Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Three Words for Goodbye” as Want to Read:
Three Words for Goodbye
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Three Words for Goodbye

by
4.90  ·  Rating details ·  10 ratings  ·  6 reviews
From Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb, the bestselling authors of Meet Me in Monaco, comes a coming-of-age novel set in pre-WWII Europe, perfect for fans of Jennifer Robson, Beatriz Williams, and Kate Quinn.  



Three cities, two sisters, one chance to correct the past . . .

New York, 1937: When estranged sisters Clara and Madeleine Sommers learn their grandmother is dying, they
...more
ebook, 384 pages
Expected publication: July 27th 2021 by William Morrow Paperbacks
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Three Words for Goodbye, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Three Words for Goodbye

Community Reviews

Showing 1-39
Average rating 4.90  · 
Rating details
 ·  10 ratings  ·  6 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Three Words for Goodbye
Literary Redhead
I loved THREE WORDS FOR GOODBYE by the dynamic duo Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb.

The story is set in 1937, a volatile time in history as Hitler consolidated power. Against this backdrop, two sisters in New York are asked by their dying grandmother to deliver three letters across Europe as her final farewell. They’re tasked with traveling to Paris, Venice and Vienna via the Queen Mary and the Orient Express — a “hardship” I’d take on gladly!

But the Sommers sisters — Clara, an artist, and Madelei
...more
Natasha Lester
Utterly delightful and the perfect escape. I loved being swept away to 1930s Paris, Venice and Vienna alongside sisters Maddie and Clara who, despite their differences, have come together to fulfill their dying grandmother’s final wish. Unshackled by family and the expectations of society, they learn a lot about themselves and each other as they uncover long-kept family secrets and discover their own talents and desires. A heartwarming and wonderful story about the power of forgiveness and the u ...more
Debbie
Feb 16, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Hazel Gaynor and Heather Webb have written a story that holds us in it’s grip to the very last page. A dying grandmother sends her two granddaughters on a trip to Europe to deliver three very important letters to help reconcile her past as well as reveal her own personal history. She also uses this opportunity to bring her two estranged granddaughters together as they embark on their journey. The time period being just before the Second World War allows us to experience the unrest in Europe. The ...more
Kristen Lucero
Feb 06, 2021 rated it it was amazing
In Three Words for Goodbye, we follow the story and the journey of two sisters, Clara and Madeleine, as they travel through Europe to deliver goodbye messages for their dying Grandmother. I loved that their adventure took place during 1937 as tensions were on the rise due to the rising threat of Hitler and the war.

Even better, we got to see it through both Maddie and Clara’s perspectives. I enjoyed the fact that they were two very different people, and their often tumultuous relationship felt r
...more
Janelle
Feb 07, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I really enjoyed this historical book! My first from these authors, and I am looking forward to checking out their other works.

Estranged sisters, Clara and Madeline, are sent on a world traveling trip by their grandmother, Violet, as one of her final requests. She has 3 letters to be delivered to three people in her past, a final goodbye. The trip starts out rocky, but the adventures and experiences the girls share brings them back together. Madeline is a hopeful journalist and Clara is an artis
...more
Kris Waldherr
rated it it was amazing
Jan 26, 2021
Heather Webb
Jan 21, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Carol
rated it really liked it
Feb 21, 2021
jennet wheatstonelllsl
rated it it was amazing
Nov 07, 2020
Jean
marked it as to-read
Apr 12, 2019
Katie
marked it as to-read
Apr 12, 2019
Sheila
marked it as to-read
Apr 12, 2019
Deidre Butkus
marked it as to-read
Apr 12, 2019
Joanne
marked it as to-read
Apr 12, 2019
Laura
marked it as to-read
Apr 15, 2019
Desi
added it
May 04, 2019
Melanie
marked it as to-read
May 17, 2019
Amie
added it
May 19, 2019
Kathleen
marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2019
Martina Primerano
marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2019
Karen
marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2019
Shannon Dyer
marked it as to-read
Jul 13, 2019
Awallens
marked it as to-read
Jul 13, 2019
Kristeen Hughes
marked it as to-read
Jul 14, 2019
Deanna
marked it as to-read
Jul 14, 2019
Kathleen
marked it as to-read
Jul 17, 2019
Jennifer Warriner
marked it as to-read
Aug 14, 2019
Carolyn Tye
marked it as to-read
Aug 17, 2019
Ashli
marked it as to-read
Aug 19, 2019
Cindi
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2019
Seven Negen
marked it as to-read
Aug 31, 2019
Ronit
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2019
Emily Yager
marked it as to-read
Sep 08, 2019
MVC
marked it as to-read
Sep 12, 2019
Tammy(PeaceLoveBooks)
marked it as to-read
Sep 30, 2019
Ilene Harris
marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2019
Kelly Woznik
marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2019
Jill
added it
Oct 21, 2019
Leslie
marked it as to-read
Oct 24, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Show Girl
  • Little Pieces of Me
  • Relentless (Rogue Team International #2)
  • Letters Across the Sea
  • Our Woman in Moscow
  • Too Good to Be Real
  • That Weekend
  • Such a Quiet Place
  • If You, Then Me
  • Vintage Campers, Trailers  Teardrops
  • You Can Never Tell
  • She Wouldn't Change a Thing
  • The Bookseller's Secret
  • The Endless Skies
  • Nobody, Somebody, Anybody
  • Where It All Lands
  • The Rose Code
  • The Clover Girls
See similar books…
2,285 followers
Hazel Gaynor is an award-winning New York Times, USA Today, Irish Times, and international bestselling author. Her 2014 debut THE GIRL WHO CAME HOME won the 2015 RNA Historical Novel of the Year award, A MEMORY OF VIOLETS was a 2015 WHSmith Fresh Talent pick, THE GIRL FROM THE SAVOY was shortlisted for the 201 Irish Book Awards, and THE LIGHTHOUSE KEEPER'S DAUGHTER was shortlisted for the 2019 HWA ...more

Related Articles

Of Women and Salt, the debut novel by Gabriela Garcia, has the feel of a sweeping family saga that’s hard to reconcile with the fact that it’s...
4 likes · 0 comments