-read
Jul 04, 2020
Kirsty Pearce
marked it as to-read
Jul 09, 2020
Reba
marked it as to-read
Jul 11, 2020
Carolyn V
marked it as to-read
Jul 16, 2020
Raven
marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2020
ClaraBelle
marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2020
Sarah Vile
marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2020
Theresa Peterson
marked it as to-read
Jul 29, 2020
Amanda Frohn
marked it as to-read
Aug 02, 2020
Lorraine Boyd
marked it as to-read
Aug 05, 2020
Karen Duff
marked it as to-read
Aug 07, 2020
Malia Saldaña
marked it as to-read
Aug 08, 2020
Jenny
marked it as to-read
Aug 17, 2020
Catherine Chatmon
is currently reading it
Sep 02, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Love Note
  • A Dance in Donegal
  • Amish Christmas Miracles: 14 stories to touch your heart and warm your soul this Christmas
  • Hannah's Hardship (Westward Home and Hearts Mail-Order Brides Book 11)
  • Forever and Ever, Amen: The Heart-Warming Stories Behind the Music of Paul Overstreet
  • Quarantined on the Island (Huntington Family #3)
  • The Handmaid's Billionaire
  • Tidewater Bride
  • An Amish Christmas Wedding: Four Stories
  • All That We Carried
  • Thursday's Bride
  • Jingle All the Way
  • Herons Landing (Honeymoon Harbor, #1)
  • The Billionaire's Second Chance  (Benton Brothers Romance #4)
  • The Noble Guardian (The Bow Street Runners, #3)
  • Finding Lady Enderly
  • Three Renegades and a Baby
  • The Scent Keeper
See similar books…
17 followers
Amy's deep appreciation for the Amish faith and way of life stems from six years of living and working with a Beachy Amish family, as well as her own Anabaptist roots. Her debut novel, Forever Home, was a pre-published winner of Romance Writers of America's Maggie Award and a semi-finalist in ACFW's Genesis Contest. She is a member of Word Weavers Int'l and a published author of award-winning hist ...more

Other books in the series

Amish of Prince Edward Island (1 books)
  • Forever Home (Amish of Prince Edward Island, #1)

News & Interviews

Believe it or not, we're halfway through 2021! As is our tradition, this is the time when the Goodreads editorial team burrows into our data to...
98 likes · 79 comments