Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Waiting for a Star to Fall” as Want to Read:
Waiting for a Star to Fall
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Waiting for a Star to Fall

by
3.52  ·  Rating details ·  81 ratings  ·  21 reviews
"A love story at its core, though one without an ending written in the stars. . . . Timely and insightful." --Karma Brown, #1 bestselling author of Recipe for a Perfect Wife

For fans of Joanne Ramos, Josie Silver, and Emily Giffin, a gripping and powerful story that asks: Just how much are you willing to forgive in the name of love?

Brooke has long been caught in the orbit
...more
Paperback, 288 pages
Published October 27th 2020 by Doubleday Canada
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Waiting for a Star to Fall, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Waiting for a Star to Fall

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.52  · 
Rating details
 ·  81 ratings  ·  21 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Waiting for a Star to Fall
Taylor Oake
Oct 27, 2020 rated it really liked it
I was so so impressed with how Kerry Clare was able to write from the perspective of the main character. This book is a story about a politician ‘caught’ in a ‘me too’ scandal. The book is written from the perspective of a girl who falls in love with the *bad guy* that so obviously sucks — but it’s so interesting to hear the many many ways a girl can totally get wrapped up and manipulated by *that kind of guy*. Personally, I think we’ve all been there (but I can only speak for myself) — continuo ...more
Marissa Stapley
Sep 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Timely and entertaining on the surface — but crack through to its core and discover a deep and thought-provoking meditation on the flaws and foibles of humanity. This book is beautifully, brutally honest, reminded me of being 23, made me forgive myself my lapses in judgment — and, made me long for whatever Clare will write next. Fans of Emily Giffin and Curtis Sittenfeld take note: this is your next read.
—Marissa Stapley, bestselling author of THE LAST RESORT
Samantha Mitchell
Oct 21, 2020 rated it really liked it
Brooke, 23 years old, is amidst a political scandal. Her ‘boyfriend’ Derek in at the center. Her ‘love story’ has made the papers and it’s causing havoc in her small town.

During the Me Too movement, this is such a poignant story in 2020. It was easy to put myself in Brooke’s place, thinking about the times this happened to me or other friends I know. Put this one on your list! Recommend.

(Ps - I read this in paper copy but I wish it had been audio, I think the emotion really would have translated
...more
Sandra
Oct 05, 2020 added it
Shelves: did-not-finish
I have struggled with this book long enough. From how the synopsis read, I was expecting a stronger storyline along with a stronger female character. Simply not engaging enough to keep me reading a book in which I don't like any of the characters.

Thank you to NetGalley and Doubleday for the ARC in exchange for my honest review.
Clare
Oct 24, 2020 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
The Candid Cover (Olivia & Lori)
DNF @ 25%

Really having a hard time with this one. The main character is really unreliable and the story is just not picking up. Not for me, unfortunately.
Sue Trav
Sep 14, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: advanced-copy
This book felt rushed to me. The story was vague in so many ways.

What were the actual allegations against Derek? They were skimmed over but never really brought to light. The same thing for his "punishment" for the alleged allegations. The relationship between Brooke and Derek was totally manipulative and controlling on his part. She was almost half his age and the author did a good job of portraying that age gap.

I finally started to like Brooke towards the end when she starts to think for hers
...more
Jaclyn
Nov 01, 2020 rated it really liked it
Kerry Clare's Waiting for a Star to Fall tells the story of Brooke, a young woman much like many sharing their stories in the #MeToo movement. Brooke is barely out of high school and partying at a club when she is approached by handsome, charismatic politician Derek Murdoch. The novel begins a few years later, after their relationship had already failed, and Derek is in the news due to accusations made against him by other young staffers. It then switches back and forth from the week the accusat ...more
Kaley
Originally reviewed at Books Etc.

I am absolutely loving that more female, Canadian authors are publishing such smart, insightful novels these days. Kerry Clare's Waiting for a Star to Fall is the latest (just out today!) and I enjoyed it for the writing or the characters but mostly I liked it for the underlying commentary on today's society. It's intelligent, feminist, and a very good read.

I can't remember exactly when or how I learned that Waiting for a Star to Fall was sort of inspired by Pat
...more
Becky Richards
Nov 10, 2020 rated it liked it
I really liked this book and I saw myself in Brooke in so many ways and in so many of her situations. I like the pot offered two perspectives on the metoo movement, you don’t really see that these days. You don’t see a whole lot of people offering the other side (the mans side) and the author nailed it when it was noted that the accusations never led to charges or a trial. They were at the end of the hearsay. Do I believe Derek’s character was capable of ‘misconduct’? I can see it yes but it was ...more
Amy Rhoda  Brown
Nov 18, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: fiction
Waiting for a Star to Fall is about a young woman, Brooke, who is recovering after an ill-advised relationship with her much-older boss. Or he was her boss, I should say, since when the novel begins she is no longer working with him and their relationship status is unclear (to her and to the reader). It's about the fabrications and circumlocutions our heroine creates in order to explain, to herself and her friends, why she's not like all the other young women this guy has dallied with — why this ...more
Vikki VanSickle
I really enjoyed this exploration of a young woman's first significant relationship, which just happens to be with a major political figure who has been accused of sexual misconduct. Kerry Clare's very contemporary examination of power dynamics, first love, and self-discovery is authentic and never condescending. Despite lots of drama, the story is never melodramatic or sensational, a writerly feat, given the scenario. Readers may not agree with Derek or Brooke's decisions, but you do understand ...more
Stephany Pachowka
Nov 20, 2020 rated it really liked it
Brooke a 23 year old is the last girl you’d think would get caught in the middle of a political sex scandal. Kerry Clare does a wonderful job of writing from the perspective of a young woman who has/ had a relationship, it’s complications , with an older politician who is now being accused of assault by two women.

Kerry doesn’t shy away from any hot topics such as sexual assault, political games, or abortion. She dives straight into the harsh realities of it all in such a way that no matter your
...more
Hollay Ghadery
Nov 27, 2020 rated it really liked it
Gawd, this book made me want to slap my 23-year-old self. I often grew frustrated with the narrator, precisely because she seemed to be the blind, dotting fool many of us are in our early twenties (and maybe even now). But I liken my response to Clare's book to the way I felt about Hoda in Adele Wiseman's Crackpot: it's not that the book itself is infuriating or the writing is poorly done: it's that the characters are infuriating, as real people actually are, and the writing accurately reflects ...more
Joanne Culley
Oct 31, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This entertaining tale follows a week in the life of Brooke, a young former political staffer who returns to her hometown when the relationship with her boyfriend - the local political representative and her former employer - ends. Her world starts to unravel as the politician is accused of sexual assault by other former staffers. This is a timely tale relevant to the #MeToo movement, exploring the power dynamic between a powerful older man and the younger women who surround him.
Esther Wenger
5 stars not for a literary feat per say, but because a novel-long investigation into how women are gaslit, and the forces behind that, is a story that deserves to be told, and is told well here.

Some have commented on an unreliable narrator. True in some ways. But I think that is true to the characters' experiences and age.
Jennifer Paquette
A beautifully written and captivating exploration of the things we do for love.

A phoenix rising from the ashes and #MeToo tale that explores "sometimes the path to happily ever after has to start with ourselves".
Heather Lander
Nov 10, 2020 rated it it was ok
I really didn't enjoy this one all that much. I would disagree with the recommendation "for fans of Josie Silver and Emily Giffin".
Ashley Cartwright
Nov 17, 2020 rated it did not like it
Another huh book
Layla Platt
Nov 06, 2020 rated it really liked it
The main reason I wanted to read this book was for the political aspect. I’ve worked in a couple different political environments and was so intrigued by this plot!
I’m still unsure how I really felt about the storyline and the characters. I honestly liked the secondary characters more than the primary characters. I would read it again probably as a guilty pleasure.
Sara G
Nov 06, 2020 rated it it was amazing
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Politics, secrets, infatuation or (romance?), and the power of choices. @kerryreads THIS WAS SOOOOO GOOD!!!
Go buy this book and support an amazing Canadian author!!!!
Suzy
rated it liked it
Nov 01, 2020
Micker
rated it really liked it
Nov 26, 2020
Tam
rated it it was ok
Nov 27, 2020
Joan
rated it really liked it
Nov 29, 2020
Kristen
rated it really liked it
Sep 28, 2020
Marla Singer
rated it liked it
Nov 18, 2020
Clara
rated it really liked it
Nov 28, 2020
Kassy Miller
rated it it was ok
Nov 08, 2020
Linda Causier
rated it really liked it
Nov 29, 2020
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Indians on Vacation
  • Polar Vortex
  • How to Pronounce Knife
  • Cobble Hill
  • The Vanishing Half
  • The Forgotten Daughter
  • Writers & Lovers
  • Songs for the End of the World
  • Luster
  • The Brilliant Life of Eudora Honeysett
  • The Cruelest Month (Chief Inspector Armand Gamache, #3)
  • A Fatal Grace (Chief Inspector Armand Gamache, #2)
  • The Last Train to Key West
  • Just Like You
  • The Rules of Magic (Practical Magic, #0.2)
  • Shit, Actually: The Definitive, 100% Objective Guide to Modern Cinema
  • The Hungover Games: A True Story
  • The Winemaker's Wife
See similar books…
80 followers
KERRY CLARE'S first novel, Mitzi Bytes, was called "entertaining, engaging and timely" by the Toronto Star, who also noted that it "heralds the arrival of a fantastic, fun new novelist on the Canadian scene." She is editor of The M Word: Conversations About Motherhood, a National Magazine Award-nominated essayist, and editor of Canadian books website 49thShelf.com. She writes about books and readi ...more

Related Articles

From independent presses, to tales in translation, to critical darlings and new debut novels, these books (all published in the U.S. this year)...
56 likes · 12 comments