Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Resistor (Ellinor, #1)” as Want to Read:
Resistor (Ellinor, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Resistor

(Ellinor #1)

by
4.08  ·  Rating details ·  50 ratings  ·  47 reviews
Winner of The Literary Titan Gold Award!

Ellinor Rask has wanted one thing for the past eight years: vengeance. But when Ellinor is captured, she finds herself dragged back into the world she walked away from, entangled once more with friends she would rather forget.

As if that weren’t humiliating enough, Ellinor learns first hand that her magic can be stripped away by a pie
...more
Paperback, 436 pages
Published August 7th 2020 by Starfish Ink
More Details... Edit Details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • Resistor by C.E. Clayton
    Resistor (Ellinor, #1)
    by

    Release date: Oct 01, 2020
    We're giving away 100 copies of the award winning, science fantasy novel, Resistor! Start this action packed ride ahead of its sequel this Fall! ...more

    Format: Kindle book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 100 copies available, 264 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Jul 30 - Aug 29, 2021

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Reader Q&A

    To ask other readers questions about Resistor, please sign up.

    Be the first to ask a question about Resistor

    Community Reviews

    Showing 1-30
    Average rating 4.08  · 
    Rating details
     ·  50 ratings  ·  47 reviews


    More filters
     | 
    Sort order
    Start your review of Resistor (Ellinor, #1)
    Sarah Anderson-Pagal
    Aug 07, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    Thank you to C.E. Clayton for allowing me to read the e-ARC for my honest review.

    I loved this book. This world, these characters. She has created an intense nee world.

    This book definitely gives off a cyber punk feel. It has magic, tech, magical tech creatures! Vengence is a main theme, as is heartbreak.

    The villians are cool, the heroes are cooler. Characters you think you hate, you fall in love with, want to hug them.

    I read this book in less than 2 days, I couldn't put it down. I needed to kno
    ...more
    Valliya Rennell
    3 stars
    DNF @ 33%

    You know, after reading a lot of books, you start to notice when a book just isn't doing it for you. It isn't that it is bad, per se, but you just feel like you've read it before. This book follows Ellinor as she is forcefully recruited into her old team for one last mission. Thing is, she still blames their boss (and the members by proxy) for the death of her husband Misho. As her magic is taken away, she must find a way to survive this mission against her old family, now enemie
    ...more
    Lexi Biondi
    Aug 28, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    A fantastical blend of cyberpunk and fantasy with dystopian elements, C.E. Clayton's Resistor will pull at your heartstrings and send you on an emotional rollercoaster full of magic, revenge and healing friendships. The 1st book in C.E. Clayton’s new Eerden series; it follows an Air Caster named Ellinor, who longs for revenge against those responsible for the death of her husband, Misho. When she is forced into a dangerous mission by her ex boss, Ellinor will have to work with her old crew once ...more
    Hannah
    Sep 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing

    Resistor is such a vivid, colorful novel. It felt a lot like reading a movie with big, bright scenes unfolding in my mind as I quickly turned the pages. The characters are fun and flawed in the most interesting ways. The villains are flashy and so amazingly bad that you have to love them. And the world is just... wow I kind of want to live there but I know it'd chew me up and spit me out soooo fast xD

    Totally recommend if you're a fan of wild escapism because this is a hell of a ride. :D

    *Arc p
    ...more
    Anna  ♥️
    Sep 24, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    Shelves: loved
    Thank you to @booksirens and @chelscey for providing me with an e-arc of this amazing book!, 🖤

    Wow this was such a wild ride... Everyone check out this book because it is so so good you will not regret it! This world, these characters, the plot everything was just *Chef's kiss*

    I really liked C.E. Clayton writing and found myself really enjoying reading this book!

    The big thing for me about this book is the characters. This book has such an amazing diverse cast of characters and all we're so likea
    ...more
    Ashi
    Oct 07, 2020 rated it really liked it
    Shelves: fantasy, fiction, sci-fic
    Vengeance is not all there is to life

    Resistor by C.E. Clayton is a superb mix of all my favorite genre, sci-fi and fantasy with a dash of dystopian cyber-punk. The novel is surprisingly awesome, filled with heartbreak, friendship, vengeance, magic, futuristic tech and complex characters.

    Ellinor Rask wants revenge but before she can achieve it, she is captured by her former boss and is again thrust into a world of old friendship and grudges. But before she can save herself, she realizes the har
    ...more
    Briana
    Aug 16, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    Shelves: favorites
    Oh man. What. A. Ride. This book is amazing and it took me on a rollercoaster of emotions. I adore Ellinor, Jelani, Kai and especially Fiss who is so adorable. It was so well written and I found myself not wanting to stop reading. I simply cannot describe in words how amazing this book was. I cannot recommend it enough. If you are even considering reading it, just do it.
    5 stars and I would give more if such a thing were possible.
    ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
    Paige Green
    Dec 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    Disclaimer: I received this book from the author. Thanks! All opinions are my own.

    Book: Resistor

    Author: C.E. Clayton

    Book Series: Ellinor Book 1

    Rating: 5/5

    Recommended For...: sci-fi and fantasy lovers

    Publication Date: August 7, 2020

    Genre: Sci-Fi

    Recommended Age: 17+ (language, violence, gore, death, grief, slight sexual content, slut shaming)

    Publisher: Starfish Ink

    Pages: 436

    Synopsis: Ellinor Rask has wanted one thing for the past eight years: vengeance. But when Ellinor is captured, she finds hers
    ...more
    Jamie Rose
    Aug 20, 2020 added it
    Shelves: arcs, read-2020
    The cyberpunk/dystopian/fantasy blend I didn't know I needed! Love the hard-edged, complex characters who aren't always likeable but definitely carry the action and emotion of the story. No one is all bad or all good (well, maybe ONE person...) and their choices and decisions feel right for the story even when you really don't want them to go that way. Ruthless action with real consequences, and some fantastically original worldbuilding mixing technology and magic. MC Ellinor's growth (or recove ...more
    Book Reviewer
    Sep 16, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    Ellinor Olysha Rask is a feisty warrior on a mission to avenge the murder of her beloved husband, Misho. She holds two parties responsible for the tragedy; the real perpetrators, a bunch of rogue androids, and her former employer, Cosmin, a powerful mafia boss. Her pursuit of vengeance hits a snag when Cosmin abducts her and forces her to take on one last task. She must deliver a coveted magical creature to another mob boss or lose her magical powers forever. Now having to work with her former t ...more
    Paula Terrado
    Oct 13, 2020 rated it really liked it
    Shelves: 2020, fantasy, sci-fi
    This is a cyberpunk, fantasy story about Ellinor Rask who is an Air caster that seeks revenge for the death of her husband, Misho. This book has a lot of magic, fantasy, and dystopian elements/features and it was actually really fun to read!

    The story, however, started at a slow pace which I don’t appreciate because I want the fun and action to start already. Once you get past that though, the story will pick up and it will be amazing until the end!

    The world building was definitely a “wow” moment
    ...more
    M.K.
    Oct 07, 2020 rated it really liked it
    25/10/2020 Update!
    Here's the full review I promised a couple of weeks ago!

    Resistor by C.E. Clayton is a great and engaging read for those of you who don’t mind some cyberpunk mixed in their magic. It’s a bloody tale of what happens to you when you’re hellbent on revenge and how you can rediscover yourself before you’re lost completely. It’s a book about rediscovering friendship and hope, about freeing yourself from the painful past, and making sense of it all again.

    Resistor explores an imaginati
    ...more
    Kristjan
    Aug 09, 2020 rated it really liked it
    Type of Ending ... "To Be Continued and Bittersweet Ending"

    Okay ... so I started with the ending because I really don't like this type of ending and frequently will dock a book up to a full star on the ratings depending on how unfinished the story feels at that point. In this case, there was some resolution on the main character's redemption arc, but most of the major plot conflicts were left hanging. This is the ONLY reason this story doesn't get five (5) stars.

    This is a science-fantasy story t
    ...more
    Gee
    Aug 10, 2020 rated it really liked it
    Ellinor Rask has been after vengeance for the death of her husband, Misho, for 8 years, but now she has a problem. She has been grabbed and taken back to her old boss. He has a job for her that he won’t let her refuse. And to do it, she has had her powers stripped from her by a piece of biotech that wont come off until she completes her mission. Sounds easy, but it’s not.

    This is a really good start to CE Claytons new Eerden novel featuring Ellinor and her old team. We get enough background to ma
    ...more
    Alex Grace
    Sep 06, 2020 rated it really liked it
    Thank you Book Sirens and C.E. Clayton for an eARC of this book!
    Ellinor Olyesha Rask is pronounced exactly how you would expect. Okay, now that is out of the way. Ellinor Olyesha Rask is a great main character, and I want more and that’s that. The scifi world building is so fun and cool. The science is so good it feels like magic, but there are also casters who are actually magical, so the line between science fiction and fantasy is blurry and I love it.
    Ellinor is out for revenge. Her husband wa
    ...more
    Michelle  Hogmire
    Oct 14, 2020 rated it really liked it
    Thanks to BookSirens for a finished copy of this novel, in exchange for an honest review (pub date Aug 7, 2020)--

    Ellinor Rask is in a hell of a predicament. She's dead set on getting vengeance on her old gangster boss Cosmin, for allowing her husband to be irresponsibly killed on the job. But then Cosmin captures her, attaches a collar around her neck that takes away her magic, and forces her to go on a perilous journey escorting a dangerous prize: a dreeocht--a powerful creature formed from bot
    ...more
    Linda McCutcheon
    Oct 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    "This is for the ER doctors and technicians who said my brain was "unremarkable".

    This is the dedication for Resistor by C.E. Clayton. I posted it so you can get just a small example of what a bad-ass this author is and how well it pours into her main character Ellinor.

    The writer has created the original world of Eerden in her first book of this new action packed series. This is a world of magic mixed with technology and is like nothing I have read before and yet there was so much pure emotion th
    ...more
    Janna M
    Sep 25, 2020 rated it really liked it
    I hunted down this ARC solely because of Bookstagram. I saw the cover, I read the blurb, I knew I had to read it. And it did not disappoint! I giggled and settled in for a good read when I saw the first chapter is titled "Well Shit...Part One."

    The main character is perfectly sassy without being annoying - which is a rare achievement in the sci fi books I've read recently. She's funny and badass and humanly flawed. The world-building is interesting but not hugely fleshed out; instead a short ba
    ...more
    Ahri
    Oct 24, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    What an intricate and just down right colorful cyberpunk/fantasy book!

    I absolutely loved the main character, Ellinor, whose life long mission is to get vengeance for the death of her husband. She's relatable, cold, and kind of a badass. However, as much as I found her legit amazing, she was extremely real. She gets to the point where she's almost blinded by her need for vengeance, which we can see how it affects her choices in the story.

    The rest of the characters were 100% deep and I fell in l
    ...more
    Megan
    Jan 17, 2021 rated it it was amazing
    This is a great book! It will satisfy the lovers of fantasy fiction, science fiction, futuristic dystopian, cyberpunk— and it kicks ass if, like me, you’re into all of the above! Ellinor is a complex protagonist. She’s strong, skilled, and out for vengeance. She’s also got a realistic dab of fragility as she deals with the pain of loss. Clayton’s world-building is layered and interesting. This is at the core of her amazing storytelling. There is a ton of action- the book really satisfies in that ...more
    kelsey
    Sep 28, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    I received an advanced review copy of this for free from BookSirens in exchange for an honest review.

    Ellinor Rask has been captured by Cosmin, the crime lord she used to work for, and forced back into a life she tried to leave behind. Her former boss needs her to do a job, and teams her up with her old crew, many of whom were hurt by Ellinor’s sudden departure. Things quickly go awry, of course, and while trying to survive, Ellinor must reevaluate the choices she made that led her to this point.
    ...more
    Sibil
    Nov 07, 2020 added it
    3.5 stars
    Thanks to NetGalley and to the Editor. I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

    This was an interesting book, a mix between sci-fi and fantasy (because we have an interesting blend of magic and tech, and this was great!) with some cyberpunk atmosphere to pleasantly add to everything.
    The world-building could have been maybe sketched out more, or this is just me complaining a bit because I wanted more. I cannot say because we have enough in there, we see a lot of int
    ...more
    Raj
    Sep 04, 2020 rated it really liked it
    I received an advance review copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily.

    I've been a fan of Shadowrun since the days of the SNES game, the tabletop RPG, Robert N. Charrette excellent Shadowrun books through to the latest Shadowrun returns games. Needless to say, when I saw a book set in a similar world, i was eager to read it.

    The book's tragic heroine is Ellinor Rask, desperately haunted by the death of her husband she lives for revenge. Ellinor had an "interesting" life she thought
    ...more
    Marie Reed
    Oct 07, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    This right here is the perfect marriage of scifi and fantasy.

    Ellinor has been avenging her husband's death for years. As she is closing in on finishing her goal, she is captured by the one she most blames for Misho's death, their former employer Cosmin. Now forced to work for him again, she must complete his task or risk losing access to her magic forever. But along the way she learns that maybe there are better things to do than constantly fighting for revenge...but is it worth giving up what s
    ...more
    Arianne Cerilla
    Sep 24, 2020 rated it really liked it
    When a book begins with a pronunciation guide and a map, I just know I’m in for a treat!

    I don’t read a lot of sci-fi books but I definitely enjoyed this one. 💖 I love that the book started where it did, years past the pinnacle of Ellinor’s career, because it gave the readers so much backstory and mystery to sift through.

    I also love that the book didn't revolve around romance, despite her motivations being rooted in her love for Misho. However, I had a bit of trouble fully connecting with Ellino
    ...more
    Taschima
    Eeeks maybe this is just not for me. It took me forever to finish and I think that is because I was just not that into the characters or the plot.

    Random musings:

    -From the get go I felt the dialogue was forced at times, specially when Kai spoke.
    -The world building is... interesting. I have no idea why the MC had to be 50 years old 🤷 it really added nothing to the story and it was just weird when it was referenced. It seems that 50 years old in their species is like being a teenager in our specie
    ...more
    Sandra
    Dec 04, 2020 rated it it was ok
    I received an advance review copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily.
    This book had the potential to impress me, the author started out weaving this great mythology of the world the story took place in only to build the world as an exact replica of our earth with only two races I have to admit I was disappointed.

    This story could have benefitted if it was written on earth I feel like the author would have developed the plot better if they didn't have to worry about creating an enti
    ...more
    C.E. Clayton
    Dec 10, 2020 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
    I'm so excited and proud to bring you all the special hardcover of this book! It's in FULL COLOR and includes all the exclusive art that was only available with the pre-order, as well as the signed paperbacks. It also has new character art on it's dust jacket! I could honestly gush about how pretty this book is, but you can also see it for yourself and hold it in your hands now, too! ...more
    PK Dan
    Oct 08, 2020 rated it really liked it
    I did not expect to be so delighted with this book. Gave me to think Clive Cussler had made a woman equivalent of Dirk Pitt and set her in the future. Only thing missing is the antique car and maybe a cameo of the author. This is a fun ride, and I recommend it to anyone who’s up for a little…adventure….
    Kate Swed
    Dec 30, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    CE Clayton’s writing draws you into a world with an irresistible blend of fantasy and sci fi — exciting scenes and feisty Ellinor caught my attention from the first page. Looking forward to the next installment!
    « previous 1 next »
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

    Readers also enjoyed

    • Sourcery (Discworld, #5; Rincewind #3)
    • Coming Together (Descend #2)
    • The Hostile Hospital (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #8)
    • Her Last Summer (Veronica Lee Thriller #1)
    • Murder at the Manor (Tommy & Evelyn Christie #1)
    • The Austere Academy (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #5)
    • Cardcaptor Sakura, Vol. 1 (Cardcaptor Sakura, #1)
    • The Vile Village (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #7)
    • The Newton Cipher
    • Into the Wild (Warriors, #1)
    • The Non-Obvious Guide to Virtual Meetings and Remote Work (Non-Obvious Guides)
    • Dark Intent
    • Tarnsman of Gor (Gor #1)
    • The Children of Ash and Elm: A History of the Vikings
    • The Thursday Murder Club (Thursday Murder Club, #1)
    • Executor Rising (The Circuit, #1)
    • Reloaded  (Lucky's Mercs #4)
    • The Gallery of Stolen Souls
    See similar books…
    224 followers
    C. E. Clayton was born and raised in the greater Los Angeles area. After going the traditional career route and becoming restless, she went back to her first love—writing—and hasn’t stopped. She is the author of young adult fantasy series, “The Monster of Selkirk”, the creator of the cyberpunk Eerden Novels, and her horror short stories have appeared in anthologies across the country. When she’s n ...more

    Related Articles

      It's time for our most out-of-this-world genre celebration! Join us as we explore speculative fiction's newest horizons.   ...
    297 likes · 192 comments
    “Euria was like most of the sprawling metropolises in Erhard: tall skyscrapers that didn’t so much kiss the sky as ram their fist through it, their shadows casting a perpetual false night across the ground where the unfortunate dwelled.” 0 likes
    “Ellinor crossed her arms over her chest, her headache returning in force with Lazar’s words. “So what you’re trying to tell me is, we’re fucked. That about sums it up, yeah?”
    Lazar smirked. “I just said we’d be in for trouble.”
    0 likes
    More quotes…