Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Album (Cruise Control, #1)” as Want to Read:
The Album (Cruise Control, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Album

(Cruise Control #1)

by
3.84  ·  Rating details ·  272 ratings  ·  120 reviews
What happens when you fall in love with a rock star?

Ariana Chamberlain just wanted a peaceful life. She'd had her taste of living life in the fast lane with rock star, Gabriel Knight, and she'd walked away. She was just aiming to survive letting him go and move on with her life.

That is, until the day she wins tickets to his concert. The smart thing to do would be to declin
...more
Paperback, 288 pages
Published March 14th 2020 by Sian Ceinwen
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.84  · 
Rating details
 ·  272 ratings  ·  120 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Album (Cruise Control, #1)
Kathy
Apr 14, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Demetra
*ARC kindly provided via NetGalley. This is my honest opinion.*

WOW. JUST WOW!!!! What an amazing story!

Gabriel is the lead singer of the band Cruise Control. A seemingly bad boy but with a heart of gold. Ariane is a real estator. She’s been trying for a while to forget her time with Gabriel. Two years after she ran away, she finds herself at a Cruise Control concert.

This is the story of how they ended here! I loved how the book was written. It’s sectioned like a music album and every chapter is
...more
Alexis (The Book Democracy)
I really enjoyed reading this. I'm a sucker for the famous guy trope. I do wish there was more of the story based in the present time. The flashbacks were alright, I didn't mind getting their back story but again I wanted it to more about them now. I was sucked in while reading, I could put the book down. I would say if you like the famous, celebrity trope and don't mind flashbacks to give this story a read! ...more
beautyliterate
2/5 stars

Flewwww through this book. Currently up at 1am to write this review because I could not stop reading. While, I enjoyed the essence of the story I felt certain things fell flat. The writing, while I enjoyed back and forth felt at times jumbled with the flow of the story. I ultimately felt overall, we got know our main character but not really feel for her as I was expecting to. I think yes, I can understand certain actions and decisions but her past self was driving me up a wall. I did f
...more
Jeannie Zelos
Mar 19, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The Album, A Cruise Control Novel, Sian Ceinwen V2

Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

Genre: Romance, Women's Fiction

OK, start with my usual moan. Women's Fiction – why? Men write romance, men read romance., 'nuff said...

So, this trope is a real favourite of mine and I really enjoyed Sian's writing style. I had a few issues with the way the story was delivered in the first version. As Sian has continued the series, this book has been rewritten to make it fit the rest of the series better, and
...more
Daena Guest
Feb 16, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2020
4.5 stars - Ariana Chamberlain is a real estate agent with a secret or two up her sleeve. She’s hard working and loves her job. However, When she wins tickets to the hottest gig in town- the final concert for internationally acclaimed band Cruise Control- she has to come face to face with one of those secrets. Or in this case, one man, Gabriel Knight, the bands front man. Her delicious ex-boyfriend, whose heart she broke.

Looking back on lots of mistakes the couple made, ultimately leading to Ga
...more
Kathryn Manzella
The Album by Sian Ceinwen is the first book in the Cruise Control series - a Rockstar romance. Ariana and Gabriel's love story is one of intense heat, amazing love, but also insecurity, angst and emotion. I found the characters interesting and relatable in ways- Ariana's fears are understandable, even if at times the reader may want to shake her and tell her to get over it and realize how much Gabriel is all in. And Gabriel is amazingly sweet and understanding, and steamy. I am excited to get to ...more
Melissa
Feb 15, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The Album had me hooked from beginning to end! It was a roller coaster of emotion! I laughed. I cried. I rolled my eyes. It was a refreshing read! My only downside is that I couldn’t go straight in to the second book!
Mesmerised
Apr 08, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Just like Lead Me Back by C D Reiss, even though it is a debut novel, still it has everything. the road, the music and a well-structured plot! The magical yet normal lives of being a celibrity, and love with its all messiness!
Char (1RadReader59)
Just out of college and full of sassy, pissy, and jaded when it comes to the rich and famous. This is bad news for her since her uncle is a world-famous actor and the root of all this crassness. You see he had a wandering eye causing his family to live with rag stories and paparazzi around every corner.

Leaving her favorite aunt and cousins in tears and embarrassment. So, at nine she swore never to put herself ever in a position to ever live in a situation where she could be hurt like that. Leavi
...more
Divia
Mar 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Chris Russell meets Anna Todd in this teen boyband romance that's heartfelt, steamy and fast-paced

Boyband romances are my guilty pleasure so I absolutely devoured The Album in less than 48 hours. It brings me great pleasure to write this review:

The Album is the first book in the book in the Cruise Control series for teens 18+. After an unexpected encounter at a charity gala, recent-graduate Ariana Chamberlain finds herself swept into a consuming and steamy around-the-world romance with Gabriel
...more
Divia
Mar 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Chris Russell meets Anna Todd in this teen boyband romance that's heartfelt, steamy and fast-paced

Boyband romances are my guilty pleasure so I absolutely devoured The Album in less than 48 hours. It brings me great pleasure to write this review:

The Album is the first book in the Cruise Control series for teens 18+. After an unexpected encounter at a charity gala, recent-graduate Ariana Chamberlain finds herself swept in a consuming and steamy around-the-world romance with Gabriel Knight, lead
...more
Emily (Mrs B's Books)
**My thanks to the author and Hidden Gems for providing me with a free copy for an honest review**

This is a totally new to me author and this is her debut book. It did take me a couple of chapters to get into her writing style, but once i did i was unable to put the book down.

The book is from Ariana's point of view and follows her on her journey as she first meets Gabriel at a charity event until they finally get their happy ever after.

Ariana is basically a little jaded with having a famous uncl
...more
Lilly
Mar 22, 2020 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
I'm going to DNF this book due to two main reasons:

1. The structure of the book is too messy as it is. I can understand that the author wants to give us little snippets of the past in order to better explain how the protagonist met the boy, but doing that every two or three pages is annoying and confusing. In my opinion, at least we should be able to have a whole chapter about the present and a whole chapter (equally long) about the past to balance the story. Otherwise, the novel lacks cohesive
...more
Deborah
May 26, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
When I started this book, I was ambivalent. Another rock star romance, ho hum. I knew this was more than another rock star romance when I started arguing with Ariana that they were getting too close too fast, that with her family history with celebrity, this was a big mistake. So, the basic premise is somewhat common. How the author develops it is not so common. Oh, I could argue that some things happen without bringing the reader along, without giving us a chance to understand. But the characte ...more
Coco.V
Nov 19, 2020 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: freebie
🎁 FREE on Amazon today (11/19/2020)! 🎁
Jayli Carmichael


"That's easy for you to say, isn't it? You knew what you wanted from your life, and you got it. Why would you bother with door number three?"

After the first two chapters of this book, I had decided to stop reading this and put it as a DNF. But, my instinct told me to keep on reading. So I did. I ended up finishing this book, and liking it. I really liked the idea of this book, and the plot. But, the characters on the other hand, I was not a fan. Let's take a closer look. 😊

Summary:

"What happen
...more
Kathy
Apr 19, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was a quick read. Fun premise but a bit choppy in the back and forth between past and present, would have liked a better flow to the story. Very stereotypical characters at times which was annoying. Overall, good story and glad I read it
SELINA
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Arti
The story is simple and written well. The characters are realistic but I wanted to know more about Gabriel. Ariana’s back story reveals a bit about her. The secondary characters have a part to play and I feel, all the other members of the band deserve a story of their own. The language is simple and the story, though long, is unputdownable. As the story progressed, I felt it was too good to be true and was expecting something to happen. The end was a bit abrupt, but HEA worked for me,
The chapter
...more
Giofab21
Jun 07, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
When introverted Ariana meets her favourite band that are about to hit it big, especially Gabriel their lead singer, they hit it off too well that when he asks her out she doesn't think twice even though she has major issues with fame and lack of privacy. Soon after he invites her to join him on tour and she soon realizes she's just jumped into the deep end and doesn't like it. All throughout the book I found myself falling more and more for Gabriel and less and less for Ariana. Her insecurities ...more
Lizbeth
Apr 03, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Donna Getzandanner
Okay, so here’s the thing….I was thinking the book started a little slow. By a quarter of the way into the storyline, I began to get engaged with the growing array of characters. They had taken on a life of their own by then.
Somewhere between then and the halfway mark, I reached for a tissue. Not unusual. Emotions were running a little on the high side. At that point, I started falling in love with these unique characters. Then BOOM!*!* All of a sudden. I’m ugly crying and looking for a second
...more
Cal Archer
Mar 19, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I'm not one who usually reads romance, and this one was recommended to me so bear that in mind.

Ariana's one-foot-out-the-door approach to her relationship frustrated me to no end, and I honestly expected the book to end with her having made absolutely no progress in fixing that. Thankfully, I was proven wrong there and I'd be lying if I said I wasn't cheering through that epilogue.

Overall, I enjoyed it enough to feel like I would read it again and continue through the series. I am a little disap
...more
Tommie G
Apr 02, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Gabe and Ari

This book kept me riveted and was truly one i couldn’t put down. Their love was intense but her fears were even more intense. I felt like I fought their battles with them. Their love was pure and real but Ari’s fears almost destroyed them. Finally they have their HEA and I can breathe again. A must read book and series.
Donna
Sep 15, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
What an enjoyable read. I was hooked within the first chapter. This story was cute and fast paced. Just the way I like it. Full of emotions; I laughed, i cried, I got mad, and laughed some more.

I received an advance review copy for free, and I am leaving this review voluntarily.
Reads A-Lot
Ariana’s colleague was excited over a band’s upcoming performance—Cruise Control. She pretended not to know them, but, of course, Ariana knew them all too well. She never expected to win VIP tickets to their concert. The only thing on her mind was dread over seeing Gabriel, whom she hadn’t seen or heard of in 2 years. Back in the day, she used to work as a roadie with the band, then became something more with Gabriel.

When Ariana first met Gabriel, she was star-struck, like every other girl. At f
...more
Karen
May 28, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I thought it was a little more in-depth on Arianna's feeling or POV which was of a frustrating insecure college age woman who was thrown into touring with her boyfriend on his band touring the country. I honestly understood her frustration and could tell Gabe did not know how to handle but book didn't give any of Gabe's POV. He just comes away as super in love but clueless.

All feelings seemed honest of Ari's and I appreciated author's use of repeating Ari's fears to show depth of her pain. Glad
...more
Sandra Bain
ARC review.
A 1st novel for Sian Ceinwen.

The Albumn is written from a third party view which was almost as annoying as the heroine. For the 1st 70% of the book I struggled with the immaturity and drama of Ariana. I did not like her. The Rocker hero Gabe, someone just a little too sweet, loved her unconditionally and all I kept thinking was WHY????

On top of the dramatics I missed the grit and mess of a good Rock and Roll novel. I missed descriptive scenes so real you can smell the streets of Ne
...more
Kelly DeMarco
Youth and fear wreak havoc on love

The Album (A Cruise Control Novel) by Sian Ceinwen is an interesting single POV romance and rock and roll novel. Ariana, the female lead in this book, is young and conflicted. She is full of self doubt and negative talk. The bright spot in this book, Gabe, is a rock star and head over heels in love with Ariana. This Rock God goes above and beyond in all things to make Ariana happy and comfortable. Romantic, considerate, kind and very sexy!
This book is very well
...more
« previous 1 3 4 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: Please create series 3 14 Sep 10, 2020 03:07AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Endless: Ty & Zoey (Less Than Zero, #1)
  • Limitless: Jace & Alex (Less Than Zero, #2)
  • Keeping Time (Steelwolf #2)
  • Saving Maddox (Shadow Phoenix #3)
  • Love Song (LA Rock Star Romance #2)
  • Finding Zen (Shadow Phoenix #1)
  • Loving True (Shadow Phoenix #2)
  • Heartbreak Beat (LA Rock Star Romance #1)
  • Fractured Rhythm (Steelwolf, #1)
  • Fractured Hearts (Fractured Rock Star #1)
  • Storm
  • Mile High Club (Rockstar Romance #1)
  • Dissonance (Unrequited, #3)
  • Reckless Invitation (The Reckless Rockstar #2)
  • Hard Rock Desires (Until We Break Book 1)
  • Dirty Rocker
  • Playing Jericho (Shadow Phoenix #4)
  • Broken (Rockstar Romance #3)
See similar books…
90 followers
I'm an indie author that writes steamy romance novels about rock stars.

I live in Western Australia with my husband and two sons. Physically. Mentally, I live in a world of rock stars and romance where everyone is crazy hot and rich as heck.

My dad used to tell me that I lived in a fantasy world...now I get to share that world with other people. I hope that you enjoy entering the worlds I create and
...more

Other books in the series

Cruise Control (3 books)
  • The Wedding (Cruise Control, #2)
  • The Baby (Cruise Control, #3)

Related Articles

Punk rock legend, Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee, award-winning writer, photographer, activist, and all-around Renaissance woman Patti Smith is...
193 likes · 24 comments
“The world is your oyster, sweetheart, you just have to pick the pearl you want.” 0 likes
“At what point in our relationship will you give in, Ari? How many years would we need to be together before you would feel comfortable telling the world about us?” 0 likes
More quotes…