Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Weekend” as Want to Read:
The Weekend
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Weekend

3.68  ·  Rating details ·  3,096 ratings  ·  396 reviews
People went on about death bringing friends together, but it wasn't true. The graveyard, the stony dirt - that's what it was like now . . . Despite the three women knowing each other better than their own siblings, Sylvie's death had opened up strange caverns of distance between them.

Four older women have a lifelong friendship of the best kind: loving, practical, frank and
...more
Paperback, 272 pages
Published October 15th 2019 by Allen & Unwin
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Weekend, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Jaq
This answer contains spoilers… (view spoiler)
This question contains spoilers… (view spoiler)
Jaq Hi Rose,

I kind of thought that the ending was all about their friendship rebirthing through the ocean??? I could be wrong.....

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.68  · 
Rating details
 ·  3,096 ratings  ·  396 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Weekend
Marchpane
In The Weekend , three 70-something women come together over Christmas to clean out the beach house of their recently deceased friend. Tensions rise, secrets bubble to the surface, things get angsty (so just a typical Chrissy really).

Wood really nails the groups dynamics after the loss of their linchpin member. Its a particularly rich vein to explore, the kind of relationships that evolve between friends over four decades, and the events that cause them to fracture. There are some wonderful,
...more
Krystal
Firstly, this book is really depressing.

It's about old people, and as a 34 year-old who likes to complain about being old while secretly appreciating that I've still got a fairly long life ahead of me, this was a terrifying glimpse of a future I DO NOT WANT.

I'm gonna be straight up: getting old scares the crap out of me. But it scares me more to think that I could wind up like these old ladies, full of regrets and missed chances. Still waiting for my big break. Having forfeited true love.
...more
Nat K

*** Shortlisted for the 2020 Stella Prize ***

People went on about death bringing friends together, but it wasnt true

Reading this book made me think that the loss of a friend isn't all beer & skittles as it's depicted in so many movies. The outpouring of love at the wake - always at a pub, usually Irish - friends getting all misty eyed like on New Year's Eve, arms flung around each other's shoulders. Tears, anecdotes, laughter. Toasts to a great friend, sorely missed. But then the tears dry,
...more
Collin
Feb 17, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Longlisted for the 2020 Stella Prize.

Buddy read 8 with Nat K.

Sylvies death has left Jude contemplating her own steady decline. She thinks that her frontal lobe is inevitably shrinking, she wonders what will happen if she dies in her sleep, in her bed.

Sylvie had been buried eleven months ago. They used to be a quartet, but Sylvies death has transformed them into a triumvirate. Jude is not even sure the three surviving members of the friendship can survive without Sylvie. Jude was a restaurateur
...more
Jaclyn Crupi
Sep 09, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Three friends spend the weekend clearing out the beach house of their dear deceased friend Sylvie. And oh how I loved these women (and that poor dog). This book will appear lighter and easier than Woods previous novel The Natural Way of Things but thats misleading. Wood has packed the very fabric and tenderness/cruelty of life and female friendship into this slight novel and I laughed and cried my way through it. I gravitate to books like this and when I come across something this good it feels ...more
Lesley Moseley
Nov 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 6-stars
Oh I would give this quick read 6 stars, if I could. So topical for me at 73. Reminded me of being in my 40's and finding Fay Weldon showed me how to be that, then. Not a wasted word, totally cinematic from start to finish. I KNOW these people.. LOVE LOVE LOVE.
Dale Harcombe
Nov 03, 2019 rated it liked it
Three and a half stars.
Three older women with a long-standing friendship come together over Christmas at the old beach house belonging to Sylvie, who has died. Sylvie was the fourth friend in this group. But without Sylvie there, the friendship appears strained and fragile. All of these women have had substantial careers. Jude as a famous restauranteur, Wendy an academic and Adele as an acclaimed actress. Now though Adele is finding work is non-existent for an older actress. This time as they
...more
Michael Livingston
Wood is a wonderful writer and this is a short, sharp look at women's lives with a very different atmosphere to The Natural Way of Things. It tackles friendship, grief, loneliness and aging and is insightful, funny and sometimes cruel. A friend noted that it would make a good play, and I think that's bang on - it's all dialogue and set pieces and the three main characters would work perfectly on the stage.
Ace
Jan 15, 2020 marked it as did-not-finish
My DNF streak continues with another highly anticipated release that I am just not clicking with.

I expected something literary but so far it's a lot of uninteresting history about a recently deceased Sylvie and people going through her house talking about what is in her cupboards. WTF?

DNF 37%
Kylie H
Dec 16, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: made-me-cry, drama
This book is a snap shot insight into the lives of Adele, Wendy and Jude. Three friends who have gathered at Christmas to pack up the beach house of their deceased friend Sylvie. The three friends are now all in the seventies and their insecurities with themselves and each other quickly surface.
This is not a warm and fuzzy gathering, this is a book that exposes their physical and mental weaknesses warts and all.
Adele is a 'has-been' actress who does not appear to be able to switch off the
...more
Andrea
Nov 08, 2019 rated it liked it
In the days before Christmas, three women in their 70s - friends for more than four decades - meet at their recently deceased friend's house by the beach, to make it ready for sale. There is Jude, a tall, poised, secretive, authoritative, former restaurateur. Wendy, the compassionate, once striking but now quite large and frumpy, famous intellectual. Finally we have Adele, a childlike, well-preserved, acclaimed actress who hasn't been offered any work in over a year. An unwelcome addition to the ...more
Gloria Arthur
Oct 27, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: the-bookshelf
The Weekend by Charlotte Wood

⭐3.5 Stars⭐

A character driven story of getting older, death, friendships and hidden betrayals

Sylvie has been buried for eleven months. They were a group of four elderly lifelong friends now they are three. Their beloved Sylvies death has created a shifting distance between them.

The three remaining women find themselves gathered together for the weekend with the chore of clearing out Sylvies holiday house at Bittoes where they used to holiday together. There is a
...more
Jessica
Jan 04, 2020 rated it did not like it
Shelves: 2020
This novel explores how the death of a fourth friend impacts the lives and friendships of three remaining older women. I found it to be a difficult read, but not how you might think. I could not summon the ability to care at all and was immensely bored; it was impossible to identify with the two-dimensional stereotypes (slovenly academic, washed-up actress and someone who seemed to be so wholly defined by the fact they are a mistress) and even more difficult to try to retain interest in the ...more
Kim
I've just spent a weekend with these ladies and I think I've fallen a bit in love with each of them through each of their turmoils.
The writing perfectly captures the shifting dynamics of long-time friendships between a trio of women in their early '70s, as they get together for a weekend at Christmas, to tidy out their beloved deceased friends holiday house at a Northern Sydney beach.
These women have all done a lot of living and know some of each others secrets better than they know their own.
...more
Theresa Smith
Nov 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: aww2019
If you are going into this one because you liked The Natural Way of Things, you need to know that The Weekend is entirely different, with one exception: the brilliant writing.

This was something nobody talked about: how death could make you petty. And how you had to find a new arrangement among your friends, shuffling around the gap of the lost one, all of you suddenly mystified by how to be with one another.

This is a novel about female friendship that has been coloured by grief, and although the
...more
Renee Hermansen
Nov 13, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Thanks to Allen&Unwin I got to enjoy this book as an ARC in exchange for my honest review.

Three ( seventy something) friends lost their friend and are together cleaning out her house and belongings. Jude, Adele and Wendy are forced to work though this time as well as face their own personal challenges. Such different women, with such different backgrounds and life journeys, without their friend Sylvie to keep the peace find it a struggle. Secrets are shared, stories are told and many
...more
Haydon
Jan 25, 2020 rated it did not like it
From the winner of the 2016 Stella Prize comes 'The Weekend', a tedious drama rife with clichés older than its walking-framed cast. When three caricatures and a heavy-handed canine metaphor come together in the wake of the novel's sole plot-point - a friend's death - they spend a weekend womansplaining the faults of their so-called friends. The story sizzles with mundane conflict - a dog coming indoors, a dog coming off its leash, a dog coming to the beach, stale bread - between characters who ...more
Leoni Graham
I started this book with trepidation. I really disliked The Natural Way of Things and the blurb to this novel didn't appeal either. There seems to be a particular type of novel that is concerned with the intense introspection of every thought/feeling/word that the characters have whilst the action/events are very mundane - think 'Normal People' by Sally Rooney (uugh). The Weekend falls into this category and I'm just not into it. I find it almost disingenuous to ascribe the flurry of ...more
Cass Moriarty
Dec 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Charlotte Woods much anticipated next novel, The Weekend (Allen and Unwin 2019) in many ways could not be more dissimilar to her previous award-winning book The Natural Way of Things. While that story was bleak, angry and desperate, The Weekend is gentle, contained and thoughtful. But what they have in common is Woods extraordinary literary style, so reminiscent of Helen Garner, that manages to convey a simple story in accessible and plain language, detailing the minutiae of daily life with a ...more
Melissa
Jul 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Gutting, funny, beautiful, and affirming all at once. I felt I was in extremely skilled hands reading this, and I cant wait for more people to read it when it comes out. Id never read a story about what female friendship/experience is like in ones 70s until now. Wendy, Jude and Adele (and sweet old anxious Finn) feel so real to me and will stay in my heart for a long time!

(Review based on advance reading copy!)
...more
Elizabeth
Oct 09, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Three women and their decades long friendship spend a weekend clearing out the house of their deceased friend, and all the tensions which have strained over the years are tested. A delightful read with a powerful climax.
Jaclyn (sixminutesforme)
3.5 🌟

A highly anticipated read for me, the promise of seeing a group of older women and their friendship represented in literature had me sold!

This story follows three women coming together over a weekend to clean up the home of their recently deceased friend, the fourth in their friendship group. In a deep dive into each of their characters, we follow an examination of their complex relationships - with each other, with their identity over their lives, and with children or partners or others in
...more
Sharah McConville
3.5 Stars. The Weekend is a story about Jude, Wendy and Adele. The three friends, in their 70's, come together for a weekend to clear out the beach house of their friend Sylvie, who recently passed away. With Sylvie no longer there, the dynamics of the group has changed. The women struggle to get along and Wendy's old dog Finn causes problems. This was a sad story about death, grief, secrets and friendship. Thanks to Allen & Unwin for my ARC.
Michelle Bee
Dec 30, 2019 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Don't waste your time reading this book. Worst book I've read for 2019. I don't understand why this book was so hyped up. So much rubbish that made no sense, boring characters that obviously had nothing in common. A poor dog that should be dead. It was just a boring read, thank goodness it was short.
Cassie Hamer
Oct 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I didn't want this book to end - a stunning portrait of friendship, ageing and the confronting realities of death. The kind of novel where I will worry for months to come about how Jude, Wendy and Adele are getting on.
Amanda - Mrs B's Book Reviews
*https://mrsbbookreviews.wordpress.com

3.5 stars


POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020: A book by an author with flora or fauna in their name.


The Weekend is a searing and frank examination of the complexities of female friendship. Charlotte Wood explores long buried secrets, reservations, past hurts, fears of the future and loss within her sixth novel.

The Weekend by Charlotte Wood looks at the intricacies of a friendship group of four women, which is changed by the loss of one. Together, the women bond
...more
Rachael (shereadsshenoms)
Nov 09, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: auslit
A thoughtful and quiet musing on friendship, ageing, grief, loneliness, and the difference between how we see ourselves and how others see us. Jude, Wendy and Adele are sometimes cruel in their assessments of each other, frustrating in their inability to express their true feelings to each other, and utterly relatable to me as a result, ha!

The Weekend is very different from The Natural Way of Things, so if that's your only experience with Wood's writing check your expectations at the door. These
...more
Deborah
Dec 26, 2019 rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed Charlotte Wood's The Natural Way of Things, released in 2015. At the time I suspected the book - which I took fairly literally - was some great metaphor I just didn't quite understand and it wasn't until later I noticed others' reviews labelling it dystopian fiction and I realised I'd been right.

I loved Wood's writing, which I thought exquisite. I missed her latest release, The Weekend, when it came out but thankfully won a copy recently and probably (now) need to add it
...more
Amanda
Incisive, insightful, precise, moody and atmospheric.

This sometimes unkind, other times sympathetic and always lucidly, sharply observant is a novel in which women of a 'certain age' are definitely going to recognise themselves.

It's compellingly written - I couldn't put it down.
Honestly I think Charlotte Wood is probably the best Australian writer around at the moment.

Brilliant - read it.
Janine Moloney
Nov 16, 2019 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Nothing happened to grasp my interest. 3 women who moaned about each other to themselves. Expected this to all come out towards the end, but no. Found it a quite depressing look into ageing.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Stella Project: February - April 2020: The Weekend 2 10 Feb 18, 2020 02:16AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Bruny
  • There Was Still Love
  • Your Own Kind of Girl
  • The Wife and the Widow
  • Maybe the Horse Will Talk
  • The Good Turn (Cormac Reilly, #3)
  • Silver
  • Beauty
  • Yellow Notebook: Diaries Volume I 1978–1986
  • Damascus
  • Peace
  • Wolfe Island
  • Too Much Lip
  • The Erratics
  • The Yield
  • The Godmother
  • Act of Grace
  • The Best Kind of Beautiful
See similar books…
326 followers
The Australian newspaper has described Charlotte Wood as "one of our most original and provocative writers.

She is the author of five novels and a book of non-fiction. Her latest novel, The Natural Way of Things, won the 2016 Indie Book of the Year and Indie Fiction Book of the Year prizes, was shortlisted for the Stella Prize and the Victorian Premiers Literary Award, and longlisted for the Miles
...more

Related Articles

April is the most hopeful of months, promising warm days and sunshine just around the corner. The weather is a little unpredictable, sure, but tha...
82 likes · 22 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »