Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Sea Wife” as Want to Read:
Sea Wife
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Sea Wife

3.77  ·  Rating details ·  43 ratings  ·  15 reviews
For readers of Meg Wolitzer, Lionel Shriver, Kate Atkinson, and Jennifer Egan. From the highly acclaimed author of Schroder, a smart, sophisticated literary page turner about a young family who escape suburbia for a year-long sailing trip that upends all of their lives

Juliet is failing to juggle motherhood and her anemic dissertation when her husband, Michael, informs her
...more
ebook, 288 pages
Expected publication: April 28th 2020 by Alfred A. Knopf
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.77  · 
Rating details
 ·  43 ratings  ·  15 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Sea Wife
Janet
Jan 23, 2020 rated it did not like it
When it is snowy and cold outside (and my car is buried under 2ft of ❄ ), superspeed readers like me can read 250+ pages/hour, so yes, I have read the book and many more today. LOL

I requested and received a temporary digital Advance Reader Copy of this book from #NetGalley, the publisher and the author in exchange for an honest review.

From the publisher, as I do not repeat the contents or story of books in reviews, I let them do it as they do it better than I do 😸.

From the highly acclaimed
...more
Amy
Mar 03, 2020 rated it really liked it
Sea Wife by Amity Gage is the story of a marriage, and a family, and an adventure. It is a story about depression, and the lasting repercussions of childhood trauma. It is also a story about the importance of communication. and being prepared, and the unforgiving wilderness of the sea. Told in alternating voices and overlapping timelines - Juliet provides her side of the story, and Michaels voice is mostly revealed in his ships log entries - we get each spouses point of view as well as crucial ...more
Audrey
Sep 28, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
Compelling and lyrical, watching this marriage ebb and flow and its continued gradual disintegration was kind of like watching a slow moving accident. I couldnt avert my eyes and I could do anything to prevent it. What happens during the course of marriage when you realize you and your partner have fundamental differences in moral principles? Juliet and Michael's literal sailing journey exposes the latent and numerous problems in their marriage and causes honesty to emerge. The shifting points ...more
Ashley
Nov 06, 2019 rated it liked it
I have a lot of questions - mainly revolving around minimizing to sail full time. I mean, why not.
Wendy Cosin
Mar 27, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Sea Wife is a really good story, well told. Michael and Juliet leave suburban life and go sailing for a year with their two young children. Told mostly by Juliet, the story shifts between daily life before the trip, on the boat, and after the journey. Juliet didnt finish her PhD dissertation about Anne Sexton. She sometimes has a serious problem with depression. Michaels sections are his Captains Log, which also reads like a diary/journal about his feelings. A few sections are in the 7-year old ...more
Deb Ristow
I received Sea Wife by Amity Gaige as part of the Goodreads Giveaway program. This is the story of Juliet and Michael, and their two young children, Sybil and George. It is the story of a family that leaves their life to sail the ocean for a year. It is the story of a mother dealing with depression, the aftermath of childhood abuse, and a strained relationship with her mother. It is the story of a marriage that has lost its' identify after becoming a family. It is the story of survival and the ...more
Kim McGee
Feb 10, 2020 rated it liked it
3 1/2 stars
Michael, Juliet, and their two small children embark on a year-long sea voyage around Latin and South America leaving behind their suburban humdrum. Part travel ship's log and part narrative from Juliet this is the dissection of a marriage and not just the reality of sailing around with two small kids that sinks in. There are moments of absolute joy that will have you wanting to take your own gap year on a book but then comes the reality and despair that caused their trip's
...more
Mickie
Feb 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Never would have picked this up normally and so glad I did. A truly thrilling ride, expertly weaving thoughts of husband and wife to tell the story of a difficult love and marriage, in the most fantastic and unique setting. I am now a BIG Amity Gaige fan.
Dkbbookgirl
Feb 22, 2020 rated it really liked it
Life for a family of 4 on a sail boat
Emily
I love a portrait of a complicated marriage and this one had the bonus of appealing to both my inner daydreamer (lets quit our jobs and travel around the world for a year!!) and my inner pragmatist (that is literally the worst idea).

The multiple POVs and alternating timelines make this a pretty propulsive read. The mystery that comes in in the second half of the book and Julieta childhood trauma made the plot feel a little overstuffed. I found the political stuff a little heavy-handed. I think
...more
Rachel
Jan 03, 2020 rated it really liked it
Sea Wife by Amity Gaige is a glimpse into a real, flawed, complicated human relationship and marriage. The novel narrates between Juliet and Michael, Juliet through narrative looking back on a voyage and journey, and Michael through the Captains Log.

This book is not an easy read in the fact that it feels so real and hits home in all of the normal things that affect wives, husbands, moms, parents, friends, and foes. There is almost a poetic prose in the way there is waxing and waning in the
...more
Megan Tristao
First, let me acknowledge that I probably enjoyed this book more than the average reader because I'm currently living that gap-year life. So many parts of the book, especially parts from the husband's log book, spoke right to me. "Yes, that's EXACTLY how we felt when we told people about our trip!" "Yes, that's a GREAT description of the street carts in Cartagena!" So, I had a personal connection to this book that likely heightened my appreciation of it. That being said, here's my review:

A
...more
Abby
Nov 01, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2019-books
Inspired by a true story, a family ditches suburban life for a year-long sailing trip. Juliet is a poet, Michael is a life insurance agent. They have two kids, Sybil age 7 and Georgie age 2. The story is told mainly through Juliets point of view and Michaels as Juliet reads his Captains logbook from the boat trip. She takes the reader on the journey that changed her familys life forever.

The writing was well done and the character development although scattered, was definitely there. The main
...more
James Beggarly
Oct 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wonderful book about a couple with a rocky marriage taking a year out of their lifes to sail a boat around the Caribbean with their two small children. The story is told by the wife as she looks back on the trip and the aftermath and told by the husband in a sea log as the events are happening. Powerful dissection of a complicated marriage. ...more
Leticia Vila-Sanjuán
3.5
I found this to be an irregular novel. while the writing is good, I didn't connect with the changes of POV and Michael's voice.
Daniel Ford
rated it it was amazing
Mar 02, 2020
Lolly K Dandeneau
rated it really liked it
Oct 07, 2019
Grace Doyon
rated it really liked it
Feb 10, 2020
Charlotteh
rated it liked it
Mar 01, 2020
Jurga Kur
rated it liked it
Oct 13, 2019
Mary
rated it really liked it
Nov 20, 2019
part time librarian
rated it it was amazing
Jan 27, 2020
Donna Hines
rated it did not like it
Mar 10, 2020
Carol
rated it liked it
Mar 26, 2020
Sarah
rated it really liked it
Mar 01, 2020
Knopf Books
rated it it was amazing
Feb 27, 2020
Jennifer Sirico
rated it really liked it
Feb 21, 2020
Katie del Rosario
rated it liked it
Feb 10, 2020
Elizabeth
rated it liked it
Jan 29, 2020
Emily Crowe
rated it really liked it
Nov 05, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • All Adults Here
  • The Glass Hotel
  • Redhead by the Side of the Road
  • Perfect Tunes
  • The Red Lotus
  • Apeirogon
  • The Last Train to Key West
  • Chosen Ones (The Chosen Ones, #1)
  • Separation Anxiety
  • Saint X
  • Writers & Lovers
  • Oona Out of Order
  • Big Summer
  • A Good Neighborhood
  • The Second Home
  • The Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family, and Defiance During the Blitz
  • Beach Read
  • The Two Lives of Lydia Bird
See similar books…
105 followers
AMITY GAIGE is the author of three previous novels, O My Darling, The Folded World, and Schroder, which was short-listed for the Folio Prize in 2014. Published in eighteen countries, Schroder was named one of best books of 2013 by The New York Times Book Review,The Huffington Post, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Kirkus Reviews, The Women's National Book Association, Cosmopolitan, Denver ...more

Related Articles

"Stay calm and read on" might be our collective slogan for the coming months. Since we all might need some help with that, we asked Goodreads m...
142 likes · 144 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »