Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Reformed Vampire Support Group” as Want to Read:
The Reformed Vampire Support Group
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Reformed Vampire Support Group

(Paranormal Support Groups #1)

3.49  ·  Rating details ·  5,038 ratings  ·  831 reviews
Think vampires are romantic, sexy, and powerful? Think again. Vampires are dead. And unless they want to end up staked, they have to give up fanging people, admit their addiction, join a support group, and reform themselves.

Nina Harrison, fanged at fifteen and still living with her mother, hates the Reformed Vampire Support Group meetings every Tuesday night. Even if she d
...more
Hardcover, 368 pages
Published April 20th 2009 by Harcourt Children's Books (first published 2009)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Reformed Vampire Support Group, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Lynna I don't think that this book can really be judged in comparison to other vampire romance novels. It's more like a coming of age novel except that they…moreI don't think that this book can really be judged in comparison to other vampire romance novels. It's more like a coming of age novel except that they are vampires. In many cases, vampires are used in novels to represent desires of humans to be immortal and beautiful. This book uses vampires to represent a different aspect of human nature, the vulnerable and frail side of it. It addresses this subject in a unique and humorous way, which is why I love this book. Though I do like the paranormal romance genre, I don't think this book necessarily speaks to the fans of that genre.(less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.49  · 
Rating details
 ·  5,038 ratings  ·  831 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Reformed Vampire Support Group
Miranda Reads
Jan 19, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: ya-series, audiobook
description

Contrary to popular opinion, vampires are not sexy, romantic, or powerful. In case you hadn't noticed, vampires are dead.
Nina Harrison, age 15 (on the outside) and age 50ish (on the inside) is a vampire. But, unfortunately, vampires in real life are far from Hollywood's vision.
The plain fact is, I can't do anything much. That's part of the problem. Vampires are meant to be so glamorous..."
Nina lives with her (human) mother, who took to Nina's vampiric infection surprisingly well - which
...more
Vinaya
Once upon a time, there lived a young, handsome vampire. This vampire, let's call him Eddie, was a beautiful specimen of manhood, glowing with health and vitality. He was blessed with several superpowers, not the least of which was an ability to attract ordinary-looking, pale-faced teenage vampire wanna-bes. And that was only the least of Eddie's talents. He could also... *gasp*... read minds! He sparkled like a diamond in the sun, he never needed any sleep and he was insanely physically powerfu ...more
TL
Mar 19, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition

---

Another "Try something different" from Overdrive app... latter half or so finished via paperback.

I originally downloaded this to cheer up my friend Jessie while I stayed with her (long and personal story) but we never got to it. Instead, I listened to this for my whole two hour drive back from her place to keep me awake. It made the whole drive go by quicker and I found myself sucked in fairly quickly.

We all have the 'normal' image of vampires stuck in our heads... glamorous, evil, sometimes
...more
CeJayCe
Oct 24, 2010 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: given-up
I wanted to like this book. I really did. But I just...couldn't.

Let me start off by saying that Jinks's take on vampires is very original and a nice change of pace from the recent glamorous outlook the YA genre has given them.

But when you have a bunch of "supernatural" characters with no real special abilities or talents, (not to mention a whiny, depressed main character who doesn't seem to like anyone, and a bunch of annoying, angry side characters) it makes for pretty boring reading. Honestly,
...more
Namera [The Literary Invertebrate]
I can't even properly express what an incredible and original book this is.

Here's a TOTALLY new twist on vampires. The heroine, Nina, is technically 15 but she was infected as a vampire back in 1973, so she's actually 51. She's part of the Reformed Vampire Support Group which consists of all the vampires in Australia (there are only like seven of them) meeting weekly to discuss issues ad nauseam.

The thing is, being a vampire isn't great at all. It means you're constantly weak, tired, scared, and
...more
Jackie "the Librarian"
I really enjoyed this one. These vampires are NOT: sexy, powerful, mesmerizing, scary, or in any way sparkly. These vampires are sickly misfits who whine a lot, trying to get by without biting anyone, living off of guinea pigs (they breed fast) and attending their support group meetings every Tuesday.

Nina was bit as a teenager, and still lives at home with her mom. She writes vampire novels to earn her keep, but she doesn't like being a vampire, or vampires in general. They're all such losers!
...more
Mary Weber
I’m not swearing Catherine Jinks wrote The Reformed Vampire Support Group as a parody of the Twilight universe. I’m just calling it as I see it.

If you hate Twilight, chances are you’ll love this book. And if you’re Twi-obsessed, well, then, I’ll give you a 60% possibility of enjoyment. Consider it Twilight on a bad LSD trip.

What’s different? Hmm. Well . . . imagine your mom as a vampire. The mom you know and love and shudder at when she walks around at seven in the morning in curlers and a hair-
...more
Allison
Mar 04, 2009 rated it liked it
This is a comedy of reformed vampires who become tangled in a mystery involving a slain vampire friend, two greedy gamblers, a werewolf, and an oddball vampire-obsessed murderer. Will they have enough guinea pigs to get them through the ordeal? Will vampire Nina's human Mom be able to handle the stress of a coven of vampires in her home? Will Nina see that Dave is more than a former band member now vampire? Will there be new members in the support group? This book is funny as anything! A few slo ...more
Terence
Purely random impulse buy from the used-book shelf at the library.

You really can't go wrong for a dollar but this book turned out to be rather good. I enjoyed Jinks' deglamourization of vampires & Nina is a likable narrator.
...more
Sesana
Mar 25, 2011 rated it liked it
Shelves: young-adult, fantasy
This book, like so many others, begins with the author proclaiming, "Everything you know about vampires is wrong!" and ends up leaving readers with the impression that nearly everything they knew about readers is, in fact, right.

Jinks's vampires do sleep during the day, drink blood, create other vampires when they feed on humans, and can be killed by being staked. In most ways, traditional vampires. They've also chosen to (or been coerced into) following a non-human diet, complete with the supp
...more
Zain Abdullah
Apr 28, 2013 rated it it was ok
This book was practically oozing with potential. I mean, it had a decent concept and it was done by Catherine Jinks, who happens to be one of my favorite authors because of her Evil Genius trilogy. But this book isn't Evil Genius.
Unfortunately.
The book never actually went anywhere, like I was expecting it to. The entire time I was practically bored out of my mind, and I had to force myself to finish it because I was hoping that it might eventually get good. At the time, I didn't know how wrong I
...more
Leo
Feb 25, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: humor, 2014
This was a nice book, I enjoyed it a lot. The reformed vampires were a lot of fun and this wasn't the typical vampire story where they are so cool, can fly and sparkle (ok, that's lame). There are actually quite inconvenienced by the disadvantages of being a vampire. They were very relatable and I liked all the characters. Even the villains turned out to be very funny. The protagonist, Nina, learned a few thing about herself and being a vampire that made the character grow throughout the book an ...more
Christina (A Reader of Fictions)
I have been looking forward to reading this book for a while, especially so since I saw the cover for the companion novel, The Abandoned Werewolf Support Group. I expected Catherine Jinks to be really funny, and hoped that this would be a good readalike for S. G. Browne's Breathers (which deals with zombies). Very much to my disappointment, it was not.

The main problem is that Jinks goes too far in her attempt to deromanticize vampires. She wants to make them everything that's unlikable, pretty m
...more
Aaron
Sep 08, 2009 rated it really liked it
Catherine Jinks has always had a knack for creating quirky and bizarre characters, and she has done right that with her first attempt at vampire literature. In fact, she has completely rewritten the way people view vampires. Her hero is a Nina, who appears to be just 15, but has been a vampire in Australia for decades. Unfortunately, that means everyone around her, whether her senior citizen mother or the other vamps insist on treating her as a child.

Nina is also not on her own. She has a suppor
...more
Lindley Walter-smith
Sep 30, 2012 rated it it was ok
It might seem odd that my major issue with a YA vampire book is ableism, but... it really is.

This book uses the tired old "Vampirism=AIDS" metaphor. Not that you have to be very perceptive to figure this out, because the author comes right out and tells you "Vampirism is like having AIDS." (This is typical, by the way - Jinks doesn't trust her readers to figure out *anything*, so she spells out the perfectly obvious over and over.) So, what are these vampires like? Not just (hilariously, apparen
...more
Susan
Jun 13, 2010 rated it liked it
Shelves: juvenile, young-adult
What if a vampire was one of us? In a stark contrast to Stephenie Meyer's glam, sparkling crew of magazine-ready vamps, Jinks assembles a motley crew of regular-folk bloodsuckers. No superpowers here, no instant undead makeovers, this gang is stunted at wherever, whoever they were when they were transformed, warts and all. The situation would make for a refreshing (and funny)change of pace save for the one unfortunate catch: turns out a reading about a ragtag band of fairly run-of-the-mill sadsa ...more
Kandice
Feb 07, 2015 rated it really liked it
This book was fun. It wasn't a smashing good time, but absolutely fun. Jinks has a new take on Vampires. Not only are they not indestructibly beautiful, sexy and dangerous, they are positively pitiably weak and the absolute opposite of dangerous.

Jinks' vamps are infected with the vamp virus. This results in their literally puking up their guts and becoming unable to digest anything but blood. They bleed from their bodily orifices if exposed to too bright an artificial light, and many other weakl
...more
Arya
Apr 26, 2010 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Nina
Shelves: fantasy
Oh finally someone decided to name the main character of a book Nina! I have been waiting for this FOREVER!!

Nina is a vampire (this just gets better and better . . . ) and she is part of the Reformed Vampire Support Group, where the poor, infected vampires get together to bemoan their fate. Nina is very annoyed with all of the vampires in her support group. They never:
• Go anywhere
• Do anything
• Change
• Treat her like an adult
In Nina’s world there is nothing glamorous about being a vampire. Sure
...more
Steph
Aug 06, 2009 rated it it was amazing
Nina has been fifteen since 1973, when she was infected by a rogue vampire, but instead of the glamorous, superhuman life that television and Nina’s novels suggest, her life as a vampire has been boring and sickly so far.

Then Casimir, the vampire responsible for infecting half of the reformed vampire support group he’s a member of, is found dead in his coffin – staked and reduced to dust – and the boring life Nina loathes is suddenly threatened. With a vampire-slayer at large, the support group
...more
Nat
Jul 08, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Okay, for months I have refused to read any sort of vampire book after the Cirque Du Freak series, the blue bloods series, and several other Twilight knock offs (not saying Cirque is a Twilight knock off because it most definitely is NOT). People have said good things about the Vampire Diaries and my best friend is begging me to read the Vampire Academy and another is telling me about the House of Night and I CAN'T TAKE VAMPIRES ANYMORE. So when I picked The Reformed Vampire Support Group, I tho ...more
Emma Lauren
Dec 11, 2012 rated it did not like it
The Reformed Vampire Support Group by Catherine Jinks, was... frankly... really disappointing. I was expecting a new twist on the classic tale of vampires, and all I got was a poorly written "memoir" of the events of an over fifty-year-old woman in a fifteen-year-old body. The characters in this novel were so strange. Not because of who they actually were, but because they were focussed on, or never talked about, and then brought up later like you should know their entire backstory. This book ha ...more
The Library Lady
Apr 21, 2009 rated it did not like it
Shelves: ya-books
I don't get the infatuation with vampires and zombies. I don't find the undead sexy.
And apparently neither does Catherine Jinks.

Her vampires are not Byronic dreams of manhood, or Miley Cyrus types minus the suntan.

They can never go out--even on a cloudy day because they automatically blackout at sunrise. They have health problems galore, have to get their blood supply in a very icky way involving guinea pigs (PETA would hate them)and spend most of their time awake watching bad TV--or in heroine
...more
Johanna Freivalds
Mar 12, 2012 rated it did not like it
I read this book as part of a young reader's choice teen lit class and while the book is not unreadable, I just really didn't enjoy it all that much. Part of the class was deciding how the book could be used as a novel study with students. In my opinion, there just isn't enough "good stuff" to make it novel-study worthy. This book would probably be better suited as a book club selection (or even used as a basis for small-group biblio-therapy discussions) rather than an as in-depth novel study. T ...more
Miss Clark
Jul 27, 2009 rated it it was ok
Well, at least it has a change-up in the regular vampire rountine; this time around the vampires are neither glamorous nor powerful, but rather pathetic, miserable individuals whose lives have been ruined by the vampiric disease from which they suffer. Between the headaches, nausea and a whole host of other ills, the diet of enzyme supplements and guinea pigs, the weakness and the limited life choices, it is a wonder any of these people want to stick around. But they do, and they are "reformed," ...more
Jennifer Wardrip
Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

Forget everything you knew about vampires. They are not sexy, stylish, rich, or powerful.

Nina has been a 15-year-old since 1973 when she was first turned into a vampire. Now she attends vampire support group meetings with her fellow vamps, who are sickly and living off the blood of guinea pigs. It's not a fancy life at all!

Nina's life is boring (although she does use her experience as a vampire to write vampire fiction). So whe
...more
Arminzerella
I gave up around 160 pages in. This was entertaining as a plot device - making vampires out to be these tormented miserable creatures who eke out a living sucking on guinea pigs. Except that I really like guinea pigs and it was sort of horrible to imagine their cheerful wheeks turning to terrified squeals. Right. Anyway. There's nothing wrong with this book except that it's a bit slow (I don't have the patience for it). I'd say maybe I'll return to it later, but with all of the other things on m ...more
Erica
I don't know why I chose this. I walked into the teen room and stated, "I do not want to read any more books about anything even vaguely supernatural. No more fairies, no more werewolves and certainly no more vampires!"
And I walked out with this.
Let's hope it's funny, otherwise, I'm going to start staking people through the heart (not really).

This was a cute little story - I liked the idea that vampires have a blood disease and need a support group, a group that helps them learn how to cope with
...more
Deb
Nina belongs to a vampire reform group. The vampires exist on guinea pigs instead of human blood, and it's run by a not vampire priest. One of the members of the support group is destroyed while he slept and it's up to Nina to figure out who and why. The imagined life of these vampires is different from any other. I picked it up because I love the title, but it doesn't quite life up.
Jim
This book should have had more humor. I mean, it was an interesting read and all, but it needed less drama and more funny. So much potential with a Australian reformed vampire support group.

But the writing was well done. This author uses great descriptive language. And I think some of the best descriptions I've ever heard of what it might be like to have a vampire's cravings.
Rebecca McNutt
Apr 20, 2015 rated it liked it
This book was rather odd, but for what it was, I enjoyed it. I really didn't care for Nina (she was whiny and spoiled), but I loved the other characters and Nina's mom was hilarious. The Australia setting was vividly written and the book itself was incredibly humorous and crazy.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Quickbook Support Number Ireland 1 1 Dec 13, 2019 02:51AM  
Printer Repair Service Number Ireland 1 1 Dec 13, 2019 02:47AM  
Madison Mega-Mara...: #12 The Reformed Vampire Support Group by Catherine Jinks 1 5 Feb 12, 2015 09:03PM  
Graphic Novel? 4 23 Nov 09, 2012 11:12AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Boy Nobody (The Unknown Assassin, #1)
  • Ditched: A Love Story
  • You Should See Me in a Crown
  • Going Bovine
  • The True Meaning of Smekday
  • Runaway Retriever (Pet Trouble, #1)
  • Cliffhanger (Adventure, #1)
  • Alive
  • Sundae Girl
  • Dork Diaries 15: Tales from a Not-So-Posh Paris Adventure
  • Charisma
  • Gollum: How We Made Movie Magic
  • Adventures among dreams
  • The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug - Visual Companion
  • Finding God in the Land of Narnia
  • The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies - Official Movie Guide
  • Neil Gaiman and Charles Vess' Stardust #1
  • Companion to Narnia: A Complete Guide to the Magical World of C.S. Lewis's The Chronicles of Narnia
See similar books…
466 followers
Catherine Jinks is the Australian author of more than thirty books for all ages. She has garnered many awards, including the Children’s Book Council of Australia Book of the Year Award(three times), the Victorian Premier’s Award, the Aurealis Award for Science Fiction, the Australian Ibby Award, and the Davitt Award for Crime Fiction. Her work has been published in Australia, New Zealand, Britain, ...more

Other books in the series

Paranormal Support Groups (2 books)
  • The Abused Werewolf Rescue Group

News & Interviews

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our lis...
54 likes · 18 comments
“When someone's rattling on about blocked toilets, collapsing marquees, and penis-shaped birthday cakes, it's hard to convince yourself that you're in a life-or-death situation.” 17 likes
“Horace, however, had arrayed himself in a Gothic assortment of crushed velvet, black satin, and patent leather that shouldn't have been allowed in my view. He might as well have I AM A VAMPIRE embroidered across the front of his watered-silk waistcoat. An outfit like that is going to get him staked one of these days; it's exactly what Boris Karloff would have worn, if he had joined the cast of Rocky Horror Motion Picture Show.” 6 likes
More quotes…