Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Lifelike” as Want to Read:
Lifelike
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Lifelike

by
4.65  ·  Rating details ·  17 ratings  ·  5 reviews
Jewel's talent with paints is like magic, as if her brush is more like a witch's wand than a simple painting tool. She could be great, one of the greatest in the world, if her parents would only let her.

Vowing to make her own way as a great artist, Jewel runs away to San Francisco where she discovers her talent really is magical. Worse: It's dangerous. When she meets a mys
...more
Paperback
Published May 2020 by CreateSpace
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Lifelike, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Lifelike

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-32
Average rating 4.65  · 
Rating details
 ·  17 ratings  ·  5 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Lifelike
Peter Dudley
Apr 15, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: books-i-wrote
I am the author. I think it's pretty good.

A booklife Reviews editor also thinks it's pretty good. Here are some quotes from their editorial review:

"a tense, mysterious atmosphere... darkly fantastic YA adventure"

"The novel's themes are pertinent in the #MeToo era... [this] tale is both cautionary and empowering, and YA readers in search of a topical urban fantasy will find a lot to love."

"Teen readers seeking an empowering tale about female solidarity against predatory men will appreciate this s
...more
Melanie Hooyenga
May 30, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Dudley weaves an intriguing tale of magic, art, and witchcraft that leaves the reader breathless until the very last pages. As Jewel learns more about her abilities and what it could mean for her future, she grows closer to a powerful man with all the answers—and a few secrets of his own.
Aerin
First of all, let me acknowledge that a) I know the author and b) I am mentioned in the acknowledgments. AND it is precisely because I know the author that you can trust my review. It's my goal in life to keep him honest.

"Lifelike" is the fourth novel by Dudley that I've read. When I read an early version of it, I had to stop because of the creep factor. I say this with highest regard. It's difficult to create a villain. The tension that Dudley wrought was done with an expert hand. And because I
...more
Julaina Kleist-Corwin
Lifelike is a page-turner. Jewel, the protagonist has a life-threatening inner struggle. She loves someone who could kill her with paintbrush strokes.
Throughout the book, I wondered if Jewel’s artistic talent and her unfolding magical abilities could save her from an alluring master painter.
Her decision is made more difficult when she learns there are several girls who came before her and who are kept under the master’s control.
Dudley's minor characters are developed to the point where I found m
...more
Katarina Stenstedt
This was a fun read, and it took some turns I wasn't expecting. ...more
Darlene Ruiz
rated it it was amazing
May 01, 2017
Carolyn Janik
rated it it was amazing
May 15, 2017
Suzanne
rated it it was amazing
Mar 05, 2019
Lisa Ochsendorf
rated it really liked it
Jan 01, 2018
Case Firefly
rated it it was amazing
Feb 18, 2020
Tiffany
rated it it was amazing
May 14, 2017
Bob
rated it it was amazing
Mar 23, 2020
Robin Wells
rated it it was amazing
Jul 16, 2020
Erin
rated it really liked it
Jul 06, 2017
John Edmiston
rated it really liked it
Feb 23, 2021
Gloria Bertolozzi
rated it really liked it
Jul 13, 2017
Julainak
rated it it was amazing
Jun 18, 2017
Mona Green
marked it as to-read
May 03, 2017
Amara Royce
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2017
Kara Burkett
marked it as to-read
Jul 20, 2017
Michelle Ochsendorf
marked it as to-read
Dec 25, 2017
Maria Dudley
is currently reading it
Feb 16, 2018
Crystalann
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2018
cj mael
marked it as to-read
Nov 09, 2020
Eloise
is currently reading it
Jun 22, 2017
Mary
marked it as to-read
Mar 10, 2018
Lezli
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2018
Nadine Bookaholic
marked it as to-read
Mar 13, 2018
Laura Johanson
marked it as to-read
May 08, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Catcher in the Rye
See similar books…
17 followers
Peter rarely uses his electrical engineering degree from UC Berkeley these days. Instead, he writes adventure and fantasy fiction, short stories, and poetry for people with a sense of adventure (or a sense of humor). He has a day job as an executive in Corporate Social Responsibility, running a huge corporate volunteer program and the nation's largest employee charitable giving campaign. In his ca ...more

News & Interviews

Juneteenth, observed on June 19th each year, is an American holiday commemorating the day in 1865 when the last enslaved people in Galveston,...
0 likes · 0 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »