,
Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Case of the Missing Auntie (A Mighty Muskrats Mystery #2)” as Want to Read:
The Case of the Missing Auntie (A Mighty Muskrats Mystery #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Case of the Missing Auntie

(A Mighty Muskrats Mystery #2)

4.02  ·  Rating details ·  117 ratings  ·  32 reviews
The Mighty Muskrats are off to the city to have fun at the Exhibition Fair. But when Chickadee asks Grandpa what he would like them to bring back from the city, she learns about Grandpa's missing little sister. She was, they learn, "scooped" years ago--like many Indigenous children, the government had arranged for her adoption by strangers without her parents' permission. ...more
Paperback, 192 pages
Published March 17th 2020 by Second Story Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.02  · 
Rating details
 ·  117 ratings  ·  32 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Case of the Missing Auntie (A Mighty Muskrats Mystery #2)
Lata
This installment was particularly poignant, considering the recently revealed, and sadly unsurprising, news of 215 aboriginal children’s remains found at a former residential school in Kamloops. This is just a small percentage of the total number of missing children who were forcibly sent to these “schools”, where they were tortured daily through insults, beatings and sexual assaults in an effort to eradicate the culture and support systems of aboriginal children.

Michael Hutchinson deals with th
...more
T.B. Caine
OOps forgot to say I got this as an ARC from Netgalley!

This book got me out of a reading slump and that is all I can ask for in a book.
5/5 stars is an easy rating to give this book because it deserves every star. I usually have to buffer my criticism of MG works, but for this one it was so good I don't have to do that at all.

Indigenous Hardy Boys/Nancy Drew is basically what I would pitch this as, and it does a great job doing exactly that and more. I didn't read the first book in the series
...more
Laura
First, I love that this mystery series exists at all. Kids from a First Nation reserve solving mysteries. Perfect. Tackling important issues while doing so? Even better.

I loved the first book in the series, where the kids seemed quite natural, and the mystery unfolded as it should.

This second book, however, felt a little stiff. The mystery of the missing auntie kept getting shoved back, to address other issues, such as how hard it is to be true to yourself in the city, vs the reserve. I was als
...more
Anita Ojeda
Mar 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing
The Mighty Muskrats head to the city to spend a week with their Aunt and cousins. Otter and Chickadee have never visited a city before. Their cousins Samuel and Atim have spent time there, and everyone looks to Samuel, the eldest, to look after the others as they visit the Exhibition Fair and explore the big city.

Each has a mission in mind as they near their destination—Sam and Atim can’t wait to see the Ex, Otter wants to get a ticket to Wavoka’s Wail, and Chickadee wants to help their grandpa
...more
Nancy
Jul 15, 2021 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Aaron
Feb 16, 2020 rated it really liked it
This is the second in a series of mysteries about a group of Indigenous youth who solve mysteries. I have to confess that I missed the first one, but saw the second and wanted to read a MG by a Canadian Indigenous author.

The case that the group, named The Mighty Muskrats, was trying to solve centered around finding their Grandpa's sister who was "scooped" by the government when they were young. Finding themselves in the city, they feel it is a great opportunity to help their Grandpa get re-unite
...more
Marilyn
This was a lot more serious than the first book in the series. The Muskrats travel to the city where they are immediately struck by the amount of homelessness and despair around then. They meet an old friend from Windy Lake who has fallen in with a bad crowd and in talking with him you realize who difficult it is for him in the city. The city is grimy and unsafe and not at all like home where there is a lot of poverty but everyone is trying to help each other.

The topic of the Sixties Scoop and
...more
Jennybeast
Oct 09, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Monica
Jan 07, 2021 rated it really liked it
Another awesome Mighty Muskrats Mystery! I’m really enjoying these so far and am looking forward to more of them coming out, and gaining more recognition for the tough issues it discusses in age-appropriate language and through storytelling.

While the last book focused more on the environment, this one’s focus was on the Sixties Scoop and residential schools. The Mighty Muskrats attempt to find their grandfather’s long lost sister whom he lost after they attended residential school as children. T
...more
Cheriee Weichel
The second in this series takes the Mighty Muskrats, a team of young indigenous sleuths, into the city. They are staying with their Auntie and cousins and among other things, plan to go to the Exhibition. Otter wants to see his favourite band play and Chickadee wants to track down their grandfather's missing little sister, Charlotte, who disappeared years ago.

The Muskrats discover that the city is very different from the reserve for all kinds of reasons. Racism and different kinds of danger sta
...more
Jo Beth
Oct 20, 2020 rated it really liked it
If you have not read this mystery series, you are in for a treat! I read the first book last year and loved it and Book #2 is just as good. 4 cousins, who are members of a First Nations tribe north of Winnipeg, Canada, have named themselves the Mighty Muskrats and have made it their mission to solve mysteries. This series educates the reader about Canada’s shameful treatment of First Nations children in residential schools in the early and mid 20th century, as well as lingering racism towards th ...more
Jeffrey
Mar 18, 2022 rated it it was ok
First of all, I'd like to acknowledge the importance of the issue that this book deals with. I had no idea the scoops happened. I also appreciate the fairly realistic ending. However, the quality of writing is far below other books I have been reading with my daughter. People are always slapping each other's backs and punching each other's arms, and it seemed unrealistic and repetitive. It also seemed a little preachy at times. The very plot of the story let us know that what happened was awful. ...more
Stephanie H
Aug 24, 2021 rated it it was amazing
The Mighty Muskrats are headed to the city where they are sure to learn a lot of lessons and try to find a missing auntie.

The second instalment in this series was different and less light-hearted than the first, but it was beautifully poignant. It wrote about really tough topics in an accessible way and is a great way for kids to learn about Canada’s relationship with our indigenous people, as well as dynamics between groups, and most importantly: the long road to truth and reconciliation.

This
...more
Jaclyn
Jun 28, 2022 rated it it was amazing
Interesting, fast-paced middle-grade story. I liked the way the concert and Ex subplots worked out, and I found the bit about the city kids Brett was mixed up with sadly realistic.

The crux of the story was Chickadee's and the other kids' search for what happened to their Auntie Charlotte, who was taken during the Sixties Scoop. That part of the story was super informative and educational, and the way it turned out was super heartwarming and (bitter)sweet.
...more
Kathy
Read-alike to "The Boxcar Children" series, but talks about and demonstrates the joys and perils of being "First Nations" (the Canadian term for "American Indians") and past injustices. I would have loved this as a kid when I was a fan of Nancy Drew, but as an adult I found that it dragged a bit. #ownvoices ...more
Harriette
Jul 11, 2021 rated it it was amazing
I listened to the audiobook, but it is not listed as an edition here.

The mystery these children solve is a heart breaking one, but it is a story that needs to be told. It alludes to residential schools and unethical adoption of native children in the 1960's. It also highlights contrasts between urban and reservation life.
...more
Cayleigh Sorella
Nov 28, 2021 rated it liked it
Shelves: school
Read for School. Child's Lit [6/6]

This was good. It took me a hot second to gain momentum, but once in, I couldn't stop reading. That also may have been due to the fear of the Wi-Fi cutting at work. Anyways, I liked the modern setting and nameless city, and the different perspective on living in a city. This was different pro-Indigenous story than I'm used to.
...more
Annarella
Apr 22, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: mystery, edelweiss
An entertaining and engrossing read that I loved.
A good style of writing, an excellent cast of characters and a well crafted plot.
Highly recommended.
Many thanks to the publisher and Edelweiss for this ARC, all opinions are mine
Renee
Mar 11, 2021 rated it really liked it
The first book was a nice introduction to the kids, their Elders, and their Rez.
This mystery takes them into the city and dives into a more emotional family mystery involving residential schools. I really liked this one and had me tearing up at the end. Can't wait for book #3!
...more
Ellen
Oct 15, 2021 rated it it was amazing
FANTASTIC!! The material that this book covered in a children's mystery novel was so deep and necessary. I love this series and am unbelievably happy it has been written. It had me in tears at the end, which is hard to do for a book in this genre, but this one had all the right stuff. ...more
Russell Moroye
A mystery novel that tackles finding a missing relative that was taken by the government when the protagonists were young. Their search leads them to the big city that can be used to teach cultural differences and some of what indigenous people had to go through.
Bri
Oct 14, 2022 rated it it was amazing
*4.5 stars rounded up*

Very well-written and important book that tackles the legacy of Residential Schools/stealing of First Nations children. Lots of tension and familial tenderness and Elder wisdom. I want to read the others in the series!
Cait Hutsell
Mar 11, 2020 rated it really liked it
Great fast book. I learned a lot and now I really want to read the first book. Thankful for this #ownvoices text!
Abby
Jul 20, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: ownvoices
Highly recommended for middle grade readers, doesn't shy away from the hard truths of residential schools, racism and intergenerational trauma. ...more
Jaime
Jan 22, 2022 rated it really liked it
Really liked this books. A great choice for lit circles but would require some pre-teaching about the important indigenous concerns in this book
Lorryn
Why doesn't this series have more love and attention?? It's seriously so good. ...more
ColleenIsBooked
Nov 20, 2022 rated it it was amazing
This installment had its light fun moments, but definitely hit harder as it dealt in part with the repercussions of the Sixties Scoop and how that affected their family.
Amanda Sinclair
Nov 21, 2022 rated it it was amazing
Loving these books. Not only interesting mystery’s but I find myself learning so much and walking away with new perspectives.
Laura
I received an ARC of this title from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

A trip to the city leads to a new mystery for the Mighty Muskrats!

Before leaving Windy Lakes for a week in the city, Chickadee asks the cousins' grandfather what he might like them to bring back from the trip. The answer is shocking: Grandpa would like to find his little sister. Charlotte was lost in the Sixties Scoop--when many Indigenous children were stolen from their families and reservations, taken to residentia
...more
Cynthia Parkhill
The "Mighty Muskrats" are a group of young people who solve mysteries and The Case of the Missing Auntie is their second series-outing. They're on their way to attend an Exhibition in the city, but they've also learned that, years ago, their grandfather's little sister was adopted by strangers through a process referred to as "scooping." These children were adopted without their families' consent and they essentially disappeared - forever separated from their families and communities. So even wh ...more
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Borders
  • Summer Frost
  • Randomize
  • Emergency Skin
  • Embers: One Ojibway's Meditations
  • Finding My Dance
  • Tru Blue (The Whiskeys: Dark Knights at Peaceful Harbor, #1)
  • Wicked Whiskey Love (The Whiskeys: Dark Knights at Peaceful Harbor, #4)
  • Truly, Madly, Whiskey (The Whiskeys: Dark Knights at Peaceful Harbor, #2)
  • Driving Whiskey Wild (The Whiskeys: Dark Knights at Peaceful Harbor, #3)
  • Powwow Day
  • Before I Let Go (Skyland, #1)
  • Ready When You Are
  • Ark
  • You Have Arrived at Your Destination
  • White Knight (Dirty Mafia Duet Book 2)
  • Something Strange and Deadly (Something Strange and Deadly, #1)
  • All Roads Lead to You (Stay, #3)
See similar books…
See top shelves…
Michael Hutchinson is a citizen of the Misipawistik Cree Nation. As a teen, he pulled nets on Lake Winnipeg, fought forest fires in the Canadian Shield, and worked at the Whiteshell Nuclear Research Station’s Underground Research Lab. Since then, he has worked as the Director of Communications for the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs, a project manager for the Treaty Relations Commission of Manitoba, w ...more

Other books in the series

A Mighty Muskrats Mystery (4 books)
  • The Case of Windy Lake (A Mighty Muskrats Mystery #1)
  • The Case of the Burgled Bundle (A Mighty Muskrats Mystery #3)
  • The Case of the Rigged Race (A Mighty Muskrats Mystery, #4)

Related Articles

Here at Goodreads World Headquarters, we like to encourage an informal, lateral-thinking approach to reading. If you’ve never tried it, themed...
141 likes · 21 comments