Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Lost in Paris” as Want to Read:
Lost in Paris
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Lost in Paris

by
4.55  ·  Rating details ·  11 ratings  ·  9 reviews
“A luscious, layered story of inheritance, heartbreak, reinvention, and family. I adored this book.” —Kristan Higgins, New York Times bestselling author

When a deed to an apartment in Paris turns up in an old attic trunk, an estranged mother and daughter must reunite to uncover the secret life of a family matriarch—perfect for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Beek
...more
Paperback, 352 pages
Expected publication: April 13th 2021 by Gallery Books
More Details... Edit Details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • Lost in Paris by Elizabeth  Thompson
    Lost in Paris
    by

    Release date: Apr 13, 2021
    *ADVANCED READER'S COPIES*

    *Please note that due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this shipment may be delayed.*

    When a deed to an apartment in Paris turns up
    ...more

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 40 copies available, 2171 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Oct 12 - Oct 26, 2020

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Reader Q&A

    To ask other readers questions about Lost in Paris, please sign up.

    Be the first to ask a question about Lost in Paris

    This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

    Community Reviews

    Showing 1-42
    Average rating 4.55  · 
    Rating details
     ·  11 ratings  ·  9 reviews


    More filters
     | 
    Sort order
    Start your review of Lost in Paris
    Tina
    Sep 29, 2020 marked it as to-be-review
    This is fiction. I am lucky to receive an e-copy of this book from Netgalley, and I will post a honest review as soon as I finish reading it.
    Sheri
    Oct 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    What a fantastic narrative filled with tidbits of history and a mystery that needs solving. Why did Ivy not sell the Paris apartment when she went to America during World War II? Why did she leave clues only to be found two generations later? Why did Marla show up on New Year's Eve, trying to be a mother for once? This story has an excellent plot, is very well written and has lovely well developed characters. It's the perfect book for the beach, vacation, or curled up in a cozy chair with a mug ...more
    Ethel
    Oct 18, 2020 rated it really liked it
    What would you do if you and your mother inherited a vintage apartment in Paris? What if that apartment once belonged to your great-grandmother would you want to keep it in the family or sell it for a nice sum of money? That is the question and the core of this book.

    Hannah Bond and her mother Marla quite surprisingly inherit a vintage Parisian apartment frozen in time since 1940. Never had they known anything about this inheritance or the fact that it even existed. The two have a difficult rela
    ...more
    Natalie
    Oct 01, 2020 rated it really liked it
    This book touched on so many things I love that I was engaged from the first minute. A Jane Austin book tour? You bet. A long hidden apartment in Paris? Intriguing. Stories about Paris between the wars? Yes, yes, yes. Mother daughter relationships? What woman wouldn’t be interested?

    Hannah and her somewhat estranged mother learn they inherited an apartment in Paris, neglected and unknown since 1940. So, it’s hard to believe, but suspending disbelief and going on this voyage of discovery with Hann
    ...more
    FMSWarrior
    Oct 04, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    Hannah Bond is finishing up her last Jane Austen tour of the year and is ready to head home to London only to find her Mother has flown in from Orlando Florida. WHAT could Marla possibly want? They had just seen each other at her grandmother’s funeral and didn’t touch base often. What a way to ring in the new year.

    When Hannah gets to her flat she finds Marla with her flatmates, who have opened a bottle of champagne. It seems Marla has found a deed to an apartment Paris as she was cleaning out h
    ...more
    Nan Reinhardt
    Oct 18, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    Elizabeth Thompson had me at "Paris," the rest was just a delightful bonus that I devoured in just three days! A wonderful story of history and unexpected treasures discovered in an old untouched apartment in Paris. But even more, it is a story of family and a mother and daughter finding their tentative way to one another after years of being estranged from one another. The flirty, sexy Frenchman who turned out to be married was a little cliché, but the story was so enthralling, it didn't matter ...more
    Shar
    Oct 16, 2020 rated it it was amazing
    How can you not like a book that is mostly set in Paris? Hannah lives in England and is employed as a Jane Austen literary tour guide, but upon the death of her grandmother, her crazy mom flies to see her to tell her about a secret apartment left to them by her grandmother. Hannan and her mother fly to Paris to uncover her grandmother's secret life in Paris including running with the Hemmingway and Fitzgerald crowd. A fun story full of great scenes of life in Paris.
    Michelle
    Oct 03, 2020 rated it really liked it
    With an intriguing premise, lots of historical references, mother-daughter drama, and hidden family secrets, Lost in Paris is a must read.

    Kindly received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    Cosima demaglie
    Oct 22, 2020 rated it really liked it
    Read an advanced copy of Lost in Paris, by Elizabeth Thompson. This was a good book. The characters were nice, the setting was lovely. I really mother/daughter stories, and this is a good one.
    Julia Kelly
    rated it it was amazing
    Sep 26, 2020
    Gretchen
    rated it really liked it
    Oct 18, 2020
    Lenam
    rated it it was amazing
    Oct 20, 2020
    Christy
    marked it as to-read
    Jul 23, 2020
    Jenn S.  (Book Buzz)
    marked it as to-read
    Jul 29, 2020
    Chelsey Wolford
    marked it as to-read
    Jul 31, 2020
    Sharon Mensing
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 01, 2020
    Michelle
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 12, 2020
    Claire
    added it
    Aug 16, 2020
    Frederick Rotzien
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    Leah
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    Lori Bennett
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    Bianca
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    Risse
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    Alex Curtis
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    Mary Hughes
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    Andrea
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    Melisa Dowling
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    Sam
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    Jo
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    Denise
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    Carmen Guajardo
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    Dayna
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    AC
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    Donna
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    Kim Ellis
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    Lydia Wallace
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    Kim Friant
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    James Cozzarelli
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    Johnna
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    Joan Waite
    marked it as to-read
    Aug 24, 2020
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

    Readers also enjoyed

    • Neighbors
    • The Four Winds
    • The Last to See Her
    • Candy Cane Crime (Amish Candy Shop Mystery #5.5)
    • Too Good to Be True
    • Haunting in Old Tailem (Haunting Clarisse #3)
    • The Healing Powers of Herbs and Spices: A Complete Guide to Natures Timeless Treasures
    • The Unofficial Disney Parks Cookbook: From Delicious Dole Whip to Tasty Mickey Pretzels, 100 Magical Disney-Inspired Recipes
    • Ink and Shadows (Secret, Book, & Scone Society, #4)
    • Don't Look for Me
    • A Catered Book Club Murder (A Mystery With Recipes)
    • The Drowning Kind
    • Death by Intermission (An Abby McCree Mystery)
    • Boba: Classic, Fun, and Refreshing Bubble Teas to Make at Home
    • Murder at Mabel’s Motel (A Granny Reid Mystery)
    • Irish Parade Murder (Lucy Stone #27)
    • A Tourist's Guide to Murder (Mystery Bookshop, #6)
    • The Book of Lost Names
    See similar books…
    Elizabeth Thompson is a lifelong Francophile with a degree in journalism. She loves food, books, and art. Lost in Paris is her first novel for Simon and Schuster‘s Gallery Books. She currently resides in Tennessee with her husband and their Pembroke Welsh corgi, Luna.

    Related Articles

    Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our...
    24 likes · 14 comments
    No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »