Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “An Incantation of Cats (Witch Cats of Cambridge #2)” as Want to Read:
An Incantation of Cats (Witch Cats of Cambridge #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

An Incantation of Cats

(Witch Cats of Cambridge #2)

by
3.43  ·  Rating details ·  54 ratings  ·  29 reviews
The new novel in Clea Simons spellbinding Witch Cats of Cambridge series! When two new clients seek Beccas professional services, the fledgling witch detective is overjoyed. Finally, she can use her skills to help her magical community. But as the young witch finds the new cases intertwining, things grow more complicated. Beccas three cats the ones with the real power ...more
Hardcover, 264 pages
Published January 14th 2020 by Polis Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about An Incantation of Cats, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about An Incantation of Cats

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.43  · 
Rating details
 ·  54 ratings  ·  29 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of An Incantation of Cats (Witch Cats of Cambridge #2)
Deanne Patterson
Mar 23, 2020 rated it liked it
Recommended to Deanne by: cnnamongirl@aol.com
The book has things I enjoy, cats and a delightful cozy mystery.
The story line was pretty good and held my attention .
The banter between the kitties was clever. The kitties and their human solve mysteries.
I liked the concept and enjoyed the cats more than the main character, she fell flat for me.

Published January 14th 2020 by Polis Books.
I was given a complimentary copy of this book. Thank you
All opinions expressed are my own.
Annarella
Feb 03, 2020 marked it as to-read
Clara and her sisters are fast becoming part of my favorite cozy mystery cats.
And also this series is becoming one of my favorites.
I like how the book is told by the cat POV and how sweet and naif but also sharp Becca is.
This was an excellent story that kept me hooked till the end, the cast of characters is likable and well thought, the mystery is solid and the solution came as a surprise.
I can't wait to read the next instalment in this series.
A gripping and entertaining read, highly
...more
Sarah
Feb 23, 2020 rated it it was ok
2.5 Stars
Jeanne
The second in the Witch Cats of Cambridge takes the characters to the next level. Becca, the aspiring witch, takes on a case involving a young woman who thinks she is being threatened. Clara, one of her three cats, is concerned that Becca might be getting in over her head and decides to help-- you see, the cats are the ones who DO have powers. The personalities of the cats really shine in this book. While the mystery is a solid one and there are some good twists and turns, I was most enchanted ...more
Carol Macarthur
Jan 01, 2020 rated it really liked it
Set in Cambridge, Massachusetts, the narration of this novel is shared by a witch detective's litter of beautiful cats--who are actually witches themselves! The plot winds delightfully around the cats' assisting their owner in solving a mystery. The writing is delicious!
Doreen
Jan 03, 2020 rated it liked it
1/4/2020 3.5 stars. Builds delightfully off the first book. Full review tk at CriminalElement.com.
Brittany Labinger
Feb 15, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: mystery
This was definitely better than the first book and I liked the development of the cats and preview of what might be to come for them.

I feel like Becca is actually really not good at solving mysteries so she can be kinda annoying. The culprit in this book is suspicious to everyone but her it seems. Its entertaining enough for someone who wants a light cozy mystery with some cat magic.

Also the name of her ex-boyfriend changed in this book. In the first book he is named Jeff and in this book he is
...more
Faith
Dec 02, 2019 rated it really liked it
There are three Siamese cats who are witches and actually are the Maine characters of this story. According to cat witch code they are not allowed to give this information to their caregiver. These three are litter mates with their lineage extending back some distance into the past.

Their caregiver is a witch detective who yearns for witch powers. At present she has just got two potential clients come to her on the same day asking for her services. One, a young girl, feels she is going to be
...more
Karen Hollins-Stallman
Dec 11, 2019 rated it really liked it
An Incantation of Cats is the 2nd book in the A Witch Cats of Cambridge Mystery by Clea Simon. It can be read as a stand-alone but I found myself wondering what happened in the first book. I have now purchased it and hope to be all caught up.

When two new clients seek Beccas professional services, the fledgling witch detective is overjoyed. Finally, she can use her skills to help her magical community. But as the young witch finds the new cases intertwining, things grow more complicated. Beccas
...more
Mary
Nov 24, 2019 rated it really liked it
There is no denying that this is simply a fun book. It isnt great literature, but reading this story is a great way to relax. It certainly kept me turning the pages.

Our heroine, Becca Colwin, has lost her job and decided that she would become a detective who helps members of the local witchcraft community. Two clients show up at her door on the same day. Becca ultimately decides that she can work for only the first one as they are both connected to the same event. Unbeknownst to her, Beccas
...more
Lisa Morin
Dec 10, 2019 rated it really liked it
This is a cute cozy mystery that includes two of my favorite things, cats and witches. Ive always been drawn to anything dealing with witchcraft, i love the magic of it.
In this book, Clara the cat is busy trying to help her owner, but things dont always work out.
I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a light, page turning cozy.
...more
Annalisa
Dec 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
This book was fabulous. The characters were original and real. The story was well written and very entertaining
Becca and her kitties solve crimes. I loved the clever little banter between the kitties and the love and concern they have for their human. The mystery itself was rather brilliant and I could not lift my eyes from the pages. All in all, I found this story delightful.
Valerie
Nov 26, 2019 rated it it was ok
I didn't like this book. I didn't like the cats and their attitudes, i thought that the main character Becca was making major assumptions in her investigation, which really didn't feel like an investigation. She just kept going back and forth to the same shop. #AnIncantationOfCats #NetGalley
Csimplot Simplot
Oct 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Excellent book!!!
Katherine Decker
Mar 30, 2020 rated it really liked it
Another enjoyable read. Told mostly from the view of the little calico cat, Clara, this magical mystery is a treat. Clara's human Becca is trying her hand at being a witch detective. The three sister cats don't care for some of her clients. Soon Becca finds herself knee deep in a tangled web of mystery. I like the balance of Becca's adventures and the interactions of the cats. It's a fun read, but I recommend reading the first book in the series before diving into this second book. I also found ...more
Tanja
Mar 05, 2020 rated it did not like it
I tried to enjoy this book but it fell flat to me. While the premise was promising, with the story told from the cats viewpoint, it could not engage me. The human characters were annoying, flat, one-dimensional the cats were overly complicated. I loved the idea, but it did not deliver.

Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for this ARC, all opinions are mine.
...more
Melissa Overby
Mar 09, 2020 rated it really liked it
Cats? Check! Witches? Check! Mystery? Check! This is everything I love wrapped up in one appealing little package. I highly enjoyed this read .
Susan Johnston
Feb 15, 2020 rated it really liked it
Princess Fuzzypants here: Some humans would be a danger to themselves if they did not have feline help. Becca is a heroine who desperately needs all three of her kitties as she is rather hopeless without them. In the first book of the series, she fancies herself a witch detective thanks to the actions of one of her cats. While she is a fine researcher, her detective skills are still AWOL but she has two people engage her in the same day. The problem is they work together and there is a strong ...more
Alisha
Mar 02, 2020 rated it really liked it
3.5
RoloPoloBookBlog
An Incantation of Cats by Clea Simon
Book #2: Witch Cats of Cambridge Series
Source: NetGalley and Polis Books
Rating: 2/5 stars

I would like to make it clear from the very beginning, I went into this book with a good attitude and true hope for a solid book that had worked out all the kinks found in in the first book. Alas, my hopes were once again dashed.

I had really hoped from book one to two, Becca would have figured out she is, in no way whatsoever, magically inclined. Becca is one of those
...more
Carol
Feb 06, 2020 rated it liked it
This was a fun book to read. I liked the concept and enjoyed the cats immensely. The only drawback for me is that Becca is just so clueless. I'm hoping that won't always be the case.
Bonnie
Feb 04, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: mystery
This is the book if you want a totally mindless read. All the plot points were available very nearly from the beginning.
Jay Strafford
Jan 14, 2020 rated it really liked it
In The Wizard of Oz, when Glinda asks Dorothy if shes a good witch or a bad witch, Dorothy responds, Im not a witch at all.
Neither is Becca Colwin in the second installment of Clea Simons Witch Cats of Cambridge series. But she thinks she is.
Beccas three cats sisters Laurel, Harriet and Clara actually have witchy powers. And its Harriet who, in the series opener, A Spell of Murder, inadvertently committed the act that made Becca mistake an event as her own accomplishment.
In Simons latest,
...more
Kristin
This was a really cute cosy mystery with the cats. I found the plot so-so and sometimes I felt the author could have been a bit more clear in transitions from one scene to another, as it sometimes was place A, then place B within one paragraph and not mentioning anything about the change (like from being in a car to being in the apartment).
Book
Jan 08, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: cozy-mystery
In this second Witch Cats of Cambridge Mystery, the three cats Harriet, Laurel & Clara are a little more developed as characters, but Becca, the witch detective, still seems somewhat adrift.

Advertising as a witch detective, two separate women try to hire Becca to help them. The mystery, in which both end up suspects, is the murder of Frank Cross, the husband of one of Beccas possible clients and the boyfriend of the other prospect.

The three cats, the actual witches of the series, support
...more
Mary
Dec 31, 2019 rated it really liked it
This is the 2nd installment of the Witch Cats of Cambridge series. The story is from the three cats (Clara, Laurel and Harriet) who are the real witches and siblings work together to keep their owner out of trouble. Becca Corwin is running a witch detective agency and she thinks she has powers when in fact it is her cats who have all the power. There are two cases that are connected and she decides she can only work on one. Clara and her sisters are fighting and Clara finds a dead body and the ...more
Dani(elle)
Dec 01, 2019 rated it liked it
You ever read a book that, in theory, is perfect for you but find yourself not connecting to the work like you normally would? That was me with this book. Perhaps it is because I started with the second in the series, but for whatever reason I found myself not either immersed or particularly engaged. I adore the concept of a cozy mystery fromy the perspective of cats but I wasn't especially found of Clara, Laurel, or Harriet, and nothing about Becca stood out either. The writing and plot is not ...more
Janine
Dec 13, 2019 rated it really liked it
This is a fun mystery with a lot of twists and turns. I enjoyed the story being told from a cats point of view. The three sibling cats are really witches, but they arent allowed to let their caregiver, who is a witch detective, know. Together they solve the mysteries in this unique and entertaining book. If you like cats, mysteries and witches, youll really enjoy this book. ...more
Kaye
Oct 31, 2019 added it
The second in the series. I would give this one 3.5 stars, mainly because all the fighting among the cats got tiresome after awhile. Tended to skim a bit in the middle, and probably missed a few details because of it. Overall though, if you like cats and young and learning good witches you will enjoy this book.
Tyson
rated it liked it
Jan 27, 2020
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Murder Makes Scents (Nantucket Candle Maker Mystery #2)
  • Verse and Vengeance (A Magical Bookshop Mystery #4)
  • Sealed Off (A Maine Clambake Mystery, #8)
  • The Book of Candlelight (Secret, Book, & Scone Society, #3)
  • Three Widows and a Corpse (A Food Blogger Mystery Book 3)
  • There's A Murder Afoot (Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Mystery #5)
  • Murder with Cherry Tarts (Daisy's Tea Garden Mystery #4)
  • Death of a Gigolo (A Jaine Austen Mystery)
  • Death by Chocolate Frosted Doughnut (Death by Chocolate Mystery #3)
  • Southern Double Cross (Southern B&B Mystery)
  • In Cold Chamomile (A Tea and Read Mystery #3)
  • Poppy Harmon and the Hung Jury (A Desert Flowers Mystery #2)
  • Look Alive Twenty-Five (Stephanie Plum, #25)
  • Theater Nights Are Murder
  • A Crafter Quilts a Crime  (A Handcrafted Mystery #3)
  • Much Ado about Nutmeg (Pancake House Mystery #6)
  • Statue of Limitations (A Goddess of Greene St. Mystery #1)
  • Death of a Blueberry Tart (Hayley Powell Food and Cocktails Mystery #12)
See similar books…
358 followers
Clea Simon is the author of the upcoming "A Spell of Murder," the first in her new "Witch Cats of Cambridge" series. She is also the author of "World Enough," a rock 'n' roll noir, as well as the Blackie and Care series (most recently "Cross My Path") chronicling the adventures of the pink-haired Care and the black feral cat who loves her. In addition to these darker books, she is also the author ...more

Other books in the series

Witch Cats of Cambridge (2 books)
  • A Spell of Murder (Witch Cats of Cambridge #1)

News & Interviews

  Mary Pauline Lowry knows a thing or two about being stuck at home when you don't want to be. After all, the premise of her newest novel, The R...
24 likes · 6 comments