Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Nightmare Thief (The Nightmare Thief, #1)” as Want to Read:
The Nightmare Thief (The Nightmare Thief, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Nightmare Thief

(The Nightmare Thief #1)

by
4.83  ·  Rating details ·  18 ratings  ·  9 reviews
In the tradition of Natalie Lloyd and Ingrid Law comes a whimsical debut about a girl, her family's dream shop, and a nightmare thief determined to change the course of her life as she knows it.

Maren Partridge loves working in her family's dream shop where she can hand-craft any dream imaginable. The shop has only one rule. Dreams cannot be given to a person without their
...more
Kindle Edition, 304 pages
Expected publication: January 2021 by Sourcebooks Young Readers
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Nightmare Thief, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Nightmare Thief

Community Reviews

Showing 1-48
Average rating 4.83  · 
Rating details
 ·  18 ratings  ·  9 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Nightmare Thief (The Nightmare Thief, #1)
Simi Sunny
Aug 11, 2020 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Sam Taylor
Jul 15, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Loved this!! Imaginative and engaging middle grade fantasy featuring a heartfelt sister story that will leave you with all the feels, a dream-witch granny, a scheming ballerina, a second chance with a former friend, and a parrot with attitude who insults people in French. Highly recommend!
Lynn
Jun 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I just finished reading the ARC and loved it! After school Maren works in her family's typewriter repair shop, and also in the shop in back where she helps her grandmother prepare dreams for sale. Not such an odd thing when you come from a town known for its magical qualities. Up to now, she has led a pretty normal life with school, tap dancing lessons and family but she and her best friend have fallen out, and a car accident has put her older sister, Hallie into a coma from which recovery does ...more
Payal Doshi
Aug 09, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I was lucky to be able to receive an ARC of THE NIGHTMARE THIEF and I just finished reading it! And oooh did I love it!

THE NIGHTMARE THIEF is one of those books where you wait for any free time you get and rush to read it even if you can squeeze in only two pages. It is a wonderful story of family especially sisters--I absolutely adored Haley and Maren's relationship--sprinkled with a magical, mysterious dose of a family with the ability to create dreams and nightmares. This story is poignant, t
...more
Alysa
Jul 24, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I was fortunate to read an arc of this wonderfully imaginative MG debut.

Maren lives in a marvelously magical town and spends her free time working in her grandmother's shop, learning how to mix and make dreams for sale. But not everything about Maren's life is marvelous -- she's lost her best friend to a bully and even worse, her older sister, who lies in the hospital in a coma.
Desperate to help her sister, Maren devises a plan she's confident will help heal her sister, even as it breaks her g
...more
Kate Foster
Jul 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing
What a wonderful, magical, clever, dark, twisty story. Maren is THE perfect protagonist - vulnerable, creative, motivated - and she's surrounded by a cast of fully realised and well-rounded characters. It's a wonderfully smart and original story. This is definitely my kind of book and if you love something a little bit different with the fabulous layering of magic and darkness, this is the perfect book for you!
Lorelei Savaryn
Aug 15, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This is a wonderfully whimsical, magical, sweet, and a sprinkle of spooky middle grade read. Maren's relationship with her grandma and her sister are just a couple of highlights, and the author's way with descriptions really makes the quirky, magical town Maren lives in come to life. Obscura is truly a villain to be feared and the way the imaginative dream magic interweaves with the plot creates a very satisfying conclusion. Can't wait to share this one with my kids!
Jessica Vitalis
Jul 28, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I was lucky enough to read an ARC of this book and loved every word of it! Filled with dreams and nightmares, a sassy French-speaking parrot, and a moth-controlling villain, this magical, heartfelt story is reminiscent of Ingrid Law's work (and since she's one of my favs, that is saying something)!
Chad Lucas
Aug 05, 2020 rated it it was amazing
The Nightmare Thief has such a richly crafted world, where whimsical magic comes with dark undertones. Full of spooky twists, memorable characters and a stand-out villain, this is a perfect read for fans of books like The Night Gardener.
Nicole Lesperance
May 07, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Jesse Sutanto
rated it it was amazing
Jun 25, 2019
Steven Salvatore
rated it it was amazing
Apr 14, 2020
Margot Harrison
rated it it was amazing
Mar 02, 2020
Addie Thorley
rated it it was amazing
Aug 22, 2020
*Maria Starkova*
rated it it was amazing
Jul 19, 2020
Becca
rated it liked it
Jul 13, 2020
China
rated it it was amazing
Mar 05, 2020
Simon Fennex
rated it it was amazing
May 07, 2020
Megan Conway
marked it as to-read
Feb 22, 2020
Lisa Dees
marked it as to-read
May 09, 2020
Tova
added it
May 22, 2020
Madamevil
marked it as to-read
Jun 04, 2020
Tiffanie Dang
marked it as to-read
Jun 15, 2020
Kara
marked it as to-read
Jul 20, 2020
Dax
marked it as to-read
Jul 23, 2020
Maggie
marked it as to-read
Jul 26, 2020
Emily Kaczor
marked it as to-read
Aug 10, 2020
Richard Cardenas
marked it as to-read
Aug 22, 2020
Sarah
added it
Aug 23, 2020
Kat Ice
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2020
Fiona
marked it as to-read
Aug 31, 2020
Josh
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Jessica Rinker
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Shveta Thakrar
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Jennifer Moffett
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Katie Carroll
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Nina Rossing
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Aj
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Elisabeth
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Kate O'Shaughnessy
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Angela
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
K.A.
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Candace Jean
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Shannon
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Ezra
marked it as to-read
Jun 22, 2019
Amanda Sellet
marked it as to-read
Jun 22, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • From the Desk of Zoe Washington
  • The Circus of Stolen Dreams
  • A Wilder Magic
  • The Crossover
  • Piranesi
  • Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell
  • A Girl Made of Air
  • The Court of Miracles (Court of Miracles, #1)
  • Seven Devils (Seven Devils, #1)
  • Goldilocks
  • The Library of the Unwritten (Hell's Library #1)
  • A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin, #1)
  • Dear Martin (Dear Martin, #1)
  • Crave (Crave, #1)
  • Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
  • The Midnight Bargain
  • Cemetery Boys
  • House of Dragons (House of Dragons, #1)
See similar books…
14 followers
Nicole grew up on Cape Cod and graduated from Wesleyan University. She spent a few years in London and now lives near Boston with her husband, two kids, and two rambunctious black cats. Her MG debut, THE NIGHTMARE THIEF, will be published by Sourcebooks Young Readers In January 2021. Her YA debut, THE WIDE STARLIGHT, will be published by Razorbill in February 2021.

Related Articles

As serious bookworms know, autumn reading is particularly rewarding. The days get shorter, the air gets cooler, and curling up with a...
374 likes · 168 comments