Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Time for Kenny” as Want to Read:
Time for Kenny
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Time for Kenny

3.59  ·  Rating details ·  111 ratings  ·  26 reviews
Two-time Caldecott Honor artist and Coretta Scott King Medalist Brian Pinkney keeps the text simple, direct, and pitch-perfect for emerging readers. This vibrant, family-oriented picture book is full of boundless energy, action, and unlimited love. A timeless choice for fans of Laura Vaccaro Seeger, Christian Robinson, and Oge Mora.

Time for Kenny to get up and enjoy the da
...more
Hardcover, 40 pages
Published January 12th 2021 by Greenwillow Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Time for Kenny, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Time for Kenny

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.59  · 
Rating details
 ·  111 ratings  ·  26 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Time for Kenny
Melki
Feb 25, 2021 rated it liked it
Shelves: kidstuff
Kenny has a not-very-fascinating day getting dressed and attempting to play soccer. This was pleasant enough, though I'm not sure kids will find the book overly interesting. ...more
Emily
Feb 15, 2021 rated it it was amazing
This simple tale of a young boy figuring things out is really delightful. Kenny navigates his outsized fear of the vacuum cleaner, takes direction on how to properly dress himself, learns how to play with a soccer ball, and winds himself down for bedtime--all seemingly mundane childhood stuff, but rendered so sweetly and purely here that I found myself grinning while reading. The book is illustrated in the same playful, energetic style as Pinkney's Puppy Truck, which I also enjoyed--but I like t ...more
Mary
A lovely picture book that chronicles Kenny's day: choosing his clothes for the day, his fear of the vacuum cleaner, playing with the soccer ball, and bedtime. With large, expressive illustrations on white pages and a simple, accessible text, toddlers will relate to Kenny and his family. A likeable character that will leave readers wanting more! ...more
Shari
Feb 03, 2021 rated it liked it
I couldn't resist this one. My son's name is Kenny. This preschooler is learning and growing with the support of his sister, parents, and grandparents. What a lucky boy! ...more
Aolund
A "daily routine" book that is okay but not amazing. I loved the pictures, and many kids will identify and probably feel comforted by the sense of routine and ritual, but it wasn't my favorite. The getting dressed part was the part that felt the most "off", as Kenny is told he can't wear various pieces of clothing; of course, sometimes you can't wear this or that piece of clothing for various reasons, but that part just felt kind of un-fun and un-creative. I would've loved seeing Kenny getting t ...more
Erin
3.5

This is a solid book all around. Great text for beginning readers, short and snappy story action, and cheerful and colorful illustrations full of motion. Kenny gets dressed, has a moment with the vacuum cleaner, plays soccer with his sister, and then gets ready for bedtime. The transitions between each episode were abrupt, and I got lost in the vacuum story (the unrelated tickling from Daddy really threw me off). But in the main this is a workhorse of a book: get it in the hands of those just
...more
Cindy Dobrez
Feb 15, 2021 rated it it was amazing
The first section of Kenny's story about getting dressed reminded me of Ann Likes Red, the book that I remember first being able to read after lots of time reading it with my dad. Pinkney's storytelling and energetic illustrations are perfect for children on the cusp of learning to read. ...more
Annamarie Carlson (she, her)
Follow Kenny's adventures in four simple, repetitive stories as Kenny gets dressed, Kenny defeats the vacuum cleaner, Kenny learns to play soccer, and Kenny eventually heads to bed.

Short and simple, but this one stands out in its simplicity and vibrant illustrations. Looking forward to more like this.
...more
Ellon
Feb 15, 2021 rated it liked it
This book had four mini stories and they don't really connect. I liked the first story about getting a lot. I wasn't a fan of the second one about the vacuum. The third one about soccer was okay and the fourth story about getting ready for bed was cute too. I just didn't like how disjointed the book felt. ...more
Marissa Elera
I LOVE that Pinkney is doing books for the littles now - Puppy Truck is one of my favorite storytime books. Time for Kenny was just as delightful. I enjoy how authentic to the childhood experience the story is told. Beautifully illustrated and told. Can't wait to use this in storytimes! ...more
Jillian Heise
This is a delightful book! Simple, yet vibrant. It is actually four very short stories within one book. It makes me wish this came in an early reader trim size/format also because it would be great for emergent readers to begin to feel success in a handheld book.
Amy
Jan 27, 2021 rated it really liked it
A wonderful book for toddlers and young preschoolers that follows a few key events in Kenny's daily life. Brian Pinkney's illustrations are so bright and bold and I love the simple events that are meaningful to little people...especially the scary vacuum! ...more
Lynn
Feb 14, 2021 rated it really liked it
A perfect choice for the preschool set, Brian Pinkney's sweet book has 4 sections, each telling about an everyday event in the life of an energetic toddler. Young readers will recognize familiar scenes and activities in this richly comforting story of a little boy and his family. ...more
Amanda
Feb 14, 2021 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2021, picture-books
A day in Kenny’s life. Appreciate how color is used to differentiate each section of Kenny’s day. Love the fluidity in the illustrations and use of line for movement. Simple, fun, and cute. Great for early readers.
Lisa D
Feb 04, 2021 added it
Loved it! What a classic! It was hilarious !
Leona
Jan 28, 2021 rated it really liked it
also good for "getting dressed" theme ...more
Alice
Jan 29, 2021 rated it really liked it
Family, daily routine, activity, POC main character
Alicia Evans
For: readers looking for a sweet, happy book that shows snapshots of Kenny's life.

Possible red flags: vacuum cleaner fears.
...more
Pinky
Feb 23, 2021 rated it liked it
Shelves: picture-books
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Stacy
Feb 13, 2021 rated it liked it
Cute. I even laughed out loud at the part where the chips and cereal were being vacuumed up. Seriously, how does so much food end up on the floor!?
Anthony
From the time Kenny wakes until his bed time, his day is filled with unlimited action, and things for him to do. He spends it interacting with his family, living, learning and loving.
Eija
Great for toddlers and preschoolers!
Edward Sullivan
Jan 28, 2021 rated it really liked it
Shelves: picture-books
A day in the life of a preschooler in perpetual motion.
Judy Ripke
Dec 23, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: diversity, previews
Great book for preschoolers!
Earl
Feb 02, 2021 rated it liked it
A fun simple picture book that follows Kenny throughout the day. Divided into four sections, readers will see him interact with various members of his family. Great for fans of The Snowy Day, Ty's Travels, and Ana & Andrew books. ...more
Courtney
rated it it was amazing
Feb 26, 2021
Deb Reddy
rated it it was ok
Feb 10, 2021
Carlos
rated it liked it
Feb 15, 2021
Leah
rated it it was ok
Feb 06, 2021
Taylor Kundel-Gower
rated it really liked it
Feb 09, 2021
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Eyes That Kiss in the Corners
  • Evelyn del Rey Is Moving Away
  • Outside, Inside
  • Sunny-Side Up
  • I Talk Like a River
  • Milo Imagines the World
  • Over the Shop
  • Oona
  • Stella's Stellar Hair
  • The Trouble with Penguins
  • Mel Fell
  • Off to See the Sea
  • Moose, Goose, and Mouse
  • Bear Island
  • Jump at the Sun: The True Life Tale of Unstoppable Storycatcher Zora Neale Hurston
  • See the Cat: Three Stories About a Dog
  • A Polar Bear in the Snow
  • Out the Door
See similar books…
25 followers
Born in Boston, Massachusetts, (Jerry) Brian Pinkney was raised in an artistic household. "My two brothers and sister and I played musical instruments, and we were always drawing, painting, or building things," the illustrator once recalled of his childhood. While his mother, children's book author Gloria Jean Pinkney, would inspire all her children with a love of reading, it would be his father, ...more

News & Interviews

  If you listen to NPR regularly, you’ve likely heard the voice of Shankar Vedantam, the longtime science correspondent and host of the radio...
10 likes · 2 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »