Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Hybrid” as Want to Read:
Hybrid
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Hybrid

by
4.43  ·  Rating details ·  23 ratings  ·  13 reviews
Agent Van of the CIA is sent to an Australian underground military surveillance base called Pine Gap. Agent Van finds himself thrown in a conspiracy cover up of an ancient alien race known as species X. Agent Van falls in love with Annika, a mysterious and uncommon woman who displays unusual abilities, leading Van to question her own origin. Mystery and horror explode arou ...more
Paperback, 280 pages
Published July 27th 2019
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Hybrid, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Hybrid

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-40
Average rating 4.43  · 
Rating details
 ·  23 ratings  ·  13 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Hybrid
Idabel.ink
Jul 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
::no spoilers ahead::

Sci-fi! Horror! Romance! WOW this book has it all! I am a huge sci-fi fan and can usually see plot twists coming from a mile away, but this book kept me guessing until the last page. Seriously, everybody go read this one so I have someone to discuss it with!

Start this one early and prepare to stay up late to finish it, because I couldn’t put it down. But I wasn’t going to be sleeping anyway cause some of the scenes are a major creepfest. I couldn’t get it out of my mind, so
...more
M.L. Broome
Oct 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition

Wow. All I can keep repeating is wow. This book—this story—is such a whirlwind of adventure into the unknown. Rebecca creates characters with a realism unlike any author I’ve ever seen, their quirks and peccadillos make them literally leap off the page and into your memory banks forever.

Then there’s the world-building. I can’t fathom how long this intricate reality took Rebecca to create, but she covers every nuance and describes it with a lyrical lilt that paints the world around you, stroke b
...more
tabz_talks_tales
Must read!

My goodness! After reading this (well after every chapter really) I needed to take a step back and just process. From the very beginning of Hybrid I was shocked and surprised. I really didn’t know where this was going to go or how it would pan out! I found myself really savouring this read, I both couldn’t wait to and at the same time dreaded finishing it.

I had to put the book down after Chapter 3 because it was late and I managed to freak myself out! I then kept all my limbs tucked
...more
Denise N. Wheatley
Author Rebecca Henry always does a beautiful job of weaving together stories of love and romance. In HYBRID, she expertly factors in a vivid, intricately-told science fiction tale involving plenty of action, along with human emotions and otherworldly interactions. Rebecca masterfully creates a frightening underground world with such a descriptive plot, filled with distinctive, beguiling characters and shocking twists and turns. The chemistry between Agent Van and the alluring Annika literally ju ...more
WeLoveBigBooksAndWeCannotLie
Book review!!!
Let me start by saying that I am not really a sci-fi fan, this is a sci-fi book. What I AM, is a huge CIA fan and this book is all about the CIA fighting off aliens trying to destroy humans. There is a little something for everyone in this book. There is the sci-fi angle, the CIA top secret government program angle and there is also a little mini romance as well. If you enjoy a good alien tale, and let me just say that not all aliens are created equal, this book is for you!
Nancy (The Avid Reader)
Agent Van is assigned a new job in Australia at an underground military surveillance base called Pine Gap. At Pine Gap Van meets a young woman Annika whom he has an instant attraction to. It just happens to be his lucky day as Annika is one of his new partners.

Van and Annika’s first assignment together is to go in a cave to look for Agent One who has not returned. There is more in the cave than Van was ever expecting. In the cave they have to fight alien creatures as they are making their way t
...more
Laura Maybrooke
Sep 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I hesitated between four and five stars, until finally going with five. Let me shed light on it.

I enjoyed this read very much. It was a thrilling read, and the action was there almost straight from the start. I never knew what was around the next corner; the direction I expected this book to take was changing all the time as I got deeper into the story. The twists kept surprising me.

I appreciate all the knowledge this book contained, the theories and history of our own Earth. This book had plent
...more
Anthony
Sep 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The Review

This is every sci-fi readers dream book! A phenomenal read that explores several different aspects of the science fiction genre. From time-travel and the influence of alien species on the development of the human race, to worlds within the Earth’s core and creatures born of scientific experimentation, this is the ultimate sci-fi read.

While the mythology of the alien creatures and the world at large the author created is what initially draws the reader in, it is the emotional and relat
...more
Raffaella Rowell
If you like science fiction, aliens (Phylax), monster like creatures (Tlalocs), action, horror and romance, than you will love this book. It has everything and more! The authors builds a whole world underground, a military base called Pine Gap. Agent Van is assigned to the base where he meets Annika and a romance blossoms. You will cheer them on. But there is darkness, with fierce fighting against these terrifying monster aliens. Lots of twists and turns will keep you hooked to the end. I really ...more
Ksenia
Feb 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great Sci-Fi read! Couldn't put down.

Rebecca Henry's "Hybrid: Adapt or Die" is a beautiful blend of adventure, spirituality, science, nature, aliens, mythology, love, friendship, and much more! The writer did a great job with the storyline and the characters. A great book with surprises and a sweet ending. If you like Sci-Fi and romance, this is for you!
...more
Traveling Cloak
Agent Van Anderson works on the CIA's Extra-Terrestrial unit. He investigates alien beings that show up in different parts of the world. One day he is taken to a new, top-Secret Base in Australia. Once Agent Van Anderson learns his new task is to investigate an alien race called Species X he is intrigued, but the mission turns out to be much more deadly than he expected. Will Agent Van Anderson and his new team complete their mission and live to tell the tale? Read Hybrid to find out.

This book w
...more
marjorie melcher
rated it liked it
Jul 05, 2020
james h. mathis sr.
rated it really liked it
Sep 26, 2019
Ronald
rated it liked it
Aug 16, 2019
Danny Wilkerson
rated it it was ok
Aug 05, 2019
Ed R Martin
rated it it was amazing
Sep 07, 2019
Dianne
rated it really liked it
Sep 07, 2019
Kelly McCabe
rated it it was amazing
May 26, 2020
Arnie Postier
rated it really liked it
Sep 09, 2019
Dena Akbar
rated it it was amazing
Nov 04, 2019
Brian Cutlip
rated it it was amazing
Sep 03, 2019
Deb
rated it it was amazing
Dec 04, 2019
Kate
added it
Jul 16, 2019
Savannah Layne
marked it as to-read
Jul 19, 2019
M.J. Vaughn
marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2019
ElizrdbthSpeaks
marked it as to-read
Jul 31, 2019
Carol Keddie
is currently reading it
Aug 04, 2019
B. Groves
is currently reading it
Aug 05, 2019
Beth
marked it as to-read
Aug 06, 2019
Payton Taylor
marked it as to-read
Aug 09, 2019
Dawn Dean
is currently reading it
Aug 15, 2019
Rebecca Henry
Aug 16, 2019 added it  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Karen Russo
is currently reading it
Aug 27, 2019
Lesley
is currently reading it
Sep 11, 2019
LYNNETTE
is currently reading it
Sep 19, 2019
Nataša Xerri
marked it as to-read
Dec 09, 2019
Jessica
marked it as to-read
Dec 29, 2019
João
marked it as to-read
Feb 18, 2020
Mary
marked it as to-read
Feb 18, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Holy Bible: English Standard Version
  • Good Girls Lie
  • Crown of Sunlight
  • The Accidental Life Swap: The perfect laugh out loud romantic comedy for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk!
  • Everything but the Truth
  • The Magic (The Secret, #3)
  • Better With You
  • In Other News
  • Always With Love (Billy and Me, #2)
  • Through Her Eyes
  • The Happy Couple
  • The Reunion
  • Over the Borderline
  • The Switch
  • AGAPE AND ARES
  • The Fulcrum / The Power of Three / Unchained (Rex Dalton #1-3)
  • Sideswiped (Rex Dalton #4)
  • The Raid (Ryan Decker #2)
See similar books…
244 followers
Rebecca Henry is an American author living in the UK. Her books range from vegan cookbooks to fantasy to sci-fi to Rebecca's latest release with Urban Edge Publishing, Louisiana Latte: A Chick Lit Comedy About Sisters, Stilletos, Coffee, and One Fabulous Diva! You can find all Rebecca's books on Amazon.
...more

News & Interviews

The beauty of a paperback novel is multidimensional. Allow me to explain: The format allows you to catch up on some of 2020's biggest books...
88 likes · 7 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »