Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Window” as Want to Read:
The Window
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Window

by
really liked it 4.00  ·  Rating details ·  5 ratings  ·  6 reviews
A dark window to the future…

Everything changed the day Brian Bingham looked out the attic window and saw something that wouldn't happen for another week. Through a mysterious window no one else can see, Brian gains a portal into the future. But the future is not always something he wants to see.

Brian has enough troubles in the present without worrying about the future. Hi
...more
Paperback, 170 pages
Published February 2nd 2021 by Dancing Lemur Press, L.L.C.
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Window, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Window

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-10
really liked it Average rating 4.00  · 
Rating details
 ·  5 ratings  ·  6 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Window
L.G. Keltner
Jan 11, 2021 rated it really liked it
The Window by Dave Cole is a novel about growing up and coming to terms with some of the greatest difficulties of life. The protagonist is a teenage boy named Brian who has a lot going on in his life. He’s trying to navigate his first year of high school, which means struggles with grades and figuring out what it means to be in a relationship with his first love, Charlotte. He also has to deal with his parents and their near-constant arguments.

That would be a lot for any teenager to handle. Unfo
...more
Christine Rains
Sep 23, 2020 rated it really liked it
The attic had always creeped Brian Bingham out, but now at fourteen, he's too old to be afraid of shadows and dusty boxes. When a strange window appears, he discovers it's a portal to the future. A lot of the things he sees are mundane until he witnesses his best friend's horrifying death. Brian has to stop it. But can what he see through the window be changed or will it offer something much more terrifying?

This is a YA supernatural novel which begins on a fairly ordinary note. Brian is a typica
...more
Kirsten Marion
Oct 31, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This remarkable novel had me hooked from the first page. It's not enough that Brian Bingham must simultaneously deal with his first love, his parent's dissolving marriage, and plummeting grades. A mysterious portal shows him a terrifying future.
Dave Cole deftly handles themes of family, friendship, and pre-destination vs self determination.
Fans of Before I Fall and A Prayer for Own Meany will love this paranormal coming of age novel.
Highly recommended.
...more
Louise
Feb 01, 2021 rated it really liked it
Dave Cole's creepy paranormal book is perfect for young adult boys, but girls will enjoy it too. As a retired teacher who's read countless books aloud to elementary-aged kids, I know a winner when I see one, and this book is a winner.

"The Window" grabbed me with the first two lines: "I was fifteen when I saw my best friend die. Although if I think about it, I was fourteen when I saw him die the first time." I flew through the 166 pages of this coming-of-age novel with its unnerving supernatural
...more
Donna
Where did I stop? 57% in

Why? Largely it was taking its time getting to the point and for a 139 page book that’s a problem. The blurb is what hooked me into accepting the review request, but it’s ultimately misleading. The story is far more focused on Brian’s blooming love interest and his fighting parents than this window, that only makes fleeting appearances to this point. It’s only at around the 50% mark that the blurb incident actually happens, but it’s immediately brushed aside for a school
...more
Karen (BaronessBookTrove)
I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy from the Publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.The Window by Dave Cole is about a teen boy navigating a difficult time in his life while also seeing things.
Can Brian alter what he has seen?
Brian Bingham
Brian Bingham comes to life as we navigate this story through his point-of-view and how ultimately that seeing a window in your attic where there was none means you shouldn't look through it. He is just
...more
Damien Larkin
marked it as to-read
Nov 29, 2020
Patricia Stoltey
marked it as to-read
Feb 08, 2021
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Alpha's Revenge (Royal Alpha Wolves Club #3)
  • The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastard, #1)
  • Radical Acceptance: Embracing Your Life With the Heart of a Buddha
  • Grown Ups
  • To Catch a Fae (Winter’s Thorn, #0.5)
  • Captain Pug
  • Everwinter (Chronicles of Naelyra #1)
  • The Opium Purge (Lady Fan Mystery #3)
  • First to Follow: 4th Sin Book 1
  • Pugs of the Frozen North
  • Pug’s Snow Day (Diary of a Pug #2)
  • Pug Blasts Off (Diary of a Pug #1)
See similar books…

News & Interviews

  Kerine Wint is a software engineering graduate with more love for books than for computers. As an avid reader, writer, and fan of all things...
39 likes · 12 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »