Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Weird: The Power of Being an Outsider in an Insider World” as Want to Read:
Weird: The Power of Being an Outsider in an Insider World
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Weird: The Power of Being an Outsider in an Insider World

4.25  ·  Rating details ·  8 ratings  ·  4 reviews
In the tradition of Susan Cain's Quiet and Scott Stossel's My Age of Anxiety, Atlantic staff writer Olga Khazan reclaims the concept of "weird" and turns it into a badge of honor rather than a slur, showing how being different -- culturally, socially, physically, or mentally -- can actually be a person's greatest strength.

Most of us have at some point in our lives felt
...more
Hardcover, 320 pages
Expected publication: April 7th 2020 by Hachette Go
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Weird, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Weird

Community Reviews

Showing 1-37
Average rating 4.25  · 
Rating details
 ·  8 ratings  ·  4 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Weird: The Power of Being an Outsider in an Insider World
Shelly
Nov 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: netgalley
What does it mean to be socially different ("weird")? How does this label and the social experiences that go along with it shape us? Which lens should we look at it through? These are some of the questions Khazan explores in her book, Weird: The Power of Being an Outsider in an Insider World.

The pivotal question of course is this: Is being weird such a bad thing? Certainly, it can lead to feelings of discomfort, alienation and being misunderstood or marginalized. However, when we embrace weird
...more
Karen
Feb 20, 2020 rated it really liked it
"But believing that your weirdness is your superpower can also be hugely beneficial. There is evidence that thinking about your circumstances in a different waya process called cognitive reappraisalcan help you cope with challenges better. Perceiving what makes you weird as being what gives you strength can, ultimately, make you happier. If you already possess the lemons of social rejection, you might as well make a really odd lemonade."

I've had a mixed relationship with this book. From the
...more
Ann
Mar 10, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: net-galley
This is an enjoyable book about people who are somehow outsiders or "other." The author presents some of her own life story, as a Russian immigrant who grows up in a small town in west Texas, and about how being "weird" has impacted her; additionally, she has several interviews (or case study-type stories) about a variety of people who have been viewed or perceived as weird because they are different.

She presents a lot of positive spin on being weird: "It's good to be a weirdo. Being different
...more
Witch-at-Heart
Mar 07, 2020 rated it it was ok
This book wasn't what I expected. It was not really about the weirdness referred to in the title but about more obvious physical traits, upbringings, or careers that leaves one socially unable to fully relate and make friends. Somehow standing in the authors mind on the fringe of social acceptance. But some categorize as weird are simply people from other cultures or with health concerns and I see nothing weird about that beyond the fact I don't think it is weird but just cruel.

Having a
...more
Mollie Bloudoff-Indelicato
rated it it was amazing
Jan 17, 2020
Veli
rated it it was amazing
Jan 06, 2020
Nora McGreevy
rated it really liked it
Feb 19, 2020
Rebecca
rated it it was amazing
Jan 18, 2020
Hege Marie
marked it as to-read
Jan 05, 2020
Anna Hoang
marked it as to-read
Feb 16, 2020
Jeannette
is currently reading it
Apr 03, 2020
BonLivre
marked it as to-read
Oct 15, 2019
Schizanthus Nerd
marked it as to-read
Oct 16, 2019
Rhiannon Johnson
marked it as to-read
Oct 16, 2019
Monica
marked it as to-read
Oct 28, 2019
Marianne
marked it as to-read
Nov 06, 2019
Kathleen
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2019
The Starry Library
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2019
Kelley
marked it as to-read
Nov 20, 2019
Denise
marked it as to-read
Nov 25, 2019
Rebecca
marked it as to-read
Nov 25, 2019
Joshua
marked it as to-read
Nov 25, 2019
Theron
marked it as to-read
Nov 25, 2019
Bookis Worthy
marked it as to-read
Nov 25, 2019
Danielle Sensley
marked it as to-read
Nov 25, 2019
V
marked it as to-read
Nov 26, 2019
Ginger
marked it as to-read
Nov 26, 2019
Elle
marked it as to-read
Nov 27, 2019
Autumn
marked it as to-read
Nov 29, 2019
Tracy
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2019
Windy Kahler
marked it as to-read
Dec 09, 2019
Lindsey
marked it as to-read
Dec 18, 2019
Caitlin
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2019
Michael Gluzman
marked it as to-read
Dec 25, 2019
Madison Caldwell
marked it as to-read
Dec 26, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Expressive Sketchbooks: Developing Creative Skills, Courage, and Confidence
  • The Book of Life (All Souls Trilogy, #3)
  • Gardening Your Front Yard: Projects and Ideas for Big and Small Spaces - Includes Vegetable Gardening, Pollinator Plants, Rain Gardens, and More!
  • The Water Dancer
  • Big Lies in a Small Town
  • Haunting of the Blackthorne House
  • 50 Reasons to Love Animals
  • Mediterranean Diet Slow Cooker Cookbook: 100 Healthy Recipes
  • Dinosaur Coloring Book
  • Keto Drinks: From Tasty Keto Coffee to Keto-Friendly Smoothies, Juices, and More, 100+ Recipes to Burn Fat, Increase Energy, and Boost Your Brainpower!
  • Clean Paleo Family Cookbook: 100 Delicious Squeaky Clean Paleo and Keto Recipes to Please Everyone at the Table
  • Oil & Acrylic: Flowers: Learn to paint step by step
  • Happy Bonsai: Choose It, Shape It, Love It
  • Canning Essentials: Jam-Packed with Essential Tools, Techniques, and Recipes for Fruits, Veggies, Jams, Pickles, Salsa, and More
  • How Birds Behave: Discover the Mysteries of What Backyard Birds Do 365 Days of the Year
  • Botanisch tekenen en illustreren
  • Easy Keto Meal Prep: Simplify Your Keto Diet with 8 Weekly Meal Plans and 60 Delicious Recipes
  • Keto-Green 16: Harness the Combined Fat-Burning Power of Ketogenic Eating + The Nourishing Strength of Alkaline Foods for Rapid Weight Loss and Hormone Balance
See similar books…

Related Articles

  The cohosts of the By the Book podcast, Jolenta Greenberg and Kristen Meinzer, are hitting the bookshelves themselves this spring with thei...
47 likes · 15 comments