Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “City of the Uncommon Thief” as Want to Read:
City of the Uncommon Thief
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

City of the Uncommon Thief

3.07  ·  Rating details ·  15 ratings  ·  11 reviews
A dark and intricate fantasy, City of the Uncommon Thief is the story of a quarantined city gripped by fear and of the war that can free it.

"Guilders work. Foundlings scrub the bogs. Needles bind. Swords tear. And men leave. There is nothing uncommon in this city. I hope Errol Thebes is dead. We both know he is safer that way."

In a walled city of a mile-high iron guild tow
...more
Hardcover, 400 pages
Published November 10th 2020 by Dutton Books for Young Readers
More Details... Edit Details

Win a Copy of This Book

  • City of the Uncommon Thief by Lynne Bertrand
    City of the Uncommon Thief

    Release date: Feb 09, 2021
    Enter to win a hardcover copy of CITY OF THE UNCOMMON THIEF by Lynne Bertrand!

    A dark and intricate fantasy for readers of The Book of Dust and Leigh B
    ...more

    Format: Print book

    Giveaway ends in: a

    Availability: 5 copies available, 1805 people requesting

    Giveaway dates: Jan 09 - Feb 08, 2021

    Countries available: U.S.

  • Friend Reviews

    To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

    Reader Q&A

    To ask other readers questions about City of the Uncommon Thief, please sign up.

    Be the first to ask a question about City of the Uncommon Thief

    Community Reviews

    Showing 1-47
    Average rating 3.07  · 
    Rating details
     ·  15 ratings  ·  11 reviews


    More filters
     | 
    Sort order
    Start your review of City of the Uncommon Thief
    Tiffani Reads
    DNF at 37%

    Thank you to Penguin Teen for allowing me to have an advanced digital copy of this book. Unfortunately, it was just not for me. I tried to push through but I was supremely bored while reading. At one point everyone almost starves to death and I was actually rooting for that to happen so this book could be done.

    The concept seems really cool but just not enough substance was there to keep me invested in the story. I also found all the characters to be extremely dull and self-centred wh
    ...more
    Abbie | abbie.ruis
    A new spell-binding fantasy inspired by Ancient Greece.

    Though confusing at times, the world-building in this story was so rich! I really liked the tone and atmosphere of the story. The plot was intriguing, and the writing. So many good lines. I'm a big fan of poetic but direct prose. However, it was a little too direct at points. I didn't feel like I was really in the thick of it with the characters, if that makes sense? And I feel like I would have enjoyed it more, had it been shorter. It was a
    ...more
    Kaya
    Nov 29, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
    Shelves: arcs
    one of the richest YA worlds/world-building I’ve come across. unfortunately, it was just a bit too confusing for me. rtc!

    a huge thank you to the publisher for an ARC in exchange for an honest review!
    Marija
    Lynne Bertrand’s debut novel would best suit a targeted audience, namely readers familiar with Norse and Greek myths and epics, linguistics, as well as those who enjoy epic fantasy and pastoral literature with its parodies.

    This is a difficult story to envision. Readers are immediately immersed into an alternate reality—whether it takes place in a future world or part of a medieval world is not really known. It’s simply “other.” It exists, however, with some relation to our world’s past, as the
    ...more
    Laura
    Aug 23, 2020 rated it really liked it
    If this hadn't been quite as long (due to padding) it could have been a five star.

    Something has happened in this world, something that created a walled off city of mile-high towers, each tower belongs to a guild that makes some product eventually shipped to the greater world once a year. Teens can become runners, living on the rooftops for three(ish) years before serving as an apprentice to one guild or another. Ok, so far, so familiar, right? These runner love to play pranks on each other and o
    ...more
    Vera
    Dec 16, 2020 rated it it was ok
    Shelves: fantasy, ya
    Thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for giving me the opportunity to read an ARC of this book!

    Unfortunately, I didn't particularly like it, mainly because it is extremely convoluted. I don't mind a story that is written in a fractured way, and that takes some thinking in order to fully grasp what is going on, but I felt that this one is unnecessarily convoluted. Even the world-building is a bit unclear. There's a city where people live in towers organized by some kind of craft guilds. Ther
    ...more
    Kera (featherboundbooks)
    While the world building was intrinsic and inventive, there were too many things going on that felt disconnected in this book. I went through so much of it confused and having to go back and reread passages.

    I liked the idea of this book: a group of teens living on rooftops and the intensity of their lifestyle. There was some romance and a lot of suspense. But there were too many characters referenced and they did not seem to be complete persons. It was more like just ideas of people and a shadow
    ...more
    Cori McCarthy
    Dec 26, 2020 rated it liked it
    Shelves: arc-s
    First of all, I would like to thank Penguinteen for sending me an ARC through NetGalley!

    I think what I really liked about this book was the writing and the world-building. It was rich in detail, and I felt that I could imagine every scene that was told in the book. The only thing that I wasn’t a big fan of was it got a little confusing at times, and I would find myself going back a few pages because I felt that I was missing something that was going on. Also, I would find that I would get a lit
    ...more
    Kym's Open Books
    A city is completely walled from the outlying world. Within the city, mile high towers are built for each guild. Each tower ships their product out to the greater land. Teens are the runners between these towers and live a highly dangerous and precarious life around these towers.
    While the characters were interesting, I didn’t feel connected to any which made me care less for the story. A lot of time went into describing life on the towers for the runners and I feel a lot of it could’ve been cut
    ...more
    Margarita (margaritathedrink)
    I was really excited for this one but it didn’t deliver like i was expecting but overall a good read and still recommend.

    It was a little confusing at times (it was hard to envision some things) but i enjoyed the world building a lot along with the prose.

    Thanks penguin teen for allowing me to read this one!
    Alysa H.
    Jun 22, 2020 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
    Shelves: netgalley
    ** I received a Review Copy of this book via NetGalley **
    Marochka
    rated it did not like it
    Aug 14, 2020
    Georgia Teensma
    rated it it was amazing
    May 04, 2020
    becky
    rated it really liked it
    Oct 19, 2020
    Louie Rendon
    rated it really liked it
    Sep 05, 2020
    Jen Blair
    rated it did not like it
    Nov 14, 2020
    Andrew Karre
    rated it it was amazing
    Apr 27, 2020
    Caro
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 21, 2020
    *mk*
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 22, 2020
    Hannah
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 23, 2020
    Andrew Clendening
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 30, 2020
    여리고
    marked it as to-read
    Jan 31, 2020
    Isabella
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 01, 2020
    Rev
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 13, 2020
    Stacey
    added it
    Feb 18, 2020
    Korrina  (OwlCrate)
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 19, 2020
    Sara Wenschhof
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 19, 2020
    Jess
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 19, 2020
    myriad obsessions
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 20, 2020
    John
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 20, 2020
    Lala
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 20, 2020
    Sam Miller
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 20, 2020
    Stephanie
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 21, 2020
    Pie
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 21, 2020
    Meg
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 24, 2020
    Beth
    marked it as to-read
    Feb 25, 2020
    Anette
    marked it as to-read
    Mar 05, 2020
    Megan Weiss
    marked it as to-read
    Mar 10, 2020
    Hyzie
    marked it as to-read
    Mar 12, 2020
    Lila (Hardcover Haven)
    marked it as to-read
    Mar 12, 2020
    Lisa
    marked it as to-read
    Mar 19, 2020
    Nikita Afsar
    marked it as to-read
    Mar 24, 2020
    Runa
    marked it as to-read
    Mar 27, 2020
    Shilo Quetchenbach
    marked it as to-read
    Mar 28, 2020
    Jo
    marked it as to-read
    Mar 30, 2020
    Sheree
    marked it as to-read
    Apr 03, 2020
    There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

    Readers also enjoyed

    • The Camelot Betrayal (Camelot Rising, #2)
    • The Shadow War
    • Super Fake Love Song
    • These Violent Delights (These Violent Delights, #1)
    • The Electric Kingdom
    • The Awakening of Malcolm X
    • The Girls I've Been
    • The Lives of Saints (Grishaverse)
    • The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
    • Pride and Premeditation (Jane Austen Murder Mystery, #1)
    • How the King of Elfhame Learned to Hate Stories (The Folk of the Air, #3.5)
    • Together We Caught Fire
    • This is How We Fly
    • Small Town Hearts
    • If I Disappear
    • Fable (Fable, #1)
    • Instant Karma
    • A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire (Blood and Ash, #2)
    See similar books…

    Related Articles

    Thanks to the COVID-19 pandemic, 2020 will be long remembered as a Dumpster fire of a year. But the nice thing about time is that it...
    298 likes · 138 comments