Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Brave. Black. First.: 50+ African American Women Who Changed the World” as Want to Read:
Brave. Black. First.: 50+ African American Women Who Changed the World
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Brave. Black. First.: 50+ African American Women Who Changed the World

by
4.13  ·  Rating details ·  15 ratings  ·  5 reviews
Published in collaboration with the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, discover over fifty remarkable African American women whose unique skills and contributions paved the way for the next generation of young people. Perfect for fans of Rad Women Worldwide, Women in Science, and Girls Think of Everything.

Harriet Tubman guided
...more
Hardcover, 128 pages
Published January 7th 2020 by Crown Books for Young Readers
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Brave. Black. First., please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Brave. Black. First.

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-44
Average rating 4.13  · 
Rating details
 ·  15 ratings  ·  5 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Brave. Black. First.: 50+ African American Women Who Changed the World
Amy Layton
Feb 28, 2020 rated it really liked it
Discussing prominent figures such as Michelle Obama, Misty Copeland, and Simone Biles, Brave. Black. First. also features historical figures that may be lesser known to children of todya's generation, such as Aretha Franklin, Katherine Johnson, and Bessie Coleman.  Each biography is about a page long, accompanied by a full-page illustration of each featured woman. It gives a brief overview of their lives, their accomplishments, their achievements, and either what they are doing now (if they're ...more
Shani
Feb 11, 2020 rated it really liked it
Very succinct and well selected women. The art was good and the additional notes at the end were nice. A good but brief summary of the achievements of several amazing black women. #BlackGirlMagic
Annese
Feb 13, 2020 rated it really liked it
Includes a good mix of contemporary women contributing to American society. Very refreshing to see.
Barbara
This one was a 3.5 for me, and I would certainly recommend that classrooms and libraries add it to their collection since it fills an important gap. Middle graders and older readers in search of examples of African-American world-changers will find a great place to start in this volume. Featuring more than 50 women who were artists, singers, dancers, activists, mathematicians, athletes, writers, academics, astronauts, and even librarians, this book will surely inspire young readers to dream big ...more
Melissa
Jan 21, 2020 rated it really liked it
Children can graduate from Vashti Harrison's Little Leaders to this. I loved the format and artwork.
KnitCinn
rated it really liked it
Feb 05, 2020
Kelly Lyons
rated it it was amazing
Feb 22, 2020
Sharon
rated it really liked it
Feb 16, 2020
Megan Tarver
rated it it was amazing
Feb 12, 2020
Mompop
rated it liked it
Jan 31, 2020
Erin Farquhar
rated it really liked it
Feb 29, 2020
Monica
rated it it was amazing
Feb 29, 2020
Laura
rated it really liked it
Dec 31, 2019
Stella
rated it it was amazing
Feb 16, 2020
Christine
rated it really liked it
Feb 27, 2020
Sarah Ann
marked it as to-read
Feb 09, 2020
Jenny
marked it as to-read
Aug 05, 2019
Jessica
marked it as to-read
Aug 13, 2019
Alex
marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2019
Lindsay
marked it as to-read
Nov 10, 2019
Kathy
marked it as to-read
Nov 26, 2019
Aliza Werner
marked it as to-read
Nov 27, 2019
Amy
marked it as to-read
Dec 01, 2019
Kaila
added it
Dec 11, 2019
Kayla
marked it as to-read
Dec 11, 2019
Kelsey
marked it as to-read
Dec 14, 2019
Erin
marked it as to-read
Dec 14, 2019
Ms. Parker
marked it as to-read
Dec 31, 2019
H
marked it as to-read
Jan 02, 2020
NL
marked it as to-read
Jan 03, 2020
bookswithgab
marked it as to-read
Jan 03, 2020
Marian
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2020
Stephanie
marked it as to-read
Jan 05, 2020
Natalie
marked it as to-read
Jan 07, 2020
Wendy Lavenda-Carroll
marked it as to-read
Jan 07, 2020
Jessica
marked it as to-read
Jan 07, 2020
Amy Wabiszewski
marked it as to-read
Jan 07, 2020
Mariah Gonzales
marked it as to-read
Jan 08, 2020
Rhiannon White
marked it as to-read
Jan 09, 2020
Katherine Wms
marked it as to-read
Jan 09, 2020
Kam
marked it as to-read
Jan 13, 2020
Priscilla
marked it as to-read
Jan 13, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Black Is a Rainbow Color
  • The Power of Her Pen: The Story of Groundbreaking Journalist Ethel L. Payne
  • I Am Perfectly Designed
  • Cool Cuts
  • Little Smokey
  • Just Like Me
  • Saturday
  • Just Ask!: Be Different, Be Brave, Be You
  • Cookie Monster's Foodie Truck: A Sesame Street (R) Celebration of Food
  • Boxitects
  • The Unstoppable Garrett Morgan: Inventor, Entrepreneur, Hero
  • Little Leaders: Exceptional Men in Black History
  • By and By: Charles Tindley, the Father of Gospel Music
  • Finding Kindness
  • Brown Sugar Babe
  • Friday Night Wrestlefest
  • Freedom Bird: A Tale of Hope and Courage
  • Goodbye Winter, Hello Spring
See similar books…

Related Articles

Need another excuse to treat yourself to new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our lis...
38 likes · 9 comments