Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Forever Home (Amish of Prince Edward Island, Book 1)” as Want to Read:
Forever Home (Amish of Prince Edward Island, Book 1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Forever Home

(Amish of Prince Edward Island #1)

by
4.83  ·  Rating details ·  41 ratings  ·  35 reviews
A Canadian Amish farmer
A Lancaster Amish businesswoman
A Prince Edward Island foster child

Providence brings together a mismatched family, giving all three a second chance for love. Only love may never have had such a tough job.

Lydia Miller is an anomaly among her Amish people-a single woman in her 30s, running her own store, determined to forge a life on her own. But when J
...more
Paperback, 223 pages
Published June 9th 2020 by Ambassador International
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Forever Home, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Forever Home

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.83  · 
Rating details
 ·  41 ratings  ·  35 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Forever Home (Amish of Prince Edward Island, Book 1)
Susan
FOREVER HOME is the first book in the Amish of Prince Edward Island series.
I’ve never read Amy Grochowski before but I really loved her writing. I was pulled into the story from the first page and I stayed that way until the very last page. The twists and turns keep coming and I had to know how it was going to end! Every time I thought I knew where this story was going, a few pages later, Amy Grochowski threw me for a loop and I knew I was wrong!

FOREVER HOME is a quick read and unputdownable! Th
...more
Lori
Jun 16, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved this novel!
A new to me author that I immediately liked and since I'm already fond of the Amish this story touched my heart deeply.
I could relate to some of it because my parents were foster parents for many years. A thing that I was jealous of for many years. Now, that I am grown I look back and see that my parents were totally selfless. That's a true gift.
These characters will melt your heart. You'll want to laugh and cry with them in their joyous moments and in their sad one too.
A s
...more
Kelly-Ann ~ Sassy Bookish Mama
I absolutely loved this book! I have not read an Amish book in a while and Amy Grochowski definitely made me fall in love with this genre all over again!

Full Review is posted in my blog so head on over to see my complete thoughts on it!
www.musingsofasassybookishmama.com

FTC Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from the author as part of Just Read Books Tour for my honest review and opinion.
...more
Patti Whitson Stephenson She Lives to Read
I was interested in reading this Amish story because of the beautiful setting of Prince Edward Island. (I learned from the author’s notes that the Amish are indeed beginning to build a community there.) Although it was the setting that first drew me to read the book, I found that the storyline was absorbing and that the characters had depth to them.

Lydia and Joel agree to a marriage of convenience, and after their marriage Lydia moves to the new farm that Joel is establishing on PEI. They both
...more
Brittany
Jun 24, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Forever Home was such a good marriage of convenience story. I liked the way the two main characters bonded early on as friends. Both of them carried some insecurities into the marriage, as well. They had a lot to work through, and Lydia did not feel worthy of love, motherhood, or God’s forgiveness because of guilt that she carried.

There were times that I wanted Lydia and Joel to communicate better. However, the way they learned to share the truth and their feelings with each other was fairly rea
...more
Laurel Blount
May 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Oooh, I loved this book! Amy Grochowski's Forever Home ranks as one of my favorite Amish romances ever. I was drawn in from page one, and I couldn’t put it down. The characters are so well rounded and real—I cared about Lydia and Joel. The gritty dilemmas they faced made their slow-blooming romance even sweeter. Grochowski debuts with a sparkling skill, bringing a wonderful freshness to the genre of Amish fiction. Highly recommend!

I received an advance copy of this book from the author. No revie
...more
Erin
Jul 09, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: justread-tours
This is quite a unique book. You’ve got Amish who haven’t married but then have to and an English foster child is thrown in the mix too. Plus it’s the first that I’ve ever read in this unique setting as well.

Forever Home is a unique twist on the normal Amish novel that will keep you reading straight through to the last word. Enjoy! This is the author’s debut novel and I can’t wait to see what happens next for her because this one hit it out of the park.

I love a novel that pulls me in and won’t
...more
Heather Smith
Jun 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A couple of days after finishing “Forever Home”, I found myself missing the characters, and I wished I could spend more time with them. I think that speaks to how well-written this book is. The author has a beautiful style, and it’s obvious that she painstakingly researched many details in order to present an accurate portrayal of Amish culture.

As a foster (pre-adoptive) mom, I especially connected with that thread of the story, and I love how clearly the love of God is presented within the pag
...more
Liz Tolsma
Jul 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wonderful read!

I loved this book. The setting was so unique and the writing was outstanding. Highly recommend. I hope the author continues the story of this settlement.
Kendra Neal
Jun 21, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Amish Fiction is probably my favorite Genre to read. Amy Grochowski is a "new to me author" and after reading this book, I am very much looking forward to reading more from this author.

Forever Home is a slightly different Amish Fiction read. I really enjoyed that is wasn't your "typical" Amish Fiction book. The difference here is that this book brings together 3 different "worlds". Lydia Miller is an Amish girl who meets a Canadian Amish Farmer. The 2 are thrown into a situation where for their
...more
Anna Caranci
May 24, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I thoroughly enjoyed this sweet story! Not your typical plot and I loved the relatable characters. What a wonderful reminder that we are not bound by our past and that our entire life plan is ultimately in the Lord's hands, not people or circumstances in this world. It was also a beautiful setting in Prince Edward Island and I appreciated the Amish dialect mixed in the text, it brought dimension to the story. ...more
Ebos Aifuobhokhan
Jun 23, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Short but interesting!
I loved this beautiful story of Joel, Lydia, and Samy into becoming a family. Lydia's journey into accepting God's forgiveness and letting go of the guilt that held her bound and embracing the beautiful life and family God had for her. I loved their patience and love with fostering sweet Samy despite her uniqueness.
I love the answers this book gives on the Christian faith and holding onto what really matters in our Christian walk with God.

I received a copy of this book an
...more
Candy Smith
Jun 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
An inspirational story about lifes unexpected twists and secret blessings. But can three seemly different people come together as a family to find true love and a true home?
Connie Carpenter
This is the first book that I have read by this author. I look forward to reading more from her. This book is the first in the Amish of Price Edward Island series. The author has written some amazing, unique characters, with a beautifully written story line. I love marriage of convenience stories.
This one, however shows that you should always be honest with your spouse. Lydia and Joel enter into their marriage holding back secrets. Which can get you tangled up. They do learn to trust each other
...more
Heather
Jun 10, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Well done!

I think the highest praise any author could receive is knowing that their book was wonderful enough to keep someone engaged to the wee hours of the morning to finish reading their book. Well done, Amy
I would highly recommend this book and am hoping to hear more from this author. Thank you, Amy! Your book was great!
Diane Virginia
Jun 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Plan on reading Amy Grochowski’s novel, Forever Home, in one or two sittings. It is THAT good! Lydia and Joel both have secrets, so it’s not apparent if the romancing couple will make it. Then a red head child with special needs comes into the picture and the story takes on a new dimension. There is also the Amish culture colliding with the Engilsh, and how they navigate these issues that Amy writes about, and from an obvious knowledge-base that made this subject believable. But what makes this ...more
Karen Duff
Aug 07, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This is a wonderful love story about an independent Amish woman, an Amish man wanting to buy a farm on Prince Edward Island and an orphan girl in foster care trying to find their places in the world and with each other. It is a beautiful example of how a loving and supportive community comes together to help these newcomers find forgiveness and life together as a family.
Greta Picklesimer
Excellent book, well worth my time reading it, highly recommended

I don't usually read Amish fiction, but this book intrigued me. I wanted to know how the Amish would raise a foster child. I won't spoil it by telling you what happens. You'll want to read it for yourself.
...more
Connie Cortright
Aug 01, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Grochowski writes a very endearing story about how Lydia and Joel form a family around a young autistic orphan in an Amish community. The author describes how Amish life blends with "Englisher" life in today's world. The setting of Prince Edward Island makes the story unique. A very nice read. ...more
Linda Lou Cross
Sep 07, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I really enjoyed this book. The characters became good friends who I will miss until the sequel comes out. The story line is excellent and captures you from the first page. Several inspiring themes are woven into this delightful book all of which will encourage you in your daily walk. Uplifting and heart warming - this book is a winner.
Linda
Jun 16, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The cover on the back of the book states, “A Canadian Amish farmer, a Lancaster Amish businesswoman, a Prince Edward Island foster child” and that makes for a very interesting and endearing story. I enjoy marriage of convenience stories as usually the characters do not even know what hits them until one day, they realize their feelings go much deeper than a matter of convenience. This is a new-to-me author. I enjoyed the story so much and will be checking into other books she has written. The ch ...more
Stacey Ulferts
Jun 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I am fairly new to the Amish fiction genre but Amy Grochowski has earned a place on my automatic read list. I enjoyed Forever Home so much. I was caught up in the lives of the characters from the first page to the last. This is a wonderfully sweet love story.
Marcy Schneider
Jul 04, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Excellent story! I can't wait to read more of Amy's books! ...more
Marg
Aug 10, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: amish, x2020
Awesome story line. looking forward to the next in the series.
Lynette
Jun 13, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wonderful, heartwarming Amish romance! I appreciated the unique storyline of a young character with autism. I’m looking forward to Amy’s next book!
Martha
Oct 20, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
It's been a while since I've read an Amish Fiction and boy howdy was I impressed with the writing. This book by Amy Grochowski was beautifully written, the story line the characters were well done.

The two main characters each saw their dreams fading away right in front of them, but they found a way to work together in a marriage of convenience that was not overbearing. I love how both Lydia & Joel put each other first, he wanted her to have her dream of a shop and she wanted him to have his farm
...more
Sheila
Jan 04, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I liked this book a lot. It followed the character of Lydia, from Lancaster in the US, who meets Josh Yoder at the start of the story. Josh needs a wife in order to set up his farm in the community of Prince Edward Island in Canada, so due to past difficulties and tragedies, he and Lydia enter into a marriage of convenience. However, although Josh discloses his secret early on in the relationship, Lydia feels unable to disclose her secret shame. However, this is soon exposed as a young autistic ...more
Vicky Sluiter
Apr 05, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I purchased this book on a whim, after seeing chatter about it on social media. And I’m so glad that I did! Author Amy Grochowski takes us to Prince Edward Island, where I had never imagined there is an Amish community. While her town is fictional, it’s a lovely setting that teaches some things about the Amish who live there.

As we see, secrets are never good for a relationship and our main characters will learn that the hard way. As they begin to trust each other romance blooms in a sweet way. T
...more
Sally May
Sep 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Lydia is facing loosing her home and business and does not understand how it could be God's will. Joel helps her pack up her home and business even though he is the cause to her loosing it. At the end of the two weeks because Joel sees no other way to make things right he asks her to marry him. They get married in name only and say they will just be friends. Joel and Lydia move to Prince Edward Island. During the next year they face several struggles and slowly begin to tell each other the thing ...more
Maryann Skaritka
Apr 20, 2021 rated it it was amazing
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this Amish marriage of convenience story from debut author Amy Grochowski.

The location of Prince Edward Island is unique and had me doing some research as well since I wanted to learn about these settlements.

A wonderful group of characters just pulls you into the New Hope community. New bride Lydia from Lancaster joins her husband Joel on their farm.

Sweet foster child Sammy finds her way into Lydia and Joel’s lives and the subject of autism is addressed with compass
...more
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • A Perfect Amish Romance (Berlin Bookmobile #1)
  • A New Love for Charlotte (Wells Landing #11)
  • The Baby Next Door (Indiana Amish Brides #7)
  • An Amish Barn Raising: Three Stories
  • Rocky Mountain Revenge
  • His Accidental Amish Family (Unexpected Amish Blessings Book 3)
  • To Love a Prince (True Blue Royal, #1)
  • A Wish for Home (Secrets of Bliss Valley #1)
  • A Tapestry of Light
  • Never an Amish Bride (Honey Brook #1)
  • The Amish Teacher's Wish
  • The Indebted Earl (Serendipity & Secrets, #3)
  • An Ivy Hill Christmas (Tales from Ivy Hill)
  • The Moonlight School
  • The Thief of Blackfriars Lane
  • A Dance in Donegal
  • To Steal a Heart (The Bleeker Street Inquiry Agency, #1)
See similar books…
17 followers
Amy's deep appreciation for the Amish faith and way of life stems from six years of living and working with a Beachy Amish family, as well as her own Anabaptist roots. Her debut novel, Forever Home, was a pre-published winner of Romance Writers of America's Maggie Award and a semi-finalist in ACFW's Genesis Contest. She is a member of Word Weavers Int'l and a published author of award-winning hist ...more

News & Interviews

Believe it or not, we're halfway through 2021! As is our tradition, this is the time when the Goodreads editorial team burrows into our data to...
97 likes · 76 comments