Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Stalked (DI Jemima Huxley Thrillers, #3)” as Want to Read:
Stalked (DI Jemima Huxley Thrillers, #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Stalked

(DI Jemima Huxley Thrillers #3)

by
4.46  ·  Rating details ·  61 ratings  ·  17 reviews
DI Huxley is back with another disturbing case. Perfect for fans of Mark Edwards, Angela Marsons, Patricia Gibney and Leigh Russell.

A case from the past is haunting Jemima…

When Detective Inspector Jemima Huxley gets a call to say Violet Watkins has been reported missing, she is immediately catapulted into the past.

Jemima first met Violet six years earlier, when she reporte
...more
Kindle Edition
Published August 24th 2020 by Sapere Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Stalked, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Stalked

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.46  · 
Rating details
 ·  61 ratings  ·  17 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Stalked (DI Jemima Huxley Thrillers, #3)
Linda Strong
Oct 05, 2020 rated it really liked it

DI Jemima Huxley never expected to hear the name Byron Toombes again, at least not in connection with Violet Watkins.

Six years ago, Jemima was faced with her first encounter with a stalker. Violet was the unfortunate victim who had captured his attention. Toombes was resourceful and even with law enforcement doing everything in their power to protect her ... it just wasn't enough.

After nearly killing Jemima's partner, and giving her a body beating she will never forget, Toombes managed to get aw
...more
Lou
Sep 20, 2020 rated it really liked it
Stalked is the third instalment in the Detective Inspector Jemima Huxley series, set in Cardiff, Wales, and is the most gripping book in this chilling contemporary thriller series yet. It isn't necessary to have read the previous instalment to enjoy this one as the story is self-contained. It's 2013 and Violet Watkins has put in a complaint about her neighbour Byron Toombes harassing her. The police manage to piece together enough evidence to arrest him but he appears to have already fled. Then ...more
mrs a richards
Feb 15, 2021 rated it it was amazing
A bit different

Really loved this series of books. They're just that little bit different to other detective series. Cannot wait for the next one!
...more
Mr Robin Smith
Oct 07, 2020 rated it really liked it
This is another excellent book from the pen of Gaynor Torrance and is the third book in a series featuring her likable character Detective Inspector Jemima Huxley and her colleagues on the Lisvane (north Cardiff) police force. For this book the author has leaned on her own traumatic experiences as a young girl starting University, where she was subjected to the unwelcome advances of a fellow student who would not take no for an answer. Although the book opens with a present-day missing person ca ...more
Raquel
Sep 20, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Amanda Richardson
Oct 17, 2020 rated it really liked it
Stalked is the third book in the series about DI Jemima Huxley by Gaynor Torrance. The book starts with a kidnapping, but readers must go back in time to learn who the kidnapping victim is and how she came to be in this position.

Six years ago, Jemima was a newer inspector and worked a stalking case. Violet was being stalked by Byron - with deadly consequences for those close to the case. This book takes readers back to the nuts and bolts of this case. You know Violet has been kidnapped, but what
...more
Samadhee Ismail
Sep 18, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Thank You Netgalley and the publisher for providing a copy of this book!

This is the first time I am reading the book from this author and first time reading this series. This is actually the third book of the Jemima Huxley series but you don't necessary need to read the last two books.

In 2019, Jemima Huxley gets a frantic call from Charlie Morgan, claiming, Violet Morgan had gone missing after spending a night with her colleagues from work. Six years ago, Jemima Huxley had been investigating a c
...more
Bob Hurley
Sep 18, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Gaynor Torrance writes with such passion. DI Jemima Huxley is busy trying to rebuild her life after her husband Nick ran off to hide from the fact that their relationship had fallen apart. This left Jemima with Nick's son James , a full time Mum, and a full time career, the two difficult to manage at the same time. With her promotion to Inspector she also has to deal with the " She only got the job because they needed to fill the female quota" pressures within the Police and also with her collea ...more
Di Paterson
Oct 26, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: own, review-copy
Once again, I'm torn with what rating to give DI Jemima Huxley. I've come to the conclusion that I don't really like her as the main protagonist, but I thoroughly enjoy the cases she solves; I like Broadbent and Kennedy, though. In terms of the writing, I find that the pace and ebbs and flows, but not necessarily in a good way, with the build-up sometimes dragging, and then ending being rushed, as if Gaynor Torrance runs out of ideas to get to her end result. In this book, with effectively two c ...more
Ollie Gee
Sep 28, 2020 rated it it was amazing
A fast-paced story that was gripping from start to finish. As with the two previous books in this series, the story is very well written, with relatable characters and well-constructed dialogue resulting in a very disturbing – but also satisfying – storyline. Also, we learn more about what makes the relationship between DI Huxley and her Sergeant Dan Broadbent ‘tick’. I hope this continues to be developed in future books in the series. Whilst ‘Stalked’ works well as a standalone, a knowledge of ...more
Karen Goodwill 'Seddon'
Oct 04, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Thank you to Sphare books for allowing me to review this book.

This is the third book I have read by Gaynor Torrance- this book had me groped from the start. It kept me gripped right from the start and It kept thinking just one more chapter - as short chapters that allows you to take a brake but makes it harder to put down.

The book starts with a missing person but very quickly takes you back 6 years to when Violet was being stalked and brings you back to the current day when she is reported missi
...more
Ruth Matheson
Sep 21, 2020 rated it really liked it
'Stalked' begins in the present time when the victim of an old stalking case goes missing and as the guy was never brought to trial, DI Jemima Huxley and her partner DS Broadbent are put back onto the investigation. We then head back to 2013 to be given the background to the case and what ensued before coming back up to date.
There are lots of twists and turns throughout making it a very enjoyable read. The story does become a bit more poignant when we read that it is partially based on Gaynor's
...more
Martha Brindley
Sep 30, 2020 rated it really liked it
I really enjoy these books featuring DI Jemima Huxley. They are well plotted and filled with suspense, action and mystery. The plot in this one is a bit different from the previous two and centres around stalking. A woman, from a previous case, goes missing whilst on a night out and the past comes back to haunt Jemima and DS Broadbent. I think this is the best yet in the series but read it and make up your own mind. Thanks to Net Galley for a very good read.
Priya
Sep 21, 2020 rated it it was amazing
A fast paced story on the topic stalking. The book shows how it affects the woman's life and self esteem. To know that it is based on the experience of the author is frightening. More stringent laws to protect women is the need of the hour, rather than placing the burden of proof on their shoulders. A must read. ...more
Annette
Sep 21, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: books-read-2020
This was a fast paced quick book. Lots of action and mystery! I thought the story was good. I liked how it went back into the past and gave you a glimpse into what had previously happened. I thought it was a good addition to the series.
Thanks to Sapere for the early copy
Haydn Pope
Sep 23, 2020 rated it really liked it
This novel was quite different from the previous two in the series. This one really gripped me, and I alternatively sympathised with characters and disliked others, they were so realistically described. It was an ugly scene that was described, and a vile crime! At the same time I enjoyed reading this novel.
Christine
Sep 10, 2020 rated it it was amazing
The book opens in 2013 with Violet Watkins being abducted by her stalker. She survives, but six years later, D.I. Jemima Huxley gets a call from Violet’s husband. Violet has disappeared after a get-together with her co-workers and her husband is frantic. Things didn’t go well when Jemima and her partner Dan Broadbent worked on the case the first time. This time, they are even more determined to save Violet’s life and make sure her stalker can’t damage the life of any other victims.

“Stalked” is t
...more
margaret iris clarke
rated it really liked it
Sep 23, 2020
Liz Alford
rated it really liked it
Sep 26, 2020
Linda Cook
rated it it was amazing
Feb 03, 2021
Paula Hayman-Halton
rated it it was amazing
Sep 22, 2020
Ruth Frye
rated it it was amazing
Mar 21, 2021
Dawn Byers
rated it really liked it
Oct 16, 2020
Miss C Edwards
rated it really liked it
Sep 27, 2020
nicola
rated it really liked it
Oct 02, 2020
Anne Rees
rated it it was amazing
Oct 09, 2020
Deborah Jones
rated it it was amazing
Sep 22, 2020
Carolyngrand
rated it really liked it
Sep 24, 2020
Marjorie Murphy
rated it liked it
Sep 30, 2020
david luke
rated it really liked it
Nov 02, 2020
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Never Forgotten: (DI Karen Heath Crime Series Book 4)
  • On Cold Ground (Detective Karen Hart #5)
  • Deadly Terror (Detective Zoe Finch, #4)
  • Deadly Desires (Detective Zoe Finch, #3)
  • Deadly Wishes (Detective Zoe Finch, #1)
  • Deadly Choices (Detective Zoe Finch, #2)
  • The Gorge (Detective Louise Blackwell #3)
  • The Guilty Man
  • Christmas Card Murder (A Lucy Stone Mystery, #26.5)
  • Death of a Cookbook Author (Hayley Powell Food and Cocktails Mystery, #10)
  • The Girls in the Snow (Nikki Hunt, #1)
  • An Inconvenient Woman
  • The Beat Match (Showmen, #3)
  • Ransomed (The Missing Children Case Files, #1)
  • The Eye Thief (DI Erica Swift, #1)
  • Silenced Girls (Agent Tori Hunter #1)
  • You Are Invited
  • A Question of Despair (DI Sarah Quinn Mystery #1)
See similar books…
59 followers
Gaynor Torrance is the author of the DI Jemima Huxley Thrillers series. She is under contract with Sapere Books for the first six books in this series. REVENGE was published in October 2019, SOLE SURVIVOR in March 2020, and STALKED in September 2020.

Find out more at: http://www.gaynortorrance.com
Follow me on Twitter https://twitter.com/gaytorauthor and Facebook https://www.facebook.com/gaynortorr
...more

Other books in the series

DI Jemima Huxley Thrillers (3 books)
  • Revenge (DI Jemima Huxley Thrillers, #1)
  • Sole Survivor (DI Jemima Huxley Thrillers, #2)

News & Interviews

  As dedicated readers already know, some of the best and most innovative stories on the shelves come from the constantly evolving realm of...
49 likes · 9 comments