Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Lieography of Amelia Earhart: The Absolutely Untrue, Totally Made Up, 100% Fake Life Story of a Great American Aviator” as Want to Read:
The Lieography of Amelia Earhart: The Absolutely Untrue, Totally Made Up, 100% Fake Life Story of a Great American Aviator
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Lieography of Amelia Earhart: The Absolutely Untrue, Totally Made Up, 100% Fake Life Story of a Great American Aviator

by
really liked it 4.00  ·  Rating details ·  12 ratings  ·  10 reviews
 

Amelia Earhart, top aviator. You might know that her flight accomplishments were heralded across the globe. But what about the story of her teeth, which were so perfect that her dentist wanted to remove all of them to show his other patients? Or her refusal to read chapter nine in any book? You’re about to be treated to the Lieographical aspects of Amelia Earhart’s life,
...more
Paperback, 72 pages
Published October 15th 2020 by Tanglewood
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Lieography of Amelia Earhart, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Lieography of Amelia Earhart

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-23
really liked it Average rating 4.00  · 
Rating details
 ·  12 ratings  ·  10 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Lieography of Amelia Earhart: The Absolutely Untrue, Totally Made Up, 100% Fake Life Story of a Great American Aviator
Briar's Reviews
This lieography is a unique spin on a biography that gives false and fictional tales of the famous Ameliea Earhart.

I can easily see little tech and history loving readers picking up a book like this. It's a great way to bring history to life and try to get more people interested in flight and Amelia Earhart. I think this is super unique and amusing.

It is rather childish (it's a middle grade book, surprise surprise), but it's still quite interesting! The silly tales and goofy pictures make this
...more
Sandra Norman
Aug 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing
The Lieography of Amelia Earhart is part of a series of other lieographies. Different than an actual biography, a lieography has a creative take on fictional events of this very real aviation pioneer. It is not until the end of the book that the true story of Amelia Earhart is revealed, and the reader is encouraged to scout out even more facts about the flying phenomenon. This is a great read for young readers beginning chapter books, as the chapter lengths are manageable.

The cover is very eye
...more
Abby
Aug 09, 2020 rated it liked it
I am a huge fan of nonfiction books and I am always looking for nonfiction books to put in my elementary library. While I did love the concept of this book, I felt it lacked truth. I thought it was very funny at times and young readers will love laughing through this, but I was hoping for an authors note or a quick history of Amelia Earhart to help young readers leave with some knowledge about her. Overall, it was a good book and the illustrations were perfect.
Anne
Jul 23, 2020 rated it really liked it
The Lieography of Amelia Earhart
The Absolutely Untrue, Totally Made Up, 100% Fake Life Story of a Great American Aviator
by Alan Katz
Back of the Book: "Amelia Earhart, top aviator. You might know that her flight accomplishments were heralded across the globe. But what about the story of her teeth, which were so perfect that her dentist wanted to remove all of them to show his other patients? Or her refusal to read chapter nine in any book? You’re about to be treated to the Lieographical aspects o
...more
Marlena
Jul 08, 2020 rated it really liked it
The Lieography of Amelia Earhart is a children's book. It starts out as a book with wacky tales pretending to be a true biography but towards the end of the book, the facts are revealed to be lies. This is when the real biography is shared with the reader along with actual facts about Amelia Earhart.
The book would be perfect for students in grades 2nd or 3rd in my opinion. It has a easy writing style for students to understand, wacky/funny stories (sometimes over the top but little kids go craz
...more
Rosalyn Davey
Jul 29, 2020 rated it really liked it
This book is such a good idea. It was funny and I think a good way into fiction for children who prefer nonfiction. I know the children in my school would enjoy this.
Marte Olsen
Jul 07, 2020 rated it really liked it
I received a copy on Netgalley in return for an honest review!
I really liked this book. It is silly, funny and a bit confusing, and I feel like children would like that even more than me! I like the narration style of the book and feel like it helps the humor. Another thing I really appreciated is the part at the end where it tells the true story of Amelia Earhart.
I think this would be a good way to approach some elements of history and historic figures, without making the pupils feel like they
...more
J.D. DeHart
Sep 06, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I love Alan Katz’s work, and this book works in humorous and engaging ways for young readers. I’d gladly put it on my classroom shelf for history and language arts. Fun, inventive — and very, very smart.
Andréa
Apr 23, 2021 marked it as to-read
Note: I received a digital review copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley.
DiKrLa
Feb 11, 2021 rated it really liked it
Part of a new funny historical fiction series that will make kids laugh and want to learn more about the real Amelia Earhart!
Jack Erin
rated it really liked it
Mar 25, 2021
Joella
rated it liked it
Nov 30, 2020
Rebecca Grose
rated it it was amazing
Apr 28, 2020
Meghan
marked it as to-read
May 06, 2020
Amy Lafleur Meyers
marked it as to-read
Sep 07, 2020
Joanne Roberts
marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2020
Samantha Mairson
marked it as to-read
Nov 14, 2020
Heather Eagan
marked it as to-read
Nov 30, 2020
Emily
marked it as to-read
Dec 28, 2020
Kimberly
marked it as to-read
Jan 08, 2021
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Bookstore Cat
  • Bye, Penguin!
  • We Are Water Protectors
  • The Newest Princess (Itty Bitty Princess Kitty Book 1)
  • I Talk Like a River
  • The Good Thing About Bad Days
  • And the People Stayed Home
  • Our Subway Baby
  • Counting Creatures
  • The Midnight Fair
  • Dragon Mountain (Dragon Realm, #1)
  • Please Don't Read This Book
  • Tilly and the Bookwanderers (Pages & Co. #1)
  • My Friend Earth
  • Milo Imagines the World
  • Sugar and Spite
  • The Time of Green Magic
  • Take It Away, Tommy!: A Breaking Cat News Adventure
See similar books…

Related Articles

  Tami Charles is a former teacher and the author of picture books, middle grade and young adult novels, and nonfiction. As a teacher, she made...
45 likes · 65 comments