Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “My Life in France” as Want to Read:
My Life in France
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

My Life in France

4.17  ·  Rating details ·  72,912 ratings  ·  7,009 reviews
The bestselling story of Julia's years in France--and the basis for Julie & Julia, starring Meryl Streep and Amy Adams--in her own words.
Although she would later singlehandedly create a new approach to American cuisine with her cookbook Mastering the Art of French Cooking and her television show The French Chef, Julia Child was not always a master chef. Indeed, when s
...more
Hardcover, 302 pages
Published April 4th 2006 by Knopf Publishing Group (first published 2006)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about My Life in France, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Rhoda Julia stated, "The longer I was in France, the stronger and more ecstatic my feelings for it became. I missed my family, of course, and things like…moreJulia stated, "The longer I was in France, the stronger and more ecstatic my feelings for it became. I missed my family, of course, and things like certain cosmetics or really good coffee. But the U.S. seemed like an increasingly distant and dreamlike place.(less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.17  · 
Rating details
 ·  72,912 ratings  ·  7,009 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Kelly
I did not grow up on Julia Child. I’m too young to have watched her TV show, and my mom wasn’t the type to own any of her cookbooks (we stuck to mostly Italian recipes handed down from my dad’s mom and ranch-style cooking- or, if we were unlucky, my British nanny’s “traditional” English dishes she insisted we try). I barely knew who she was before I started cooking a few years ago. I admit that I wasn’t really interested in her until the recent movie Julie and Julia, which definitely made me wan ...more
Melissa
Sep 09, 2008 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
Oh, how I love and adore this book. It's one of the best I've read lately, combining as it does my love of France, Julia, and food in one funny, touching package. Julia Child was such a unique, eccentric, brilliant woman, and I'm always inspired when I realize that she struggled along at loose ends for years before finding her true passion and calling.

Her marriage to Paul Child is beautifully portrayed in the book. He was quite a worldly, erudite man, and very forward-thinking for his time in th
...more
Richard Derus
Mar 04, 2012 rated it really liked it
Rating: 3.875* of five

The Book Report: Truth in advertising had no greater champion than Julia Child. Her book is called exactly and precisely what it is: The narrative of her life in France. She begins her book on November 3, 1948, with the Child family landing at Le Havre, getting into their gigantic Buick station wagon, and motoring off across northern France towards Paris. They stop at thirty-six-year-old native Californian Mrs. Child's first French restaurant, La Couronne, where her husband
...more
Aishu Rehman
Aug 27, 2018 rated it it was ok
If you're a fan of Julia Child or French cooking, or love France, you'll love this witty book. Co-written near the end of her lifetime, My Life is France gives an intimate perspective of Julia Child's joy with life, France, and cooking. If you own Mastering the Art of French Cooking, this is a perfect companion piece. It's also a great gift for good and/or aspiring cooks. It might even inspire the poor or non-cook.
Petra Eggs
I didn't know anything about Julia Child apart from having heard her name and that she was 6' tall until the book Julie and Julia. I read that and whereas I didn't think much of Julie at all (I think she should go back to blogging, a book's a bit much for her) I was curious about Julia.

The book is beautifully written by her nephew Paul Prud'homme and illustrated with many photographs from her talented ex-diplomat husband Paul. Its a lovely story of a life through cooking and inspired by France a
...more
Mahlon
Aug 31, 2009 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Julia fans, foodies, people who like travel writing, lovers of good Biography
Recommended to Mahlon by: Saw Julie and Julia
Shelves: read-2009
I've never been a fan of Julia Child, and whenever I ran across her show on PBS I'd make a conscious effort to change the channel, which was why I was surprised when My Life in France turned out to be one of the most well-written, engaging Autobiographies I've read in quite awhile. The book covers roughly the same time period as the movie Julie & Julia except that it extends into the mid-70's and discusses the beginning of her TV career and the writing of her second book. Even though it was ...more
Michael
A nice window on Child’s love affair with France and its food starting in the post war period. Her relationship with her husband Paul was a high point of the book. I appreciated her practical and good humored approaches to the challenges and solutions to helping the average household achieving quality meals. Some of her friendships and conflicts have some life and color, but for the most part the story came across as bland and sanitized. Some of her passion for particular foods comes through, su ...more
Tim
Sep 03, 2008 rated it really liked it
Lighthearted and fun recollections of Julia's first years in France. Highly recommended for anyone already enthralled by Julia, whether by her television programs or her excellent cookbooks.

Readers who do not know Julia may find the book a little too rambling, and a little too focused on food they've never tasted and have no idea what it even is (often she does not give translations for food names).

As noted in the introduction, the book was pieced together from conversations Julia's nephew had
...more
Lisa (Harmonybites)
Oct 15, 2012 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Foodies; Francophiles
Recommended to Lisa (Harmonybites) by: The Ultimate Reading List - Biography
I found this an absorbing read, and I'm no foodie. But I think what's striking in this memoir of Child's love affair with French food is her drive, her dedication to excellence, her passion--there's something attractive in that no matter what the endeavor--as well as fascinating to get a picture of such an elite, esoteric world as high cuisine. It all started for Julia in 1948, when she had her first French meal. When she came to France she knew only a smattering of such French phrases as "Merci ...more
Izzy
Mar 14, 2008 rated it really liked it
Recommended to Izzy by: Melissa
Shelves: food, travel, bio
I think the reasons I wanted to read this book are that Julia's always thought of as a late bloomer, and because her travels were so influential in helping her discover herself.

Certainly, her life had great adventure.

Highlights: p. 268

Too tired and busy to go to France. "But then we looked at each other and repeated a favorite phrase from our diplomatic days: "Remember, 'No one's more important than people.'!" In other words, friendship is the most important thing - not career or housework, or
...more
Dana Stabenow
Dec 06, 2011 rated it really liked it
I spent the summer of 1987 in Paris, studying beginning French at the Sorbonne and staying at the Cité Universitaire, in a program geared toward older students. Some of them wanted to take a cooking class, and the Sorbonne organized it for them. They needed one more student to make it go, and I was browbeaten into filling the empty space.

Understand, I was raised on the five Alaskan staples of Spam, Bisquik, Velveeta, pilot bread and Carnation Instant Milk. If we didn't get our moose that year we
...more
Diane
Jun 30, 2012 rated it it was amazing
If you love books about food or about living in France, this is a must-read. It's the story of how Julia Child learned to cook French food and how she came to write that famous cookbook. (The movie "Julie & Julia" was partially based on this memoir.) The book is filled with charming anecdotes about Paris and Marseille, and includes dozens of photographs that her husband, Paul, took. It's one of the most delightful travel books I've read in years.

What's wonderful about Julia Child is the conf
...more
Kavita
May 25, 2018 rated it it was amazing
What a beauty! It's been a week since I finished reading this and it's still stuck in my mind. I had never thought a biography of Julia Child would be of much interest to me. I only picked this up out of curiosity after watching Julie and Julia. I hated Julie but was intrigued by Meryl Streep in the role of Julia. But even so, I didn't have high hopes from the book.

My Life in France proved to be a beautiful piece of work. It is written by Alex Prud'homme, Julia's great-nephew, who spent days try
...more
Kathryn
Jan 12, 2010 rated it it was amazing
A thorough delight! After all her marvelous culinary contributions, Julia Child (with her nephew, Alex Prud'homme) has created a literary gem--one that will no doubt fill your tastebuds with longing but will satisfy many other senses as it is a joyous, exuberant, intelligent and touching memoir sharing her love for husband Paul, for France, and for good food! I admit that I was fascinated by Julia Child's cooking shows when they aired re-runs on PBS during my childhood--what a big woman, with su ...more
Agnes
Jan 27, 2008 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Interested in living abroad and/or cooking
Recommended to Agnes by: Liz Glasgow
I love Julia Child, it turns out! This memoir is fun and I want to live her life. I want to live in Paris, Marseille, Oslo and Boston too, creating sumptuous recipes, hanging out with James Beard and decorating a summer house in Provence. Seriously, why am I not her? I wouldn't even mind being dead since 2004.

I am totally convinced that her cookbooks are the foremost authorities on French cooking, now that I've seen how many times she would experiment with a basic recipe to get it right. Makes m
...more
joyce g
Jul 09, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Well what can I add to my loving Julia Child as a food personality and chef. She is iconic in her love of life and someone I have always admired.
Never Apologize!!
GoldGato
"Let's eat!"

Okay...I didn't grow up knowing much about Julia Child. To be honest, it was Dan Aykroyd's SNL impersonation of Mrs. Child that first drew my attention. I don't consider it insulting, but a tribute to someone who was obviously a media icon of the 20th Century. That in itself is amazing, as Julia Child would never have been considered the emblem of stardom. She wasn't thin or beautiful or full of herself, but she blossomed into a star of public-funded television.

We had expensive haird
...more
notgettingenough
(Written after reading the first thirty pages or so.)

Every now and again I pick up a book by a chef which isn't a recipe book....and I always regret it. This time shouldn't have surprised me. I'd seen the movie (loosely based on the book) and it was merely innocuous.

It could have been made 20 pages shorter, just by taking out the exclamation marks.

I guess if I were American and she was my cooking icon maybe?

But I'm not.
Melora
Nov 17, 2016 rated it liked it
Interesting. I can't say I was crazy about the style, or Julia herself, for that matter, but her enthusiasm and energy came across clearly (relentlessly!) and I found her story to be, mostly, engaging.

Though I'm not actually interested in French food as a general thing, I do remember Child's Mastering the Art of French Cooking as a fixture on my mom's cookbook shelf, and I find the social history aspect of the thing – the growing curiosity and excitement about gourmet cooking alongside the incre
...more
Sterlingcindysu
Aug 17, 2018 rated it really liked it
I really liked the style of how this book was written--very organized, just as Julia was! Can you imagine writing such a cookbook as she did with no computer to keep tabs on all the testing, changes, etc? She would have loved Good Eats when Alton Brown does all his chemistry talk especially with all the testing of mayonnaise, of all things!

I realized early on that Julia and I would not be friends--she was so focused and intense. Was anyone else surprised that she didn't watch tv until after she
...more
Negin
“Madame Scheeld” – since reading this book, I’ve been smiling at how the French would address Julia Child. I love accents!

This is a delightful book about Julia Child and the things that she loved the most: her husband, France, cooking, and eating. I’m quite sure that I’m in the minority in that before reading this, I’d never watched an entire episode of Julia Child on TV. I was sad when the book was over, but now I have my eyes set on getting some of her cookbooks and looking up some of her sho
...more
Larissa
Oct 21, 2015 rated it really liked it
Years ago, in preparation for a class project in a YA Lit class in library school, my professor asked me who my hero was. (The having of a hero apparently being a given.) I told her that I didn't really have heroes and she was aghast. "No heroes?" she asked sadly, before brightening just as quickly and asking, "What about Elenore Roosevelt?"

After reading My Life in France, however, I am happy to report that I am as close to having a hero as I've ever been. Julia Child: left-leaning, wayward daug
...more
Yvonne
Feb 26, 2008 rated it it was amazing
This was a Christmas gift from my best-friend-forever Ariel, and a perfect read not only for foodies and urban farmgirls like myself, but anyone who's going through the "if not now, when?" blues. As some previous Goodreaders have already noted, it's a bit of a revelation to read about someone so famous (or infamous, if you've seen Dan Ackroyd's histrionic impersonation of "Jules") being such a late bloomer. This is America, and even though Miss Thing found herself in France, we prefer our great ...more
Lisa
Dec 21, 2007 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: cooks, learners, late bloomers, europhiles
This book was largely ghost-written by a nephew of Julia's husband. Despite that, it was really quite good, and he spent hundreds of hours with her, listening to her stories and capturing her distinct vernacular. I had always suspected that Julia was an exceptional woman, and this book verified that for me. I expected a limited memoir of her years in France after she and Paul married, but it covered her time from then until around the time of her husband Paul's death in 1994. She arrived in Fran ...more
Jeanette  "Astute Crabbist"
Julia was a remarkable woman! I doubt she even realized just how extraordinary she was. Her greatest successes came at an age when most people think their best years have already passed them by.
I'm not fond of French cuisine or rich foods in general, but there is much to enjoy in this book, even if some of the food doesn't sound appealing.
I admire her enthusiasm and eagerness to just dive in wherever she was and learn the language and experience absolutely everything.
It was a revelation to me
...more
Donna
Sep 01, 2018 rated it really liked it
This is a autobiography of Julia Child. I was too young to have been a fan of her cooking show, but I do own one of her cookbooks. It amazes me how one event in life can alter the rest of your life...forever. Her pivotal moment was moving to France. I enjoyed her story. She found her passion and then she sought to perfect it. I admire that kind of dedication....it was sort of a labor of love for her. I was completely impressed with her tenacity..... 4 stars
Mike
Aug 08, 2009 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: Anyone


As I have noted elsewhere, I believe I have all of Julia Child’s solo cookbooks and some, but not all, of the remainder. I include in that list the incomparable, “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” Volumes 1 and 2, which I was lucky to by new at a hugely favorable price many years ago.

Although My Life in France is not solely about the writing of that cookbook, much of Julia’s energy and time were consumed with the creation of the first volume while she lived in France. This book is more than j
...more
Judy
Aug 15, 2011 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: food and memoir lovers
Recommended to Judy by: Anne
I love biographies. I love food memoirs. I love books about places I've never been, sights I haven't seen. My Life in France is all of the above and then some.

Throw in Julia's unique personality, effervescence and other equally entertaining folks such as her cookbook collaborator. Add a dash of disappointment, a sprinkle of frustration becomes the perfect story with its ups and downs, tensions.

One of my favorite qualities Julia possessed was her ability to state things as they were, no touching-
...more
Valerie
Aug 11, 2007 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Food Bloggers
I loved this book! I learned about it after hearing a discussion about it on NPR shortly after publication. I'm not sure exactly what makes it so compelling to me, because I am not a cook, but I think it's the unpretentious look-at-me-ness that was Julia Child. Alex Prud'homme carefully captured Julia Child's voice and the force of her personality. Even when at times she seemed a little unlikeable, you're still drawn in by her fearless and adventurous nature. This book is also a great slice of l ...more
Poiema
May 13, 2015 rated it really liked it
I am amazed that Julia Child and her great-nephew Alex Prud'homme were able to reconstruct such a detailed account of decades of Julia's life, not only her life in France, but in Germany, and Norway, and the USA as well. She apparently had a fabulous memory, as well as a thick stack of correspondence to refer back to.

Julia's affinity to France makes one wonder if she was born in the wrong place. Her love for the country, the people, and especially the cooking just permeates the book. In contras
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Play Book Tag: My Life in France by Julia Child 3 17 Aug 29, 2017 04:40PM  
Around the Year i...: My Life in France, by Julia Child 2 13 Jan 09, 2017 05:52PM  
The Geek Girls Bo...: September 2016 11 49 Oct 02, 2016 08:31PM  
2015 Reading Chal...: My Life in France by Julia Child 2 14 Jul 16, 2015 05:44PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Apprentice: My Life in the Kitchen
  • The Tenth Muse: My Life in Food
  • Garlic and Sapphires: The Secret Life of a Critic in Disguise
  • Alice, Let's Eat: Further Adventures of a Happy Eater
  • Life, on the Line: A Chef's Story of Chasing Greatness, Facing Death, and Redefining the Way We Eat
  • The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry: Love, Laughter, and Tears at the World's Most Famous Cooking School
  • Between Meals: An Appetite for Paris
  • Home Cooking: A Writer in the Kitchen
  • Provence, 1970: M.F.K. Fisher, Julia Child, James Beard, and the Reinvention of American Taste
  • The Man Who Ate Everything
  • The Sweet Life in Paris: Delicious Adventures in the World's Most Glorious - and Perplexing - City
  • Mastering the Art of Soviet Cooking: A Memoir of Food and Longing
  • Two Towns in Provence
  • The Language of Baklava: A Memoir
  • Something from the Oven: Reinventing Dinner in 1950s America
  • Hungry Monkey: A Food-Loving Father's Quest to Raise an Adventurous Eater
  • The Making of a Chef: Mastering Heat at the Culinary Institute of America
  • Heat: An Amateur's Adventures as Kitchen Slave, Line Cook, Pasta-Maker, and Apprentice to a Dante-Quoting Butcher in Tuscany
See similar books…
528 followers
Julia Child was a famous American cook, author, and television personality who introduced French cuisine and cooking techniques to the American mainstream through her many cookbooks and television programs. Her most famous works are the 1961 cookbook Mastering the Art of French Cooking and, showcasing her sui generis television persona, the series The French Chef, which premiered in 1963.

“This is my invariable advice to people: Learn how to cook- try new recipes, learn from your mistakes, be fearless, and above all have fun!” 245 likes
“...no one is born a great cook, one learns by doing.” 164 likes
More quotes…