Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Scrumptious Independence (Merriweather Island #2)” as Want to Read:
Scrumptious Independence (Merriweather Island #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Scrumptious Independence

(Merriweather Island #2)

by
4.42  ·  Rating details ·  76 ratings  ·  51 reviews
“Taste and see that the Lord is good.”

And so is Beth’s cooking! It’s a good thing, too. After a lifetime of her family’s smothering embrace, a whole new world opens to her with the passing of her beloved grandmother.

Armed with an inheritance she never expected and orders on how to use it, Beth sets off for Merriweather Island and fulfillment of a lifetime of dreams.

Or so s
...more
Kindle Edition
Published August 25th 2020 by Celebrate Lit Publishing
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Scrumptious Independence, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Scrumptious Independence

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.42  · 
Rating details
 ·  76 ratings  ·  51 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Scrumptious Independence (Merriweather Island #2)
Connie Saunders
Sep 25, 2020 rated it really liked it
"I came down here to find my own way in life and instead I found my faith in humankind and in God while in your care."

This is such a sweet love story and it isn't just a romantic love story. Elizabeth "Beth" Stevens and her grandmother shared a very special bond and Elizabeth Merriweather-Lewis recognized a potential in Beth that her family had never seen. As she sets out to fulfill her late grandmother's last wishes, Beth learns that she can stand on her own and she gains a confidence that she
...more
Toni Shiloh
Sep 21, 2020 rated it really liked it
Scrumptious Independence is more than it’s adorable title. Besides being a contemporary romance (the genre of my heart), Ms. Wardwell brings us a book that tackles identity, faith, trials of dating, AND a little bit of mystery and sabotage.

I loved the easy relationship between Beth and Scott and enjoyed watching it slowly develop into more. Scott is not only a great friend, but just an all around great guy. It’s so great when I can cheer for the hero from the get go and watch the heroine figure
...more
Melissa Henderson
Aug 12, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Love the stories that Melissa Wardwell writes! This one involves an unexpected inheritance, the possibility of love and with a mystery thrown in the mix, the story is exciting and heartfelt. I received a complimentary copy of the book. No review was required.
Marguerite Gray
Sep 18, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Food and memories. It is a thing, a realistic pull to the past, to memories that surround the senses. Familial tugs of the heart. Don't we all have them. Beth's story leans heavily on her time with Gram in the kitchen. Yes, it brings tears and avoid in her life when Gram passes away, but the memories sustain her and allow Beth to pursue her love of cooking and baking. It made me think of my grandmother's chocolate sheet cake and divinity.

Yet, other memories of past failures or childhood traumas,
...more
Linda Palmer
Aug 17, 2020 rated it it was amazing
An excellent story of second chances with plenty of mystery. I loved this book! I hope to read some others in this series. I received a copy of this book but all opinions are my own.
Deana Dick
Sep 21, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This story is so well written and filled with God’s love that I hated to see it end. I loved getting to know Beth and learn about her insecurity. Her family has not been very supportive of her over the years except one special person. Her Gram is like a breath of fresh air after a rain in the afternoon. She loves with her whole heart and has a been a big inspiration to Beth.
It seems to be the norm in some families to bicker over inheritance. Beth is blessed with a precious gift from her Gram an
...more
Becky Lewis
“Gram always told me that family was a gift from God so that we would never feel alone in this world. If that is the case, I think God hates me.” Poor Beth Stevens, left wealthy by her beloved Gram’s passing, has been deeply marred by her family’s rejection over the years. Her grandmother was her one dependable light in her dark world. Having received the house on Merriweather Island, Beth moves south with plans for an island food truck. Scott Anderson, her childhood island friend, wants to help ...more
Kelly-Ann ~ Sassy Bookish Mama
It was great to be back in Merriweather Island and explore a little bit more of the island. It was great to see Mallory back in this story and I wish we would of had a mention of other characters in the first book but there wasn't. Although this series is written by multiple authors I don't feel like you have to read the first one. They could be easily be considered stand alones.

In this story we meet Beth who inherits everything from her grandmother rather unexpectedly. Beth comes from a family
...more
Vicky Sluiter
Oct 02, 2020 rated it really liked it
Do you love comfort food? Then you’ll love this book. Beth is a great cook and is looking for healing and independence on Merriweather Island after a surprise comes her way.

Beth is having a spiritual crisis and needs healing from her family. Wardwell handles this really well and hope abounds. Scott is her perfect hero and you’ll see why when you read the book.

With characters who have depth, descriptions that are well done, and even some suspense, this book has something for everyone.

A clean, swe
...more
R.j.
Aug 06, 2020 rated it really liked it
This book is so much fun. I really enjoyed it. The characters were fun and relatable. The family just enough to make the plot interesting without beginning over the top. My biggest complaint is just that things wrapped up with the bad guy. Everything was resolved off page? Really would have loved to see it. Otherwise this book is great. Can’t wait for more!
Lori R
Aug 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I really liked the characters in this story. There was Gram, who just died and wanted her granddaughter, Beth to have her independence. Gram was so full of wisdom and I really liked how her wisdom graced the pages of this story.
Beth was a sweet character trying out her wings by moving from Michigan to South Carolina. She had an interesting relationship with her family. Her Gram left her a cottage on Merriweather Island and suggested she buy a food truck. How nice Gram and Beth got to share a joy
...more
MaryAnn Bell
Oct 03, 2020 rated it it was amazing
“Taste and see that the Lord is good.”

And so is Beth’s cooking! It’s a good thing, too. After a lifetime of her family’s smothering embrace, a whole new world opens to her with the passing of her beloved grandmother.

Armed with an inheritance she never expected and orders on how to use it, Beth sets off for Merriweather Island and fulfillment of a lifetime of dreams.

Or so she hopes.

What she didn’t hope for was what most women would—a man who fills her thoughts at the most wonderfully unwelcome ti
...more
Erin
Sep 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: celebrate-lit
I love this series! I find myself looking for the next one to come out. And then I devour it in one sitting and am ready for the next one again. Maybe I should try savoring them a bit more but I don’t know. They’re really good and I don’t think I could slow read them.

This book in the series follows Beth. Her parents are well off. But they have always been disappointed in Beth. She found comfort in her grandmother. It’s that grandmother that taught her to cook and showed her how to love it. That
...more
Ava
Sep 25, 2020 rated it really liked it
Beth is in her late 20's and is the black sheep of her family, or so she thinks. Her mother and sisters, pretentious and selfish women, look down on her and treat her shamefully; her only allies are her dad (who is stuck with an overbearing wife) and her grandmother. Gram is very wealthy who used her wealth to be a blessing to Beth who desperately needed the love that she had to offer. Gram kept Beth during several summers at her inherited family home on Merriweather Island off the coast of Geor ...more
Ibjoy1953
Oct 05, 2020 rated it it was amazing
MY THOUGHTS ON THIS BOOK

Scrumptious Independence is the second book in The Independence Island Series and what a great read this one is. Beth has lost the only person she can share her dreams with, her Gram. As she tries go follow her Gram’s wishes, she moves to the cottage on Merriweather Island. But is this the right move for her?

My heart went out to Beth for the way her mom and sisters treated her. They are definitely not my favorite characters, but yet they are important to give the book fla
...more
Joanne
Oct 03, 2020 rated it really liked it
Scrumptious Independence was a quick, fun book to read. The story flowed well, the characters held my interest and were relatable, although I never could figure out what Scott did for a living—he seemed to be all over the place in that regard.

I appreciated the fact that it’s a book about food, but the author didn’t try to sensualize the food aspect. Yes, I have crossed that path in my reading (a story for another day) and did not enjoy the experience. In this book though, I was glad to see that
...more
Amy
Oct 04, 2020 rated it really liked it
Families can be so complicated and hard to deal with. Beth's family, especially her mother and sisters are doozies. They only show more of their true colors after their grandmother passes away. The spirit of materialism is strong in that family and Beth's grandmother knew it. So she leaves most everything to Beth.

Now having a fortune and setting off to her grandmother's cottage on Merriweather Island, Beth is looking forward to starting a new life. Inheriting from her grandmother has made her d
...more
Julia
Sep 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Scrumptious Independence by Melissa Wardwell is a totally charming contemporary Christian novel. It is the second book in the Merriweather Island series but can be read as a stand-alone.
The novel is about a search to belong and to be loved. The leading character feels rejected by her family. She projects this rejection on to her view of God, believing she will never be ‘good enough’ for Him. She has forgotten about the gift of grace. God says she is loved by Him. She needs to believe she is who
...more
Rebekah Morris
Aug 31, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: kindle-unlimited
Having read and enjoyed the first book in this collection, I picked up the next when it came out.
While it is by a different author, it was fun to get to “see” the islands a little more, spend time with Mallory, and get to know some others.
I liked the two main characters. Beth made me want to hug her and let her know she was loved by her Heavenly Father. And Scott was a gentleman and sweet. When any Christian aspects came up in the book they were well done, but at other times I was a little puzzl
...more
Jane
Sep 20, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Sometimes you just want a sweet romance to take you away from your current situation. Scrumptious Independence does just that. Melissa Wardell continues the Merriweather Island series of stories with book two. There is some character overlap but Scrumptious Independence can be read as a stand alone. Melissa Wardell has combined romance, mystery, and danger in this novella.
Beth is reeling from the death of her beloved Gram. She has inherited most of Gram’s possessions and Gram left her instructio
...more
Kendra Neal
Sep 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Scrumptious Independence by author Melissa Wardwell is Book 2 in the Independence Island Series.
Each book in the series has been written by a different Author.

Beth has a wonderful relationship with her Grandmother, the only relative she has felt close to. Beth has been the "Black Sheep" of her family, and bonded through cooking and making Grandma's recipes growing up. Beth is very devastated when her Grandma dies, yet feeling blessed when she learns of her inheritance from Grandma. the Inherit
...more
Donna C
Oct 01, 2020 rated it it was amazing
What I think you should know:
Scrumptious Independence by Melissa Wardlaw is the second book in the Independence Island series. This book follows Dual Power of Convenience and the introductory book Christmas on Breaker’s Point and features some of the same characters. While it could be read as a standalone I recommend reading the previous books and getting to know the islands and their quirky residents as they add an extra layer of enjoyment to the series. This book features Beth, who inherits he
...more
Nyla
Sep 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Scrumptious Independence by author Melissa Wardwell is a yummy serving of Contemporary Christian Romance fiction. This is Book 2 in the Independence Island Series. It can be read as a stand alone with no issues, but characters from Book 1 do make an appearance.

For me, this book checked off most of the boxes I have for looking for a good book. The main character, Beth, receives a surprise inheritance. Who does not secretly wish for that to happen to them? She loves to cook. Me, too! She moves to
...more
Robbie
Oct 07, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Melissa Wardwell created another delightful story with Scrumptious Independence, and even though it is book 2 in a series, it works well as a standalone.

Beth Andrews’ Gram surprised Beth and her family by willing her Merriweather home to Beth. Beth decides to leave Michigan and return to Merriweather Island. The remembrances of her sweet childhood with her Gram lure her back. She arrives with big plans, never expecting to run into her old friend, Scott, or jealous women or, even worse, the dange
...more
Kimmie
Oct 10, 2020 rated it really liked it
Next in the independence Island series…Scrumptious Independence by Melissa Wardwell! I have been looking forward to this book for months. and boy was it worth the wait. I loved her balance of character interaction with the emotions and memories she invoked in me through her characters. It truly was a fun book to read that I had a hard time putting down.

I thought Melissa Wardwell did a great job engaging not just your eyes but your memories too! From her yummy sounding recipes (that may or may n
...more
Connie Carpenter
Sep 24, 2020 rated it it was amazing
First of all, the chicken salad recipe above looks and sounds amazing... It is a little different then I make it - but I may have to give it a shot.
Second, I love this author. She always writes such fun books to read. This book hit home hard - I lost my grandma earlier this year. She was the one person that never got mad, never got upset and always believed in me. So while I was reading and learning about Beth and her Gram, it made me miss mine <3. My grandma, like Gram in this story was always
...more
Kathy
Book Two in the Merriweather Island series is a delightful novella. The island setting that feels like home, and seeing a sweet friend from Book One helped draw me in quickly. The novella entirely stands on its own, yet I am motivated to continue the series in order to learn even more of Beth & Scott's story.

It was a pleasure getting to know both Beth and Scott. Scott was still a servant of those in need after having grown up as a pastor's kid. Beth was trying to find herself after years of verb
...more
Debbie
Sep 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing
"Scrumptious Independence" by Melissa Wardwell is a fun Christian contemporary romance. It is book two in the series and can be a standalone but my thought is why, would a reader not what to read the whole thing to meet all the characters. It is also a book that deals with identity, faith, dating, mystery and sabotage. This book was fun, but it did make me a little sad because of the relationship of Beth and her grandmother reminded me of my relationship with my grandmother. I can't wait to read ...more
Amy
Sep 10, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Scrumptious Independence is the second book from the Merriweather Island series. It is, also, Melissa Wardwell’s contribution. I have previously read her books and have enjoyed every one. This one is probably among my favorite I have read by her to date. It was great taking a trip back to Merriweather Island again. I thought this story was a delight to read. It is under two hundred pages long and took me no time to have it read in one sitting. Beth was a great character and I loved getting to kn ...more
Joan
Sep 20, 2020 rated it liked it
I enjoyed this fun Christian contemporary romance. I liked the South Carolina island setting and being able to visualize it. I liked Beth as she tried to find herself and her independence while she grew spiritually. Scott is a nice hero, gentle and understanding. There are some interesting family dynamics in the novel and I can see why Gram's will provided for Beth to buy a food truck and venture out on her own.

I felt the mystery aspect of the novel was not fully developed and ended rather abrup
...more
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • To Steal a Heart (The Bleeker Street Inquiry Agency, #1)
  • The Red Ribbon (True Colors)
  • To Love a Prince (True Blue Royal, #1)
  • A Christmas Tale for Little Women: A Miss Adelaide Christmas Novella
  • The Gold Digger (True Colors)
  • An Ivy Hill Christmas (Tales from Ivy Hill)
  • The Amish Menorah: and Other Stories
  • Pretending to Wed (Frontier Vows, #2)
  • Something Borrowed: Christmas Weddings Collection
  • Sand & Mistletoe
  • Marry Me for Real, Cowboy  (Cavanagh Cowboys Romance #1)
  • Covert Amish Christmas
  • Brought to Book (Wilkester Mysteries #1)
  • Miss Tavistock's Mistake (The Brides of Mayfair #1)
  • Miss Fanshawe's Fortune (The Brides of Mayfair #2)
  • Certain Threat (Protection Inc. #3)
  • What You Said to Me (Tree of Life #4)
  • The Bells of New Cheltenham
See similar books…
363 followers
Melissa Wardwell resides in Owosso, Michigan with her husband and three teen-aged children.
She doesn't mind alternating between the world of writing and the reality of being a mother, but she would rather sit with a good book or a good friend and a cup of coffee.
When she isn't penning works of fiction, she is busy reviewing books for her blog, Back Porch Reads.
To see more from Melissa Wardwell,
...more

Other books in the series

Merriweather Island (6 books)
  • Dual Power of Convenience (Merriweather Island #1)
  • Secret Beach Boyfriend (Merriweather Island #3)
  • Her Merriweather Hero (Merriweather Island #4)
  • Mishaps Off the Mainland (Merriweather Island #5)
  • Restoring Fairhaven (Merriweather Island #6)

Related Articles

Readers have a lot to look forward to this year! Just feast your eyes upon all of these debut books to check out and emerging authors to...
32 likes · 19 comments