Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Silver” as Want to Read:
Silver
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Silver

(Martin Scarsden #2)

really liked it 4.00  ·  Rating details ·  2,360 ratings  ·  264 reviews
For half a lifetime, journalist Martin Scarsden has run from his past. But now there is no escaping. He'd vowed never to return to his hometown, Port Silver, and its traumatic memories. But now his new partner, Mandy Blonde, has inherited an old house in the seaside town and Martin knows their chance of a new life together won't come again. Martin arrives to find his best ...more
Paperback, 576 pages
Published October 1st 2019 by Allen & Unwin
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Silver, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Jodi Chris Hammer's Facebook post indicates there's still no ETA on the Canada/US release. Hopefully soon!

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
really liked it Average rating 4.00  · 
Rating details
 ·  2,360 ratings  ·  264 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Silver
Paromjit
Dec 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This is Chris Hammer's follow up to his stellar award winning Aussie crime fiction debut, Scrublands, and it confirms his talent as the location shifts to Port Silver in New South Wales, a coastal town, the town the now ex-journalist Martin Scarsden grew up in and couldn't leave fast enough after his traumatic childhood. At 8 years old he lost his mother and his sisters in a nightmare accident. He has never looked back, burying his memories and past deep inside him. After an emotional desert ...more
Carolyn
Nov 01, 2019 rated it really liked it
4.5 stars
The atmospheric Scrublands, by Chris Hammer, was one of my favourite thrillers with a stunning sense of place, intrigue, and compelling characters. In Silver, the author continues the next stage in the life of a disgraced journalist, Martin Scarsdale. Martin relocated from the heat, drought, and isolation of the outback town of Riversend to Sydney. There he wrote a successful true- crime book about the events in the scrublands.

Now Martin is moving to Port Silver in hopes of enjoying
...more
Mandy White
It is no secret that Scrublands by Chris Hammer was one of my favourite books from 2018. So when I found out that Martin Scarsden was coming back in a follow up book I was desperate to read it. There was a little bit of trepidation, hoping that it was not going to disappoint. And am very pleased to report that Silver is just as addictive and binge worthy as Scrublands.

Martin has been finishing his book on the events that went on in Riversend. Now the book is complete and he heads to his
...more
Liz Barnsley
Sep 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing

Anyone who follows my reviews at all will probably be aware that I was a massive fan of Scrublands, the first novel to feature disgraced journalist Martin Scarsden, so it was with some trepidation that I started Silver because you just never know if it will be a one off moment

Well no. Silver is truly excellent, if anything even better now you have a real feeling for some of the players. The heat and drought of Scrublands has changed to more refreshing yet equally involving coastline as Martin
...more
Dale Harcombe
Nov 24, 2019 rated it really liked it
For many years Martin Scarsden has run from his past, but this time there is no escape. Despite his vow never to return to his home town of Port Silver, Martin finds circumstances change his view. When his partner Mandy Blonde inherits an old house there, Martin knows he has to return if he wants to keep their relationship intact. Even so he delays till he finishes the true crime book he is writing. Nothing prepares him for what he finds when he arrives in Port Silver. Jasper, his best friend ...more
Pauline
Sep 09, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: netgalley
I really enjoyed Scrublands by Chris Hammer and was delighted to receive a copy of his new book Silver.
This is the second book featuring Martin Scarsden and his girlfriend Mandalay Blond. They move back to his home town Port Silver after Mandalay inherits a house.
From the moment he arrives everything goes wrong, starting with the murder of his old school friend.
Although Martin is not working as a reporter he had been asked by his friend's mother to investigate her son's death.
This book was
...more
Brooke - One Woman's Brief Book Reviews
*www.onewomansbbr.wordpress.com
*www.facebook.com/onewomansbbr

Silver by Chris Hammer. (2019).
(Martin Scarsden #2)

For half a lifetime, journalist Martin has run from his past. He'd vowed never to return to his hometown, Port Silver, and its traumatic memories. But now his new partner, Mandy, has inherited an old house in the seaside town and Martin knows their chance of a new life together won't come again. Martin arrives to find his best friend from school days brutally murdered, and Mandy the
...more
Andrew Smith
Mar 10, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Aussie crime fiction has a flavour and an atmosphere of its own, I think. Its down to the people and the place: the characters tend to be down to earth and upfront, forthright in a way thats different to the way people are portrayed in English and American books and the settings are big landscapes, dramatic coasts and small dusty towns. In Hammers last book Scrublands we met ex-journalist Martin Scarsden who had spent years in foreign war zones before returning to his native land only to run ...more
Marianne
Nov 29, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Somewhere in all of this, there is a terrific story, one thats screaming to be told. Its not the staggering criminality of Riversend, but its certainly something to capture the imagination: murder and mystery, drugs and sex, celebrity and religion, all unfolding against a backdrop of real estate speculation, small-town ambitions and big-time money.

Silver is the sequel to award-winning Australian author Chris Hammers first Martin Scarsden novel, Scrublands. Having just finished writing a
...more
Lin Roberts
Aug 28, 2019 rated it it was ok
A bit too long. I ran out of patience half way through and I didn't feel strongly enough about any of the characters to keep reading. DNF
Gloria Arthur
Nov 28, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: the-bookshelf
Silver by Chris Hammer

Silver is the sequel to Scrublands but can be read as a standalone.

Martin Scarsden is a journalist, hes run from his past and now he is about to return to his hometown Port Silver. His partner Mandalay (Mandy) Blonde has inherited an old house and its a great opportunity for them to start a new life together. Martin hasnt mentioned to Mandy that Port Silver is his hometown or anything about his horrific past there.

On the day Martin arrives to join his partner who has
...more
Louise
Sep 15, 2019 rated it liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Tracey Allen at Carpe Librum
Bursting onto the scene in August 2018, Scrublands by Australian author Chris Hammer was a bestseller. I predicted it would go on to win awards and I was right. Now, seasoned journalist Martin Scarsden is back in the much hyped sequel Silver.

Martin has finished writing his book about the dramatic events at Riversend and moves with his girlfriend back to his hometown of Port Silver. No sooner does he arrive than his girlfriend is a suspect in the murder of an old school mate and the story begins.
...more
Amanda - Mrs B's Book Reviews
*https://mrsbbookreviews.wordpress.com

4.5 stars

The lighthouse sits atop Nobb Hill, catching the afternoon sun, a beacon of glowing white, almost silver against the clarity of the sky. Silver.

The much praised author of last years smash hit, Scrublands, returns with Silver. Chris Hammer brings back dogged journalist Martin Scarsden for another round of crime. This time Martin is confronted with a brutal and complicated crime, striking at the heart of his life, as well as his painful past.

Silver
...more
Debbie
Sep 27, 2019 rated it really liked it
Martin Scarsden is a journalist and a writer, who has been avoiding his past in his hometown of Port Silver most of his adult life. But when he meets a woman, Mandy Blonde, who has inherited a home in Port Silver, he makes the decision to return there with her.

But when Martin arrives home to meet Mandy, his childhood friend has been murdered and it seems that Mandy is a prime suspect. Though Martin has hung up his boots on journalism, he becomes involved in the case and his reporting skills
...more
Amber
Aug 24, 2019 rated it liked it
I loved Scrublands but this one took a lot longer to get into and it didn't have the same romance element with martin and mandy...
Tim
Nov 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
A slow-burn thriller that sets alight into a bonfire halfway through, Silver is a worthy follow up to Scrublands.

I have to admit that I was a little tepid at first with the lengthy set up of this book, but there were just enough unanswered questions laid as bait to keep tugging me along. I'm glad it did. The ending is fantastic with enough twists that if you guessed one, you didn't guess the others.

A note to prospective readers that if you think you need to read Scrublands before Silver, it's
...more
M - The long hot spell
Nov 01, 2019 marked it as did-not-finish
NOT A REVIEW

It's a few notes on what I did read of this copy (provided, thank you, by Allen & Unwin).

I believe this book will appeal to many people but the novel simply wasnt for me. No, seriously.

This is why:

I found it hard to connect with Martin, the main protagonist. Hes just not my kinda guy.

In fact, by almost a third of the way through, I still didnt have any connection with Mandalay, Martins partner, either. There was little about their relationship that grabbed me.

There seemed to be a
...more
The Nerd Daily
Nov 19, 2019 rated it liked it
Originally published on The Nerd Daily | Review by Tasha Leigh

Last year when journalist Chris Hammers debut novel, Scrublands, hit shelves, there was a mass rush by Australian readers of crime to get their hands on it who then shout its praises from the rooftops. While not usually into the genre, I was one of these people thanks to my local bookstore and holy wow, I loved it with all my being. So much so I eagerly thrust it into the hands of my mother, who proceeded to look at me like I had
...more
Ben Hobson
Sep 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Bloody fantastic. Chris spends a great deal of time investing in character - so much so the churning plot feels all the more tense. Other authors might rush through character stuff to get to the plot but Chris doesnt - he knows the more we care about the people in the story, the richer the stakes. Awesome writing. ...more
Kate
My first read of 2020 and a goodie! This excellent followup to Scrublands is epic in many ways as over the course of almost 600 pages it scrutinises lives in the community of Port Silver. Thanks to the sandbar blocking the harbour, Port Silver never fulfilled its promise and the decline continues but there are some who are bound to this place for reasons that become clear when you read this novel. The sense of place is so strong. Although it continues the story of Martin Scarsden, it also works ...more
Craig Sisterson
Nov 19, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: crime, australia
Chris Hammer laid down a terrific marker with his debut SCRUBLANDS, a searing rural noir that shared the drought-stricken small-town Australian setting of Jane Harper's THE DRY (while in a different state), while being a very different - and equally exquisite novel.

In SILVER he shows no second-novel wobbles, picking up where he left off with another multi-layered mystery that takes readers deep into setting and character. This time it's the seaside hometown of Martin Scarsden, a place he's
...more
Sarah
Nov 08, 2019 rated it really liked it
3.5 stars, rounded up to 4. This was another solid mystery by the author of last year's bestseller Scrublands, but I'm not convinced that it would fit the "Thriller" category as his earlier book did. As commented previously, it's definitely a slower burn and at 566 pages, I'm not convinced that it couldn't have done with some tighter editing. That said, I enjoyed the opportunity to learn more about Martin Scarsden's past, and see his relationship with Mandalay develop further. The setting in the ...more
Carol -  Reading Writing and Riesling
Sep 24, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: own
My View:
This is a read that takes us deeper into the life of our protagonist and subsequently of the town, Silver, where he grew up. The town has a very dominant position in this read sparking discussion re developments, the survival of small towns in difficult economic times, about the environment, about progress, about corruption, pollution, sustainability its almost as if Chris Hammer is talking about the Margaret River region, (Western Australias equivalent to Bryon Bay I believe)

And then
...more
Suzie
Nov 07, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: crime, australian
3 1/2 stars. I was a bit daunted by the size of this book, but I found it to be quite a quick and easy read. I must say I enjoyed the set up more than the conclusion, which was a tad convoluted. My eyes glazed over a bit with the real estate development stuff, but overall it was a solid Aussie crime read
Ruth
Aug 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing
He's done it. It's better than the first one! Chris Hammer has set a new standard for immersive, plot fuelled crime fiction. With so many characters and possible motives it's a race to see if you can solve the crime before the characters do. Chris is redefining 'page turner'.
Sarah
Dec 12, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I loved Hammer's debut novel, Scrublands, so requesting this follow up was a no brainer for me. Silver is set a few months after Scrublands in journalist Martin Scarsden's hometown, Port Silver, where he has moved back to to be with his partner, Mandalay Blonde and her son Liam. However bad luck seems to follow Mandy and Martin, and a murder takes place in Mandy's new apartment just days after they arrive. The police suspect Mandy of being involved, and Martin's investigations bring up a whole ...more
Sharon
Sep 21, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: gifted
In depth ★★★½

Hammer's follow up to the hugely successful Scrublands is another atmospheric, character-driven crime drama, set against the backdrop of a small coastal town in New South Wales. Readers should note triggers for stabbing, allusions to rape, king hits, and druggings.

We pick up a bit down the track from the conclusion of Scrublands, with Martin having finished a true crime account of his experience in Riversend. He and Mandalay Blonde are in the process of moving to Port Silver, the
...more
Rachel
Jan 09, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Oh I LOVED Silver! Really enjoyed it.
I updated halfway through on the calming writing and wanting to take it slow, well, I was wrong 😆 After halfway it really picks up pace, a lot is packed in!

Martin, a journalist, is trying to solve the murder of his childhood friend who ends up dead on the floor of his girlfriends townhouse just as Martin is arriving in the town of Port Silver. This mystery is the backdrop to most of the book, but more and more about this town and Martins past is uncovered
...more
Shelleyrae at Book'd Out
Silver is the sequel to Chris Hammers superb debut Scrublands, featuring journalist Martin Scarsden.

Port Silver, its ghosts sheltering from the iridescent sun, but awaiting him nevertheless. Port Silver. For pitys sake, why had Mandy chosen this town, of all towns, his hometown, to restart their lives?

With the shocking events in Riversend behind them, Martin and his girlfriend, Mandalay Blonde, have chosen to make a fresh start together in Port Silver, where Mandy has inherited a house and
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Peace
  • The Wife and the Widow
  • The Good Turn (Cormac Reilly, #3)
  • Where the Dead Go
  • Bruny
  • The Weekend
  • Darkness for Light (Caleb Zelic, #3)
  • You Don't Know Me
  • In Darkness Visible
  • In The Clearing
  • Dead Man Switch (A Billie Walker Mystery #1)
  • Hell to Pay
  • Wearing Paper Dresses
  • Snake Island
  • Wolfe Island
  • The Great Divide
  • Maybe the Horse Will Talk
  • Six Minutes
See similar books…
226 followers
Chris Hammer
Chris Hammer was a journalist for more than thirty years, dividing his career between covering Australian federal politics and international affairs. For many years he was a roving foreign correspondent for SBS TV's flagship current affairs program Dateline. He has reported from more than 30 countries on six continents. In Canberra, roles included chief political correspondent for The
...more

Other books in the series

Martin Scarsden (2 books)
  • Scrublands

Related Articles

Australian author Megan Goldin is a former journalist whose thriller The Escape Room is about four colleagues who get trapped i...
28 likes · 13 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »