Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Breakwater (Cold Ridge/U.S. Marshals, #5)” as Want to Read:
Breakwater (Cold Ridge/U.S. Marshals, #5)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Breakwater

(Cold Ridge/U.S. Marshals #5)

by
3.92  ·  Rating details ·  1,278 ratings  ·  59 reviews
After a former colleague from the U.S Department of Justice rants to Quinn Hallahan about death threats and conspiracies, he's later found dead of an apparent suicide. Feeling she owes it to him, Quinn investigates and teams up with a former federal agent to stop a deadly plot. Original.
Paperback, 384 pages
Published January 31st 2006 by MIRA (first published January 1st 2006)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Breakwater, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Breakwater

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.92  · 
Rating details
 ·  1,278 ratings  ·  59 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Cheri
Jul 05, 2018 rated it it was ok
Very disappointing in comparison to the previous books in this series :(
Carla Johnson-Hicks
Breakwater is part of a series, but you can read it as a standalone. Quinn Harlowe is feeling guilty about the death of her friend Alicia. She thinks she should have been able to help her when she realized that she was disoriented and talking crazy. Based on some hunches and things Alicia said, she starts to investigate the neighbour who is setting up a private security business on the estate in Yorkville, where she has a cottage. One thing leads to another until she puts herself in danger. Of c ...more
Shera Melton
Apr 19, 2013 rated it it was ok
The back of the book sucked me in, and the first few chapters made me really excited to get into the story. It started out interesting and suspenseful and I thought that if the first few chapters were that good, then the book must me one awesome read. I was wrong. After those first few chapters, nothing interesting happened at all. There was no suspense, and there wasn't even any romance. Unless you count one kiss and a dance that turned into third base for a split second romance. When I got to ...more
Joan
Jun 16, 2010 rated it it was ok
I have tried to figure out what was lacking in this book. The basic plot was interesting, but I had to read well into the book before I got the gist of it. I decided that my lack of interest was because the characters seemed cardboard and formulaic.
Melissa
I found this book to be rather bland. I really had to push myself to read it because I kept hoping something would happen to make it more but it stayed very bland for all of it. It lacked characters with depth and any kind of umph to the story.

Elizabeth
Dec 24, 2012 rated it it was ok
Meh. A forgettable thriller with a shoe-horned romance plot line. There are some interesting twists near the end, but the end of the book is sloppily written and rushed.
Linda C
Jul 14, 2017 rated it really liked it
Alicia Miller, DOJ lawyer goes to friend, Quinn Harlowe, former DOJ analyst, for help. She's jumpy and talking crazy. Quinn fears a mental breakdown, but before she can do anything Alicia runs off, getting into a black car and disappearing. Fearing for her friends mental state, she begins looking for her only to find her body washed up near her cottage. Quinn doesn't believe it's suicide and starts looking into Alicia recent activities. At the same time Huck McCabe (aka Boone) is undercover at B ...more
Susan
Aug 08, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
My favorites in this series to date. The suspense keep me reading, and the couple was believable. The only that that kept it from 5 stars for me was the obligatory sex scene near the end. Nothing wrong with a good sex scene, but this didn't flow from the story and characters. It felt more like the editor said, you have to include a sec scene; just stick one after after the suspense is resolved."
Debbie
Feb 25, 2018 rated it really liked it
Just discovered this author recommended by Kristin Hannah. Can’t wait to read more.
Rebecca Dowd
Jan 23, 2017 rated it really liked it
I don't know how I missed that book. I really like that author.
Linda
Sep 02, 2014 rated it really liked it
I didn't read any of the previous books by the author so went into this without any background on some of the characters, but feel like this can be read as a stand-alone. Does it mean I won't read the earlier books, no, I most likely will at some point.

Quinn Harlowe decided to leave her high-security job at the Justice Department to become an independent consultant. She wanted a better work-life balance than what she experienced at her prior job. And so far, she was definitely enjoying the abili
...more
Genie
Jul 28, 2010 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: To anyone who enjoys a good mystery or spy novel.
Recommended to Genie by: Found the book in the post office.
Quinn Harlowe left a high-security job in the Justice Department to become an independent consultant. She thought she would have more control over her life if she was self-employed. Her hopes were dashed when Quinn found her long-time friend and former colleague, Alicia Morrow, dead near Quinn's bay side weekend cottage. At the scene she finds herself face to face with Huck McCabe who claims to be a bodyguard from the nearby Breakwater security compound. Quinn doesn't buy into his story any more ...more
Carol
May 12, 2016 rated it liked it
First, to echo some other reviews - I didn't know I was coming in at the middle of a series. Of course, from the little free library, you couldn't have gotten the earlier books even if you knew they existed - you take what's there or do without. I felt like there were too many characters, and it was tough to know which ones could be trusted. Reading the earlier books would have clued me in
on some of them.
Also, I have to agree that suspense and romance are uneasy partners. The suspense predomina
...more
Pattianne
Nov 05, 2011 rated it really liked it
Breakwater - Cold Ridge/U. S. Marshall Series #5 - (Quinn and McCabe) - Quinn finds a body in the harbot area and McCabe is working under cover.

Three months ago Quinn Harlowe left the high-pressure hallways of the Justice Department to become an independent consultant and have more control over her life - maybe even have a life. But the nirvana of her new gig is short-lived when Quinn discovers her friend and former colleague Alicia Miller dead outside Quinn's bayside cottage. Suicide? Quinn is
...more
Anne
Jul 27, 2008 rated it liked it
Apparently this is a book in a series. I wish Negger's website listed them chronologically in order instead of the reverse. Fortunately the filling-in from previous stories was not too bad and the book could be read on its own.

Wasn't a great book but it wasn't very bad either. The setup for the badguys was a bit cliche. It almost had a traditional gothic feel as the cottage and the Breakwater compound were a bit isolated. It's also unclear, to the heroine, who the good guys and the bad guys real
...more
Amy Young-Brown
Dec 25, 2016 rated it really liked it
This book was pretty good. I only realized after that it was number 5 in a series-I was going to say the character introductions weren't great but that explains it. As you read the book it got better. Quinn reminds me of Nancy Drew a bit. Always sticking her nose where it doesn't belong. Although she has a more impressive background than good ole Nancy Drew!

Anyway it was a good read. It wasn't anything spectacular or outrageous but it definitely was a fun quick read! I will be reading the rest o
...more
Bob
May 15, 2011 rated it liked it
Ex Justice department lawyer Quinn Harlowe finds herself in the middle of a secret investigation into a possible domestic terrorist group when a she finds a friend dead near her (Quinn's)Chesapeak bay get away cabin. There is a big estate near her cabin that is being turned into the headquarters for a Security Firm, but the FBI and others think that there is more going on and have a undercover operative in the organization. Quinn, being a bright and inquisitive sort gets herself into the middle ...more
Shea
May 29, 2010 rated it liked it
This was a fun book to read. The heroine, Quinn Harlowe, was smart, daring and had a sense of humor so she was likable. The hero, Huck Boone, was likewise smart and daring with a little mystery thrown in. For a romantic suspense novel it was a little light on the romance. The suspense part was pretty good and kept me guessing.
Jeanie
Nov 11, 2010 rated it really liked it
I had no idea that this had any ties to previous books. I thouroughly enjoyed this book, trying to figure out who the actual "bad guys" were. I enjoyed following Quinn's journey to love with Huck.
Errol
Jan 07, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
great!!!!!

Read this for a third time in a few years!!!
Love the series!!! Would read them all agian
Marlu
Jul 28, 2010 rated it it was ok
Didn't realize this was part of a series when I started it. I wonder if I would have enjoyed this book more if I had read the previous books in the series first.
Brenda
Sep 06, 2008 rated it liked it
The plot was a bit boring, but the sexual tension between the two lead characters sure kept me interested!! LOL
Karen Knapp
Jul 13, 2016 rated it liked it
Early Carla Neggers with likable characters. A little romance with some mystery.
Amy White
Apr 06, 2013 rated it liked it
always good reading. the suspense was great. not too much romance!
Cathy Beckett
May 27, 2015 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2015-books-read
My first read by Neggers and I loved it. I will definitely be checking to see what else the local library might have on the shelves. I loved the pace and the characters.
Kathy
Sep 02, 2013 rated it really liked it
This is not usually the genre I like to read but I found it enjoyable and light.
Kalyn
May 02, 2008 rated it it was ok
Another 'meh'. FBI type guy, troubled type girl. Woman, whatever. Do the cliches never end?
Mary
Feb 20, 2013 rated it it was amazing
And, thoroughly enjoyed another Carla Neggers book!!!
Julie Barrett
Jul 11, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
author is new to me, reading all her books now
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • On the Edge (Cold Ridge/U.S. Marshals, #1.5)
  • Traceless (Less Series, #1)
  • Until Dark (FBI #3; John Mancini #2)
  • Missing
  • Born to Be Wild
  • The Perfect Murder (The Last Stand, #6)
  • Shattered (High Risk, #3)
  • Dark Angel (Maplecreek, #3)
  • Everlasting Love
  • The Seduction of an English Lady
  • Blaze of Glory (Special Operations, #2)
  • Now You See Him (Bayou #4)
  • Avenging Agent (Agents Under Fire #2)
  • Deadly Deceptions (Mojo #2)
1,073 followers
Carla Neggers is the New York Times bestselling author of the Sharpe & Donovan series featuring Boston-based FBI agents Emma Sharpe and Colin Donovan, and the popular Swift River Valley series set in the small, fictional New England town of Knights Bridge. With many bestsellers to her credit, Carla loves to write now as much as she did when she climbed a tree at age eleven with a pad and pen a ...more

Other books in the series

Cold Ridge/U.S. Marshals (7 books)
  • Cold Ridge (Cold Ridge/U.S. Marshals, #1)
  • Night's Landing (Cold Ridge/U.S. Marshals, #2)
  • The Rapids (Cold Ridge/U.S. Marshals, #3)
  • Dark Sky (Cold Ridge/U.S. Marshals, #4)
  • Abandon (Cold Ridge/U.S. Marshals, #6)
  • Thriller 2