Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Mariticide” as Want to Read:
Mariticide
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Mariticide

by
4.44  ·  Rating details ·  77 ratings  ·  48 reviews
How far would you go to protect your loved ones?What would be the ultimate sacrifice?Lie? Fight? Steal? Would you kill?For Alyssa Morgan there was no question.She would do anything. When her ideologies are threatened she has a choice to make. But can she destroy the one person she trusted most in the world?Luke Greene realized from the moment she walked into his office he ...more
Paperback, 304 pages
Published April 28th 2018 by Jo-Anne Joseph
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Mariticide, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Mariticide

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.44  · 
Rating details
 ·  77 ratings  ·  48 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Mariticide
Kim BookJunkie ~ Editor & Proofreader
4-4.5 stars

I was reminded that love and happily ever after didn't exist. It was all a well-concocted farce. A fucking fairy-tale you told your kids to help them sleep well at night, a fairy-tale you told yourself so you'd be able to believe in more than this - this illusion.”

Alyssa just made partner at one of the largest law firms in the country, has a 15 year old daughter who is respectful, never scoring less than an A-, and she has a husband who still makes her tingle when he kisses her d
...more
Tee loves Kyle Jacobson
Holy Hell what the eff did I just read is my first thought after reading this book. I mean Mariticide means the killing of one's husband and I was like shizz this book is so much more than the name but damn Jo-Anne took me on a roller coaster ride that had me screaming and wanting to throw my kindle across the room. You want to talk about total mind eff this book is it! I did not know what to think and just when I think I have it figured out I was completely wrong.

Alyssa has it all until one day
...more
Caitlin Audet
Mariticide by Jo-Anne Joseph was thrills and chills galore. I'm not one to easily gravitate towards a psychological story, especially one that's pure mystery, but wow I'm so glad that this one called out to me. From murder to insanity to kidnapping and let's not forget aiding and ebedding, Mariticide had it all for one fantastic read.

Alyssa and Malcolm were childhood friends that became more as teens and have been together ever since. Known for being the picture perfect couple who had it all, im
...more
Jenny Prose
Apr 24, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
4.5 Stars

WOW! Just wow! This is a psychological thriller romance novel from Jo-Anne Joseph. If you are in need of a thrilling, intriguing, keep you guessing story Jo-Anne is your must-read author! She has a way of grabbing you and sucking you into this world that she creates with amazingly detailed characters who you can relate to. With stories that are the dark twisted crazy stories that happen behind closed doors. I loved every minute of this page-turner story!
Paulette
Apr 28, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is psychological thriller with several twists and turns. Once you think you have it figured out you come to realize uh no not even a little bit.
Alyssa is a woman who has it all, or so she thinks. Sure just like any normal person some life curves have been thrown in her way, but she’s always been able to deal with them. Then she finds out as the saying goes, “Don’t believe everything you see”. Her life becomes a living nightmare, as close to Hell as someone can get.
Luke, trying to help her
...more
Melissa Schaub
Apr 30, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is another 5 Star book for Ms Joseph. Her writing will have you hooked immediately and struggling to make sense of what is happening all the way through. I love the plot twists, the anticipation, and the way it all comes together!

Alyssa has loved her life for so long, she is unsure how she has gotten to the place of living in her own personal nightmare. Everything she once believed true is now standing right in front of her as a lie. She never thought she would be forced to deal with this t
...more
Chanel
This was a psychological thriller about a woman that admits to killing her husband, and the psychiatrist who is trying to help her. The book is written switching back and forth from the present and past. At times that got confusing. The teenage pregnancy didn’t seemed to go with the storyline, as that would mean Alyssa was around 30, which is actually very young to have made partner at one of the largest law firms in the nation.
The plot was compelling and headed for at least a 4 Star Rating. Th
...more
Tyi
Apr 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book... This book was so damn good. When I read the prologue, I was like damn.... I knew that I had to keep reading. I needed to know what was going to happen to Alyssa.

Trust me, as reader, you need to read this. The story line was very unique. You might think you know but you will be surprised. The secrets... The betrayal...

Can't wait for another installment in the deliverance series. I NEED MORE. This is a five star read. No question.
...more
Wickedly Sweet & Synful Book Blog Synclare Moss
Do you want to be completely mindf*cked?
If so, read this book. Holy Hell. The twists never stopped coming.
I was hooked from the prologue on...read it straight through.
A superb psychological thriller!
Krista
Jul 04, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book . . . . . holy sh*t!!! You just have to read it. This book was so good! Alyssa had a choice to make either choice has serious repercussions. Luke Green is at a crossroads. Thee two are brought together under some rough circumstances. The story is very well written, you will cheer on some and want to throat punch others. This is a great suspense story! Jo-Anne Joseph has not disappointed me yet!
Heather  McQuillen
wow! a real page turner! loved every word
Energy
May 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Sometimes the lives we're leading are merely a product of our own imaginations, of the lies we tell ourselves, and the passes we give to what seems like minor indiscretions. Swallowing a simple lie here, chastising yourself for clearly remembering something wrong there, and then it all starts to add up. Until the perfect world you had created comes tumbling down around you.

That is exactly what happens to Alyssa. Married to the love of her life, Malcolm, the childhood boy she was forever defendi
...more
Jennifer Pierson
This is only my second book by the amazing Jo-Anne Joseph, and while I totally loved Siren, Mariticide was on another level for me. Let me give a brief description, and I do mean just a brief one. It all starts with prominent attorney Alyssa Morgan being arrested for murdering her husband, as she's confessed to doing so without stuttering. She's sentenced to a psychiatric facility, and she won't say a word about anything. So what the hell made her snap? That's what Dr. Luke Green is determined t ...more
Sunday
May 06, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Mariticide by Jo-Anne Joseph
Five Stars

Mariticide is the first book in the Deliverance series by Jo-Anne Joseph. This is the first book I have read by this author and I have already put her on my permanent TBR list. This book grabbed me and wouldn’t let me go. I stayed up till 3am just to finish it. With all the twists and turns, I just couldn’t put it down until I read the end. The characters were complex and really left me with my emotions on overload. Alyssa is a truly strong woman, who knows
...more
Joy Westerfield
Apr 26, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Where do I begin? My mind is blown. I’m a bit emotional after reading this truly, exceptional book. The story has so many facets to it! Alyssa, is a strong female character who just wants a happy life with her husband and daughter. But life isn’t always as it seems. When Alyssa discovers something about her husband, her whole life changes. Enter Luke, a psychiatrist, who is trying to help Alyssa, but ends up having feelings for her. He will do anything to help her, but can he? Is it the right th ...more
Teri
Apr 27, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I love a book that is unpredictable and boy this one fit the bill. Murder, betrayal, this book has it in spades. With a twisted plot that proves nothing is what it seems. I had no idea what I was in for and neither do you. This is the first time I have read this author and she seems to be new to the circuit but man does she put a plot together well. This author takes you from zero to one hundred and then back again. Just when you think nothing else can happen it's another twist. I can't tell you ...more
ROBIN RUIZ
Apr 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wow! This is the story of the perfect couple Malcolm and Alyssa. Rich, successful, with a perfect marriage and successful careers, except, what is it Malcolm does for a living? Alyssa and Malcolm are childhood sweethearts, Malcolm will do anything for Alyssa, but don’t ask him what he does for a living. Alyssa finds out and murders her husband and is sentenced to a psychiatric facility, since she also hasn’t said a word since the murder . Enter Dr Luke Greene who will do anything to save Alyssa! ...more
Nancy George
May 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Mariticide
By: Jo-Anne Joseph
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Alyssa just doesn't have anything to say after she killed her husband.  She laughed and laughed but nothing to say other than I did it.

Luke knows there is more behind Alyssa than meets the eyes.  He wants to help Alyssa but how to do it when she won't speak.

They get way to deep into it.  But Luke knows there is somethingbhe isn't seeing.

My take on this book:

Jo-Anne has a way of writing that will draw you into the story so deep you do not see the twists that are c
...more
Everything Bookish  Blog
A story weaved with suspense at every turn. The more I learned the more I needed to know. It kept me on the edge of my seat. The main character's motivation was a mystery I was dying to solve. She pleaded insanity to the charge of murdering her husband. She's locked in a psychiatric ward but refuses to talk about what happened. With flashes from the past we slowly piece together the whole picture. As we find our way to the truth her psychiatrist is drawn to her in ways he doesn't even understand ...more
Nicole Brown
Apr 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Where do I start on this book. it was thrilling, suspenseful, beautifully twisted, and heartfelt. This book hits every feeling you will ever feel when reading a book. Not a your typical HEA much darker but beautiful. The characters chemistry is just scorching and touching all at the same time. Jo Anne Joseph threw everything at this book and it doesn't dissapoint me any. I love this book. Amazing read. I can't wait for more from her. You will route for the bad girl and find yourself saying she h ...more
Karen J
Mar 17, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wooooooooo...

Mind bend of the best kind!
Two amazing main characters, that if I tell anything about, I would give too much away!
Suffice it to say if you like thrillers, you'll love this!
It is not often I read a romantic thriller that truly is a thriller!
The romance is understated, and should be, because the thrilling part is not the romance, yet they do go hand in hand here!
An amazing book!
I was stunned through each reveal, ( though I understood there was a reason), and kept enthralled, were twi
...more
Saskia
Apr 30, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What can I say about this book. I loved it.
It sucks you in from the first page when Allyssa is standing in the kitchen over her dead husband’s body. Over the course of the book the reader finds out why this seemingly perfect family ended up like this. What secrets did they hide?

And just when you think you figured it all out… Jo-Anne Joseph pulls out a few tricks from her writers head. This book is full of twist and turns and you never know what will happen next.

I read this book in one sitting,
...more
Sienna Grant
May 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Omg! Jo-Anne Joseph has just totally blew me away with this book! Just as you think you have it all figured out she throws another twist into the story sending your mind into yet another spin as you try to work it out.

This is dark in places but I love the psychological part of it, I love a book where you have to think about everything and this definitely does that, it messes with your head.

Ms Joseph, I bow at your feet. This deserves more than five stars. I don't get to read much these days but
...more
Cat Ziman
May 15, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Jo-Anne Joseph should be a household name, for her ability to write such a complex plot and have everything still make sense amazes me. Joseph wrote a beautiful, original dark romance that had my nose stuck in between the pages from cover to cover. The entire plot was so well thought out and executed I was amazed. The only thing I wished for was a little more hot scenes between Jenna and Luke.
Matricide is a beautifully written original tale that will rock you to your core.

I received a free copy
...more
Nancy
May 20, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is the first book be Jo-Anne that I have read and it is also the first book in the deliverance series. This book hooked me in and I can’t wait for the next part to come out. I love that is a mystery suspense with twists and turns that hold you. Complete characters. Alyssa is strong and can take care of herself and Luke is an enigma. I can’t wait for the next book.

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Kimberly
May 03, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The book is a good psychological thriller read. The story has many plot twists. The book has a twisted tales that will leave the reader enthralled. The story is beautifully twisted, heartwarming, thrilling, an emotional roller coaster that will leave the reader breathless. I

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
poppy
May 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Jo-Anne Joseph is a new author to me and I cannot wait to try more. This was a fantastic read I was absolutely hooked right from the start and it kept me reading and guessing right until the very end. Well written with a super storyline I suggest you feed the family lock the door and get comfy you will not want to put it down I cannot wait for the next book
Tanya
Jun 18, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
She will do anything to protect her loved ones no matter what, she would even kill. He knew as soon as she walked into his office he was in trouble.He believes her innocence but he knew things would not be so easy. See what will happen

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Judy Phillips
May 15, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wow, what an amazing book that is a thriller and so much more than that. The plot was absolutely fantastic and combined with the characters you have a book that would make a great movie. Can't wait to read the next book in this series. I volunteered to read an advance copy of this book. ...more
Kelly
Jul 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A really intense and interesting story!
This book kept me enthralled to keep and reading and find out what twists and turns were coming next.
The writer tells interesting and spellbinding tales of love, deceit and hardship.
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • N9ne: The Tale of Kevin Clearwater (King, #9)
  • The Cowboy's Forbidden Crush (Wild Texas Hearts #1)
  • Swallow Me Whole: A Friends To Lovers Romance
  • Love, Lust & Little Lies (Love & Lust, #1)
  • Undercover Barmaid
  • Roses for His Rival
  • Scandal
  • The Unexpected Nanny
  • Boss I Love to Hate
  • By a Thread
  • No Perfect Hero (Heroes of Heart’s Edge, #1)
  • Deep in the Heart (Austin After Dark, #1)
  • My Sweet Cupcake - Baxter Valley Sisters #1
  • Dirty Little Secret (Sons of Sin, #1)
  • Mr. Marshall's Method (Learning to Love, #1)
  • Love, Lust & Letting Go (Love & Lust, #2)
  • In Too Deep (Love Undercover, #1)
  • Once Upon a Billionaire
See similar books…
740 followers
Jo-Anne Joseph is a USA Today Bestselling Author of contemporary romance, romantic suspense, and psychological fiction. Along with a passion for writing, she is an avid reader, wine lover and foodie. Her lifelong love affair with words started at a young age. She’s a business professional, and lives in Johannesburg, South Africa with her husband, their son and fur babies.

Related Articles

  You can’t stop watching. You have things to do, children to feed, even work you get paid for. But the screen…it’s holding you hostage....
55 likes · 13 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »