Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “City of the Uncommon Thief” as Want to Read:
City of the Uncommon Thief
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

City of the Uncommon Thief

3.63  ·  Rating details ·  8 ratings  ·  4 reviews
A dark and intricate fantasy for readers of The Book of Dust and Leigh Bardugo. City of the Uncommon Thief is the story of a quarantined city gripped by fear and of the war that can free it.

"Guilders work. Foundlings scrub the bogs. Needles bind. Swords tear. And men leave. There is nothing uncommon in this city. I hope Errol Thebes is dead. We both know he is safer that w
...more
Kindle Edition, 400 pages
Expected publication: November 10th 2020 by Dutton
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about City of the Uncommon Thief, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about City of the Uncommon Thief

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-39
Average rating 3.63  · 
Rating details
 ·  8 ratings  ·  4 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of City of the Uncommon Thief
Abbie | ardentlyabbie
A new spell-binding fantasy inspired by Ancient Greece.

Though confusing at times, the world-building in this story was so rich! I really liked the tone and atmosphere of the story. The plot was intriguing, and the writing. So many good lines. I'm a big fan of poetic but direct prose. However, it was a little too direct at points. I didn't feel like I was really in the thick of it with the characters, if that makes sense? And I feel like I would have enjoyed it more, had it been shorter. It was a
...more
Marija
Lynne Bertrand’s debut novel would best suit a targeted audience, namely readers familiar with Norse and Greek myths and epics, linguistics, as well as those who enjoy epic fantasy and pastoral literature with its parodies.

This is a difficult story to envision. Readers are immediately immersed into an alternate reality—whether it takes place in a future world or part of a medieval world is not really known. It’s simply “other.” It exists, however, with some relation to our world’s past, as the
...more
Laura
Aug 23, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2020-mt-bookpile
If this hadn't been quite as long (due to padding) it could have been a five star.

Something has happened in this world, something that created a walled off city of mile-high towers, each tower belongs to a guild that makes some product eventually shipped to the greater world once a year. Teens can become runners, living on the rooftops for three(ish) years before serving as an apprentice to one guild or another. Ok, so far, so familiar, right? These runner love to play pranks on each other and o
...more
Alysa H.
Jun 22, 2020 marked it as to-read
Shelves: netgalley
** I received a Review Copy of this book via NetGalley **
Marochka
rated it did not like it
Aug 14, 2020
Georgia Teensma
rated it it was amazing
May 04, 2020
becky
rated it really liked it
Oct 19, 2020
Louie Rendon
rated it really liked it
Sep 05, 2020
Andrew Karre
rated it it was amazing
Apr 27, 2020
Kira Brighton
marked it as to-read
Jan 18, 2020
Caro
marked it as to-read
Jan 21, 2020
*mk*
marked it as to-read
Jan 22, 2020
Hannah
marked it as to-read
Jan 23, 2020
Andrew Clendening
marked it as to-read
Jan 30, 2020
여리고
marked it as to-read
Jan 31, 2020
Isabella
marked it as to-read
Feb 01, 2020
Rev
marked it as to-read
Feb 13, 2020
Stacey
added it
Feb 18, 2020
Korrina  (OwlCrate)
marked it as to-read
Feb 19, 2020
Sara Wenschhof
marked it as to-read
Feb 19, 2020
Jess
marked it as to-read
Feb 19, 2020
myriad obsessions
marked it as to-read
Feb 20, 2020
John
marked it as to-read
Feb 20, 2020
Lala
marked it as to-read
Feb 20, 2020
Sam Miller
marked it as to-read
Feb 20, 2020
Stephanie
marked it as to-read
Feb 21, 2020
Pie
marked it as to-read
Feb 21, 2020
Meg
marked it as to-read
Feb 24, 2020
Beth
marked it as to-read
Feb 25, 2020
Anette
marked it as to-read
Mar 05, 2020
Megan Weiss
marked it as to-read
Mar 10, 2020
Hyzie
marked it as to-read
Mar 12, 2020
Lila (Hardcover Haven)
marked it as to-read
Mar 12, 2020
Lisa
marked it as to-read
Mar 19, 2020
Nikita Afsar
marked it as to-read
Mar 24, 2020
Runa
marked it as to-read
Mar 27, 2020
Shilo Quetchenbach
marked it as to-read
Mar 28, 2020
Stephanie
marked it as to-read
Mar 30, 2020
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Super Fake Love Song
  • The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
  • Instant Karma
  • Namesake (Fable, #2)
  • Together We Caught Fire
  • Small Town Hearts
  • Piranesi
  • The Light at Wyndcliff (Cornwall, #3)
  • Sword of the Seven Sins
  • Fable (Fable, #1)
  • Skywatchers
  • A Golden Fury
  • Into the Heartless Wood
  • By the Book
  • Vicious Spirits (Gumiho, #2)
  • A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire (Blood and Ash, #2)
  • Betty
  • Written in Starlight (Woven in Moonlight, #2)
See similar books…

Related Articles

If you love the fantasy genre, this is the season for you! Some of the biggest books out this fall promise to be epics full of magic, adventure,...
169 likes · 44 comments