Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Gargantis” as Want to Read:
Gargantis
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Gargantis

(The Legends of Eerie-on-Sea #2)

4.38  ·  Rating details ·  958 ratings  ·  207 reviews
In the second fantasy set in Eerie-on-Sea, Herbert and Violet team up to solve the mystery of the Gargantis — an ancient creature of the deep with the power to create life-threatening storms.

There's a storm brewing over Eerie-on-Sea, and the fisherfolk say a monster is the cause. Someone has woken the ancient Gargantis, who sleeps in the watery caves beneath this spooky se
...more
Paperback, 352 pages
Published May 1st 2020 by Walker Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.38  · 
Rating details
 ·  958 ratings  ·  207 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Gargantis
Kai
May 13, 2020 rated it it was amazing
”A book is like a mirror. We always see ourselves inside.”
Gavin
Mar 24, 2020 rated it it was amazing
A gargantic sequel to an already brilliant novel, Malamander's follow-up is a daring, maritime middle grade mystery that will have you clamming for the next one.

Herbert Lemon and Violet Parma are back and Eerie-on-Sea is more dangerous than ever! A storm is threatening to destroy their seaside town and it's up to them to dig into fisherman folklore and monstrous legends to put a stop to the freak weather... before everything ends up at the bottom of the ocean.

What an exciting and memorable sequ
...more
Sara
Unfortunately this didn't grab me like I thought it would, and I spent a lot of time in the latter half of the story skimming through the plot. Even skimming it took me 8 days to finish, which is never a good sign. I just never felt compelled to come back to the story. I like the idea of a dead end seaside town filled with strange characters and monsters, but I just couldn't connect with Herbie and Violet at all. I think it's also a bit of a personal thing - I'm not really that interested in sto ...more
Whispering Stories
Book Reviewed on www.whisperingstories.com

Lost-and-Founder Herbert Lemon and his friend Violet are back in another adventure set within the seaside town of Eerie-on-Sea. This time a massive storm is shaking the town violently and there seems to be no end to it. If it continues it could cause the whole town to crumble into the sea.

The fishermen have a tale of a creature, Gargantis, awakening and that is the cause of the storm, but could their tale be true and what’s with the fish-shaped bottle th
...more
Milou
Apr 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I Loved Malamander, and this was a very worth sequel. Set in seaside village Eerie-on-sea our heroes have to deal with a massive storm and save the town from the Gargantis. Another perfect blend of atmosphere, folklore and unique people.


Eerie-on-sea has so much character. The people with their odd jobs and wonderful names as well as the quirky shops and restaurants they run make for a unique setting. In this book we see more interaction between the townspeople, and the fisherman have come to lan
...more
anna ✩
3.5 stars!

I want to preface this review by stating that my rating is 3.5 stars because I just felt there was a little something missing in the book. I did thoroughly enjoy it and thought it was a great adventurous story but there was something about it that just didn't wow me enough.

Thank you to NetGalley and the Publisher for providing me with an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

Gargantis is the story of Herbert Lemon, the Lost and Founder at the Grand Nautilus Hotel in Eerie-on-Sea. Herbe
...more
Christi M
May 07, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
No doubt about it, Gargantis is a highly sea-worthy book. Filled with its quirks and oddities, the Eerie-on-Sea series is just what the middle grade fantasy genre needs. Instead of wizards and magic, you get sea monsters and tall tales and legends. So, batten down the hatches because this story brings you a whale of a time!

I’ll admit it – I would love to visit this crazy and peculiar town that Eerie-on-Sea is. I want to smell the salt in the air and see Mrs. Kraken’s cameraluna in action or take
...more
Belles Middle Grade Library
Netgalley approved me for Gargantis, so I made the 2 books priority. I finished this last night, & OMG!! I loved it so much! I don’t know which one I like more, this one or the first book... maybe this one. That’s a big accomplishment for a second book in a series! Herbie still has my heart! Violet is still awesome of course..she’s so spunky, brave, & SMART! They face a whole new adventure this time & this story was so creative & so thought out. This authors brain is just amazing! Lol like the f ...more
✦BookishlyRichie✦
I really enjoyed returning to Eerie-on-Sea and joining Herbie and Violet on one of their adventures. I can't wait for book 3 next year! ...more
Brenda
Jan 14, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2020, fantasy, mystery
I really adore this series. it's filled with quirky people and so far each book has featured some legendary monstrous creature, the Malmander and now Gargantis. I found the latest creature was way more creepy and absolutely loved it. Another thing I particularly enjoyed about this newest book was the additions of Blaze and his Uncle Squint Westerly. Their fisherfolk who are tied to Gargantis and Blaze is instrumental in helping Herbert to overcome one of his fears. Deep Hood or the man who decla ...more
Juli
May 24, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved Malamander....so had to continue reading this magical middle grade series! Gargantis continues the legend of Eerie-on-Sea, with the awesome quirky characters from the first book! Eerie-on-Sea is a magical place....a place where folklore and legends are part of every day life. Herbie Lemon is at the Grand Nautilus Hotel where he takes pride in being the resident Lost and Founder. Herbie finds things....and keeps them in his Lost & Foundery until claimed. He's joined by his friend Violet i ...more
Mira | I Read Like Phoebe Runs
A book is like a mirror. We always see ourselves inside.

An interesting sequel to Malamander. A different story, though the town & its residents stay the same. This time we explored the mythology surrounding this little town and it just worked very well. My kids were so excited to hear the story!
...more
Samama Reza
Apr 24, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
After continuously reading grown up books for a very long while, I decided to shift my reading gear in reverse and read something from the middle grade genre instead - and I started that by reading Gargantis. I couldn’t have been happier with that choice.

This story was so brilliantly written that I literally got sucked into their adorable little town near the sea called Eerie-on-Sea as I kept reading. The atmosphere of this town was so comfy, I wanted to go there in person and live inside the wa
...more
Steffany
Dec 18, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved this one even more than the first! I love the atmosphere and the continued adventures and discoveries in the story! This will be read again in my home and will, I’m sure be a favorite for a long time. The characters are so much fun and I can’t get enough of them. Can not wait for the third book!!
Simoné Eloff
Some of the magic of the first book was a bit lost with the change of narrator, but I still love the characters and the setting immensely.
Sara
Aug 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Oh my God, this was sooooo good! If you liked Malamander #1 you'll LOVE Malamander #2! ...more
Jenny (Bookbookowl)
Thank you so much to Walker Books for providing me with a copy of Gargantis in exchange for an honest review!



***This review is for book 2 in the series, so my review may contain spoilers for book 1, Malamander***




Malamander was SUCH a fun book, so I was so excited to receive a copy of Gargantis and had to read it ASAP!  The story once again follows Herbert Lemon, Lost and Founder extraordinare, and his friend Violet.  When a strange and eerie character drops something off at the Lost and Found de
...more
Vee
I absolutely loved this second instalment to The Legends of Eerie-on-Sea. Herbie Lemon and Violet Palmer are a detective duo that I both root for and adore. This world has the exact right amount of creepy/nostalgic vibes that probably only resonates fully with those of us who have grown up in English seaside towns. What a time to be a kid with all of this amazing children's literature, I'd say I was jealous but I'm not because I still get to read it as an adult! ...more
Tammie
May 15, 2020 rated it really liked it
Read- May 2020 for Believathon II (Book Keepers Stronghold- next book in a series)
- This was so ridiculously close to being a 5 star read but it just missed the mark. This is such a perfect series for me, it's literally a fantasy mystery middle grade!!
...more
Pris
Sep 12, 2020 rated it really liked it
Actual rating: 4.5 stars! This was great fun! I enjoyed this more than Malamander! The atmosphere of Eerie-on-Sea is just fantastic and Herbie & Violet are the perfect investigating team! 🔍🖤
Danielle Hammelef
So much fun inside this book! I loved Malamander and now, after reading both books, this author has a new fan in me. Once again, I adored the characters, the quirkiness, the humor, as well as the action and mystery. Now I need book #3!
Linda
Thanks to Candlewick Press/Walker Books for the advanced copy of this seaside adventure, out last week! Thomas Taylor has written a second wonderful adventure set on Eerie-on-Sea. The illustrations in the book are by Tom Booth, not all finished in this ARC, but those included add much to the exciting, sometimes scary atmosphere of Eerie-on-Sea.
Here is Herbert Lemon, still the Lost-and-Founder at the Grand Nautilus Hotel, teaming up again with Violet Parma, whom Herbie met in the last adventur
...more
J.L. Slipak
Jan 07, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Librarian’s note: This is an Advance Reader Copy Edition for ASIN: B07X9YDY2M.

In the second fantasy set in Eerie-on-Sea, Herbert and Violet team up to solve the mystery of Gargantis — an ancient creature of the deep with the power to create life-threatening storms.

There’s a storm brewing over Eerie-on-Sea, and the fisherfolk say a monster is the cause. Someone has woken the ancient Gargantis, who sleeps in the watery caves beneath this spooky seaside town where legends have a habit of coming to
...more
Sara Hill
May 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: giveaway-books
Gargantis is the second book in an epic, eerie, and mysterious adventure by Thomas Taylor. Set in the world of Eerie on the Sea, we get to return to this place and hang out with Herbie, Violet, and Erwin again.

Gargantis starts off with the way every great ocean adventure begins with a bottle and a message. It was the more mysterious of the two books. This story was filled with twists and turns it seemed in every other chapter. This book did not go in any way that I expected, which made for an e
...more
Puck
"Gargantis sleeps, Eerie keeps. Gargantis wakes, Eerie quakes...and all falls into the sea."

An excellent and thrilling continuation of the first Eerie-on-Sea adventure! The same fantastical and creepy elements that I loved in Malamander return in the search for Gargantis, but now we explore the ocean instead of a quirky town.

Again we follow Lost-and-Founder Herbie Lemon and his friend Violet as a violent storm sends Eerie-on-Sea shaking. A washed-up bottle with a sparkling light sets all th
...more
Bex
Feb 26, 2021 rated it really liked it
I haven't read Malamander, having not realised this was a sequel to an already much beloved book, but I don't think it mattered. Gargantis is a really glorious book, filled with mystery and incredible energy. Children's books are often filled with fun, as this one is, but the writing bounds from the pages with tangible energy throughout - it really is one of a kind in that regard.

The story centres on Herbert Lemon and Violet Parma, who I presume to be characters from Malamander as well (so perha
...more
Kathleen Dixon
There are a number of times I've read the second book in a series (or even the 5th or whateverth) before reading the first, and I've done it enough times that I've come to the conclusion that it really doesn't matter what order you read a series in. In fact, reading them in the wrong order gives some wonderful "Ah ha!" moments. And life is just like that, isn't it?

So, I haven't read Malamander but I definitely plan to. I like this boy Herbert Lemon, and I like Violet, and the seaside setting and
...more
David C. Salas
3.5⭐ / 5

-Synopsis:
There's a storm brewing over Eerie-on-Sea, and the fisherfolk say a monster is the cause. Someone has woken the ancient Gargantis. And it seems like Gargantis is looking for something: a treasure stolen from her underwater lair. It also seems like Herbie and Violet are the only ones who can find this stolen treasure. Will they achieve their goal and save Eerie-on-Sea?

-Review:
This is the second book in the Eerie-on-Sea series, and it follows the same structure as the first bo
...more
Blue
Jun 07, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Want to see more...
Bookstagram

Website

Thank you Walker Books for this book in exchange for an honest review

I loved this, just as much as I loved Malamander! I wouldn’t be able to pick a favourite out of the two, they were both so enjoyable and wonderful!
Gargantis is the story of Herbert Lemon who is the Lost and Founder at the Grand Nautilus Hotel and teams up with his best friend Violet to solve another mystery that is putting their home by the sea in danger. Herbie and Violet must figure out
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Return to Roar
  • The Strangeworlds Travel Agency (Strangeworlds Travel Agency #1)
  • The Vanishing Trick
  • Darkwhispers
  • The Castle of Tangled Magic
  • Wonderscape
  • The Ship of Shadows (The Ship of Shadows, #1)
  • The Griffin Gate
  • Crater Lake
  • Wayward Son (Simon Snow, #2)
  • Escape From Aurora (Frostheart #2)
  • The Midnight Guardians
  • A Tangle of Spells (A Pinch of Magic, #3)
  • The Wild Way Home
  • Kidnap on the California Comet (Adventures on Trains #2)
  • The House on Hoarder Hill
  • The Land of Roar
  • A Sprinkle of Sorcery (A Pinch of Magic, #2)
See similar books…
123 followers
Thomas Henry Taylor is a British children's writer and illustrator.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thomas_...

Librarian Note:
There is more than one author in the Goodreads database with this name.
...more

Other books in the series

The Legends of Eerie-on-Sea (3 books)
  • Malamander (The Legends of Eerie-on-Sea, #1)
  • Untitled (Malamander, #3)

Related Articles

If you're a fan of the mystery and thriller genre and young adult books, recent months have brought a bevy of great reads to your shelves! We...
140 likes · 21 comments
“The waves are growing wild again, and the Jornty Spark is being tossed about like a stick in a game of Poohsticks gone horribly wrong.” 0 likes
More quotes…