Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Dragonfly Summer” as Want to Read:
Dragonfly Summer
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Dragonfly Summer

by
3.80  ·  Rating details ·  40 ratings  ·  6 reviews
The perfect next listen for fans of Wendy Walker and Shari Lapena, Dragonfly Summer is a gripping thriller that asks: What happens when the past comes back to haunt you?

Jo Carter never thought she'd return to Clear Springs, Minnesota. But when the former journalist receives a cryptic note about the disappearance of her friend Sam twenty years before, she's compelled to fin
...more
Audiobook
Published February 13th 2020 by Audible
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Dragonfly Summer, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Dragonfly Summer

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.80  · 
Rating details
 ·  40 ratings  ·  6 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Dragonfly Summer
Michael Hicks
My review of DRAGONFLY SUMMER can be found at High Fever Books.

J.H. Moncrieff may be best known for her horror works, like her recently released Those Who Came Before or her Ural Mountains creature-feature, Return to Dyatlov Pass, but as her Audible Original Dragonfly Summer proves, she’s more than adept at tackling a straight-up murder mystery.

When she was a teenager, one of Jo Carter’s best friends was murdered. Now, thirty years later, she receives a strange newspaper clipping and news of ano
...more
Mary Aalgaard
Feb 27, 2020 rated it it was amazing
When Jo receives a message in the mail dredging up a tragedy that devastated her senior year in high school, she returns to her childhood home to find out what really happened to her friend Sam. Not everyone feels a happy reunion at her reappearance, nor her prying into the lives of her former friends and their parents. Moncrieff has crafted a thriller that keeps you listening well past your bedtime. Natalie Gold is an excellent narrator of this gripping tale. (This is an Audible original.)
Madavaraj Baskaran
Mar 04, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Honestly i read some reviews and picked this book.. But to the surprise this book took me to the swirl of thrill and suspense. credits to the Narrator Natelie.
I am gonna pick a book of Natalie’s especially for her narration.
Theresa Braun
Mar 30, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This well-constructed mystery will keep you guessing. There are enough suspects and red herrings to sink your teeth into; and the fact that multiple crimes, both past and present, may or may not be connected is an added bonus to the mix. In the end, most of the questions I had while reading were answered, which is usually a good thing. And the final pages surprised me enough to make for a satisfying payoff. If you enjoy suspense with a sprinkling of the paranormal (just the right amount of ghost ...more
Nikki
Feb 14, 2020 rated it it was amazing
They say you can’t go home but that’s not always true. It’s just sometimes not recommended, depending on what you left behind at home and what parts of your past will be there to greet you. This story was full of aching history, mysteries galore and many lives impacted by a singular tragedy that took place years ago. The narration was impeccable and the narrator managed to convey emotion and varying voices in a subtle and brilliant way. It gave personality and faces to the characters. I’m a fan ...more
Cathlene Burk
Apr 01, 2020 rated it really liked it
Very good book, but a little too predictable for my taste. Or maybe the author did an excellent job at foreshadowing and I was paying more attention.

I intend to look for more books by the same author.
K.K.
rated it really liked it
May 09, 2020
Anna Vaagen
rated it really liked it
May 03, 2020
Heather Holmes
rated it really liked it
Apr 07, 2020
Jackie Thomas
rated it really liked it
Oct 23, 2020
Tricia
rated it really liked it
Mar 03, 2020
Amy Miller
rated it really liked it
May 13, 2020
Shalini Raakendra
rated it really liked it
Mar 17, 2020
Sherri
rated it liked it
Jan 21, 2021
Leah
rated it liked it
Apr 08, 2020
Melissa J
rated it really liked it
Oct 26, 2020
Kenneth Skaldebø
rated it really liked it
Mar 29, 2020
Chris Peterson
rated it really liked it
Mar 28, 2020
Gina Patierno
rated it really liked it
Apr 11, 2020
Colleen
rated it liked it
Sep 07, 2020
Catherine
rated it it was amazing
May 26, 2020
Kmck155
rated it liked it
May 31, 2020
Laura
rated it it was ok
Aug 04, 2020
Brittany
rated it really liked it
Mar 24, 2020
Geri
rated it liked it
Sep 09, 2020
Glennis Williams
rated it liked it
Apr 09, 2020
Laura Gibson
rated it it was amazing
Sep 08, 2020
Rebecca J.
rated it it was ok
Nov 07, 2020
Lena
rated it really liked it
Mar 05, 2020
Neha
rated it liked it
Apr 08, 2020
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Murmur of Bees
  • Whiskey and Other Unusual Ghosts
  • The Killer's Shadow:  The FBI's Hunt for a White Supremacist Serial Killer
  • Postscript (P.S. I Love You, #2)
  • Second Skin
  • Buried Deep
  • The Dilemma
  • Suddenly Psychic (Glimmer Lake, #1)
  • The Guest List
  • The Lions of Fifth Avenue
  • Star Wars: Vader Down
  • Fever Dream (Pendergast, #10)
  • Playing Nice
  • The Sisters (Cormac Reilly, #0.5)
  • The Nothing Man
  • Star Wars, Vol. 2: Showdown on the Smuggler's Moon
  • Star Wars: Darth Vader, Vol. 1: Vader
See similar books…
165 followers
J.H. Moncrieff's City of Ghosts won the 2018 Kindle Book Review Award for best Horror/Suspense.

Reviewers have described her work as early Gillian Flynn with a little Ray Bradbury and Stephen King thrown in for good measure.

She won Harlequin's search for “the next Gillian Flynn” in 2016. Her first published novella, The Bear Who Wouldn’t Leave, was featured in Samhain’s Childhood Fears collection a
...more

News & Interviews

Some interesting news for book nerds: According to recent industry research, book sales spiked dramatically in 2020–otherwise a rather...
8 likes · 1 comments