Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Infernal Gates” as Want to Read:
Infernal Gates
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book* *Different edition

Infernal Gates

(The War of Men and Angels #1)

by
4.25  ·  Rating details ·  83 ratings  ·  32 reviews
Ethan Freeman, ex-Special Forces Ranger, is the sole survivor of a fiery commercial airline crash that killed his entire family. The FBI thinks he’s a mass murderer and domestic terrorist. Sam Weaver, the NTSB Chief Investigator, is an ex-military pilot and senses Ethan is innocent.

Neither Ethan nor Sam realize shadowy spiritual forces are at work. An ancient evil, impriso
...more
paperback
Published July 25th 2019 (first published September 5th 2013)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Infernal Gates, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Infernal Gates

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.25  · 
Rating details
 ·  83 ratings  ·  32 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Infernal Gates
Julia
Aug 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Infernal Gates by Michael J Webb is a thrilling Christian end times adventure suspense that will have the reader on the edge of their seat.
Life is so much more than we can see, hear and touch. It is a spiritual battle. “The spiritual realm was more real to her than the one her five senses revealed.” The battle has been raging since the dawn of time. We need to fight it on our knees, calling out to God. The battle is not ours but His.
There is power in the Name of Jesus. At His Name the demons wil
...more
Karenjune
Aug 17, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I have read a lot of good books in my time. What really draws me into a good story is the way the author depicts each of the characters in a way that makes it personal to a reader and then draws you into a story where the characters interact in an intimate way to both enrich the theme - -and make it come alive. This book does that and more. By the time the characters are facing the harrowing ordeal that they are faced with - - and their lives and the fate of the world is in their hands, their pa ...more
TWJ Magazine
“There is always a price to pay,” she continued, “for walking in the authority and power of the Lord.” (Tabitha to the group of warriors gathered in her home)

Michael J Webb’s latest book, Infernal Gates, has been the most unusual reading experience I’ve had it quite some time. I found myself alternately mesmerized and frustrated. Let me explain. The premise of the book reflects an almost obsessive fascination with spiritual warfare. The elements of this warfare have been meticulously researched
...more
Heidi
Sep 14, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Infernal Gates, by Michael Webb, centers on Ethan Freeman, an ex-Special Forces Ranger, and the spiritual battle in which he, and six others, become involved, a fight to prevent a demon from unleashing an evil force from within an Abyss. The story contains a mixture of Biblical facts, mythology, history, science, archeology, and fiction.

What I liked about this book is that part of it reminded me of the TV show, Lost. The book contains a lot of mystery and conflict, which piqued my interest. Als
...more
Debbie
Sep 30, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition

"Infernal Gates" by Michael Webb gets five stars but I would give it more if I could.

"Infernal Gates"is about Ethan Freeman, an ex-Special Forces Ranger, turned preacher and the spiritual battle in which he, and six others, become involved in a fight to prevent a demon from unleashing an evil force from within an Abyss. The six main characters do not know each ( although some know at least one of the others) but in the end they find they are connected more than just trying to save the world from
...more
Sidney W.
Sep 20, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
As most of my regular readers know, I review books for many of the Christian publishers (Tyndale, Zondervan, B&H, Thomas Nelson, Howard, David C. Cook, Bethany House, Abingdon Press, River North, Minotaur, FaithWords) and I found this new book by Michael J. Webb, which was independently published, to be of the same high quality.


The book begins with several seemingly unrelated stories, each one interesting in itself. I felt the switch from one story to another was perfectly timed so that I didn't
...more
Joan
Nov 30, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Webb's novel take readers into the spiritual world of angels and demons and how they might interact with humans. The novel begins with a deadly airplane crash. While all appear to have perished in the crash, one man survived. Ethan was mysteriously saved from death and transported back to his home. He and an agent from NTSB work together to unravel the cause of the crash and soon are facing evil supernatural beings.

The major theme running through this novel is spiritual warfare. Webb explores th
...more
Kerry Lord
Nov 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I was blown away and couldn't put it down! Ok, I did put it down for a few hours, but WOW! What a movie this would make! Michael J Webb has woven a fantastic web of a read in his latest "Infernal Gates". In my humble opinion, Webb is a Peritti and Dekker combined. Michael Webb has a knack for writing themes pertinent to tomorrows headlines albeit not from the mainstream media, but from reality - the realm outside our space and time dimension. "Infernal Gates" is not just a thriller but addresses ...more
Carol Pennington
Sep 24, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is a book about spiritual warfare, and as such, it is heavily laden with supernatural occurrences and heavy violence. If the reader approaches this book as a fictional, fantasy read, they will likely find it very intriguing. However, if it is approached as a Christian book on the end days, they will likely be disappointed as it is not in exact accordance with Biblical truths and involves several cultural beliefs as well as myths and legends.

Michael J. Webb is a very good writer, so good in
...more
Kathy Parish
Sep 15, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The book held my interest throughout with its layers of characters and backstory. The author has exceptional Bible knowledge and an apparent impressive depth of knowledge of ancient civilizations in the Middle East. Unfortunately there were a few typos which I find very distracting. Nevertheless, the fantasy allowed for a significant thread of spirituality that I really enjoyed.
Reveiws by Velma
May 29, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I felt the character development was spot on. By this, I mean the characters were believable.
Delpha
Jun 16, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
If you like suspense books, this ones for you.
Ethel
Jun 20, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Warning! This book will cause you to lose sleep.
Shawanda
Jun 21, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Webb did a good job with character development making them interesting.
Celestino
Jul 08, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Normally I am not the fastest reader around, but this one I read fast.
Peter Younghusband
Sep 06, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: own
Michael Webb states that readers will love his novels if they enjoy a plot with a "... Christian world view, with lots of action and adventure, fascinating and flawed characters, with more than a dash of the supernatural...".

Infernal Gates lives up to this statement. This is one well researched and well-constructed story.

The first half of the plot centres on Ethan Freeman, an ex-Special Forces Ranger, who finds himself the sole survivor of a plane crash but instead of waking up amoungst the pl
...more
Barbara Shelton
Oct 03, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
“Is there one word to describe this experience of reading Michael J. Webb’s novel Infernal Gates?” I asked myself upon closing the last page of the epilogue. Undoubtedly, numerous expressive words in the dictionary including a few expletives could define this absorbing story, but they just can’t be narrowed down to one. Being a first time reader of Mr. Webb’s writing, I was riveted down to my painted toenails after the first page! Where is this man going with this story?

Well reader friends, Mich
...more
Melissa Haggerty
I love a book that shocks me. I tend to go into a book with a pre-conceived idea of what it will be about (bad habit I can't break). I love when a book takes a totally different direction or is even better than I imagined. Infernal Gates did that to me. I went into this book expecting something good, with that synopsis I figured it would be a given. Instead I got amazing. Infernal Gates is an absolutely amazing book, one that I would expect on a best seller list.

Starting with a very climactic fi
...more
Stacey Blake
Oct 24, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wow! This is one of those books that stays with you, I was thinking about it well after finishing it. Infernal Gates is about a man who somehow survives a plane crash. The author introduces us to other characters from various areas in the world. They all seem to have one thing in common, their belief in God. But you really don’t know what else makes them part of the story. As the story unfolds, you learn about their connections to each other.
This is a story steeped in religion. It does not focus
...more
Jen Rattie
Oct 22, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was totally my kind of book. Infernal Gates had all my favorite things: mythology, theology, romance, demons and magic. I am new to Michael’s writing but I am definitely keeping him on my radar now. What I loved about this book is that it combined all sorts of ideals, religions and ways of thinking. Infernal Gates takes you on a supernatural ride of present and past. It switches back and forth from past to present seamlessly and it’s extremely easy to follow. It’s definitely a cerebral read ...more
Larry B Gray
Oct 03, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Having read several of Michael J. Webb’s books I knew this one would be an exciting read, but that turned out to be an understatement. Infernal Gates by Michael J. Webb will leave you exhausted from excitement. It is full of action and adventure.

With every new turn and twist the author builds on the intrigue which demands your continued reading. The storyline is well developed yet it is easy to follow. I found it hard to put this book down once I started it.

This is the type of story that you c
...more
Devon
Oct 24, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I took a break from the romance novels and read Infernal Gates. It isn't your typical mystery/thriller type book, it does contains religious views. It had great action that kept me moving forward in the book.

Ethan's story had me intrigued from the start. I couldn't wait to figure out what had happened to him. A good majority of the first part of the book is trying to figure out what had happened in the crash. Then later when he learns things about himself that he didn't know before.

It did seem a
...more
Erin
Oct 22, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was a great book! It has just the right amount of mystery, intrigue, and romance to make you want to keep reading. I know this may sound kind of weird, but I try to stay away from guy authors. Yes I know that's a horrid thing to say. I discriminate against male authors simply because they don't normally appeal to me as we think differently. Not so with this book. He is awesome! Love the supernatural and evil in the book. I'm not normally big on this type of book but this one hits home. Grea ...more
Stefano
Sep 25, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I read The Oldest Enemy by this author and I liked it a lot so I was waiting with anticipation this new novel.
Infernal Gates is a thriller with supernatural elements, a good against evil battle around the world, a struggle of the characters to find unsuspected strengths inside themselves to defeat the earthly and other-worldly forces they will have to face.
What I liked most was the great plot (complex at times but in a positive way) combined with a fast paced prose.
One last warning, this is Chri
...more
Victoria Brinius
This was a story that made me wonder until the very end. Why was Ethan the only survivor? What killed every one else? Will his past training come into play? I was happy with how the author answered my questions. The thoughts on God, Mythology, and demons. I liked that the author used past and present situations to help the reader understand the book better. I thought that the religious characters were written to be against the stereo types, but they seemed too far out there for me. I did like th ...more
Kerry Lord
Feb 24, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Michael Jack Webb caught me hook, line, and sinker with this thriller! From the first paragraph, I was captivated!

He's an excellent writer in my humble opinion. I've read some of his other books and again I couldn't put them down!

Oldest Enemy gave me a chilling thought that kept haunting me now and then as I read this book.... Some of this stuff could be torn off next year's headlines....

You can't go wrong. See for yourself, read the sample and you'll be snagged... hook, line, and sinker!
...more
Dianna Benson
Jun 03, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
“Michael J. Webb is a master at writing artfully skilled prose woven into a high-concept plotline. Fantasy readers will no doubt enjoy the adventurous tale in INFERNAL GATES. The captivating title and cover provide initial enticement, drawing readers to open the book. Once started, readers will turn from Page One to page after page, compelled into the characters’ worlds, living it with them to the last page. A work of fiction not to be missed.” Award Winning Suspense Author, Dianna T. Benson
Michelle
Sep 18, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This thriller is intense with multiple layers and plots. There are a quite a few different characters and the story is seen through many points of view -so many it took me a while to grasp who was who and which land and time we were in with each change. I think this was the first Christian supernatural thriller I've read (will I read more? I'm not so sure). A great story and well written. ...more
Cheryl Colwell
Nov 08, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: suspense
Wow! Just finished reading Michael J. Webb's "Infernal Gates" and loved the way he wove seemingly unrelated people into a common destiny. Fascinating characters and supernatural elements, along with great writing, made for a five-star book in my opinion. ...more
Theresa
Feb 15, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was a great read of good verses evil!!
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Under the Emerald Sky-A tale of love and betrayal in 19th century Ireland (The Irish Fortune Series Book 1)
  • Desert Prophets
  • Angel Maker
  • Free Mystery Thriller and Suspense Stories: 100 Free Kindle Books to Download on Kindle (Top Free Book List Collections 3)
  • Argos Incident
  • Reflections of My Higher Self: A Journey Through Identity, Belief, and Perception
  • Free and Fearless: The Amazing Impact of One Precious Life
  • Personal Pronouns (Joe Lehrer Mysteries #1)
  • The Beantown Girls
  • The Black Garden
  • Miz Scarlet and the Holiday Houseguests (A Scarlet Wilson Mystery, #3)
  • Diamonds and Cole (Cole Sage Mystery #1)
  • Epic is Her Future (The School of Necessary Magic #8)
  • Strange is Her Life (The School of Necessary Magic #6)
  • Determined is Her Path (The School of Necessary Magic #7)
  • Wicked is Her Smile (The School of Necessary Magic #5)
  • Reprisal (Akio Revelations #1)
  • The Atlantis Gene (The Origin Mystery, #1)
See similar books…
See top shelves…
26 followers
Michael Jack Webb graduated summa cum laude from the University of Florida and obtained his J.D. from the same university. Over the past forty years he has travelled the world in search of adventure.

Michael is a history buff, both ancient and modern, and is fascinated by the intersection of the scientific, supernatural, and Biblical world views. He's studied and taught from the Bible for more than
...more

Other books in the series

The War of Men and Angels (2 books)
  • Devil's Cauldron (The War of Men and Angels #2)

Related Articles

  It's time for our most out-of-this-world genre celebration! Join us as we explore speculative fiction's newest horizons.   ...
296 likes · 191 comments