Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Lockdown: Stories of Crime, Terror, and Hope During a Pandemic” as Want to Read:
Lockdown: Stories of Crime, Terror, and Hope During a Pandemic
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Lockdown: Stories of Crime, Terror, and Hope During a Pandemic

by
4.26  ·  Rating details ·  42 ratings  ·  19 reviews
A mysterious virus sweeps across the country, mutating rapidly as it jumps from person to person. Cities are locked down. The skies are clear as all planes are grounded. Some people panic, while some go to heroic lengths to save those they love - and others use the chaos as an opportunity to engage in purest evil.

In Lockdown, 19 of today’s finest suspense, horror, and crim
...more
Paperback, 320 pages
Published June 16th 2020 by Polis Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Lockdown, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Lockdown

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.26  · 
Rating details
 ·  42 ratings  ·  19 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Lockdown: Stories of Crime, Terror, and Hope During a Pandemic
Sci-Fi & Scary
May 18, 2020 rated it really liked it
The writers in Lockdown thoroughly Rumplestiltskin’d the shit out of the COVID-19 pandemic. There are several stories in this collection that are absolute gems and I think they’ll introduce readers to authors that deserve more attention.

For our full review on Sci-Fi & Scary, click here: https://www.scifiandscary.com/lockdow...

Disclaimer: I received a copy from the editor for review consideration.
...more
Jamesboggie
Aug 29, 2020 rated it really liked it

This anthology is probably the most focused and relevant I have ever read. These stories were all written during the early days of the Covid-19 quarantine. They capture shared experiences, preserving our hopes and fears, our frustrations and triumphs. Some stay very close to reality, and some speculate about a future shaped by the pandemic. More than a few hit close to home.

I am really glad to have this anthology to remind me of this hopefully unique time in our collective experience. It may be
...more
Scott
Jun 14, 2020 rated it really liked it
She thought about how all the books and movies had gotten it all wrong. The world didn't end in riots and wars in an endless dystopian wasteland. It didn't end with a whimper like that poet who liked cats said either. It ended in increments. It slowed and slowed like the heart of a wounded animal until it just stopped and began to rot.

S.A. Cosby - The Loyalty of Hungry Dogs


This collection has been put together quickly to support independent bookshops across North America and the quality remains
...more
Heather
Jun 18, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Steve Weddle and Nick Kolakowski edited the deliberately-timely pandemic anthology Lockdown: Stories of Crime, Terror, and Hope During a Pandemic. Some people I’m sure just want to use their reading to escape the current pandemic, but some of us wouldn’t mind the opportunity to see other sides of what could be. Note that these stories tend to be built around a pandemic that is worse than what we’re seeing now. Either it’s just a different pandemic, or it’s a mutation, or it’s a second wave, etc. ...more
Angela Williamson
Jun 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: arc-for-review
Lockdown is an interesting mix of stories dealing with different scenarios during a pandemic. Almost a little too true to life right now but, I could not put them down. As you read these stories which are dark and darker, you realize some of these scenarios are not as far fetched as they would have been even a year ago. All of the stories were good and kept me pulled in and compulsively reading until I was finished and left me wanting more!
Thank you NetGalley and Polis Books for an ARC of Lockdo
...more
Aida Alberto
Jun 16, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I must have lost my mind reading these types of stories with everything going on around here but they're so good! I couldn't stop reading and they're donating all of the money to struggling bookstore owners? Sold! Everyone needs to pick up this book now because it's a double winner. You get an amazing book jam packed with awesome stories and you know your money is being donated to a good cause. Happy reading! #Lockdown #NetGalley ...more
Suz Jay
Jul 10, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: netgalley
“She thought about how all the books and movies had gotten it all wrong. The world didn’t end in riots and wars in an endless dystopian wasteland. It didn’t end with a whimper like that poet who liked cats had said, either. It ended in increments. It slowed and slowed like the heart of a wounded animal until it just stopped and began to rot.” -From “The Loyalty of Hungry Dogs” by S.A. Cosby

LOCKDOWN, which benefits The Book Industry Charitable Foundation, is a collection of short stories in vario
...more
Ryan Spearer
Jun 14, 2020 rated it really liked it
I received an advanced copy of this book from Net Galley. Lockdown is a series of fictitious short stories centered around the theme of life during and after a pandemic. Most stories follow an individual character (some follow a set of characters) as they navigate life after a pandemic strikes.

HYPES
- RELEVANCY: This series of short stories could not be more timely with the world currently living through a pandemic. While the stories themselves are not realistic, the thoughts and feelings of t
...more
Sandra "Jeanz"
Jun 17, 2020 rated it really liked it
At one time I would have read this collection of stories and thought them really far fetched and unlikely to happen. By the time I was reading this Anthology the world was in the midst of the covid-19 pandemic. I suppose it made me read these individual stories from a different point of view and think that they could probably/possibly happen. The different stories tell how groups of people cope with a virus and the danger of getting it.

In one particular story a man is going out to sea fishing to
...more
Amanda McHugh
Jun 22, 2020 rated it really liked it
I've been seeing this collection making the rounds on Twitter for a while, so I was thrilled to finally get my hands on it and dive in.

Lockdown is a series of stories focusing on the pandemic. Viruses, quarantine, navigating the new world--all these and more are covered by a stellar line up of authors.

Standouts for me include: Misery Loves Company by Ann Davila Cardinal, Asylum by V. Castro, and Unscathed by Michelle Garza and Melissa Lason. Without spoilers, these tales are superbly written w
...more
Paul
Jun 20, 2020 rated it really liked it
This is an usual anthology in that it is not dedicated to one genre. In some ways, that makes the selection process trickier, but this is a solid collection of good quality (although fairly dark) stories overall including some from high profile authors.

Thanks very much for the early review copy!!
Bookreporter.com Mystery & Thriller
LOCKDOWN features 20 excellent short stories dealing with the terrible effects of pandemics and lockdowns on both normal and abnormal human beings --- and on normal people who become abnormal as the result of attempting to cope with viral plagues. The editors, Nick Kolakowski and Steve Weddle, have done a fine job of collecting and presenting the material. The stories range in intensity from quite intense to horrifyingly compelling.

The subtitle is a bit misleading in its implication that hope sh
...more
Beau Johnson
Feb 15, 2021 rated it it was amazing
4.5 stars
LOCKDOWN: Stories of Crime, Terror, and Hope During a Pandemic. More like KICKASS Stories of Crime, Terror, and Hope During a Pandemic. I mean, wow, just great stuff throughout. However, like most anthologies I've read (and I probably sound like a broken record by now) I didn't connect with every story presented within. Which is fine, more than fair, as there are just too many voices and story combinations for this to occur in most anthologies. But man, did LOCKDOWN come close. There is
...more
Mike Dominic
Sep 22, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This book feels necessary. For the reader who's quarantining at home, it's a necessary tool, not just for entertainment to be consumed to pass the time, but also for perspective on the situation that gave rise to a collection like this.
Further than that, it's necessary as a record of a moment in time, when social conditions gave rise to the possibility of a book like this.
By being first, or at least early, out of the gate with pandemic fiction, this is going to serve as a milestone in fiction,
...more
Denice Langley
Oct 24, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I love anthologies! They fill a gap in a reader's library, in between series volumes or when you are looking for a different voice or genre.

Most anthologies have a theme....this one, a pandemic and the reactions of the people affected...while giving authors the chance to "flex" their writing skills. The authors in this volume are well known in their respective genres, each has their own fan base, but the shared theme lets them "bleed" their talents into the minds and hearts of readers who would
...more
Zeb Kantrowitz
So as to save a lot of time (which we are all short of locked in the house) let me say the the reason the rating is three is because the book is very mixed. There are five good stories, three bad stories and the rest are somewhere between bland and boring.

Now this may seem harsh, but the truth will out. Every dystopian genre is covered some way or other to the point of banality. So if your locked in your house/apartment/car and you have nothing else to do, read it and skip the ones that stop you
...more
Annarella
Jul 13, 2020 rated it really liked it
A good anthology of stories about pandemic and what could happen. Even if not are all at the same level it's an interesting and engrossing read.
Recommended.
Many thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for this ARC, all opinions are mine.
...more
Timothy Haas
Jun 10, 2020 rated it it was ok
I was given a copy of this book for review.

This book is a collection of shrt stories based on the current events with Covid 19. Many of the stories are written in a dark and depressing theme. The stories relate on how poorly people are delaing with the virus and the results of a lockdown.
Jeanne
Jun 29, 2020 rated it liked it
Not a favorite because it deals with the pandemic in each story which is still going strong and making me crazy. If there was no real pandemic it would be quite enjoyable
Thank you netgalley and the publisher for this arc
Olivia
rated it it was amazing
Jun 30, 2020
Matt
rated it really liked it
Oct 20, 2020
Angel
Jun 16, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
jennet wheatstonelllsl
rated it it was amazing
Nov 17, 2020
Bob
rated it it was amazing
Mar 07, 2021
Wojciech Brynczka
rated it liked it
Jan 03, 2021
J.H. Bogran
rated it it was amazing
Nov 14, 2020
Alex
rated it it was amazing
Dec 08, 2020
Mary Anne
rated it liked it
Feb 17, 2021
Kate
rated it really liked it
Jun 12, 2020
Bradley Hague
rated it it was amazing
Sep 30, 2020
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Crossroads
  • This Tender Land
  • We Are Wolves
  • Both Sides: Stories From the Border
  • Tender Is the Flesh
  • Children of Chicago
  • The Forger's Daughter
  • Somewhere in the Dark
  • One to Watch
  • The Night Swim
  • Cut to the Bone (Agent Sayer Altair, #3)
  • The Last Wife
  • Night of the Mannequins
  • The Umbrella Academy, Vol. 2: Dallas
  • Pretty Things
  • Everyone Knows How Much I Love You
  • Bad Monkeys
  • Kill Your Neighbor
See similar books…
41 followers
Nick Kolakowski's work has appeared in The Washington Post, McSweeney's, Washington City Paper, Playboy, LOST magazine, Trader Monthly, WebMD, and eWeek, among other venues. He lives in Brooklyn, NY. ...more

Related Articles

  Whether you love the horror genre or just tiptoe into it ahead of Halloween, we have book picks for every level of scared you want to...
452 likes · 281 comments