Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Flowers of Time” as Want to Read:
The Flowers of Time
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Flowers of Time

(Border Magic Series)

by
4.20  ·  Rating details ·  20 ratings  ·  18 reviews
Jones is determined to find out what caused the unexpected death of her father whilst they were exploring ancient ruins in the Himalayas. She’s never been interested in the idea of the marriage bed, but along with a stack of books and coded journals he’s left her with the promise she’ll travel back to England for the first time since childhood and try being the lady she’s ...more
ebook
Published February 22nd 2020 by JMS Books LLC
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Flowers of Time, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Flowers of Time

Community Reviews

Showing 1-42
Average rating 4.20  · 
Rating details
 ·  20 ratings  ·  18 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Flowers of Time
Jude in the Stars
Before he died from a sudden and mysterious illness in the Himalayas, her father asked Jones to try her hand for a while at being a proper lady in England. Though definitely not a lady, Jones kept her promise and suffered through the English good society of the 1780s until she got the opportunity to go back to exploring little known places and studying civilizations on the other side of the planet.

The only really good thing that came from her trip to Europe was meeting Henry and Edith Merton and
...more
AnnMaree Of Oz
I didn't find this as interesting as I thought I would. I generally love historic fiction involving women of difference in their time period, and a sapphic under-current. Don't get me wrong I adored the non-binary Jones.

But I was disappointed in the romance, or lack there of. The synopsis talks about things of the heart, and I had seen this advertised as romance and tagged as that in genre - but I really would not class it as such, at all. So if you're like me and expected that at the forefront
...more
Pei
Feb 27, 2020 rated it liked it
An interesting and intricately woven tale about unearthing secrets; Jones' father has died and has left her with a cryptic dying message and some coded notebooks. After a brief season in London per her father's request, she returns to Tibet as "just Jones" and embarks on an expedition along with Edie, a young lady she met in London who has a passion of plants.

The characters are enjoyable and interesting. Edie is endearing in her dedication to properness and her excitement over small things. She
...more
S.A. Locryn
Feb 16, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I received an ARC copy in exchange of an honest review

My rating: 4.5 stars (explanation will follow below)

First impressions:

•This book contrary to the previous books of the series only uses the paranormal and magic as a plot forming tool but not the time travel. But this wasn’t an issue for me, the magic still complements the story very well.

• I liked Jones from the moment of her first appearance. She’s a flashed out character, easily relatable. She’s genuine, she has a complex personality alo
...more
E.M. Hamill
Feb 27, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Lovely!

I truly enjoyed this story. It had just enough magic, mystery and action to be my personal catnip. I loved Jones, really identified with the character in a personal way, and watching the relationship between Jones and Edie develop was sweet and satisfying. A great read.
Sarah Remy
Feb 20, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I received an ARC of this book in return for an honest review.

I loved FLOWERS. It's sweet and sexy, but also fascinating—I'm a sucker for Early Modern exploration stories—and creepy. Jones was written perfectly. As a nonbinary person I felt seen, and may have shed a tear once or twice. I appreciated Edie's perfect aim and stubborn bravery.

All in all an excellent read.
...more
Georgia Blair
Feb 19, 2020 rated it really liked it
I was given an ARC to review. I enjoyed the historical setting and the characters very much. But I have unanswered questions. I liked the character development but I guess I wanted more of it. What was the real relationship between the male characters? Are we meant to infer our own interpretation? Maybe my answers lie in the previous books or maybe my answers lead into the next book. I suggest reading the previous books before starting this one. But the fact that I had not read the previous book ...more
Jenna
Mar 01, 2020 rated it it was amazing
The flowers of time is a historical romance with many different layers weaved though the pages. I love the magical/paranormal aspects and the mystery. The novel is well written and an enjoyable read. Was given a ARC for an honest review. 100% would buy.
Emilie
Jul 17, 2020 added it
This was a prequel to the 1920s books in the series. I enjoyed it. Now my project is to listen to the audiobook.
A.L. Lester
Jan 30, 2020 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
This book has been a long time coming. I first started mulling the idea of writing about plant-collectors a couple of years ago when I read a newspaper article about Europeans stomping round the world in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries 'discovering' new plants. I knew I wanted Ella Fortune (from Lost in Time) to have her own book and it seemed like the kind of thing she might do in the 1920s after she'd finished being an ambulance driver in France and started a newspaper. Initially ...more
Lorraine Turnbull
May 28, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Magic, mystery & lots of action!
Great characters you can really relate to and an interesting plot. Lots of research has obviously gone into the book and its authentic.
As a plant lover I really enjoyed the settings. I'm not going to give the story away, but I WILL tell you that its a rewarding read.
I'm getting more and more impressed with A.L. Lester's writing and am looking forward to the next little tidbit the author produces.
...more
Maryann Kafka
Feb 22, 2020 rated it it was amazing
A.L. Lester has impressed me with the abundance of research she did to take readers on an amazing adventure surrounding the beauty and danger of the Himalayas and India in “The Flowers of Time”. I was so intrigued, I found myself with a map of India to find Srinagar to Leh, the route Jones, Edie and their companions journeyed. There is also information on the flora and fauna of the region, as Edie is a botanist and artist for the Kew Gardens. A.L. Lester introduces readers to Frances “Jones” Jon ...more
Allison
Feb 23, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: arc, 2020
**I was provided an ARC with the understanding I would post an unbiased review.

I really enjoyed the characters, Jones is superb as a non-binary person in history, it really felt like they were well-represented. I'm not sure if Jones is Ace or if that was more a part of them being NB, but it came across that way, it's always great to read about underrepresented identities in books. Edie was very sweet, and it was enjoyable to read about a woman with different goals at a time when so many were for
...more
Jenny Saul-Avila
Jan 11, 2021 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: read-own-audio
I give the book, the story, 5 stars. I give the audio narration 4 stars.

I felt completely immersed throughout this book and deeply invested in the characters' lives. It made me laugh from time to time - Edie's inner monologue is particularly funny - and I was definitely held in suspense. I think Jones, who is generally a well balanced and intelligent person, makes some pretty bad decisions with regard to magic. But so does nearly everyone in this series. "DON'T DO THE THING!," they're all told -
...more
Asynia
May 27, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I can't stress enough how wonderful this book is! A non-binary explorer in 18th century Himalayas and a quirky, adventurous female botanist who doesn't know what to make of the explorer initially, but is intrigued and drawn to them. They are both so interesting and well rounded and the feelings that slowly develop between them are so believable. I wish I knew of more books likte this one, it was truely unique in my experience.

There is some magic and horrible beasts in the book, a cautionary tale
...more
Claudia
What a fantastic story! What can I say? I adore Jones, her certainty at who she is, her need for freedom and her complexity. Edie is sweet and kind, 'proper' and very, very independent taking the times into account.

The story is somewhat short but so densely packed with facts that manage to cover years of Jones' life without leaving me with a feeling of shallowness. The magic/paranormal aspects of the story appear late in the book, but they are expected, as there were events from the beginning hi
...more
Alan
Dec 21, 2020 rated it really liked it
Although the audiobook says this is book 3, it’s actually a standalone story set much earlier than the first two Lost In Time books. Jones has grown up in far-flung places like Tibet and she shuns most social conventions placed on women. When she visits London, she meets Edie and her brother and the three of them team up in the Himalayas - Jones wants to find out more about her father’s death, while the others seek new botanical species. While the first two books focused far more on the borderla ...more
Janice
May 30, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I enjoyed this book - even especially because the romantic part didn’t come until near the end, but when it did,it was beautiful. I really enjoyed the ending!

The author makes a good case for Jones being not just “a woman struggling against the confines society placed on women (especially in the 1700s)”, but actually non-binary long before anybody coined the term.

This is kind of a crap review, but really, it’s a great book. I love how all the characters in the book get along.
Charles
rated it did not like it
Mar 01, 2021
Fabulous Book Fiend
rated it liked it
Jun 01, 2020
Kitty McIntosh
rated it really liked it
Mar 25, 2020
Paul Arvidson
rated it it was amazing
Mar 02, 2020
Joanne
marked it as to-read
Jan 20, 2020
Melanie
marked it as to-read
Jan 20, 2020
Joe T
marked it as to-read
Jan 20, 2020
Fee Taylor
marked it as to-read
Jan 20, 2020
Anne Barwell
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2020
Xan West
marked it as to-read
Jan 30, 2020
Isabella ~Mikku-chan~
marked it as to-read
Jan 30, 2020
Isabelle Adler
marked it as to-read
Jan 30, 2020
Sara
marked it as to-read
Jan 30, 2020
M
marked it as to-read
Jan 30, 2020
Andrea
marked it as to-read
Feb 07, 2020
Emily
marked it as to-read
Feb 09, 2020
Kaje Harper
marked it as to-read
Feb 12, 2020
Kellye
marked it as to-read
Feb 20, 2020
Sam Miller
marked it as to-read
Feb 20, 2020
Jackie R
marked it as to-read
Feb 22, 2020
Rachel
marked it as to-read
Feb 22, 2020
Pam Faste aka Peejakers
marked it as to-read
Feb 23, 2020
Jennifer Kubinski
marked it as to-read
Feb 23, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Border (The Knight and the Necromancer #2)
  • The Sea (The Knight and the Necromancer #3)
  • Spindrift
  • Fair Game
  • Heart Sings (Heart, #2)
  • Running Lines (Hollywood Hopefuls, #1)
  • Face the Wind
  • The Good Girl
  • Wrong Number, Right Woman
  • Where the Lovelight Gleams
  • Getaway Glam (Bed, Breakfast and Beyond, Weekend Escape #1)
  • The Gentleman and the Spy
  • Felix Ever After
  • Brokeback Mountain
  • Traveller: A Ríona Kilbride Novel
  • The Man Who Loved Cole Flores (Dig Two Graves #1)
  • Finding Jessica Lambert
  • The Setup
See similar books…
52 followers
Writer of queer, paranormal, historical, romantic suspense. Lives in the South West of England with Mr AL, two children, a badly behaved dachshund, a terrifying cat and some hens. Likes gardening but doesn't really have time or energy. Not musical. Doesn't much like telly. Non-binary. Chronically disabled. Has tedious fits. ...more

Related Articles

If you ask us, it's always the perfect time to lose yourself in a page-turning mystery. To help you sleuth out a new read, we asked the...
84 likes · 79 comments