Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Book Talk: Essays on Books, Booksellers, Collecting, and Special Collections” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
Book Talk: Essays on B...
 
by
Oak Knoll Press
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Book Talk: Essays on Books, Booksellers, Collecting, and Special Collections

by
3.75  ·  Rating details ·  4 Ratings  ·  1 Review
Following in the tradition of John Carter, Graham Pollard, and Michael Sadleir, Book Talk: Essays on Books, Booksellers, Collecting, and Special Collections takes the reader on a tour of some major ideas and controversies now current in the rare book world. Robert H. Jackson has assembled these writings of an eminent group of scholars, publishers, librarians, booksellers, ...more
Hardcover, 260 pages
Published May 30th 2006 by Oak Knoll Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Book Talk, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Book Talk

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-11)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Cacology
Dec 25, 2007 rated it really liked it
Various essays on books. Includes overview of changes in the book, Garrett Scott discussing "low spots" in literature, Martin L. Greene discussing the Aurora Australis (1908), bookselling, Ken Lopez about the maturing of the rare book market (expensive higher, middle glut, lower major glut; information is the value but not rewarded), Robert H. Jackson on soliciting donors, Stoddard about what a librarian can do, Samuel Streit discussing special collections (depth and breadth).
Ray
rated it liked it
Dec 10, 2015
J. Collbran
rated it really liked it
Sep 13, 2015
Sarah
rated it really liked it
Jul 26, 2007
Jonathan
marked it as to-read
Apr 07, 2011
Jenn Farris
marked it as to-read
Jan 03, 2013
Tracy Slough
marked it as to-read
Sep 29, 2013
Rachel
marked it as to-read
Nov 03, 2014
Emma
marked it as to-read
Dec 13, 2014
Becca Ehling
marked it as to-read
Feb 03, 2015
BookDB
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2016
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »