Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Last Exit” as Want to Read:
The Last Exit
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Last Exit

really liked it 4.00  ·  Rating details ·  8 ratings  ·  8 reviews
Perfect for fans of Tom Sweterlitsch's The Gone World . In this thrilling futuristic novel, the secret to eternal life is closely guarded by people who will do anything to protect it -- even if it means destroying everything in their path.

Set in Washington D.C. 20 years from now, climate change has hit hard, fires are burning, unemployment is high, and co
...more
Hardcover, 298 pages
Published January 12th 2021 by Crooked Lane Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Last Exit, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Last Exit

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-33
really liked it Average rating 4.00  · 
Rating details
 ·  8 ratings  ·  8 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Last Exit
Lukasz
Nov 29, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2020, netgalley, sci-fi
Review to come but it's neat. ...more
AC
Nov 06, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: mystery
The Last Exit features two main characters:on is Jen Lu, a cop in a near-future earth where climate change has ravaged the planet and the Russians appear to have taken over DC(?) but we still have a President and Vice resident. The other is Chandler, an AI implant in Lu's head, who only "lives" for five years.

The world of this future has those in their late 40s and early 50s having a good chance of contracting mad cow disease (bovine spongiform encephalopathy, in this work, changed slightly to
...more
Roger Hyttinen
Nov 16, 2020 rated it really liked it
The Last Exit is a dystopian sci-fi crime novel that follows Jen Lu, a detective in the Elder Abuse Unit, and Chandler, a SIM implant that is embedded in her brain. Her interaction with Chandler was kind of akin to having a conversation with a voice inside your head — although Chandler’s personality is that of a snarky, tough guy, which I found quite amusing. I immensely enjoyed the banter between Chandler and Jen and loved seeing Chandler’s personality develop throughout the pages.

In this world
...more
Kathy
Jan 04, 2021 rated it really liked it
The Last Exit by Michael Kaufman is an imaginative sci-fi mystery set in the future.

With an AI brain implant named Chandler, Jen Lu is a detective with the DC Metro's Elder Abuse Unit.  Elder abuse has become a serious issue because parents must "exit" when they turn 65 in order to let their children receive the "Timeless" treatment that will save them from a rapid onset spongiform encephalitis. If they do not exit, their children will die a horrific death. Jen has heard mention of "Eden" which
...more
Trijntje
Dec 06, 2020 rated it really liked it
This is the second fantasy book I've read recently set in the not-terribly-distant future, with lots of adjustments for what that future might look like.
In this future, climate change is accepted and its effects are woven into everyday life, which is an interesting take: at some point we're all going to have to live with it, and this is a glimpse of what that future looks like - when it's simply accepted that there is no more green grass in public spaces, the temperature in Washington DC is in
...more
Maggie Holmes
Dec 24, 2020 rated it liked it
This book is a fast read with interesting characters. However, it really reads like a movie script. Lots of action, descriptions of characters, tension. It wraps up a little too neatly, although the climate has already been destroyed so I'm not sure anyone will really live very long. I would have thought DC would be underwater by now.
There isn't enough depth to make it good for a book discussion, or for a reread. It would be a good audiobook with the two voices of Jen and Chandler.
Supposedly th
...more
Paul
Sep 20, 2020 rated it really liked it
The plot and many aspects of this tale feel quite timely in the fall of 2020. I liked this scifi story because of the characters, the engaging plot, and the somewhat realistic future portrayed. I don't know if this could be considered a thriller, but it does contain a mystery. With good tech and good writing, many scifi fans will probably like this one.

Thanks very much for the ARC for review!!
...more
Jaymie
Jan 11, 2021 added it
Shelves: dnf-2021
I wanted to like this. I wanted it to be like Lock In (Scalzi) with the law enforcement mystery AND the science fiction pieces. But it just didn't click for me. DNF 30%. ...more
Faith
added it
Aug 05, 2020
Donna Hines
is currently reading it
Aug 05, 2020
Kristin Centorcelli
marked it as to-read
Aug 09, 2020
Dee
marked it as to-read
Aug 25, 2020
Anh Nguyen
marked it as to-read
Aug 26, 2020
Joshua Bennett
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2020
Kelley Kirby
marked it as to-read
Sep 15, 2020
Kim
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2020
Kim
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2020
Kellie Meadows
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2020
Claire Thomas
marked it as to-read
Oct 27, 2020
Karen
marked it as to-read
Oct 27, 2020
Heather
marked it as to-read
Oct 31, 2020
Sinthia Ahammed
marked it as to-read
Nov 06, 2020
Becca
marked it as to-read
Nov 10, 2020
Arlena Stevens
marked it as to-read
Nov 10, 2020
Michelle  Hogmire
marked it as to-read
Nov 10, 2020
Mike
marked it as to-read
Nov 16, 2020
Hannah
added it
Nov 16, 2020
Dana
marked it as to-read
Nov 17, 2020
Debbie
marked it as to-read
Nov 18, 2020
David
marked it as to-read
Nov 19, 2020
Sharon Angle-boyer
marked it as to-read
Nov 20, 2020
Donell
marked it as to-read
Nov 20, 2020
Yoch
marked it as to-read
Nov 20, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Postscript Murders (Harbinder Kaur #2)
  • The Mirror Crack'd from Side to Side (Miss Marple, #9)
  • Why the Innocent Plead Guilty and the Guilty Go Free: And Other Paradoxes of Our Broken Legal System
  • Third Girl (Hercule Poirot, #38)
  • Christmas Cocoa Murder
  • We Could Be Heroes
  • Some Monsters Never Die (Monsters and Mayhem #1)
  • Death in the Diamond Lane
  • The Question of the Missing Head (An Asperger’s Mystery, #1)
  • The Hanged Man of Saint-Pholien (Maigret, #4)
  • Pietr the Latvian (Maigret #1)
  • The Loosening Skin
  • Monstress Book One
  • Hairspray and Switchblades
  • Generation Loss (Cass Neary, #1)
  • Available Dark (Cass Neary, #2)
  • The Lesser Dead
  • Better Have Heart (Harrison Campus, #2)
See similar books…

Related Articles

Die-hard mystery fans are always on the hunt for their next supremely satisfying whodunit. To help you stock that Want to Read shelf, we asked...
27 likes · 17 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »