Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Girl with the Louding Voice” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
The Girl with the Loud...
 
by
Abi Daré
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Girl with the Louding Voice

4.51  ·  Rating details ·  6,398 ratings  ·  1,027 reviews
A powerful, emotional debut novel told in the unforgettable voice of a young Nigerian woman who is trapped in a life of servitude but determined to fight for her dreams and choose her own future.

Adunni is a fourteen-year-old Nigerian girl who knows what she wants: an education. This, her mother has told her, is the only way to get a louding voicethe ability to speak for
...more
Paperback, 314 pages
Published 2020 by Sceptre Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Girl with the Louding Voice, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Amy Gordy Yes. The entire book is written from Adunnis perspective and obviously English is not her first language. Its also written from her 14 year old…moreYes. The entire book is written from Adunni’s perspective and obviously English is not her first language. It’s also written from her 14 year old perspective. I had to keep reminding myself of her age when she would describe scenes in the book. (less)
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.51  · 
Rating details
 ·  6,398 ratings  ·  1,027 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Girl with the Louding Voice
Nursebookie
Jan 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The Girl with the Louding Voice by Abi Dare

Courageous!
Compelling!
Fearless!

I loved this book so much I could not stop talking about this and recommending this book! I havent read a book like this since forever and what a powerful and emotional read this was for me.

What an amazing debut novel by Abi Dare whose writing transported me to Adunnis life, struggles, misfortunes and triumph as well. I loved reading the book in its colloquial voice of Adunni, a fourteen year old Nigerian girl, who was
...more
Jenna
Feb 21, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A beautiful debut novel!

Once again I judged a book by its cover and once again, doing so did not disappoint. The main character, our narrator, is every bit as bold and brilliant as the colours on this cover, leaping out from the page as soon as she starts to speak and tell her story.

One of the criteria of a good writer is the ability to make us feel for their characters. Be it positive or negative, we become emotionally involved in their lives. Almost from the beginning of The Girl with the
...more
Michelle
5 stars!!

This is immediately going on my best of 2020 list. There is so much to hold on to and talk about with this very special book. I found myself bereft of all hope as I read about Adunni's life, yet she continually amazed me. It opens with Adunni learning she will soon be married to a man older than her father, where she will become the third wife in her new home. To think that this practice still exists today all over the world! All Adunni wanted was to go to school and earn an education.
...more
Faith
Mar 10, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: audio, overdrive
Adunni is a 14 year old Nigerian girl who has had limited educational opportunities, but she has always wanted to become a teacher. Her opportunities shrink even more when her father sells her to an old man to become his third wife. Her job is to produce a son for him. Following a frightening experience, she runs away and a man claiming to be helping her turns her over to a wealthy couple to work as their maid. She gets no wages, is regularly beaten by the wife and sexually threatened by the ...more
Jeanette (Again)
Today is publication day for this book. Congratulations, Abi Dare!

This novel won the Bath Novel Award for unpublished manuscripts in 2018. In this interview Abi Dare shares a little about the story and her writing process:
https://bathnovelaward.co.uk/2018/09/...

4.5 stars

When we think of a coming-of-age story, we usually imagine a sweet, gradual awakening from adolescence into adulthood. There are bumps and bruises and broken hearts along the way, but it's all just part of growing up. Adunni is
...more
Elyse  Walters
Apr 01, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Audiobook....read by Adjoa Andoh....(Library overdrive),
And....
synced with the ebook that I own.

The Girl With Louding Voice, deserves to win every award its nominated for!!!!

Why are the women in Nigeria suffering so much more than the men? WHY????

My heart was heavy
taking in so much sorrow, and pain.

I was crying and laughing at the same time....towards the end.... a complete emotional mess.
My god.... this novel is BEAUTIFUL!!!!

Love the song at the end....but tears took awhile to stop.

Its a
...more
Elena L.
Nov 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
[4,5/5 stars]

THE GIRL WITH THE LOUDING VOICE centers around the life of Adunni - a fourteen-year-old Nigerian girl who doesn't want to follow the destiny of all the Nigerian girls and desires to choose her own future.

The first chapter already had me infuriated! I found myself helpless in front of the cultural imposition - Abi Dare does a fantastic job tackling issues of sexism, marriage, parenting, futility, negativity of a patriarchal society and women's inequality. Having read a great amount
...more
Michelle
4.5 stars
"I want more than just a voice, I want a louding voice. I want to enter a room and people will hear me even before I open my mouth to be speaking."

I first came across this book in an article written in Daily Kos challenging readers to read 52 books by women of color over the course of the year. I fell in love with the cover. I fell in love with the description. Once I started reading I fell in love with Adunni and her spirit.

The Girl With the Louding Voice is a coming of age story
...more
Laura • lauralovestoread
So Im speechless after reading The Girl With The Louding Voice over the weekend. This was one of those books that I could have easily binge read in one sitting, but I wanted to soak in the story of Adunni.

After a few 5 star reviews started flooding my feed, I was excited to read this debut novel, but I had no idea that I would immerse myself so fully into the story.

I was so drawn to Adunnis powerful spirit, despite the fact that she is sold into a marriage at the age of 14, living in a village
...more
Kathleen
Mar 06, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Fourteen-year-old Adunni lost her mother to illness. And shortly afterward, her father married her off to an old man to become his third wife. Now she is a housemaid for a wealthy, demanding gorgon. But Adunni has dreams! She wants to go to school, become educated, and eventually teach. Darés debut novel follows Adunnis journey towards achieving this lofty goal. Along the way, this delightful, spirited girl will steal your heart.

Darés novel exposes the social ills in Nigerian culturethe issue of
...more
Jennifer Blankfein
Amazing....14 year old Nigerian girl who wants to have a voice. This was a wonderful book journey; heartbreaking and hopeful...a must read! Full review to come on https://booknationbyjen.com.
Basic B's Guide
Jan 27, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Binge-worthy literary fiction. Say what?! Let me introduce you to THE GIRL WITH THE LOUDING VOICE (available today!).

Adunni, is just 14 when her mother passes away and her father sells her as a 3rd wife to a much older man. Not long after being married, tragedy strikes and she is sold as a servant to a very wealthy household in Lagos. Adunni must fight against all the odds to have a voice and not just a voice but a LOUDING VOICE. Not his-story, I say. My own will be called her-story. Adunnis
...more
Kayla Garcia
Jan 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
It may be bold to say, but this is the best book Ive ever read. This is a masterfully-crafted combination of flawless literary fiction and astounding cultural statistics.

❝I want more than just a voice, I want a louding voice. I want to enter a room and people will hear me even before I open my mouth to be speaking. I want to live in this life and help many people so that when I grow old and die, I will still be living through the people I am helping.❞

Ive said this before, and I firmly believe it
...more
MaryBeth's Bookshelf
Feb 19, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction
When I read a book as powerful as this one, it makes me really think about all the things we take for granted...

Abi Dare is definitely going to be an author to watch. Her debut novel about a young Nigerian girl trapped in a world of poverty had me breathless and my heart racing. When her mother passes away, 14 year old Adunni is sold by her father to be the "3rd wife" of a man who is looking for a young girl to give him an heir. While in his house she is abused by the man's "first wife"and when
...more
Rebecca
Adunni (pronounced ā-do-nee), a 14 yo Nigerian woman, has recently lost her mother and is being forced by her father to marry an old man who already has two other wives. Adunni, however, dreams of continuing her education because as her late mama told her, "Your schooling is your voice, child." She has hopes and dreams and states: "I will go to school... and become teacher [sic] because I don't just want to be having any kinda voice. I want a louding voice."

Wow. This powerful debut was
...more
Latanya (Crafty Scribbles)
I await this novel's deserving film adaptation.

As I read this tale, I experienced several emotions. To name a few, hope, heartbreak, fear, and joy. Some may ask how could I possibly feel these things toward a story that's challenging to the senses and soul. Easy. I listened. One must listen to Adunni to appreciate the full scoop of her story.

The story's unnerving, but it's well worth a read. Take your time with this one. It deserves to have every word savored.

1) The plot is simple. A young
...more
Kathleen
I liked this, but I wasn't blown away. The author creates very vivid characters and used the foreign vernacular successfully enough that it planted me right into the setting. Although that vernacular was awkward to read at first, and I did wonder whether I could read an entire book of it, there was a rhythm I was able to pick up on. I think the author has a very strong message that wasn't necessarily successfully communicated through what was written. While I did get an understanding of the ...more
Amy (TheSouthernGirlReads)
Feb 03, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Amy (TheSouthernGirlReads) by: Basic B's Guide
Thank you to Dutton Books for my review copy.

Adunni, you have my heart girl. I have so many thoughts. So, so many. I don't really want to speak on them all....I want you to read this book blind. I'm going to say just a few things.
1. The characters written here are the most memorable of characters. Exceptional.
2. The actual location was a learning experience for me.
3. The fact that I was surprised how much hope I would walk away with.

That's all I'm going to say. Read this book. Let your daughter
...more
Carol (Reading Ladies)
5+ Stars! Review first published on Readingladies.com

Tomorrow will be better than today. I have value and Im important.

Life for a woman is not easy in Nigeria. Adunnis mom plants the thought of having a voice in her spirit. Fourteen-year-old Adunni is determined to fight for her voice to be heard and for her future despite being sold as a third wife. Even when she runs away, she finds herself in another powerless position of servitude. Adunni is introduced to a more modern woman who befriends
...more
Tammy
Mar 27, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: release-2020
5 stars for this eye-opening powerful debut!! I cant recommend it enough. ...more
Hayley Stenger
Feb 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wonderful and thoughtful. I love that feeling after reading a book of being truly impressed by the author and the skill that went into putting the pieces that make a story together. Adunni's voice really moved the story along and was so important to the novel. I cared for her and all she went through so much. It is hard to believe this is a debut.
Barbara
Mar 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Treat yourself to the audio version of The Girl with the Louding Voice by Abi Dare narrated by Adjoa Andoh. Listening to Ms. Andoh provide the voice of Adunni brings life and authenticity to the story. Im fairly sure I enjoyed the novel more by listening to Ms. Andoh rather than depending upon my own version that I would have formulated in my mind.

Adunni is a fourteen-year-old Nigerian girl, raised in a small village under poverty. After her mother dies, her father sells her to a man to be his
...more
Lolly K Dandeneau
via my blog:https://bookstalkerblog.wordpress.com/
"But I dont want to born anything now. How will a girl like me born childrens? Why I fill up the world with sad childrens that are not having a chance to go to school? Why make the world to be one big, sad, silent place because all the childrens not having a voice?"

Adunnis mother once told her that an education is the only way for a Nigerian girl to have a louding voice. Without an education, a woman cannot speak up for herself, will never be
...more
Mikaela (Booklover1974)
2,5 stars

I realize I'm in minority here but I just couldn't give the book more stars.

It took a while to get use to the language, it's written in rather bad English (the way Adunni talks) but after a while it was OK. Adunni is the fourteen year old girl who wants a louding voice, she wants it's so loud that the whole Nigeria can hear her. All she dreams of is to be a teacher and have a classroom full of children that listens to her. Too bad her father has other plans for her, like marrying her
...more
Stephanie
Feb 27, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Everybody in the whole world be speaking different. We all be speaking different because we all are having different growing-up life, but we can all be understanding each other if we just take the time to listen well.

God has given you all you need to be great, and it sits right there inside of you. Right inside your mind, in your heart. You believe it, I know you do. You just need to hold onto that belief and never let go. When you get up every day, I want you to remind yourself that tomorrow
...more
KC
Often times helpless but not voiceless, fourteen-year-old Nigerian Adunni is longing to be empowered by education and to, one day, become a teacher. But soon that joyful image is tainted. Sold as a child-bride by her father and then enslaved to an dangerous and violent affluent family, Adunni never abandons hope. This contemporary debut coming-of-age novel transports readers between the wealthy and the impoverished Nigerian people and how one girl persists in writing a happier ending for ...more
Janine
Jan 28, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book blew me away. The unique style for which it was written and the powerful impact it left made this an easy 5 stars for me. The author does an impeccable job at inviting you into Adunnis life and making you feel the landscape of Nigeria throughout the entire story. Sprinkled with facts about Nigeria and full of emotion, this story is one that I will think about long after the book is closed. If this is not yet on your lists, do yourself a favor and add it asap. This is captivating story ...more
Suzanne thebookblondie
The Girl With the Louding Voice by Abi Daré (#28 in 2020)

"I tell myself that even if I am not getting anything in this life, I will go to school. I will finish my primary and secondary and university schooling and become teacher because I don't just want to be having any kind voice... I want a louding voice."

Adunni, a 14 year old Nigerian girl, wants the kind of education her late mother always said would give her the kind of voice that would lead her to a bright future. When Adunni is sold off
...more
Renee (some kind of a library)
Thank you to the publisher for my free copy.

"...I don't just want to be having any kind voice...I want a louding voice."

Theres something about reading a book with a main character that digs deep and doesn't let go- that feeing hangs on. I'd like you to meet Adunni, a 14 year old girl from Nigeria who experiences deep sorrow and pain and hope and empathy while on her journey to finding her "louding voice". When I closed this book I was without any words to describe my experience of reading-
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Writers & Lovers
  • Dear Edward
  • A Good Neighborhood
  • The Bookish Life of Nina Hill
  • My Sister, the Serial Killer
  • Ghost Wall
  • Gideon the Ninth (The Locked Tomb, #1)
  • Twisted Twenty-Six (Stephanie Plum, #26)
  • The Scent Keeper
  • Twas the Nightshift Before Christmas
  • How to Write an Autobiographical Novel: Essays
  • American Dirt
  • Vinegar Girl
  • 10 Minutes 38 Seconds in This Strange World
  • The Starless Sea
  • The Holdout
  • Little Voices
  • Such a Fun Age
See similar books…

Related Articles

April is the most hopeful of months, promising warm days and sunshine just around the corner. The weather is a little unpredictable, sure, but tha...
82 likes · 22 comments
“you must do good for other peoples, even if you are not well, even if the whole world around you is not well.” 1 likes
“Who knows what else tomorrow will bring? So, I nod my head yes, because it is true, the future is always working, always busy unfolding better things, and even if it doesn’t seem so sometimes, we have hope of it.” 1 likes
More quotes…