Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Bittersweet” as Want to Read:
Bittersweet
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Bittersweet

by
4.39  ·  Rating details ·  72 ratings  ·  60 reviews

“Your time will arrive. And when it does, nature will make up for everything it has kept you away from.”

Roshan is a songwriter by day and a fashion store assistant by night who offsets his average vocals with good lyrics often drawing inspiration from the worst heartbreaks of his life. Jilted by the love of his life and still reeling from past failures, he struggles t

...more
Paperback, 200 pages
Published August 19th 2019 by Vishwakarma Publications
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Bittersweet, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Bittersweet

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.39  · 
Rating details
 ·  72 ratings  ·  60 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Bittersweet
Pankaj Giri
Oct 10, 2019 rated it really liked it
I know Rajesh since he reviewed my book 'The Fragile Thread of Hope' long ago. I have been following his reviews, and I must say that he is a good, honest reviewer. I was pleasantly surprised when I came to know recently that he had written a book as well. I knew I had to read this one.

From the beginning few pages itself, I was hooked. The story is about a young man who works in a fashion store but is a talented songwriter and secretly desires to make it big in the music industry, his love life,
...more
Sanved
Apr 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: indian
Really amazing book

I chose to give it a 5 star rating, as the book gave me all I wanted, and even more.
The story is about a young artist, Roshan Rao, and his struggles with his demons.
He has two of his best friends to help him through.
This is a story of heartbreaks, love, friendship and success, not unaccompanied by struggles, of course.
Just one of the chapters didn't capture me. Rest of them had me.
The book presented a fairly happy ending, though that's just, after reading too much struggle
...more
Nithya K
Oct 31, 2019 rated it it was amazing
**Recommended in a group**

Bittersweet is Rajesh's debut book. The novel's protagonist is Roshan, a songwriter and salesperson. Writing songs and poetry since he was a teenager, Roshan lives life on his terms. He loves passionately, stands by his friends and fiercely pursues his dreams. Though, he does need some goading but he picks up the guitar and stuns people with his heart wrenching songs/lyrics once he gathers enough steam. Ragini, the woman who breaks up with Roshan and nearly destroys him
...more
Sumit
Mar 15, 2020 rated it really liked it
"My time will come. My time will come. And when it happens, I will finally get everything I have been deprived of. A career that I can proud of. A lover who sees the best in me."

"The point in my life -- meeting you and all when I needed someone -- it's bittersweet. I needed this."

"Life's beauty is in its uncertainty. There must be things about you that you've failed to see in yourself. Life will surprise you in ways you can't imagine."


Roshan Rao, a fashion store assistant is a struggling mus
...more
Samee
Mar 17, 2020 rated it it was amazing
NAME - BITTERSWEET

The book is a coming-of-age Novel.
It is the journey of Roshan aspiring to achieve his dreams.
The book significantly focus on the meaning of life, struggles, career, failures.

BOOK INSIGHTS -

Roshan is a songwriter by day and a fashion store assistant by night who offsets his average vocals with good lyrics often drawing inspiration from the worst heartbreaks of his life. Jilted by the love of his life and still reeling from past failures, he struggles to tap into his full potent
...more
Dhiraj Sindhi
Sep 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2019
Bittersweet is a piece of art, an art of storytelling through stirring thoughts, authentic dialogues, songs and a creative plot. Apart from that, Bittersweet is a work of contemporary fiction following the protagonist Roshan, who is an artiste with excellent songwriting skills and limited vocal talent. Bittersweet is narrated in first-person point of view and is narrated by Roshan only. The book is divided into two parts preceded by epigraphs. The writing style is really dope and complements the ...more
Shadangish Gupta
Sep 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Rajesh Konsam’s debut novel Bittersweet is about Roshan, a young man, in his mid 20’s. He is a struggling artist, a songwriter, who works as a fashion store assistant when he’s not writing a song!
I loved the book a lot, finished it in 2 sittings. (Which has become rare nowadays.)

The story starts as an average romance. He meets the girl, Shanaya. They take it slow, form the bonds, deepen the relationship, and all. As it progresses, he discovers things, that demand his decisions. Whether he should
...more
Booksndbrews
Sep 23, 2019 rated it really liked it
Let me begin by saying that I thoroughly enjoyed this book. This book was sent to me in exchange for an honest review.
The thing that surprised me the most about this book is how the author is so fluent with words. The reason I’m saying this is because this book is not just a love story but also has an amazing collection of poems. Each and every word in this book is so well sewn together.
The good things about this book were so many! First of all I like how the author managed to fit in all the p
...more
Pooja
Sep 25, 2019 rated it really liked it
Roshan Rao, a struggling musician, lives in city of dreams, Mumbai with his very supportive and understanding parents. He works as an salesman in a clothing's shop for pocket money. He writes really good songs and after his worst heartbreak, he keeps jotting down songs by drawing inspiration from his current situation. When everything is not happening good in his life, Shanaya, a beautiful artiste girl, comes into his life like a true inspiration. Soon they both fall for each others. She begins ...more
Deepanshi Sharma
Sep 26, 2019 rated it really liked it
Bittersweet by Rajesh Konsam

This is a tale of a very ordinary guy doing a part time job in a clothing store, struggling for a bright future. Rohan is also a songwriter and pens down all his feelings. After being betrayed in love and repeated failure, he becomes melancholic. One day, Shanaya, a young cheerful girl comes into his life. His life again fills with excitement, passion, love, emotion, etc. But, his life takes a sheer turn when he discovers bittersweet truths about his past.

This book ca
...more
Menaka Ramakrishnan
Oct 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Bittersweet by Rajesh Konsam is a lovely, relaxing book. It follows the day-to-day life of musician Roshan, who struggles a lot with his identity as an artist and with his past love. One day someone comes into his life, and his world view changes.

The book has romance, music and inspirational elements. I liked the first-person narrative and the words used were brilliant. The songs written by the protagonist, Roshan, were very relatable. Characters were well-etched, especially Roshan, and the supp
...more
Nitya Pallav
Nov 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Bittersweet- A mellifluous tale of life!

The title of this book is an emotion that anyone who has known love and heartbreak would be familiar with. Bittersweet lives up to its name and is a tale of life’s highs and lows from a very realistic perspective. There aren’t crazy meltdowns or major melodramatic scenes between Roshan and Shanaya! The story flows with ease and the plot twists are interesting. The first person narrative is refreshing. One easily identifies with Roshan’s turmoil, dilemmas,
...more
Ankur Chaudhary
Jan 05, 2020 rated it it was amazing
A mesmerizing love story with characters who look real - you will love them, hate them, adore them. Characters are strong yet vulnerable, every character is weaved cleverly into the story. A story of love, hate and passion. It is the story of Roshan and Ragini, who try to achieve their dream in Mumbai and have to part their ways, then comes Shanya in the life of Roshan and he fell in love again but Ragini comes back. What happens to the love triangle?

Can you love twice? Read - Bittersweet for th
...more
Rishi Vohra
Sep 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing
An inspirational book that not only compels us to follow our hearts and dreams, but also to never give up on the people we care about. Great twists, romance, drama and even lyrics - this book has it all! The writing is really good and the characters, endearing. A brilliant debut novel! An author who's here to stay!!! ...more
Gauri Nair
Mar 10, 2020 rated it it was amazing
A story of two different people with different paths but same destiny. In chaotic world of hard work, less opportunities, heartbreaks and loss of friends, will these two souls perish and win their life?
It's the story about Roshan and Shanaya. Roshan is an aspiring music artist whereas Shanaya is looking forward to her dream. Both of them have never imagined that life will gift each of them with the best person for whom they will keep their life for sake. With unknown turn of events, they find a
...more
Suparna Ghosh
Mar 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This book is a genuine mixture of well written story and beautiful poetry in the form of lyrics. One thing I would like to add and this is what it makes this book unique for me. I read many stories written by Indian authors but here some words used in this story were really unknown to me. The words carry its own beauty and I had to Google it😅....
The first part is little bit monotonous but it takes a whole new path in the second part.
Other than that you will feel mixed emotions through the lead
...more
Muskan Gupta
Feb 08, 2020 rated it really liked it

Book : Bittersweet
Author : Rajesh Konsam
Format : Paperback
No. Of pages : 198
Rating : 💟💟💟💟 (4.2/5)

___________________________________________________

This book focuses on a character named Roshan and his struggles full of ups and downs. As he makes progress, a harsh truth from his past stands in front of him to choose. In this journey he meets the other main character of the story i.e. Shanaya. Drawn close to each other by the beautiful string of creativity and art.
Roshan has been heart-broken
...more
New Book Reviewer
Feb 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing
The title is the perfect match for the book, as the book contains bitter truth of reality, compromises and sweet an innocent love story and love for passion. The book Bitter Sweet is filled with creative songs, interesting dialogue, overpowering thoughts. I liked the way the author has described the emotions of the characters and liked the realistic nature of the book. The book is easy to read and well explained. Overall it’s a sweet treat that will bring positivity in you as you read it, a wond ...more
Bookscorner.21
Sep 29, 2019 rated it really liked it
⁣🔖BOOK - BITTERSWEET⁣⁣⁣
⁣⁣⁣
🔖AUTHOR - Rajesh Konsam
⁣⁣⁣
🔖PUBLISHERS- Vishwakarma Publications
⁣⁣⁣
🔖BLURB - Roshan is a songwriter by day and a fashion store assistant by night who offsets his average vocals with good lyrics often drawing inspiration from the worst heartbreak of his life. His story is rewritten when he meets Shanaya, a feisty girl, whose love and acceptance bolster his confidence. But as Roshan makes progress, he discovers a harrowing truth about his past which can change his life fore
...more
The_bookish_blog
Dec 26, 2019 rated it really liked it
the_bookish_blog welcomes you 🌺
__________________
Book : Bitter Sweet
Author : Rajesh Konsam
Publisher : Vishwakarma Publication
Published on : 19 august 2019
Pages : 200
Price : Rs 260 ( excluding discount ) ___________________
The story revolves around Roshan who works in a fashion store and a talented songwriter and secretly desires to make it big in the music industry . But his love life, the opportunities that come his way, and the obstacles he faces after a secret from his past suddenly changes
...more
Urvashi Jain
Dec 15, 2019 rated it really liked it
Bittersweet is a one- sitting read by Rajesh Konsam. Romantic and inspiring, it is the story of the guy-next-door, Roshan Rao.

Roshan, a fashion store assistant during the day, turns into a lyricist and inspiring musician by night. He has been looking for a break through the talent shows but much to his dismay, he is never able to makes it to the shortlists. To add to his problems, his now famous ex-girlfriend, Ragini, has returned trying to get Roshan back. Shanaya is the new girl in his life wh
...more
Malvika Singh
Sep 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Title:- Bittersweet

Genre:- Romance

Rating:- 4.5/5
——————————————————————
This is the debut novel of the author, and he seems to have quite a lot of knowledge of music and art, which was appealing to me as a reader. One of the best things was that, I was able to culturally relate to the book.
The book narrates the story of Roshan, who is a struggling artiste who could have chosen the easy way out, but he rather preferred to work hard, in order to achieve his goals. The character of Roshan has a lo
...more
bombayreader
Dec 30, 2019 rated it really liked it
This book is a treat for those who love romance genre.I'm a person who stays away from this genre but I was awestruck.

Starting from the first chapter itself I knew I'm gonna cherish this book for a lifetime (not bcoz I love poetry) but finally theirs a contemporary Indian author whose written such a delightful book about love, romance, heartbreak and youth dreams in profound English language.

A story about a young boy caught up in the harsh memories of his past heartbreak. Over the years the b
...more
ashsayss
Nov 02, 2019 rated it it was amazing
||Review||

Title:BitterSweet
Author:Rajesh Konsam
Genre: Fiction 
Pages: 195
.
The Plot Revolves Around Roshan,A Growing SongWriter And A FullTime Assistant At A Fashion Store.When Everything Is Going Well,Roshan Discovers A Sad Truth About His Past!Does He Choose To Dwell In The Best Or Believe In Future And Move On?

Grab Your Copy On Amazon NOW! To Find Out :)

.

Roshan Decides To Work To Earn Enough Money To Travel Even Though His Parents Are Willing To Give Him Everything He Wanted! This Was One Thing
...more
__the __seeker___
Dec 22, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: indian-authors
BITTERSWEET
Author : Rajesh Konsam
Publisher : Viswakarma publications
Genre : Fiction

'Bittersweet' is the debut novel of Rajesh Konsam. The protagonist of the story is Roshan , a songwriter and a part time sales person.
Roshan is a young millennial who is struggling to explore his talent . He lives life in his own terms and support his friends to flourish in their career . In first part of the story, Roshan is a lovelorn , nearly destroyed by his ex- girlfriend Ragini Sengupta who preferred her
...more
Bhumika
Dec 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This is by sure, one of the best debut novel of the year, with no experience in this field (as the author says), the author surprisingly surpassed the requirements with flying stars, I guess everyone should applaud him for that.

Now coming to the review, here's what I think (no blurb cause hello! It's given up there buddy, check it).

Plot: Talking about the plot, the book has too many elements and twists and characters to get inspired from, Sunny, Priyanka, Priya, Sheryl, Alston and so many more.

I
...more
Saranpreet Kaur
Sep 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
If you have read Durjoy Dutta and you love reading his books, You are definitely going to love this one by Rajesh Konsam too.
(It reminds me of Durjoy’s initial books)
There is a genuineness in the style of writing and the characters and its portrayed so clearly. I can imagine how each and every character looks like in my head. And thats great, isn’t it? When you connect with what the author is trying to make you feel connected with. I loved reading this book. And I usually finish my books (If I l
...more
Avani
Jan 05, 2020 rated it really liked it
"Bittersweet" by Rajesh Konsam is book of fully charged emotions and love. Based on the protagonist Roshan who is a songwriter by day and a fashion store assistant by night.

Then Roshan means a beautiful and courageous girl named Shanaya, whose love and acceptance makes Roshan gain confidence and pursue his dreams.

Both of them are equally attached to eachother and share their flair of creativity together. But as the story progresses Roshan discovers a painful truth about himself and his past.

Will
...more
Shantanu Sharma
Nov 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing
True love may not be just for a person- it can be for so many things... A very well written and articulated story by Rajesh who excels in his storytelling. The book has so many great things that it is difficult to name just a few!
The flow of the story is just right- not too slow, not too fast as it keeps you engaged and waiting for what happens next. The poems are the real treat in this book and the main protagonists are showcased so vividly that you feel as if you are sitting right next to them
...more
Shreya ✩ Shukla
Jan 01, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This book is really bittersweet
The ending is happy but yeah I wish I could change some elements, but not everything can get perfect, right?
Loved how detailed the book is. It's not only some clingy romance, unlike books of almost every author, but it teaches how friendship can change you for better. No matter how far you are from each other, still friendship never breaks.
And also love is not the one that pushes you back but forces you towards your goals.
Rajesh's writing style is simple and tou
...more
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Under The Mango Tree
  • The Rape Trial
  • Faith and the Beloved (Kochery C Shibu)
  • Stories of Us
  • Made in China
  • The Speaking Stone
  • THE GIRL WITH BLUE EYES
  • A Drop of You
  • You Beneath Your Skin
  • Love on the Everest: Love Conquers Everything
  • Tarikshir: The Awakening
  • 5 minutes
  • Love Unexpected
  • Evolution Cradle: The Aryan Origin
  • FREEDOM : Human Trafficking and Encounter with Soul
  • Unleash That River
  • Curse of Suspicion
  • Winter Poems
See similar books…
5 followers
Rajesh Konsam is a young novelist and poet with a knack for twisted plots, morally ambiguous characters, and deep introspection. As a young millennial, he uses his writing platform to raise awareness on mental health, diversity, and inclusivity.

Although Rajesh hails from Manipur, he is based in Chennai. Bittersweet is Rajesh’s debut novel, and he is working on his next. Rajesh tweets as @RajeshKo
...more

News & Interviews

  If you listen to NPR regularly, you’ve likely heard the voice of Shankar Vedantam, the longtime science correspondent and host of the radio...
17 likes · 3 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »