Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Backstage” as Want to Read:
Backstage
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Backstage

(Roadies #1)

by
4.19  ·  Rating details ·  747 ratings  ·  103 reviews
«Sono immune a tutto questo fascino da celebrità.»
«No, non lo sei, ho visto come sbavavi per Damian lì dentro.»
«Solo una pazza non strapperebbe volentieri i vestiti di dosso a tutto quel ben di Dio, ma non per questo non gli pianterei un pugno in faccia quando fa lo stronzo.»


Lilly è una ventenne di Brooklyn che assieme a tre suoi amici ha messo in piedi una band quando ave
...more
Kindle Edition, 286 pages
Published July 21st 2020
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Backstage, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Backstage

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.19  · 
Rating details
 ·  747 ratings  ·  103 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Backstage
Tzelina
3.5 - 4 ⭐️
I really liked it! A sweet story!
Thais • tata.lifepages •
This book is a hidden gem! It was such an unexpected surprise how much I loved it. Erika Vanzin is a master of slow-burn toe-curling romance! A heartwarming yet spicy read that kept me up at night!

Lilly is reserved girl with a traumatizing past that has serious skills as a musician/singer. She plays in small gigs with her band of close friends who are trying to make it in the music world. One of my favorite elements of the story is that the author normalizes mental health issues; Lilly has psych
...more
(old.enough.for.fairytales)
With her, I just need to put a smile on her lips to feel like I’ve conquered heaven.


Backstage is the enemies to lovers story of Damian and Lilly. Lilly and her misfit bandmates win a contest earning them the coveted opening act spot for Jailbirds, Damian’s famous rock band. Though they pretend to dislike each other, both Lilly and Damian have a hard time denying the magnetic pull they have towards each other. And let’s not even mention the crazy chemistry they have when they sing together.

An
...more
Vanessa (ve_xo)
Aug 22, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
It's my first time reading a book about bands! I was intrigued! Especially since the guy on the cover looks like my celebrity crush, Momoa *insert heart eyes here*. I love a good romance story!

Paparazzi is the story of Lilly and Damian, both have been through so much in their young life. Lilly has struggled with trauma, especially obesity and bullying (please note this as a trigger warning). Throughout her insecurities she works her way to accepting herself and crawling out of a world where she
...more
Doris
Damian and Lilly

While a teenager Lilly had to deal with body shaming and bullying which can tear even the strongest people down. It was with the help of some friends that she went on to become a rock star and was now going on tour. Would all of this be too much with all she has endured in the past? Damian was also a rock star and lived the hard partying rocker ways. Even though so very different they were pulled towards one another and became friends with benefits. Just who would survive this se
...more
Chiara | _ckarys
Say hello to my new fluffy blanket book!

I’m not usually a contemporary reader, but I was craving something lighter after intense fantasy reads and battling the drafting of a high fantasy sequel. Add to that my current Måneskin obsession and you have a perfect alignment of lucky stars.

BACKSTAGE was exactly what I was looking for. For a contemporary story to draw me in, I need to feel an instant chemistry with the characters, and I did with Damian, the lead singer of the Jailbirds. He was exactly
...more
Kathy
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Shelby Goodwin
Sep 11, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Special thanks to the author for gifting me a copy of this awesome book in exchange for an honest review! All thoughts and opinions expressed below are entirely my own.

If you’re in the market for a sexy slowburn standalone complete with a rollercoaser plot (who isn’t?!), then this book is the total package! In a nutshell, Backstage is a sweet-and-spicy love story paired with a harrowing rockstar romance between two individuals overcoming their separate traumas. It’s got all the A Star is Born vi
...more
Giorgia Patricelli
LOVED. IT.
The chemistry between Lilly and Damian is just so wonderful!
It's impossible not to relate to Lilly, a girl who just like all of us fights a sense of inadequacy but finds her way to shine.
And don t let me start with Damian..There's a beautiful man under that body of a true bad boy who steadly faces his demons but lets us see a bit at a time a glimpse of his heart.

Finally a book that makes us smile, excite and go back dreaming reliving the excitement of a concert.
"Singing with him is lik
...more
Maria Elena | _mkarys
This book is the book I didn’t know I needed in my life. It swept me away into a world of fame and music from the very first pages. (Is this the life of my queen Taylor Swift?) By the time I was done, I felt like I missed my band mates…except I’ve never been in a band.

Damian was an excellent male lead. He’s a mix of the haunted soul I love reading about and the devastating, charming and elusive rock star I could see myself swooning over. Also, not only is he built like a god, but the way his si
...more
Tati Alvarez
Sep 11, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
How many times have we fantasized our favorite band members noticed us and fell in love? Or if we were given a chance to preform with our favorite band and slowly watch as our crush fell in love with you. Well, Vanzin took all of our teenage fantasies and made them into a reality with Backstage!

TW: Eating disorder, depression, anxiety
Please check your triggers before proceeding with the book.

Lily is the our main female protagonist, who happens to be an extremely talented musician. However, there
...more
Ashley
Dec 25, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great story!

What a great story! I loved both Damien and Lilly. I really liked that this story delved into what it's like to live with anxiety and PTSD from a past trauma. It showed what Lilly was feeling but also ways of coping with it. I really felt for her but was happy to see her progressing and moving forward. I really liked Damien. He was a tortured hero who took a while to figure things out but he was willing to try. The story was interesting and emotional and held my attention through th
...more
Keeley | Keels Reads
3 ⭐⭐⭐
2 🌶🌶

I enjoyed it but was a bit tame for my taste. Would recommend it if you like a more of a slow burn type of romance. Like the relationship that develops between Damian and Lilly throughout the book. There was a few characters which I thought might have had a bigger part in the book but unfortunately not. Overall 3/5 from me.
Coco.V
Sep 07, 2022 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: freebie
🎁 FREE on Amazon today (9/7/2022)! 🎁
Rosy C
Oct 16, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Have you ever took your time reading a book because you didn't want it to end? This was the one for me! I absolutely LOVED Damian and Lilly! This book gave me all the feels and more. Their love story and uncovering the trauma they both endured when they were younger truly touched me. The tension and the banter was definitely there and made me feel so many emotions. I've laughed, cried and swooned over Damian and Lilly's journey to each other and how they were both able to grow from their experie ...more
Kat Thomas
Apr 03, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Super great read

Loved this book. Rockstar stories are one of my favorite reads. Both Lily and Damian are fantastic characters. I loved the back and forth between them. I also liked the sub stories behind each of them. It made them more real.
All of the secondary characters from both band are so likeable and I hope Erika writes a book about each of them in the future!
Highly recommend and will be reading more from this author.
Kim
Mar 02, 2022 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: giveaway-wins
I won this book through Goodreads Giveaways. The blurb sounded pretty good and I was excited to read it.

Unfortunately this one fell flat. It was extremely repetitive and also contradicted itself quite a bit.
You have a main character that goes from being so fearful and insecure of everything she is almost unable to live a normal life.. to miraculously overcoming said fears. You have another character that transforms from typical asshole rock star to babysitter/caretaker, to bouncing back and fo
...more
Lorraine Brattin
Hot story about two people with a troubled past who share incredible music!

Damien is the lead singer of the Jailbirds! Their music label is forcing them to find a new front band for their coming tour. So they start a search with over 2,000 bands participating. When Lilly and her band The Red Velvet Curtains try out and actually get in the top 3 she is surprised and actually terrified. Lilly has fought with her weight for years and some guy from back in high school keeps posting pictures of her w
...more
Joy  Avery
Sep 23, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
⭐⭐⭐⭐
     If you say rockstar romance, then I am jumping in head first. This was a gritty and interesting read. It is a story about Damian and Lilly. I am happy to have found a new author with a talent for writing rockstars.
     Lilly is the base player in a band of great friends. Her band enters a contest in order to open for the world famous band, the Jailbirds while they are on tour. The band is blown away by their performance but especially hers. Lily has had a traumatic past where she was bu
...more
Jackie Wright
May 21, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is the first book I have read by Erika Vanzin but it certainly won’t be the last because let’s be honest we all love a hot bad boy rockstar. This is Lilly and Damian’s journey and what a captivating story they have to tell.
Lilly hasn’t had an easy life, durning her teens she struggled with body shaming and bullying but with the help of her true friends she came out the other side stronger and she is now on tour as a rockstar but will her past come back to haunt her when she no longer has he
...more
Maddy Matos
Jan 09, 2022 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Damian has to put up with choosing a band from a contest his manager and the label insisted on. The winner will be the opening act and go on tour with his band, the Jailbirds. Red velvet curtains was the winner but the moment they were chosen, the bassist Lillie runs out of the room. She never expected to win, she prayed they’d never get picked. Like Murphy’s law, yeah it didn’t go her way either.
From the moment Lillie met Damian there were sparks flying. When they got together my Kindle burst
...more
Jennifer Pierson
May 26, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Damian has a very tragic past which has left him quite the tortured soul rock star who won't even entertain the notion of a relationship. He's content to live the lifestyle to the fullest, and frankly, I wasn't too impressed with him at all, as some of his actions were quite gross to me & his past is absolutely no excuse for his present in my eyes. Lilly & her band are finally getting their big break by going on tour with Damian's band, and she has her own past that has present affects on her. T ...more
runofthemillwallflower
I was provided an ARC by the author herself. Thank you Erika Vanzin!

This book although not usually my go to reads caught my attention when i saw a post about it on Instagram. It had everything i like in my romance tropes
*opposites attract
*close proximity
*bad boy with a heart of gold
So if any of these are your kink, run. Buy and read this baby right here.

Damian is such a badass sweatheart. Of course he had his issues, but no one like Damian becomes so great without some kind of emotional sca
...more
Demi
Apr 23, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book was full of surprises first the damaged heroine then just how deeply damaged the hero is. Damien and Lilly synch well together as musicians and entertainers. When they begin sleeping together as friends the boundaries are ill defined and confusing. So many things happen outside of their relationship that it is impossible to see how things could really ever work. I really love Lilly's character in this story she has overcome adversity and is so very strong. Damien has a hard time coming ...more
Karen
Feb 12, 2021 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I really liked Lilly. Damian presented initially as a hard partier and then stopped altogether. That seemed weird.

I liked how something may of happened early in book and we nearly forget about it as it rears up again in the end. Interesting.

Parts of it was annoying.... constantly reminding us of her anxiety. She truly needed help. If she had help it certainly wasn't enough.

Constantly being reminded of Damian's man slut ways and this married Loretta (friends with benefits) 😳😬

Luke and her band we
...more
Rosa Dunahue
Backstage by Erika Vanzin


Backstage is Damien and Lilly story. Damien is a bad boy with a good heart for Lilly. Lilly has a damaged past she has to get passed. So they get in a friends with benefits relationship then things starts happening and we get to see their relationship play out. They have to fight for their HEA but not without ups and downs. Also not without people getting in their way. But in the end will they finally get their HEA?

Backstage has strong characters. Erika Vanzin did a good
...more
Angie
Jan 18, 2022 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Hot🔥HOT💥HOT!!! ❤️‍🔥

If you’re lucky you find that person who gets you, but what happens when lightning strikes and you gets 3 band mates who are tried and true. Well here’s where you find out it doesn’t take blood to make a family. And all support in the world doesn’t slay your dragons for you. Damion & Lilly each have their band of brothers in band mates but they soon figure out what they found in each other is so much more. How they rescue each other is ohhh so Rock N Roll fantasy. Look forward
...more
Lynn
Sep 21, 2022 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Amazing

Jailbirds is a group of musicians at the very top of their career. Their backgrounds are something they like to keep close to their chests.
Red Velvet Curtain is an up and coming band who wins a contest to play w Jailbirds. The bassist isn't happy about the win and is having major anxiety due to a previous issue that happened years ago.
The interaction between the two bands is so well written that it's a pleasure to imagine yourself in the group.
Great book. I'm looking forward to reading
...more
Jennifer
Jan 01, 2022 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What a ride!

Erika Vanzin definitely know how to weave a tale so riveting you don’t want to get off! Backstage: A Rock and Love story was full of emotional angst, sexual tension and the perfect story of two souls coming together and overcoming their traumatic pasts to find happiness when least expected.

If you love hot and steamy rockstar stories full of humor, great characters and of course a happy ending then this one’s for you!
Carol Taylor
Oct 02, 2022 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Loved it!

Backstage is the first book of Erika Vanzin that I have read. Couldn't put it down. Loved the style of the book ... the serious bits, the laugh out loud bits (hubby asked me what I was laughing at ... the bit where the bouncers of a club were bigger than the rockstars and squashed them into a wall ..I have a good imagination and this cracked me up). I will defo read book 2!
...more
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Sing (Saving Tate #1)
  • Fractured Trust (Fractured Rock Star #3)
  • Fractured Dreams (Fractured Rock Star #2)
  • Shooting Star in the Rain (Sons of Sin #3)
  • Fractured Hearts (Fractured Rock Star #1)
  • Fractured Kiss (Fractured Rock Star #4)
  • Beat (Saving Tate #2)
  • Goodbye Is a Second Chance (Sons of Sin #1)
  • Break Me Down (Sons of Sin #4)
  • Rock (Saving Tate #4)
  • Bed of Nails (Sons of Sin #2)
  • Rock My Heart: An Age Gap Rockstar Romance (Mephisto Book 1)
  • Kiss To Conquer (Blairwood University #1)
  • See Me (Fly By Boys #1)
  • Shed My Skin (Sons of Sin #5)
  • Exquisite Scars (Forgotten Legacy, #4)
  • Kiss To Forget (Blairwood University, #2)
  • The Harder You Fall (Rixon Raiders, #3)
See similar books…
See top shelves…
422 followers
Erika Vanzin is an Italian Amazon bestseller romance author. The Roadies Series, her most famous rock star romance series, has been translated for English readers.

Be sure to follow Erika on:
BookBub: https://bit.ly/bookbub-erika-vanzin
Amazon: https://bit.ly/erika-vanzin-author
TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/@erikavanzin
Facebook: https://bit.ly/facebook-erika-vanzin
Instagram: https://bit.ly/instagram
...more

Other books in the series

Roadies (5 books)
  • Paparazzi (Roadies, #2)
  • Faith (Roadies, #3)
  • Showtime (Roadies, #4)
  • Betrayal (Roadies, #5)

Related Articles

The winter holiday season tends to be a busy one in the romance aisle. To assist you in finding your next hot read to warm up a cold night,...
171 likes · 11 comments