Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Any Day with You” as Want to Read:
Any Day with You
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Any Day with You

by
4.55  ·  Rating details ·  20 ratings  ·  11 reviews
A warm, tender story about a creative girl who hopes that by winning a filmmaking contest, she'll convince her great-grandfather not to move back home to the Philippines. For fans of Erin Entrada Kelly and Kelly Yang.

Kaia and her family live near the beach in California, where the fun of moviemaking is all around them. Kaia loves playing with makeup and creating special
...more
Hardcover, 224 pages
Expected publication: May 5th 2020 by Wendy Lamb Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Any Day with You, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Any Day with You

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-49
Average rating 4.55  · 
Rating details
 ·  20 ratings  ·  11 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Any Day with You
Mae Respicio
Oct 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
I love this book!!!
Ms. Yingling
Mar 31, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
E ARC provided by Netgalley.com

Kaia lives in Santa Monica with her supportive family, which includes college professor mom, movie artist dad, older sister Lainey, and great-grandfather, Tatang. She is looking forward to a fun summer, even though she will miss Lainey, who is off to medical school in the fall and is spending the summer in the Philippines, where Tatang was born and raised. The plan is that Tatang, who is 90, will visit with friends and family while Lainey is there, then return with
...more
Karen McKenna
Mar 07, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I absolutely adored Kaia's story. First of all, the family was just fantastic. Kaia's mom in a professor in Asian American studies at UCLA. Her dad is a special effects animator at a movie studio. Kaia's sister Lainey has just graduated from high school and is headed to college to become a doctor. Which is intimidating for Kaia, whose dream is to be a special effects makeup artist. Her entire family supports her dream and encourages her to follow her passion. Perhaps the most special family ...more
Liz
Mar 06, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Read arc recd at PLA: lovely story about what home means and family bonds.
Debbi Florence
Mar 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A gorgeous story of family love!
Kristin Crouch
Feb 09, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Thank you to the author for sharing an ARC with Collabookation.
Kaia has grown up in a three-generational home and cherished every moment with her Tatang (grandfather). He is a supporter like no other: he encourages her (and her siblings) to always be their best, stay true to themselves, and understand their place in the world. In stressful moments, he loves to slow the world down for them to help them be mindful and at peace. When they are in the mood for adventure, his stories of Philipino
...more
Katie Reilley
Jan 11, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Thank you to the author and Random House Kids for sharing an early copy with #bookexpedition.

Twelve year old Kaia and her family live in California near the beach. She has a passion for creating special effects make-up and turning her best friends into magical creatures. She loves spending time with her great-grandpa, Tatang, whos lived with her family her whole life. When Tatang shares that hed like to move back to his homeland in the Philippines, Kaia is devastated and cant imagine her life
...more
Lorie Barber
Beautiful, action-packed, yet meditative follow up to The House That Lou Built, Kaias story centers on her relationship with her great-grandfather, her perceptions of his expectations, and finding her place in the world. I love her great-grandfathers wisdom (Where are your feet?) and how he responds to the negativity in the world. The lessons he teaches Kaia and her friends, Trey and Abby, are priceless and ones we could all integrate into our lives. A definite add to my class library when its ...more
Jen Petro-Roy
Jan 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2020, arc, ebook, middle-grade
I adored this. Left me with a feeling of such warmth and love.
Amanda Rawson Hill
This book is emotional and beautiful. I loved it!
Shae
Feb 18, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Kaia is spending the summer with her great-grandfather before he moves back to the Philippines. Her goal is to make him proud before he leaves and maybe convince him to stay! This touching story is filled with many life lessons!
jo henning
rated it really liked it
Mar 19, 2020
Erin Varley
rated it it was amazing
Apr 02, 2020
HON TOLA
rated it it was amazing
Jan 05, 2020
Kila Helen
rated it it was ok
Feb 12, 2020
Mae Respicio
Apr 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Basuki Nath
rated it it was amazing
Jan 08, 2020
Rebecca
rated it really liked it
Mar 08, 2020
Sara Grochowski
rated it really liked it
Mar 24, 2020
Jessica
rated it really liked it
Mar 22, 2020
Kelly
marked it as to-read
Feb 02, 2018
Tawney
marked it as to-read
Feb 08, 2018
Mew
added it
Feb 12, 2018
Hazel (Stay Bookish)
marked it as to-read
Feb 17, 2018
Krystal
marked it as to-read
Feb 21, 2018
ALPHAreader
marked it as to-read
Mar 09, 2018
Jennifer
marked it as to-read
Apr 26, 2018
Selle
marked it as to-read
May 06, 2018
Noa  Sperber
marked it as to-read
May 06, 2018
Tanya
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2018
John More
marked it as to-read
Jun 13, 2018
Jhoanna
marked it as to-read
Jun 28, 2018
Yamile Méndez
marked it as to-read
Jul 13, 2018
Serena
marked it as to-read
Jul 13, 2018
Igrowastreesgrow
marked it as to-read
Jul 23, 2018
Amanda
added it
Jul 29, 2018
Jennifer Fenn
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2018
Diverse Reads
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2018
Stephen
marked it as to-read
Aug 14, 2018
Sara Grochowski
marked it as to-read
Sep 14, 2018
Arianne Costner
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2018
Corinne
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2018
Jerell
marked it as to-read
Oct 21, 2018
Miranda Christie
marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2018
Suzanne
marked it as to-read
Nov 08, 2018
Kate O'Shaughnessy
marked it as to-read
Nov 12, 2018
Megan Benavidez
marked it as to-read
Dec 08, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Go with the Flow
  • Mañanaland
  • What Lane?
  • When Stars Are Scattered
  • Nat Enough (Nat Enough #1)
  • Clean Getaway
  • When You Trap a Tiger
  • White Bird
  • Jelly
  • Roll with It
  • The Total Eclipse of Nestor Lopez
  • The Places We Sleep
  • Stand Up, Yumi Chung!
  • From the Desk of Zoe Washington
  • Fighting Words
  • Cub
  • The Great Upending
  • Look Both Ways: A Tale Told in Ten Blocks
See similar books…
46 followers
Mae Respicio grew up in Northern California and like the main character in her debut middle grade novel, spent many childhood summers dancing in a Filipino folk dance troupe. Mae is a past recipient of a PEN Center USA Emerging Voices Fellowship. She's been a writer-in-residence at Hedgebrook and Atlantic Center for the Arts and has published a variety of musings on parenthood. She lives with her ...more

Related Articles

Want to encourage young readers to keep up their reading habits? Look no further than this year's buzziest YA and middle-grade graphic novels....
52 likes · 13 comments